AMD Ryzen/ Threadripper OverClocking V1, Show off your OC results here!

TSowikh84
post Sep 24 2017, 12:20 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(Songchien @ Sep 23 2017, 11:50 PM)
Want to ask a somewhat off-topic question...

Let's say if I buy a ram with speed of 2666mhz, can it be overclocked higher than 2666? or its highest is 2666 only?
Ryzen is very picky about RAM and really hard to overclock with any memory.
It seems to favour Samsung's B-dies and memory with CL14 rating.
DDR4-2666 is a low-end memory and isn't going to overclock that easily.

Btw, I've just done some Ryzen DDR4 memory scaling tests with my GTX 1080 Ti SLI @ 4K.
Apparently in certain games RAMs with speed below DDR4-2933 tend to bottleneck the gaming performance by quite a noticeable margin.

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

This post has been edited by owikh84: Sep 24 2017, 12:48 AM
TSowikh84
post Sep 24 2017, 05:51 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ Sep 24 2017, 03:21 PM)
holy crap.. its quite substantial once below 3200.. would your tests return you the same result if non-SLI 1080ti ?
I did not test with single GTX 1080 Ti card or other screen resolutions, later bro later...
TSowikh84
post Sep 24 2017, 11:00 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

Double post deleted sad.gif

This post has been edited by owikh84: Sep 24 2017, 11:05 PM
TSowikh84
post Sep 24 2017, 11:01 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(FatOftheLand @ Sep 24 2017, 06:58 PM)
Hi smile.gif
My rig: MSI B350 Tomahawk (7A34v18), Ryzen 1700 ,Thermalright Le Grand Macho RT, Corsair VENGEANCE LED 16GB (2x8GB) 3000MHz C15 ,Super Flower Golden Green HX Series, 80+ Gold, 550W

cpu: 3800mhz
vcore: 1.3v in the new bios (1.328v)
vsoc: 1.1v
mem: 2800mhz at 1.35v XMP1 (no boot issues finally but with the timings on auto)

So...after running the CPU yesterday in prime95 for over an hour(max temps 74degrees celsius) it didn t crashed, however i ve noticed that the Bus speed was droping from time to time to 6mhz (values seen both in HW and CPU-Z). I ve tried to raise the cpu voltage a notch and had the same results. The bus speed drops also occurs in idle. I ve tried to go back to my previous settings (3600mhz at 1.184v) and it was also happening there. I have to mention i m using Core C6 State,Spread Spectrum,AMD Cool and Quiet disabled and tested both Ryzen Balanced Plan and Performance Plan in Windows. All the other voltages look stable.  Has anyone experienced the same issues? Is this natural?
Bus speed fluctuation on Ryzen is common.
On my C6E motherboard, bus speed fluctuates between 99.98-100.00 MHz.

Did you set your base speed manually? If not, do that set it 100.00.
Disable Spread Spectrum. This might minimize the BCLK fluctuation.

This post has been edited by owikh84: Sep 24 2017, 11:03 PM
TSowikh84
post Sep 27 2017, 09:58 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

GTX 1080 Ti SLI 4K gaming performance

Ryzen 7 1700 vs Core i7-7700K vs Core i9-7900X

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image

RAM used: DDR4-3200 16-18-18-38-2T (Ryzen: 1T)

TSowikh84
post Sep 29 2017, 08:48 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ Sep 27 2017, 04:03 PM)
Ashes bench particularly very lagging behind.. able to re-test Ashes using DX11 instead?
For some reason I think SLI is not working in AotSE @ DX12.
Maybe it's the same thing that we'll see in DX11, later I test once I am free.
Now kinda busy testing with Bitspower monoblock, 3466/3600 RAM stability, feedback to ROG R&D team etc. rclxub.gif

QUOTE(raydenex @ Sep 29 2017, 04:51 AM)
Anyone with C6H or C6E can tell me where to find AMD Cool’n’Quiet feature in the UEFI BIOS? On MSI mobos its labeled exactly as "AMD Cool’n’Quiet".
AMD CBS > ZEN Common Options > Global C-States Control (= AMD Cool'n'Quiet)

QUOTE(goldfries @ Sep 29 2017, 06:43 AM)
This is the nice test! biggrin.gif Only you have the equipment to do it.
Any other benchies?
I see only BF1 that Ryzen has a lead.

Yeah, only in BF1 that the Ryzen is beating Intel.
These are the only gaming benchmarks that I managed to run against the other competing platforms.
The rests will be shared in my review.

QUOTE(keyo @ Sep 29 2017, 08:34 AM)
is it only mahal board can oc ryzen to 4.0 above?

Not necessary, but usually those high-end boards have higher quality of VRM (eg. Infeneon's International Rectifier IRXXXM) to deliver smoother power to the CPU for more stable OC.

From what I see those "X" SKU Ryzen CPUs generally overclock higher, require lower voltages, stronger IMC (for better RAM OC) etc.

