Buying Advice 350D? 400D? D40?, help me out

TSjian.see
post Apr 4 2007, 12:42 PM, updated 19y ago

69 posts

err....the more i read...the more difficult to make my decision....

350D...quite cheap and good quality...i dont like it as this model is very old, and the screen is damn small

400D..nice cam...but the price is more expensive than 350D and D40, and is a bit out of my budget

D40..nice price, good quality tongue.gif BUT, must get a EF-s lens..and only 3 focus point.

feel like wanna get canon, as my cousin using canon and he has the L lens, i mayb can share with him...but 350D is an old model while 400D is quite expensive

D40 overall is a good camera...but i really wonder the 3 focus point will be a big problem in taking pic or not? And the nikon lens is cheaper compare to canon.

ahh....the pro and cons...really make me headache...and i wish to get it during May, so hopefully some1 can give more opinions here, so that i can decide faster biggrin.gif

rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by jian.see: Apr 4 2007, 03:05 PM
nairud
post Apr 4 2007, 01:12 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

May? How much more can you save till May?

I'd say get the 350D, you can use both EF and EF-S lens and without having to worry about getting imcompatible lens whereas D40 only have Af on AFs lens.

8mp and 6mp, more focus points, your cousin uses Canon -> can borrow lens anytime
goldfries
post Apr 4 2007, 01:19 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

like what Nairud said - the D40 does not have auto-focus on non AF-S / AF-I lens.

old model doesn't mean bad. i'm using 350D as well and AFAIK nairud was a 350D user too. smile.gif
TSjian.see
post Apr 4 2007, 01:27 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Apr 4 2007, 02:12 PM)
May? How much more can you save till May?

I'd say get the 350D, you can use both EF and EF-S lens and without having to worry about getting imcompatible lens whereas D40 only have Af on AFs lens.

8mp and 6mp, more focus points, your cousin uses Canon -> can borrow lens anytime
the most will be 3K... hmm.gif

Added on April 4, 2007, 1:28 pmthanks for yr opinion goldfries and nairud...

hope to heard more from others;)

This post has been edited by jian.see: Apr 4 2007, 01:28 PM
blackhead-T
post Apr 4 2007, 02:22 PM

124 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ Apr 4 2007, 12:42 PM)
err....the more i read...the more difficult to make my decision....

350D...quite cheap and good quality...i dont like it as this model is very old, and the screen is damn small

400D..nice cam...but the price is more expensive than 350D and D40, and is a bit out of my budget

D40..nice price, good quality tongue.gif BUT, must get a EF-s lens..and only 3 focus point.

feel like wanna get canon, as my cousin using canon and he has the L lens, i mayb can share with him...but 350D is an old model while 400D is quite expensive

D40 overall is a good camera...but i really wonder the 3 focus point will be a big problem in taking pic or not? And the nikon lens is cheaper compare to canon.

ahh....the pro and cons...really  make me headache...and i wish to get it during May, so hopefully some1 can give more comments here, so that i can decide faster biggrin.gif

rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Follow your heart....and get the one you feel the most one thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif rclxm9.gif
chrisoys
post Apr 4 2007, 02:22 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ Apr 4 2007, 01:27 PM)
the most will be 3K... hmm.gif

Added on April 4, 2007, 1:28 pmthanks for yr opinion goldfries and nairud...

hope to heard more from others;)
3K can get 400D already. I think without accesories lah hmm.gif

TSjian.see
post Apr 4 2007, 03:01 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(chrisoys @ Apr 4 2007, 03:22 PM)
3K can get 400D already. I think without accesories lah hmm.gif
ya, that is true..but i'll be broke at that time blush.gif ...arhh...really dunno which to chose..

And i heard that canon kit lens is not as sharp as Nikon 1...that make me step back from canon...

er...how?? rclxub.gif
chrisoys
post Apr 4 2007, 03:22 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ Apr 4 2007, 03:01 PM)
ya, that is true..but i'll be broke at that time blush.gif ...arhh...really dunno which to chose..

And i heard that canon kit lens is not as sharp as Nikon 1...that make me step back from canon...

er...how?? rclxub.gif
Canon KitLens not that bad as describe by certain ppls.

Used the Kitlens first. Later got $$$$ then get the 'L' Lenses lah wub.gif

D40 have limitation. Better get 350D.
g88
post Apr 4 2007, 03:48 PM

1,631 posts

Aiyo...ragu so much and comparing so many you will never get one ...trust me.

