7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

-= MyForte - Naza Kia Forte Owners Club =- V22, Leaves You Speechless

rompers
post Jul 24 2017, 03:02 PM

76 posts

Bro Epo, lupa nak tanya at last thread...

Coolant Toyota you beli berapa rege dan di mana?
Dan you pakai berapa botol?
rompers
post Aug 5 2017, 02:55 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(epo @ Aug 5 2017, 01:24 AM)
If use lpt hway ok la
If old road, don't
Better take elantra turbo
Perghh!! Dia punya statement macam matter-of-fact....
Tapi racun dia...huhuhu rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
rompers
post Aug 9 2017, 02:15 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(thinkgoodpositive @ Aug 8 2017, 04:03 PM)
http://www.kia.com/my/util/promotion.detai...708&articleNo=1

This Merdeka promotion looks very attractive, especially for those Forte Suspension parts...anyone try this?
Pls call to request in advance, else the SC normally will say no stock la, not applicable la, dunno la...etc...
Anyone went for this Merdeka Special promotion?
Would like to know if the discounts are real or just classic gimmick (i.e. hike up price before giving discounts).
rompers
post Aug 10 2017, 01:58 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(superhero_123 @ Aug 9 2017, 11:41 AM)
Per absorber. So 4 x 496.
Just as I suspected. Classic gimmick; harga kasi naik KAW KAW, and then bagi deep discounts...make them look so awesome! *puiii*

Thanks @superhero_123 for confirming this.

QUOTE(epo @ Aug 9 2017, 06:25 PM)
Vbelt - rm85
Absorber 4pcs - rm650

Both frm mobis segambut
Thanks Bro Epo, for the good info.
rompers
post Aug 11 2017, 05:21 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(angel of deauth @ Aug 9 2017, 03:27 PM)
Yes. I'm still thinking about doing it, just a little later. Especially after my absorber +++ changes. But my curiosity is on how LEDs would work in the forte. Can't find that answer anywhere online.

Currently using Osram Nightbreaker Lasers. Really good range, brightness and colour. Night time driving in back roads much nicer as I also got the lights properly adjusted.

Wanted to see if LED will end up better than my HID disaster. Will be testing 4300K H7 LED bulb.
Do keep us posted with your project.
rompers
post Aug 13 2017, 01:25 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(angel of deauth @ Aug 12 2017, 11:50 AM)
Anything for you, bro.
Am keen to learn from you because you are very thorough and informative with your explanation notworthy.gif

Btw, where are you from?
If you're living around PJ area, perhaps we can meet up for tea also...then can chit chat.
I'll invite a few other Forte kaki to join us also.

This post has been edited by rompers: Aug 13 2017, 01:27 AM
rompers
post Aug 14 2017, 02:51 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(kayclum @ Aug 14 2017, 12:49 AM)
If really one of these problem exist? Necessary to overhaul??
No bro.
Check thoroughly first via a trusty and experienced mechanic.

By order of precedent, check:

1) Engine Oil Level since last service - At times, it may be that the engine oil wasn't topped-up to the required level, hence giving the illusion of oil leak.
2) Oil Sump - Check if there are any leaks via the sump gasket, drain plug, etc.
3) Oil Filter Socket - Check if there are any signs of oil seepages around the connection.
4) Engine Top/Valve-Rocker Cover - Visually inspect if there are any seepages.
5) Assess the tail-pipe area - With your engine is on idle and on revs, inspect to see if there are noticeable black smoke emitted. Usually, black exhaust smoke is a sign of engine oil seeping into your cylinder valves via worn piston rings. Make sure your engine is on nominal operating temperature (not cold start) in order to be sure if there are black smoke.

Always keep in mind that an engine overhaul is the last resort for any engine issues.

P/S - If I've missed out on any other key areas, I hope other forumers here will be kind enough to add-on to the check-list above.
rompers
post Aug 14 2017, 07:35 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(angel of deauth @ Aug 14 2017, 03:55 AM)
I think this is a good list to check.

But if I remember correctly for item 5, if piston rings is leaking engine oil into cylinder; you should be looking out for white blue smoke, and/or black oily liquid exiting your tailpipe.

Black smoke should be from misfiring cylinders in petrol engine. Or antilag if your car has it for some reason.
You're quite right. blush.gif

Although I must say (to an untrained eye) Blue, Grey and White smoke may be difficult to differentiate.
I guess the best way might be for one to place a piece of paper/rag close (but not too close to obstruct, lest the engine gets suffocated by exhaust back pressure) and observe for any noticeable oil stains.

Then again, the exercise above is not very effective if the oil leak (into the compression chamber) is minimal.

