What's your monthly expenses

furuku89
post Jul 10 2018, 12:29 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(dyifa @ Jul 10 2018, 10:21 AM)
I tot most financial advisor would advise ppl not to owe credit cards?
Installment and so on. I also human ma, can have outstanding.

Sometimes the lust of shopping offer is too great to resist.

Fyi, according to BNM more than 70% ppl with brought forward cc outstanding. Im part of the 70%

This post has been edited by furuku89: Jul 10 2018, 12:32 PM
mephyll
post Jul 11 2018, 09:13 AM

428 posts

QUOTE(furuku89 @ Jul 10 2018, 12:26 PM)
Sorry rectify from unifi 800 to utility
still dont understand, you are age 29 only, insurance cost that much?
Ramjade
post Jul 11 2018, 09:41 AM

24,429 posts

That's only true for
1) people who have no discipline in their shopping
2) people who have no cash to pay back
3) people who are always paying late

Few rules of using credit card
1) always make sure you have cash ready to pay back the amount charged to your credit card
2) pay in full and on time every month
3) have discipline when you are shopping

Credit card is a double edge sword. If you can fulfilled the rules to use Credir card, you will earn and banks will be your slave. Churning out cash, air miles for you.

If not, be prepared to be slave to the banks biggrin.gif biggrin.gif.
wongmunkeong
post Jul 11 2018, 09:50 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

As per what Ramjade shared, like fire - if U know how to use it properly, credit cards are literally free money (cash back, 0% balance transfers for 6mths /12mths, free cash to savings a/c 0% for 15mths, points, discounts at fixed price shops/online, 20-30 days free cash flow etc.)
VS
if used stupidly, U will be burnt & cooked

BTW, just because someone works as a Financial Advisor / Planner doesn't mean the PRACTICE it in their own lives tongue.gif
There are several financial folks i know who are totally clueless on execution nor have the will power brows.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 11 2018, 09:52 AM
furuku89
post Jul 11 2018, 11:27 PM

172 posts

QUOTE(mephyll @ Jul 11 2018, 09:13 AM)
still dont understand, you are age 29 only, insurance cost that much?
Yup. Bigger responsibility.
Medical card RM370, cover 1m and critical illness 350k
Life RM 230, 1m coverage

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 11 2018, 09:41 AM)
That's only true for
1) people who have no discipline in their shopping
2) people who have no cash to pay back
3) people who are always paying late

Few rules of using credit card
1) always make sure you have cash ready to pay back the amount charged to your credit card
2) pay in full and on time every month
3) have discipline when you are shopping

Credit card is a double edge sword. If you can fulfilled the rules to use Credir card, you will earn and banks will be your slave. Churning out cash,  air miles for you.

If not,  be prepared to be slave to the banks biggrin.gif biggrin.gif.
QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Jul 11 2018, 09:50 AM)
As per what Ramjade shared, like fire - if U know how to use it properly, credit cards are literally free money (cash back, 0% balance transfers for 6mths /12mths, free cash to savings a/c 0% for 15mths, points, discounts at fixed price shops/online, 20-30 days free cash flow etc.)
VS
if used stupidly, U will be burnt & cooked

BTW, just because someone works as a Financial Advisor / Planner doesn't mean the PRACTICE it in their own lives tongue.gif
There are several financial folks i know who are totally clueless on execution nor have the will power  brows.gif
First of all, I dont come from a rich family. Since fresh grade earning 2k basic until today which is only 1 concept. “Bigger commitment will bring you further”

Generally you are correct at some points, but I did it on purpose to spend that much. The logic behind is, the bigger your commitment you run faster. I can use my savings to pay off all the cc commitment, but i do not want to do that. If i do so, i will be slow down by my own laziness

For instance, if you know you have 20k commitment VS 5k commitment. You will work harder on 20k because you know you cant survive if you just earn 5k alone. Its just like u running faster when there is a tiger chasing you than just normal run. You know its all about life or death.