Since u said 350D LCD small..drop it. D40 3 focus point also not meet ur requirement drop it also...

So u left 400D. brows.gif

For newbiews (like me), start with kitlens first...FULLY utalise it until u think cannot extend anymore then only slowly upgrade..by that time u will know what length lens u want hmm.gif ....

chrisoys is right, kitlens is a lens..not something that after u snap and cannot accept the result ... thumbup.gif
undazztood
post Apr 4 2007, 05:13 PM

true goodness is understood
991 posts

D40x Kit + Lowepro Minitrekker AW + Hoya UV Filter + 1GB Card = RM2990

TS..put this on ur list too.. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif below 3k.
TSjian.see
post Apr 4 2007, 06:06 PM

69 posts

D40X ah...i better spend a bit to get better cam wo...if not i'll just pick D40..
ac98
post Apr 4 2007, 06:36 PM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ Apr 4 2007, 03:01 PM)
Haaa ... this is where I will come in. For those ppl who say 'Canon's kit len is not as sharp as Nikon' I will alway have ONE advice ...

"Pay Nikon Rm2000+, get the D40 and find out"

After all, coming to real life photographic situation, a kit lens will NEVER EVER be enough regardless you're using Canon or Nikon, so why worry about the sharpness alone? If you have stepped back from Canon, then go the Nikon way. And oh, you might wanna try out the kit lenses that belong to Sony, KM, Pentax and Olympus as well. I also 'hear' that their kit lens are shaper than Nikon AND Canon.

tongue.gif
ac98
post Apr 4 2007, 06:42 PM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Apr 4 2007, 03:48 PM)
Aiyo...ragu so much and comparing so many you will never get one ...trust me.
Since u said 350D LCD small..drop it. D40 3 focus point also not meet ur requirement drop it also...
What is wrong with you ppl-lah! LCD too small also complain. I am 1.8" LCD and cannot zoom also belum complain. The LCD is for checking the image and showing to girls only, still does not match monitor colour most of the time. If suddenly you cannot preview your pics then die-lor, can throw away camera liao-lor tongue.gif

TSjian.see
post Apr 4 2007, 08:50 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(ac98 @ Apr 4 2007, 07:36 PM)
Haaa ... this is where I will come in. For those ppl who say 'Canon's kit len is not as sharp as Nikon' I will alway have ONE advice ...

"Pay Nikon Rm2000+, get the D40 and find out"

After all, coming to real life photographic situation, a kit lens will NEVER EVER be enough regardless you're using Canon or Nikon, so why worry about the sharpness alone? If you have stepped back from Canon, then go the Nikon way. And oh, you might wanna try out the kit lenses that belong to Sony, KM, Pentax and Olympus as well. I also 'hear' that their kit lens are shaper than Nikon AND Canon.

tongue.gif
find out wat? find out that Nikon kit lens is actually not that sharp compare to Canon? or Nikon kit lens is actually very very sharp?? whistling.gif
scotty
post Apr 4 2007, 09:01 PM

THX Certified Conman
4,380 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ Apr 4 2007, 08:50 PM)
find out wat? find out that Nikon kit lens is actually not that sharp compare to Canon? or Nikon kit lens is actually very very sharp?? whistling.gif
both the same. biggrin.gif
TSjian.see
post Apr 4 2007, 09:42 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(scotty @ Apr 4 2007, 10:01 PM)
both the same.  biggrin.gif
phew...luckily u say that...if not i'll crack my head to think which to buy again rclxub.gif
goldfries
post Apr 4 2007, 10:03 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

kit lens is fine wan. even i'm using kit lens.

however before any idiot come and bash my statement above, please try to understand what i'm saying. smile.gif

not everyone is into paying for lens, kit lens has its merits. it's later on (if you ever) you might feel that the kit lens doesn't suit or is not catering your style of photography, that's when you will look into other lenses. biggrin.gif

for me? i've already reserved a zoom lens. tongue.gif next up are macro and prime lens. hehe. let's see how it goes.

and damn. need to get a bag and a manfrotto tripod. oh yeah and an external flash to replace my current cheapo-external flash (which i hardly utilize in the first place).
g88
post Apr 4 2007, 10:50 PM

1,631 posts

I need repeat again oredi vmad.gif ....