Anyhow, best to send the vehicle to a good mechanic for a proper diagnostic (e.g. Compression test, etc.).
rompers
post Aug 14 2017, 06:03 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(kayclum @ Aug 14 2017, 11:01 AM)
Aw. Too many to suspect. Any good forman recommend bro? As kcm only suggest me change thicker oil. Hmm

And thanks for these info mate
I believe all the items in the check-list can be checked together with any trust worthy friend/mechanic as it involves visual checks.
Only thing is, you may want to take your car out for undercarriage & engine cleaning so that you can detect any fresh oil seepages/leak.
Another way is for you to place a few pieces of newspaper under your car whilst parked overnight (repeated over a few days), and observe if there are any oil stains on the newspaper sheets.
rompers
post Aug 17 2017, 11:03 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(angel of deauth @ Aug 17 2017, 04:11 PM)
Also, need some of your help.

Could anyone post up a picture of their headlamps shining on a flat wall? Better if stock. I don't have a reference for what is normal for forte halogen reflector

Does it look like this?
Yes, my Forte's headlight beam is very much the same (except that the centre spot is not as intense compared to your photo).
I believe it should all be the same, under E-Code or SAE standards (i.e. Dipped Beam, Assymetrical Beam Pattern).

P/S - Sorry for not attaching a photo. I keep getting an error whilst trying to attach here.
rompers
post Aug 21 2017, 03:32 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(angel of deauth @ Aug 20 2017, 03:39 PM)
Just a quick update, project LED is not going well. Better than HID, but not up to the mark.

Let me compile some photos, will post up my findings.
Do you mean to say that the LEDs are better in terms of "reduced glare to oncoming motorists" or?
rompers
post Aug 21 2017, 07:00 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(angel of deauth @ Aug 21 2017, 01:04 PM)
HID is much brighter, but way too bright for our halogen reflectors, so the beam pattern and the cutoff is mostly not there.

LED is not as bright, not as far, but like better versions of halogens. colour, speed and brightness is good, just the shape and the control is not very satisfactory.

between 2 headlamps, you can notice shadows and the lack of spread. like it's too focused.
Between 2 headlamps means,

1) HID on one side vs LED on the other?
2) or HALOGEN vs LED?
rompers
post Aug 22 2017, 03:08 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(csv @ Aug 22 2017, 10:00 AM)
Halo all sifus, just got myself a secondhand forte 2.0 sx 2013. Got some issues need advice on how to fix:
1) when driving got buzzing sounds from right side middle column (seat belt + airbag pillar)
2) when driving slowly or going thru bump, got krk krk sound from engine area,
3) right front fog light+DRL bracket tercabut ( can diy fix ah?)

Any ideas on the cost as well.
Thanks in advance.
1) This issue seems to be pretty common/normal with our Fortes, mainly due to temperature (e.g. weather) fluctuations causing the gaps between panels to widen or contract. If it is an absolute bother, you can try auto-foaming those areas of concern (but I wouldn't recommend it if it involves areas where the Seat Belts/Air-Bags are, as you wouldn't want anything to affect the safety aspects of the vehicle).

2) Sounds like worn Absorber mountings to me, or perhaps worn/dried out Stabilizer Bar Bushes, or both.

3) Perhaps detailed photos of the damaged area would allow us here to provide a better assessment?
rompers
post Aug 24 2017, 06:41 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(angel of deauth @ Aug 22 2017, 06:18 PM)
Oh, I meant between left and right
So would you say, based on your own experience:

HALOGEN
Advantages:
1) No glare on oncoming road users.
2) Lower cost-per-bulb (for generic brands; could also be a disadvantage considering the short life-span).
3) Almost instantaneous optimum operating range.

Disadvantages:
1) Short life-span.
2) Higher operating temperature.
3) Reduced light intensity/light-throw/distance (for generic brands).

HID
Advantages:
1) Increased life-span.
2) Lower operating temperature.
3) Increased light intensity/light-throw/distance (when properly installed).
4) Aesthetics (subjective towards individual users).

Disadvantages:
1) Tendency to cause glare upon oncoming traffic (especially if retrofitted incorrectly).
2) High initial cost (also requires some modification towards existing system).
3) Higher cost-per-bulb (could also be an advantage taking the increased life-span into consideration).
4) Non JPJ compliant (for retrofits).
5) An increase in time required to achieve the optimum operating range.

LED
Advantage:
1) Increased life-span.
2) Lower operating temperature and low energy requirement.
3) Instantaneous optimum operating range.
4) Cost-effective (subjective to brand and model of system).
5) Reduced glare upon oncoming traffic (comparable to Halogens?).

Disadvantage:
1) Reduced light intensity/light-throw/distance (comparable or less effective against Halogens?).
2) Difficulty in securing a reliable/quality product from current market-place (where branded models are extremely expensive).