You can see some B350 boards can also do 4GHz+ OC:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1Dbt...it#gid=87938175

This post has been edited by owikh84: Sep 29 2017, 08:29 PM
TSowikh84
post Sep 29 2017, 02:06 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ Sep 29 2017, 11:59 AM)
AMD CBS > ZEN Common Options > Global C-States Control (= AMD Cool'n'Quiet)

Bro under Global C-States Control there's a few c-states there right? Which are the ones I have to take note of?
Not really, there are 3 options to choose from: Enabled/Disabled/Auto

TSowikh84
post Sep 29 2017, 08:33 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ Sep 29 2017, 07:17 PM)
Ahhhh! Okay got it, thanks! They should've just maintain the name that everyone knows biggrin.gif

Your CPU and RAM overclocks resetted eh?
Yupe, just dismantled the monoblock and reset. biggrin.gif
BTW bro, Ashes on DX11 doesn't support SLI and FPS eventually decreased:

GTX 1080 Ti SLI (DX12) @ PCIe x8/x8: 55 FPS
GTX 1080 Ti SLI (DX11) @ PCIe x8/x8: 46 FPS

GTX 1080 Ti (DX12) @ PCIe x16: 57 FPS
GTX 1080 Ti (DX11) @ PCIe x16: 45 FPS

TSowikh84
post Sep 29 2017, 09:16 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ Sep 29 2017, 08:49 PM)
Eh..looking at that, seems like SLI on DX12 didn't really give it any benefit as well?

GTX 1080 Ti SLI (DX12) @ PCIe x8/x8: 55 FPS
GTX 1080 Ti (DX12) @ PCIe x16: 57 FPS
Oh yeah LOL.. I must be very tired didn't notice this earlier haha.
Yupe, totally no benefit at all with SLI on Ryzen in this game. rclxub.gif
TSowikh84
post Sep 29 2017, 10:01 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ Sep 29 2017, 09:46 PM)
Thats why the scores so lagging behind, it seems SLI not working with the Ryzen.. Holy crap wonder if this is documented known issue by the dev.
It could be NVIDIA's driver issue.
Like what I experienced on X299 with SLI being broken (GPU usage drops to 60-70%) with earlier NV driver.
Driver v385.41 fixed that issue and my game FPS is now back up normal (except for Far Cry Primal).
TSowikh84
post Sep 30 2017, 09:33 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Sep 30 2017, 12:32 AM)
bidding farewell to d C die sticks... in case any upcomin Ryzen rig owner is keen... tongue.gif

[attachmentid=9187690]
Nice kit that deserves a beautiful outfit.
Buy heatspreaders for it and keep it! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by owikh84: Sep 30 2017, 05:11 PM
TSowikh84
post Oct 2 2017, 09:58 PM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(raydenex @ Oct 2 2017, 03:28 PM)
Check out this new video from Mindblank and his benchmarks;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S6yp7Pi39Z8
Interesting video from Mindblank again.
He sure has a very good RAM kit coupled with a strong IMC in the CPU.
But one thing he lacks is that stress test has not been done to confirm its stability.
3466 C14 is not easy with my current hardware. It can run stably in one test but failed in another test, not 100% stable.
Suspect is weak IMC seeing at the high SOC that my CPU required. sad.gif

TSowikh84
post Oct 3 2017, 12:06 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Oct 2 2017, 11:51 PM)
Same here bro, 3333 cl14 is alot mire easier with stock volt. 3466 is another level liao. Saw him pumpin 1.5v for 3466 cl14? shocking.gif
Mine was pumped 1.5V too, not stable as well. confused.gif
TSowikh84
post Oct 3 2017, 11:10 AM

i7 Clan
8,711 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Oct 3 2017, 08:19 AM)
I put up to 1.45v, tpu memtest can pass hrs but p95 blend (15gb  allocation) failed almost instantly. Loosened timing, more vdimm/vsoc also not helpin. I stop at 3333, on k7. Hopefully better on on tomahawk (fat hope i know tongue.gif).
Don't use TPU Memtest as it's not stressful.
Need the paid HCl Memtest Pro, which is usually used by RAM manufacturers.

QUOTE(raydenex @ Oct 3 2017, 08:55 AM)
I'm running that 3466 Vengeance RGB kit rock-stable for a month now at CL16-18-18-36-55 (exactly as per the XMP/DOHP). DOHP profile 3466 doesn't work, I had to put timings and a bunch of sub-timings (tRRD_S, tRRD-L, tRFC1, tRFC2, tRFC4, tFAW, tCCD-L) manually, give it 1.4v, vboot also 1.4v, vsoc 1.1. Now after watching Mindblank's video, I'm very enticed to try CL14. You shared your CL14 timings with that 3466 kit before right? I'll try to replicate it and see if I get more stable result with my 1700's IMC.

None of my B-die RAM will run stable at 3466 16-18-18-36-55.
Your vSOC at 1.1V, means your CPU has a strong IMC. Mine needs 1.20V+.
Nope, I did not share my 3466 C14 here as it's not stable. SPi passed but HCl Memtest failed.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0196sec    0.43    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:14 PM