Canon win at speed, Nikon win at colour but colour computer can adjust...speed only camera can brows.gif ....

Sharp or not sharp depend on the lens u using.... rclxm9.gif
TSjian.see
post Apr 5 2007, 07:52 AM

69 posts

Ok...thanks for all the opinions;)

actually i take a lot of zoom photo. i use my fren DSLR b4, and i find that i need at least a 300mm zoom.

But, still i'll master my skill on kit lens first biggrin.gif
xyzpace
post Apr 5 2007, 01:52 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Apr 4 2007, 10:50 PM)
I need repeat again oredi  vmad.gif ....

Canon win at speed, Nikon win at colour but colour computer can adjust...speed only camera can  brows.gif ....

Sharp or not sharp depend on the lens u using.... rclxm9.gif
you are agree that nikon colour than canon.......
TSjian.see
post Apr 6 2007, 08:05 AM

69 posts

If i can get 400D at RM2699. Do u all think it is worth to buy? with kit lens.
chrisoys
post Apr 6 2007, 08:33 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ Apr 6 2007, 08:05 AM)
If i can get 400D at RM2699. Do u all think it is worth to buy? with kit lens.
Getting cheap camera. Buy at your own risk.
TSjian.see
post Apr 6 2007, 08:43 AM

69 posts

i get it from the canon concept shop at Gurney wo ( actually havent get it, i just ask nia )....because i know that guy so he can give me this price.

I wonder can i get cheaper than that biggrin.gif biggrin.gif hmm.gif

This post has been edited by jian.see: Apr 6 2007, 08:45 AM
datto
post Apr 6 2007, 12:09 PM

a.k.a. datsun turbo
1,079 posts

my opinion after owning a 400D for 2 weeks is the body is not really a big matter. I gave up D40 1st coz AF only works with AF lens. 2nd thing is u'll be holding & navigating the body all the time no matter what lens u r using. So, u must feel very confortable with the design or interface of the body.

u can play around with the kit lins 1st. but later u'll find out that the kitlens is just a waste of money(no offence to those who r using kitlens, forgive me coz i'm already poisoned by lenses). the price is at least 10x of a kitlens but u'll get 20x of satisfaction

This post has been edited by datto: Apr 6 2007, 12:11 PM
goldfries
post Apr 6 2007, 01:19 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(datto @ Apr 6 2007, 12:09 PM)
I gave up D40 1st coz AF only works with AF lens.

ehh. it's supposed to be that AF doesn't work with AF lens. smile.gif you need AF-S / AF-I lens to get teh AF running.

QUOTE(datto @ Apr 6 2007, 12:09 PM)
u can play around with the kit lins 1st. but later u'll find out that the kitlens is just a waste of money(no offence to those who r using kitlens, forgive me coz i'm already poisoned by lenses). the price is at least 10x of a kitlens but u'll get 20x of satisfaction
yeah agree. but heck it doesn't have to be 10x more than kit lens.

i just bought a 70 - 300mm zoom with macro 1:2 for RM 600. biggrin.gif very happy. just need to find a place to try it out.
TSjian.see
post Apr 6 2007, 01:40 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 6 2007, 02:19 PM)
ehh. it's supposed to be that AF doesn't work with AF lens. smile.gif you need AF-S / AF-I lens to get teh AF running.
yeah agree. but heck it doesn't have to be 10x more than kit lens.

i just bought a 70 - 300mm zoom with macro 1:2 for RM 600. biggrin.gif very happy. just need to find a place to try it out.
so cheap with IS or not?

quick take more pics..and post it..i wanna c the result drool.gif
goldfries
post Apr 6 2007, 02:04 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

used unit la. tongue.gif but ok what. lens you can always buy used unit.

make sure you know how to test it la or get it from trustable people.

no IS la. i don't recall seeing any without IS being so cheap. smile.gif speaking of which, if you like IS you can go for Pentax or Sony but to wait for a used lens that fit it could take you forever.
TSjian.see
post Apr 6 2007, 04:07 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 6 2007, 03:04 PM)
used unit la. tongue.gif but ok what. lens you can always buy used unit.

make sure you know how to test it la or get it from trustable people.

no IS la. i don't recall seeing any without IS being so cheap. smile.gif speaking of which, if you like IS you can go for Pentax or Sony but to wait for a used lens that fit it could take you forever.
oh i need IS biggrin.gif

other brands like Nikon lens can fit to the canon body?? unsure.gif
goldfries
post Apr 6 2007, 04:11 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

eh no leh. Nikon lens based on Nikon mount. Canon lens based on Canon mount.

however brands like Sigma and Tamron would have lens that fit various mounts. smile.gif

the 70-300mm i bought was from Tamron, made for Canon mount.
TSjian.see
post Apr 6 2007, 06:12 PM

69 posts

oh icic...