Another example. If u have a 9-5job that pays you 10k per month, while you getting a new commitment add up RM 12k, you will even think of OT or even find another 2nd job to reach 12k rather than just waiting for the clock to tick at 5pm and ready for TGIF mood

This post has been edited by furuku89: Jul 11 2018, 11:59 PM
Ramjade
post Jul 12 2018, 06:19 AM

24,429 posts

QUOTE(furuku89 @ Jul 11 2018, 11:27 PM)
Life RM 230, 1m coverage
First of all, I dont come from a rich family. Since fresh grade earning 2k basic until today which is only 1 concept. “Bigger commitment will bring you further”

Generally you are correct at some points, but I did it on purpose to spend that much. The logic behind is, the bigger your commitment you run faster. I can use my savings to pay off all the cc commitment, but i do not want to do that. If i do so, i will be slow down by my own laziness

For instance, if you know you have 20k commitment VS 5k commitment. You will work harder on 20k because you know you cant survive if you just earn 5k alone. Its just like u running faster when there is a tiger chasing you than just normal run. You know its all about life or death.

Another example. If u have a 9-5job that pays you 10k per month, while you getting a new commitment add up RM 12k, you will even think of OT or even find another 2nd job to reach 12k rather than just waiting for the clock to tick at 5pm and ready for TGIF mood
That's a very bad way. If you don't have the money to pay off RM5k, what makes you think you have the money to pay off RM20k? It may work in the short while but it won't last long as there's only so much stress you can cause yourself.

Eventually you will feel tired and less efficient in your job.
polarzbearz
post Jul 12 2018, 06:41 AM

Gracie
4,816 posts

Life RM 230, 1m coverage

Instead of having more commitment to motivate you further wouldn't it be better to have more savings and increase your asset / portfolio? You can still apply your concept of "spend equivalent with income" except for putting it into wealth building
rapple
post Jul 12 2018, 08:48 AM

Y N W A
2,065 posts

Life RM 230, 1m coverage

Bigger responsibility doesn't mean you need more insurance coverage and furthermore you are single, unless your parents needs your money to live on when you are suddenly not here anymore.

Spending unnecessarily to motivate yourself to earn more looks like a bad idea. How are you going to repay your commitments during the bad times?

Ramjade
post Jul 12 2018, 08:56 AM

24,429 posts

Spending more while earning same is a bad idea as to u lack the money to pay back.

Even if you earn more, you should keep the spending same, if you keep increasing spending with increase earning you will fall into inflation lifestyle trap which means you will forever be stuck trying to earn more.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Jul 12 2018, 08:57 AM
post Jul 12 2018, 09:12 AM

Avengers Assemble!
833 posts

Life RM 230, 1m coverage

That mindset. Something like fresh grads just enter society, suddenly got money.
Want to reward yourselves with foreign car, latest smartphone and lastly, fall into credit card mull.

Bank should thank you for much spending. We should thank you too for helping us to improve our economy.
Also helped me to contribute my part in growing economy while I live frugally

This post has been edited by 55665566: Jul 12 2018, 09:15 AM
wongmunkeong
post Jul 12 2018, 09:26 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

Life RM 230, 1m coverage

whatever works for you mate
+
sounds like a book i read where the sales consultant keeps buying bigger cars, watches, extravagant stuff to have debts chasing himself to perform daily.
Also smells suspiciously familiar with ancient thinking of "buying the biggest house U can", slave it off since U committed to it liao.

for me, the above sounds more like a way to "shiok sendiri" to move & way too stressful for my old heart heheh
VS
having WHYs or BIGGER REASONS than self, then planning, executing, tweaking to achieve goals for the WHYs / REASONS.
OR
at least game-i-fy your financial plans & execution, thus U can use your monthly / quarterly net worth & investment assets as scores smile.gif

PS. many of us also do not come from rich family la
eg. 1 gomen worker +1home maker parent = work & study to be able to finance eating & getting an academic paper.
doesnt necessarily auto-equate to using fear to chase oneself or needing to satisfy one's "lost childhood lifestyle" smile.gif