Would you agree with my summary above?
Do you have any other salient points to add onto the list?
Would you be able to provide your feedback onto the listed-points which ends with a question mark?

rompers
post Aug 25 2017, 05:03 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(angel of deauth @ Aug 25 2017, 01:10 AM)
LED light performance.

Colour is pretty clean and accurate to what 4300K and 6000K should be to the human eye. Camera doesn't capture this well. At least, not from my phone.

Beam pattern is not as tidy as stock, with very spotty and focused hotspots in the middle. You can still see a little bit of the cutoff but it's pretty muddy.

[attachmentid=9077475]

[attachmentid=9077479]

Over distance, the line between bright and dark (the cutoff separation) gets fuzzy. The lights does not spread evenly on the road (could be the Forte's headlamp design, could be LED's spotlight nature). This gives the light a very narrow beam and some shadows in between the headlights.

[attachmentid=9077484]

Changing to 4300K bulbs exhibit the same characteristics.

[attachmentid=9077485]
Great insight!

From the looks of things (photographic results), I'd say the 6000K LED Bulb seems to deliver the best outcome. Do correct me if I am wrong.

So, in your opinion..what would you opt for the Forte, going forward?
OSRAM LaserLight Halogens vs LED 4300K vs LED 6000K?

Where possible, kindly share the cost breakdown for the LED Kits (both 4300K & 6000K) please.

This post has been edited by rompers: Aug 25 2017, 05:04 AM
rompers
post Aug 30 2017, 04:44 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(angel of deauth @ Aug 28 2017, 10:44 PM)
Awfully quiet around here.

Just wondering if it's ok to put 215/50 tires on stock SX rims.
It's okay to use 215/50R17 tyres on the stock rims.
Only minor issue is that the front tyres may rub against the inner tyre well during full-lock turns (and depending on vehicle load).
rompers
post Sep 5 2017, 05:49 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(angel of deauth @ Sep 5 2017, 02:03 PM)
Can. But no different from just holding the shifter until it goes into 2nd.
QUOTE(angel of deauth @ Sep 5 2017, 02:45 PM)
You are right. Just need to push it back for automatic again or manually shift after that. It only moved in 1st gear.
IMHO, better to take Craxors' advice using Manual shifting.

Reason: Imagine this; you're driving uphill and there's an opportunity to overtake. You push the accelerator pedal, TCU downshifts, engine jerks forward due to engine mounting play/loosened, your gear lever drops to N. God bless.

*just saying, with plenty of touchwood on my part*
rompers
post Sep 7 2017, 03:22 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(alextyw85 @ Sep 6 2017, 11:50 AM)
Dear all sifu, 2 questions from me and hope you can supply your expert advise...

2. I saw a video in youtube and the youtuber said about changing the air con compressor oil, i never change before. Did you change it to prevent damage of air con compressor? I can't find this in the car manual, wondering whether our forte's air con compressor got such oil or not...

Actually the oil mentioned is already pre-mixed into the AC's refrigerant.
It is recommended to have a vehicle's AC refrigerant fully evacuated, before replacing with fresh refrigerant every 2 or 3 years.

rompers
post Sep 19 2017, 09:58 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(nelsonooi7 @ Sep 18 2017, 05:18 PM)
Hi, wanna ask how much engine oil is needed for 1.6 sx engine? Am using fuchs supersyn 5w40. And I have prob when pressing the pedal slightly, cit cit sound occurs. Then when I tekan pedal more (on or off air-condition) , the cit cit sound is gone. Pls advise me. Thank you.
Engine Oil capacity = ~3.7 Litres

"Cit cit" sound?
Based on your description, highly likely could be your V-Belt (and/or Belt Tensioner). To be sure, you could try asking someone for help to press the accelerator pedal while you listen carefully at the Engine Bay.
rompers
post Sep 21 2017, 05:57 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(pubmut @ Sep 18 2017, 11:02 PM)
DYC if I recall correctly when talking to the guy. Anyway I dropped by AutoSaver and got it fixed for RM190. Apparently it was the absorber link rod that was worn and so one pair was installed, incidentally an OEM version (I couldn't see the brand name).

Now I'm focused on getting the light flicker issue...
What does DYC mean ya?
I tried looking it up online, but couldn't find the meaning to that acronym.
The closest was DYAC = Damn you auto correct

QUOTE(nelsonooi7 @ Sep 21 2017, 01:10 PM)
Hi, I have a other issue. Left side mirror not folding when pressing the fold button. I don't think is the gear problem cos no sound only the right side mirror folding. Could this be of wad problem? Pls share ya..
Try checking the fuses on your fuse box.
Also, could be a faulty switch; which is why I always ensure that I wipe the door switches dry whenever there's contact with water and on rainy days, I'll use tissue paper to cover them up before opening the car door to get out sweat.gif Yes, it's somewhat tedious...

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0569sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 07:31 AM