But tamro and sigma is it cheaper than canon lens?
g88
post Apr 7 2007, 01:10 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ Apr 6 2007, 06:12 PM)
oh icic...

For those cannot afford Canon ori lens (like me) or beginner (like me also biggrin.gif ) will prefer go for 3rd party lens...Tamron and Sigma is 2 famous maker...Tokina also but their choice lesser and price is higher...

Some sifu said some 3rd party lenses perform better then ori lens wor....i might wanna get myself ON with one in very near future brows.gif

Anyway, again what u pay is what u get lor.... thumbup.gif
goldfries
post Apr 7 2007, 03:42 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

http://www.sigmaphoto.com/
http://www.tamron.com/
http://www.tokinalens.com/

R a D ! c 4 L
post Apr 7 2007, 10:28 AM

Linc | Nox
4,744 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ Apr 6 2007, 06:12 PM)
oh icic...

depends, for sigma certain lens are expensive, but some arent, yet those not so expensive lens produce superb image quality, take the 10-20mm wide angle for instance, its one of the best lens around, and it doesnt cost more than 3k.

Dude, i'd suggest that you go for the 350D or the 400D, you wont have any regrets in the future, if u want to make it look like those pro cam, get a vertical battery grip tongue.gif
TSjian.see
post Apr 8 2007, 08:26 AM

69 posts

Thanks for all the suggestions
I think i'll get 400D mostly, next month biggrin.gif
But now i wonder, which lens should i get? Sigma or Canon? i definetely need a 300mm lens.
Any1 can suggest me? and would love to know the price as well biggrin.gif

Pls dont suggest me L lens...i'm very POOR biggrin.gif

Thanks wink.gif

This post has been edited by jian.see: Apr 8 2007, 08:26 AM
goldfries
post Apr 8 2007, 05:35 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

CANON'S EF 90 - 300mm 4.5-5.6 USM is about RM 650 for new unit.
TSjian.see
post Apr 8 2007, 09:01 PM

69 posts

oh..thanks..how bout 70-300mm? which 1 guve better quality? and is it important to hv IS??
chrisoys
post Apr 8 2007, 09:07 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ Apr 8 2007, 09:01 PM)
oh..thanks..how bout 70-300mm? which 1 guve better quality? and is it important to hv IS??
70-300mm F4.5-5.6 IS USM is about RM3K you can get the 70-200mm F4L USM lens for about RM2.9K thumbup.gif much more better quality than the 70-300mm

This post has been edited by chrisoys: Apr 8 2007, 09:08 PM
TSjian.see
post Apr 8 2007, 09:09 PM

69 posts

walau eh...dont suggest me L lens...but i remember the 70-300mm IS is about 2.3K...while with no IS, it is slih\ghtly over 1k?
chrisoys
post Apr 8 2007, 09:10 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ Apr 8 2007, 09:09 PM)
walau eh...dont suggest me L lens...but i remember the 70-300mm IS is about 2.3K...while with no IS, it is slih\ghtly over 1k?
Here is the list of Zoom lenses & latest pricing
http://www.canon.com.my/canon_new/product/lenses/zoom.php

TSjian.see
post Apr 8 2007, 09:14 PM

69 posts

oh then suppose to be 75-300mm...hehehe

since 75-300mm is a cheap lens...i wonder if get sigma at around this price, will i get better lens?
goldfries
post Apr 8 2007, 09:15 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 6 2007, 01:19 PM)
this is the one i bought. used unit.
http://www.tamron.com/lenses/prod/70300_di_a017.asp

new unit should be about RM 700.

might as well get this one instead of a Canon, cos this one starts at 70mm, while Canon 90mm and this one comes with 1:2 Macro.
chrisoys
post Apr 8 2007, 09:17 PM

321 posts

Here is the link that all the Canon & 3rd party lenses review
http://www.photozone.de/8Reviews/index.html

It seem Canon lenses are perform way much better than the 3rd party lenses.
TSjian.see
post Apr 8 2007, 09:17 PM

69 posts

so is it good? mind to share the result biggrin.gif

i wonder with no IS or VR, those avoid vibration thingy, will it affect alot??