This post has been edited by wongmunkeong: Jul 12 2018, 09:33 AM
Showtime747
post Jul 12 2018, 11:10 AM

4,258 posts

QUOTE(furuku89 @ Jul 10 2018, 02:27 AM)
Single, 29M, Financial Adviser

House1 2060
House2 2600 (rent out @ 1300 only)
Maintenance house1 300
Maintenance house2 300
Car1 2269
Car2 1175 (currently dad driving so he pay)
Insurance 600
Credit card 4000 (inclusive of all installment plan)
Food 2000-3000
Parents 1000
Prs 250
Entertainment 1000-2000
Utility 800
Shopping 0-3000 (depending on pay)
Petrol 600
TNG 200
Personal assistant 2000-6000 (depending on my workload)
House renovation 0-10000 (recently renovating house, dont dare to take extra loans)

Almost everyday work like dog just to cover commitment, sometimes have saving sometimes no
Everybody except wong sifu is bashing you biggrin.gif

I bet those who bash you have no capacity to incur the level of debt you have. Ie. the banks dare not even loan so much to them ! Yet they tell you don't do it biggrin.gif

It's not easy for the bank to give out loan to people. One must have that sort of income to prove to the banks first. It seems that you are doing quite well on your income side to have that sort of spending and lifestyle.

From this thread, I can see the potential of the people. Majority are very "safe" and conservative people. Some spend a lot on housing and other investment. And a minority have high "bad debt" (ie CC loan vs good debt like property loan). And you have a mix of everything all others have here biggrin.gif

"Safe" people are...well... safe in their life. Everything is thought out before they make their moves. They won't go bankrupt. Neither are they expected to make it big. These type of people only dare to sail in a pond

"Investment" people are heavy towards planning for the future. These people have higher risk appetite than the "safe" people. They have more potential. These type of people are willing to sail to the big rivers and calm sea

"Bad debt" people are hopeless. Their boat is leaking so they can't even sail

While I can see that you are those very few in numbers "aggressive" people. Willing to take high risk. Constantly pushing yourself. Always set very tight deadlines and milestones to yourself. If you can make it, you will make it big. Likewise, if you don't make it, then you will fall flat. A "gambling" and "trigger happy" person. You are willing to not only sail to the biggest ocean, you will set sail even if there is a storm brewing in front of you !

I am in business and know many business associates and friends. Those big bosses have more or less your sort of aggressiveness. They like to gamble. And they like to spend as well. Big cars, branded stuff, high end dining and travelling, women etc.....In a way, I see the same characteristics in you.

It's all about a person's character. I don't think even if you read those who bash you, you will change a bit. Just like bro ramjade he will not change his miser character. So, be yourself, work hard and enjoy the ups and downs in your life like a movie. I am certain your movie is much more interesting than those "safe" people's....
1depp1
post Jul 12 2018, 11:38 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(imnotabot @ Aug 8 2017, 02:20 PM)
Below is roughly the expenses every month for the three of us (married with one newborn). Both of us are working, and we are still young (between 25 and 30). It's quite detailed because we keep track of our expenses every month for over a year already.

Rent: RM800 (single storey terrace house in Seri Kembangan; this will increase to RM900 next year)
Car Loan: RM700 (2014 Proton Preve Exec, which my wife bought before I even knew her, so don't judge me tongue.gif)
Eating Out: RM400 (quite low because we bring lunchbox almost everyday)
Groceries: RM400 (including non-food items like shampoo, tissue, etc.)
Petrol: RM400 (our car's average fuel efficiency is 9.3 l/100km, so this translates to roughly 2100km per month)
Toll: RM100
Clothing/Appliances/Furnitures: RM50 – RM100 (once every 2 – 3 months)
Parking: RM10 (mostly for parking in shopping malls)
Service charge: RM10 (misc charges, such as RM0.53 charged when doing instant transfer)
Giving/Gifts: RM100 – RM150 (occasional donations to charity, buying friends/relatives small gifts, etc.)
Movies: RM30 (we watch one movie every month, and we usually take advantage of promotion from CC)
TNB: RM50 – RM70
Internet: RM187 (Unifi 50mbps)
Phone bill: RM100 (Umobile P70 + Share 20)
Software subscriptions: RM37.99 (Office 365 for my whole family)
Parents: RM1,165 (We give RM250 to each parent, and help my wife's parents pay their Unifi 10mbps bill)
Siblings: RM200 (We give our non-working siblings RM50 each)
Health + Life insurance: RM484
Blow money: RM50 – RM100 (this is my wife's off-budget money)
PTPTN: RM400
Mortgage: RM450++ (partial payment for our undercon apartment)
Child: RM500 – RM700 (newborn; mostly for diapers and nursery)
IWK saving: RM8 (RM25.44 every 3 months)
Auto insurance + road tax saving: RM75 (roughly RM900 every year)
Car maintenance saving: RM170 (for minor service, major service, change battery, and change tyres)
Vacation saving: RM100 – RM150 (we go on a budget vacation every 3 – 4 months)

