goldfries
post Apr 8 2007, 09:15 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Apr 6 2007, 01:19 PM)
i just bought a 70 - 300mm zoom with macro 1:2 for RM 600. biggrin.gif very happy. just need to find a place to try it out.
this is the one i bought. used unit.
http://www.tamron.com/lenses/prod/70300_di_a017.asp

new unit should be about RM 700.

might as well get this one instead of a Canon, cos this one starts at 70mm, while Canon 90mm and this one comes with 1:2 Macro.
chrisoys
post Apr 8 2007, 09:17 PM

321 posts

Here is the link that all the Canon & 3rd party lenses review
http://www.photozone.de/8Reviews/index.html

It seem Canon lenses are perform way much better than the 3rd party lenses.
TSjian.see
post Apr 8 2007, 09:17 PM

69 posts

so is it good? mind to share the result biggrin.gif

i wonder with no IS or VR, those avoid vibration thingy, will it affect alot??

Added on April 8, 2007, 9:20 pmthanks for the useful link chrisoys

This post has been edited by jian.see: Apr 8 2007, 09:20 PM
chrisoys
post Apr 8 2007, 09:21 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ Apr 8 2007, 09:17 PM)

i wonder with no IS or VR, those avoid vibration thingy, will it affect alot??
If you are old man with shaky hand then better go for IS rclxms.gif

Just kidding, IS did help abit it taking sharp image. But, if your hand did shake alot then it wouldn't help you much. You still need a steading hand to hold the camera to take nice pics.
goldfries
post Apr 8 2007, 09:23 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

hehe. there will be times that it's better to turn off the IS. smile.gif this is what i read in a photography mag recently.

and when you're using zoom, i doubt IS is going to help you much cos every little move you make is magnified at the lens. what you need is a tripod.
TSjian.see
post Apr 8 2007, 09:24 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(chrisoys @ Apr 8 2007, 10:21 PM)
If you are old man with shaky hand then better go for IS rclxms.gif

Just kidding, IS did help abit it taking sharp image. But, if your hand did shake alot then it wouldn't help you much. You still need a steading hand to hold the camera to take nice pics.
lol..i'm still very young hahaha...

ok...thinking not to get IS..save a lot..hehehe, since i hv quite a steady hand..this prove when i take some night pic with no tripod. tongue.gif

Added on April 8, 2007, 9:27 pmi'm actually thinking to get this Sigma AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 APO DG macro. But hv no idea how much it cost biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by jian.see: Apr 8 2007, 09:27 PM
g88
post Apr 9 2007, 12:08 AM

1,631 posts

QUOTE(chrisoys @ Apr 8 2007, 09:17 PM)
Here is the link that all the Canon & 3rd party lenses review
http://www.photozone.de/8Reviews/index.html

It seem Canon lenses are perform way much better than the 3rd party lenses.
I won't agree on this...but of course if can get back Ori would be good but it's pricy...not everyone rich like you brows.gif
Red Maniac
post Apr 9 2007, 04:32 PM

347 posts

Hi to all the sifu here notworthy.gif . I'm just a beginner in the DSLR territory. I'm have read that the D40X is suitable to noob like myself but I also read how good is the 400D is. Now I wonder if it is better to get the D40X or should I get the 400D instead. rclxub.gif icon_question.gif
TSjian.see
post Apr 9 2007, 05:04 PM

69 posts

400D, follow me biggrin.gif..their price just almost the same;)
Red Maniac
post Apr 9 2007, 05:23 PM

347 posts

Thank for the quick reply. I think the D40X is still very new in the market and most shops still don't have stock yet. Am I right to say D40X is the entry level DSLR but not 400D?
g88
post Apr 10 2007, 01:07 AM

1,631 posts

AFAIK, D40X is just upgrade version of 10MP's D40. D40 was bundle with limited feature...and now 400D is "beating" it by dropping price....

Go for 400D....if keep waiting than you forever never get one since by the time u wanna get new model coming out agian....

D40X not really official in market yet
goldfries
post Apr 10 2007, 02:55 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ Apr 8 2007, 09:17 PM)

attached are

1. zoom - sitting in my car at Damansara Uptown area, outside TM Clickers. Snapped across the 6 lane high-way, focusing on the pattern of the overhead bridge.

2. macro - standing about 1m away from my food. smile.gif snapped in the kitchen.

EDITED :

NOTE : photos are un-retouched. only resized.
Canon 350D + Tamron AF70-300mm F/4-5.6 Di LD Macro 1:2

This post has been edited by goldfries: Apr 10 2007, 02:56 AM

Attached image(s)
TSjian.see
post Apr 10 2007, 07:26 AM

69 posts

wow...thanks for yr effort, appreacite it;)

BTW, these 2 pics are zoom at 300mm?

Added on April 10, 2007, 8:37 amAnyone know this lens' price, Sigma AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 APO DG macro??

This post has been edited by jian.see: Apr 10 2007, 08:37 AM
chrisoys
post Apr 10 2007, 09:13 AM

321 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ Apr 10 2007, 07:26 AM)
wow...thanks for yr effort, appreacite it;)

BTW, these 2 pics are zoom at 300mm?

Added on April 10, 2007, 8:37 amAnyone know this lens' price, Sigma AF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 APO DG macro??
Taking this pic at 12midnight. No software editing just cropping only.

Canon 400D with EF 70-200mm F4L USM

TSjian.see
post Apr 10 2007, 10:54 AM

69 posts

wow..thanks for sharing the pic.. smile.gif
the L lens no doubt is very great..but i need at least 300mm...

BTW..is the lens that make the moon shape like this?

This post has been edited by jian.see: Apr 10 2007, 11:21 AM
manutd304
post Apr 10 2007, 11:05 AM

229 posts

how much now arh 400d and d40?

d40 price is like 2200 1gb sd tripod bag kitlens uv filter
TSjian.see
post Apr 10 2007, 11:22 AM

69 posts

400D 2699 for the body + Kit
D40 2080 for the body + Kit

xyzpace
post Apr 10 2007, 12:45 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ Apr 10 2007, 11:22 AM)
D40  2080 for the body + Kit
hard making decision....
shop says d40 good into taking lanscape pic and 400d good into taking sports.
and i think 400d has better resell value.

undazztood
post Apr 10 2007, 01:14 PM

true goodness is understood
991 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ Apr 10 2007, 11:22 AM)
D40  2080 for the body + Kit
RM2699? last two week i asked the price for 400d is RM2900+kit+lens only.
luckily i didn't bought it. if not sure very2 regret today.

This post has been edited by undazztood: Apr 10 2007, 01:16 PM
chrisoys
post Apr 10 2007, 02:01 PM

321 posts

QUOTE(jian.see @ Apr 10 2007, 10:54 AM)
wow..thanks for sharing the pic..  smile.gif
the L lens no doubt  is very great..but i need at least 300mm...

BTW..is the lens that make the moon shape like this?
Don't think the lens make the moon shape like that.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0146sec    1.01    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:46 AM