Added on April 8, 2007, 9:20 pmthanks for the useful link chrisoys

This post has been edited by jian.see: Apr 8 2007, 09:20 PM
chrisoys
post Apr 8 2007, 09:21 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ Apr 8 2007, 09:17 PM)

i wonder with no IS or VR, those avoid vibration thingy, will it affect alot??
If you are old man with shaky hand then better go for IS rclxms.gif

Just kidding, IS did help abit it taking sharp image. But, if your hand did shake alot then it wouldn't help you much. You still need a steading hand to hold the camera to take nice pics.
goldfries
post Apr 8 2007, 09:23 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

hehe. there will be times that it's better to turn off the IS. smile.gif this is what i read in a photography mag recently.

and when you're using zoom, i doubt IS is going to help you much cos every little move you make is magnified at the lens. what you need is a tripod.
TSjian.see
post Apr 8 2007, 09:24 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(chrisoys @ Apr 8 2007, 10:21 PM)
If you are old man with shaky hand then better go for IS rclxms.gif

Just kidding, IS did help abit it taking sharp image. But, if your hand did shake alot then it wouldn't help you much. You still need a steading hand to hold the camera to take nice pics.
lol..i'm still very young hahaha...

ok...thinking not to get IS..save a lot..hehehe, since i hv quite a steady hand..this prove when i take some night pic with no tripod. tongue.gif

Added on April 8, 2007, 9:27 pmi'm actually thinking to get this Sigma AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 APO DG macro. But hv no idea how much it cost biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jian.see: Apr 8 2007, 09:27 PM
g88
post Apr 9 2007, 12:08 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(chrisoys @ Apr 8 2007, 09:17 PM)
Here is the link that all the Canon & 3rd party lenses review
http://www.photozone.de/8Reviews/index.html

It seem Canon lenses are perform way much better than the 3rd party lenses.
I won't agree on this...but of course if can get back Ori would be good but it's pricy...not everyone rich like you brows.gif
Red Maniac
post Apr 9 2007, 04:32 PM

347 posts

Hi to all the sifu here notworthy.gif . I'm just a beginner in the DSLR territory. I'm have read that the D40X is suitable to noob like myself but I also read how good is the 400D is. Now I wonder if it is better to get the D40X or should I get the 400D instead. rclxub.gif icon_question.gif
TSjian.see
post Apr 9 2007, 05:04 PM

69 posts

400D, follow me biggrin.gif..their price just almost the same;)
Red Maniac
post Apr 9 2007, 05:23 PM

347 posts

Thank for the quick reply. I think the D40X is still very new in the market and most shops still don't have stock yet. Am I right to say D40X is the entry level DSLR but not 400D?
g88
post Apr 10 2007, 01:07 AM

1,631 posts

AFAIK, D40X is just upgrade version of 10MP's D40. D40 was bundle with limited feature...and now 400D is "beating" it by dropping price....

Go for 400D....if keep waiting than you forever never get one since by the time u wanna get new model coming out agian....

D40X not really official in market yet
goldfries
post Apr 10 2007, 02:55 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ Apr 8 2007, 09:17 PM)

attached are

1. zoom - sitting in my car at Damansara Uptown area, outside TM Clickers. Snapped across the 6 lane high-way, focusing on the pattern of the overhead bridge.

2. macro - standing about 1m away from my food. smile.gif snapped in the kitchen.

EDITED :

NOTE : photos are un-retouched. only resized.
Canon 350D + Tamron AF70-300mm F/4-5.6 Di LD Macro 1:2

This post has been edited by goldfries: Apr 10 2007, 02:56 AM

Attached image(s)
TSjian.see
post Apr 10 2007, 07:26 AM

69 posts

wow...thanks for yr effort, appreacite it;)

BTW, these 2 pics are zoom at 300mm?

Added on April 10, 2007, 8:37 amAnyone know this lens' price, Sigma AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 APO DG macro??

This post has been edited by jian.see: Apr 10 2007, 08:37 AM
chrisoys
post Apr 10 2007, 09:13 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ Apr 10 2007, 07:26 AM)

Added on April 10, 2007, 8:37 amAnyone know this lens' price, Sigma AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 APO DG macro??
Taking this pic at 12midnight. No software editing just cropping only.