There are still areas for improvement which we will work on over time:

- Our health and life insurance is overpriced. I'm planning to switch to standalone health insurance + term life insurance, instead of the current whole life insurance with health insurance as riders. We can probably shave RM200 by doing so, and we will be investing the difference.
- Our car loan is quite expensive. Not much we can do but continue paying it. Still 6 years to go. After it is paid off, we will never purchase another new car. We will only purchase second hand car with cash.
- Petrol and toll can be reduced. Currently I travel 70km to and from work everyday. I probably can cut this down by renting near my workplace, or get a remote job.
- Phone bill can be reduced further by RM20 – RM30 by switching to Umobile P38/P48 + P28. Our current plan is overkill, as we usually end up using less than 50% of our quota. However, my wife requires a plan with unlimited call, so Umobile is the cheapest, hence why we're with Umobile.
- PTPTN will be paid off in 6 years. It's under my wife's name, and it's already in CCRIS because she did not pay for it before we got married. It's a good thing because that prevents her from asking me to bring her to vacation overseas. tongue.gif
- We are currently paying for both rent and mortgage partial payment, which sucks. Not much we can do other than suck it up until end of 2018.
thumbup.gif A very detailed expenses list bro.. great job!
imnotabot
post Jul 12 2018, 07:50 PM

531 posts

QUOTE(cheefai7 @ Jul 6 2018, 09:28 AM)
Sir, you are doing well, because you manage it meticulously and put every ringgit with purpose. Right mind set to not to get into debt further, but its better if you could shed it, for example to sell your car and get a cheaper one in cash, with all the savings to repay PTPTN earlier. Once you did that, you will have better breathing space.

It's not possible to sell the car. Remaining loan is 40k, but based on market it can only be sold for 30k max. If we were to sell it, we'll end up with no car and 10k poorer.
Brallectra
post Jul 13 2018, 03:32 AM

My mum says we spend around 20k per month to feed 7 people. No car loan, no house loan. Just on daily expenses
Ramjade
post Jul 13 2018, 08:48 AM

24,429 posts

QUOTE(Showtime747 @ Jul 12 2018, 11:10 AM)
Everybody except wong sifu is bashing you  biggrin.gif

I bet those who bash you have no capacity to incur the level of debt you have. Ie. the banks dare not even loan so much to them ! Yet they tell you don't do it  biggrin.gif

It's not easy for the bank to give out loan to people. One must have that sort of income to prove to the banks first. It seems that you are doing quite well on your income side to have that sort of spending and lifestyle.

From this thread, I can see the potential of the people. Majority are very "safe" and conservative people. Some spend a lot on housing and other investment. And a minority have high "bad debt" (ie CC loan vs good debt like property loan). And you have a mix of everything all others have here  biggrin.gif

"Safe" people are...well... safe in their life. Everything is thought out before they make their moves. They won't go bankrupt. Neither are they expected to make it big. These type of people only dare to sail in a pond

"Investment" people are heavy towards planning for the future. These people have higher risk appetite than the "safe" people. They have more potential. These type of people are willing to sail to the big rivers and calm sea

"Bad debt" people are hopeless. Their boat is leaking so they can't even sail

While I can see that you are those very few in numbers "aggressive" people. Willing to take high risk. Constantly pushing yourself. Always set very tight deadlines and milestones to yourself. If you can make it, you will make it big. Likewise, if you don't make it, then you will fall flat. A "gambling" and "trigger happy" person. You are willing to not only sail to the biggest ocean, you will set sail even if there is a storm brewing in front of you !