Canon 400D with EF 70-200mm F4L USM

TSjian.see
post Apr 10 2007, 10:54 AM

69 posts

wow..thanks for sharing the pic.. smile.gif
the L lens no doubt is very great..but i need at least 300mm...

BTW..is the lens that make the moon shape like this?

This post has been edited by jian.see: Apr 10 2007, 11:21 AM
manutd304
post Apr 10 2007, 11:05 AM

229 posts

how much now arh 400d and d40?

d40 price is like 2200 1gb sd tripod bag kitlens uv filter
TSjian.see
post Apr 10 2007, 11:22 AM

69 posts

400D 2699 for the body + Kit
D40 2080 for the body + Kit

xyzpace
post Apr 10 2007, 12:45 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ Apr 10 2007, 11:22 AM)
D40  2080 for the body + Kit
hard making decision....
shop says d40 good into taking lanscape pic and 400d good into taking sports.
and i think 400d has better resell value.

undazztood
post Apr 10 2007, 01:14 PM

true goodness is understood
991 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ Apr 10 2007, 11:22 AM)
D40  2080 for the body + Kit
RM2699? last two week i asked the price for 400d is RM2900+kit+lens only.
luckily i didn't bought it. if not sure very2 regret today.

This post has been edited by undazztood: Apr 10 2007, 01:16 PM
chrisoys
post Apr 10 2007, 02:01 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ Apr 10 2007, 10:54 AM)
wow..thanks for sharing the pic..  smile.gif
the L lens no doubt  is very great..but i need at least 300mm...

BTW..is the lens that make the moon shape like this?
Don't think the lens make the moon shape like that.

TSjian.see
post Apr 10 2007, 02:05 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(xyzpace @ Apr 10 2007, 01:45 PM)
hard making decision....
huh? D40 good in taking landscape? y? nvr heard of it smile.gif

IMO, landscape is the most easy thing to take, and almost all kinds of camera take nice landscape pic even with a PNS.

But of course have to be at right time to take nice landscape. esp when the sky is clear.

Added on April 10, 2007, 2:10 pm
QUOTE(undazztood @ Apr 10 2007, 02:14 PM)
2699 i dont think every1 can get this price actually, unless u know the person.

because i know that person ( not really know )..but my cousin purchase a lot of lenses from him..so he give me this price...

but sometimes i belive 2699 is not very cheap..cos some1 has the price of 2700 with body + kit + 1GB memeory card smile.gif

This post has been edited by jian.see: Apr 10 2007, 02:10 PM
g88
post Apr 10 2007, 04:34 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(undazztood @ Apr 10 2007, 01:14 PM)
vmad.gif there is NO camera when specially design or better is taking Potriat, landscape or anything...

It's all about skill, control of your camera and the LENS you use brows.gif ...of course speed of camera is very important also...400D !! thumbup.gif
kapchai
post Apr 10 2007, 06:18 PM

QUOTE(g88 @ Apr 10 2007, 04:34 PM)
vmad.gif  there is NO camera when specially design or better is taking Potriat, landscape or anything...
Have you heard of a Seitz or a Hasselblad or a Mamiya or even a Fujifilm or Pentax? not the 35mm though.

QUOTE(g88 @ Apr 10 2007, 04:34 PM)
It's all about skill, control of your camera and the LENS you use  brows.gif ...of course speed of camera is very important also...400D !!  thumbup.gif
Skill, yes. Lens? not really. Speed? Generally dSLRs have the capability to do BULB, or 30secs to 1/4000secs for a shutter. Please look at this forum or other popular forums, there are plenty of nice photos, supposedly taken from a pro with expensive gears. You will be surprised with the equipments they use and whom they are.

My advise to you, you are so badly needed to develop your skills first rather than to bang the wall with a teaspoon. Also, there is the need to check with the facts PROPERLY preferably with hands-on knowledge. It will not make you more compelling among other photographers over here, instead you will be a laughing stock for the wickeds and you will confuse even more the already confused newbies asking for advice.

Remember, a photo speaks a thousand words!
It will not only tell what's within the photo but also how far are you in taking photos.

This post has been edited by kapchai: Apr 10 2007, 06:20 PM
chrisoys
post Apr 10 2007, 08:36 PM

321 posts

99% pro photographers now a day depend on software editing. This is also due to photos taken in digital format not like last time using film. So, there is nothing to shout about in a pro photographers now a day.

Not everyone that own FilmSLR/DSLR must become a pro photographers. Everyone can own one or more FilmSLR/DSLR if they got $$$$$$. They can use expensive camera & lens to snap normal pics, there is nothing wrong about it.

"Photo speak a thousand word". So stop your nonsense and post more photos and let the photos speak for themself.

Cheers notworthy.gif
kapchai
post Apr 10 2007, 08:59 PM

You've totally missed the point. I'm generally telling g88 that gears does not matter and stop whining and get real. At the same time, don't confuse people with inaccurate information smile.gif
g88
post Apr 10 2007, 10:32 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(chrisoys @ Apr 10 2007, 08:36 PM)
99% pro photographers now a day depend on software editing. This is also due to photos taken in digital format not like last time using film. So, there is nothing to shout about in a pro photographers now a day.

Not everyone that own FilmSLR/DSLR must become a pro photographers. Everyone can own one or more FilmSLR/DSLR if they got $$$$$$. They can use expensive camera & lens to snap normal pics, there is nothing wrong about it.

"Photo speak a thousand word". So stop your nonsense and post more photos and let the photos speak for themself.

Cheers notworthy.gif
agree with you...maybe some ppl just so skeptical doh.gif rclxm9.gif .....
goldfries
post Apr 11 2007, 09:39 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(xyzpace @ Apr 10 2007, 12:45 PM)
hard making decision....
and now you know which shop to avoid. kindly name the shop please.

QUOTE(jian.see @ Apr 10 2007, 07:26 AM)

the 2nd pic at full zoom IINM. smile.gif i found NEW unit of that same lens at RM 590 over at J-One amcorp mall. no filter la. you get your own filter. smile.gif

nairud
post Apr 11 2007, 09:43 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

see how sharp this pic is:P
goldfries
post Apr 11 2007, 09:57 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

you people just like to show-off your above RM 2k lens. tongue.gif
nairud
post Apr 11 2007, 09:59 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

what 2k lens? 200mm pic only wut, not even 300mm yet.
goldfries
post Apr 11 2007, 10:09 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Apr 11 2007, 09:59 AM)
what 2k lens? 200mm pic only wut, not even 300mm yet.
hehe. in general la. tongue.gif your siggy sez it all. wink.gif
nairud
post Apr 11 2007, 11:07 AM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

If size does matter, then it's time for 500mm lens
TSjian.see
post Apr 11 2007, 12:09 PM

69 posts

why dont u look at this

All taken with the Sigma 70-300mm APO DG and extension tubes

Added on April 11, 2007, 12:11 pmmore pics of Sigma 70-300mm
http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showth...ma+70-300mm+APO

This post has been edited by jian.see: Apr 11 2007, 12:11 PM
chrisoys
post Apr 11 2007, 12:31 PM

321 posts

My turn showing my doggie pics here using 70-200mm cool2.gif

Blue Sky with White Cloud cool2.gif

This post has been edited by chrisoys: Apr 11 2007, 12:33 PM
aaron
post Apr 11 2007, 01:02 PM

LUMIX Freak
2,451 posts

to jian.see

the sigma 70-300 apo macro is a good lens for starter with reasonable price...i heard some ppl complain about the slow AF...i think this will only know when u had a hand on experiment for it...

the macro mode only able to used on 200mm above so the focusing distance is 1m which is abit far but do u think it is a problem for u..and this lens is 1:2 but not the true 1:1 macro lens.

the pic u show, where this lens able to get such close up is bcoz of the extension tube..which reduce ur focusing distance so u can get closer to ur subject. i saw some ppl using this lens and produce excellent image..so i think skill play the main role..so no need worry about other...just buy whatever u wan...and learn from it...
TSjian.see
post Apr 11 2007, 01:52 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(aaron @ Apr 11 2007, 02:02 PM)
to jian.see

the sigma 70-300 apo macro is a good lens for starter with reasonable price...i heard some ppl complain about the slow AF...i think this will only know when u had a hand on experiment for it...

the macro mode only able to used on 200mm above so the focusing distance is 1m which is abit far but do u think it is a problem for u..and this lens is  1:2 but not the true 1:1 macro lens.

the pic u show, where this lens able to get such close up is bcoz of the extension tube..which reduce ur focusing distance so u can get closer to ur subject. i saw some ppl using this lens and produce excellent image..so i think skill play the main role..so no need worry about other...just buy whatever u wan...and learn from it...
thanks for the reply smile.gif

as a beginner, i think this lens is suitable for me, although it has some draw back..but still it is worth for the price.

yupe, from the link that i have posted above, i saw some of them take nice, excellent pic with this lens, but of course some of them only produce so so pic, i 100% agree u the skill of a photographer is the main role.