I am in business and know many business associates and friends. Those big bosses have more or less your sort of aggressiveness. They like to gamble. And they like to spend as well. Big cars, branded stuff, high end dining and travelling, women etc.....In a way, I see the same characteristics in you.

It's all about a person's character. I don't think even if you read those who bash you, you will change a bit. Just like bro ramjade he will not change his miser character. So, be yourself, work hard and enjoy the ups and downs in your life like a movie. I am certain your movie is much more interesting than those "safe" people's....
Actually not really. Some of us choose to be debt free. Why work for banks when you can let banks work for you?

Actually it's very easy for bank to give out money. My credit card limit was basically 10x my salary. Banks love to give out money. Why do you think they dangle ad like free holiday with personal loan? They are encouraging people to take up loan, to go for holiday, buy stuff with borrowed money.

Peace of mind that no one is chasing you for money is priceless vs having to worry that someone is always after your money every month and having to look over your shoulder.
furuku89
post Jul 13 2018, 09:01 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 13 2018, 08:48 AM)
Actually not really. Some of us choose to be debt free. Why work for banks when you can let banks work for you?

Actually it's very easy for bank to give out money. My credit card limit was basically 10x my salary. Banks love to give out money. Why do you think they dangle ad like free holiday with personal loan?  They are encouraging people to take up loan, to go for holiday,  buy stuff with borrowed money.

Peace of mind that no one is chasing  you for money is priceless vs having to worry that someone is always after your money every month and having to look over your shoulder.
You are lucky to get 10x of cc limit. May be because I am a high risk customer to them, they offer me around 2-5x. But is more than enough for me. My total cc limit can buy a brand new maserati ghibli. The last cc i applied gave me 2xxk which is 1 year ago.

This post has been edited by furuku89: Jul 13 2018, 09:36 AM
spiderman17
post Jul 13 2018, 11:17 AM

309 posts

QUOTE(Brallectra @ Jul 13 2018, 03:32 AM)
My mum says we spend around 20k per month to feed 7 people. No car loan, no house loan. Just on daily expenses
private school? college fees? medical bills? those are the big stuff.
i spent 50k/year on my family of 4, and spent another 50k/year on my father's medical.
medical bill is really scary.

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jul 13 2018, 08:48 AM)

Actually it's very easy for bank to give out money. My credit card limit was basically 10x my salary. Banks love to give out money. Why do you think they dangle ad like free holiday with personal loan?  They are encouraging people to take up loan, to go for holiday,  buy stuff with borrowed money.

Peace of mind that no one is chasing  you for money is priceless vs having to worry that someone is always after your money every month and having to look over your shoulder.
fixed salary earner from established companies, yes.
try doing commission-heavy job with minimal salary. try freelancing. see how much bank will loan you.
AntiScam
post Jul 13 2018, 02:30 PM

182 posts

i spent 1.5k every month
Brallectra
post Jul 13 2018, 02:50 PM

QUOTE(spiderman17 @ Jul 13 2018, 11:17 AM)
private school? college fees? medical bills? those are the big stuff.
i spent 50k/year on my family of 4, and spent another 50k/year on my father's medical.
medical bill is really scary.
fixed salary earner from established companies, yes.
try doing commission-heavy job with minimal salary. try freelancing. see how much bank will loan you.
20k excluding school fees, university fees, insurance, medical bills, car maintenance, etc. But includes stuff like food, clothing, petrol, allowance.

This post has been edited by Brallectra: Jul 13 2018, 02:51 PM

32 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.1153sec    1.18    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 02:25 AM