Most probably i'll get this lens tongue.gif
goldfries
post Apr 11 2007, 02:21 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

yeah, my Tamron macro mode you have to set to 180mm - 300mm range then only can use.

Added on April 11, 2007, 2:29 pm
QUOTE(nairud @ Apr 11 2007, 11:07 AM)
If size does matter, then it's time for 500mm lens
just read the review of Sigma's 800mm lens. damn big, RRP is GBP 4499.

reminds me of your siggy. now if only i'm allowed to scan and upload that magazine article. smile.gif

This post has been edited by goldfries: Apr 11 2007, 02:29 PM
nairud
post Apr 11 2007, 02:32 PM

One Leg Kick Ultra
7,529 posts

I'm sure there's some news online which you can quote.
I'd like to have the Sigma 200-500mm f2.8
aaron
post Apr 11 2007, 02:36 PM

LUMIX Freak
2,451 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ Apr 11 2007, 01:52 PM)
thanks for the reply smile.gif

as a beginner, i think this lens is suitable for me, although it has some draw back..but still it is worth for the price.

yupe, from the link that i have posted above, i saw some of them take nice, excellent pic with this lens, but of course some of them only produce so so pic, i 100% agree u the skill of a photographer is the main role.

Most probably i'll get this lens tongue.gif
oh yes...u may also consider the tamron as well...price i think is almost the same..
the sigma build quality shakehead.gif like not so good... for tamron... not sure...heard it is better..
goldfries
post Apr 11 2007, 02:40 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(nairud @ Apr 11 2007, 02:32 PM)
I'm sure there's some news online which you can quote.
Practical Photography magazine, November 2006 edition.

http://www.photographymags.co.uk/
TSjian.see
post Apr 11 2007, 03:29 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(aaron @ Apr 11 2007, 03:36 PM)
oh yes...u may also consider the tamron as well...price i think is almost the same..
the sigma build quality  shakehead.gif like not so good... for tamron... not sure...heard it is better..
hmm.gif ...actually i read many reviews on sigma 70-300mm lens...most of them claim that this is the best among his brothers ( less expensive 70-300mm lens)

anyway, will read more reviews on tamro too smile.gif
g88
post Apr 12 2007, 11:47 AM

1,631 posts

jian see,
how much u got the 70-200mm zoom lens ? new ?
TSjian.see
post Apr 12 2007, 12:24 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ Apr 12 2007, 12:47 PM)
jian see,
how much u got the 70-200mm zoom lens ? new ?
huh? who told u that i get 70-200mm zoom lens?? hmm.gif
i dont have this lens wo blush.gif
chrisoys
post Apr 12 2007, 01:59 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ Apr 12 2007, 12:24 PM)
huh? who told u that i get 70-200mm zoom lens?? hmm.gif
i dont have this lens wo blush.gif
I think g88 going to get one soon brows.gif
g88
post Apr 12 2007, 03:53 PM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(chrisoys @ Apr 12 2007, 01:59 PM)
I think g88 going to get one soon brows.gif
stop poisoning me rclxm9.gif
hohsy001
post May 22 2007, 03:36 PM

just go and get 1 and shoot shoot shoot.....dun bli bli bla bla here mad.gif
TSjian.see
post May 22 2007, 09:06 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(hohsy001 @ May 22 2007, 04:36 PM)
just go and get 1 and shoot shoot shoot.....dun bli bli bla bla here  mad.gif
???...wat make u so angry??? hmm.gif

i have get 1, and shoot a lot of pics and has posted in this forum nod.gif
julchin_09
post May 23 2007, 09:53 PM

"Complicated Nutter"
7,485 posts

hey,

I am getting a 70-200F4 L IS as well. But not sure where is the best prices. I put advert but only few ppl contacted me. Am still scouting around for the best prices, but being in Johor, I am handicapped cos I can't go direct to shops in KL.....

@g88
Where u getting the 70-200?

This post has been edited by julchin_09: May 23 2007, 09:56 PM

0.0282sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:42 AM