7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

-= MyForte - Naza Kia Forte Owners Club =- V22, Leaves You Speechless

rompers
post Sep 22 2017, 10:28 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(nelsonooi7 @ Sep 21 2017, 07:22 PM)
Only left side not folding, right side is ok. So how to know is switch problem? Could it be motor?
My bad. I didn't notice your statement which says that the issue is only affecting 1 side (L) of the side mirrors.

In this case, it shouldn't be faulty fuses or switch.
Only a few probable cause:

1) Wiring harness connecting to the side mirror's retractor motor has loosened (check via the back of the twitter cover),
2) Faulty retractor motor (since there isn't any whirring sound).
3) Broken gear (but you can only be sure of this if the retractor motor is working/whirring).

Hope this helps.
rompers
post Sep 29 2017, 05:24 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(cooljik93 @ Sep 28 2017, 10:18 AM)
You can go any place to inspect the problems. I check my car in a shop of my friend during servicing. But i decide to change all those necessary parts since things will be worn out after a long run. Currently what's your problem and what parts you had changed?
Care to share with us the name and location of your friend's shop?
rompers
post Sep 30 2017, 12:14 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(unclemike @ Sep 29 2017, 10:52 AM)
Guys,

ive been a forte user close to 8 years now. I noticed my aircond is no longer cold. have you guys ever serviced your aircond before? If i replace the compressor solve the problem?
Try not to spend money replacing parts, unless they are broken.
Like cooljik93 said, there are multiple factors (one or combination of several) which may cause a less than optimal AC performance.
Therefore, it might be best for you to send your vehicle to an AC Specialist (I believe a few workshops have been mentioned several threads prior; you may need to performs a search) for a full check-up/diagnosis in order to identify the root cause.
rompers
post Oct 8 2017, 07:06 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(angel of deauth @ Oct 6 2017, 12:23 AM)
Update to my brake light switch and gear shifter drama (1/2);

Car cut power again when driving on highway. My brake light switch was on again because my temporary stopper also hancur. Car thinks I've been stepping on the brakes. Traction control keeps kicking in.

[attachmentid=9207261]

[attachmentid=9207262]

Sent to Kia SC, diagnostics pulled up error code on brake light switch and also the wheel speed sensor. Reset codes and everything looks ok with a new temporary stopper. RM50 for this.

[attachmentid=9207265]

They also had a look at the gear shifter linkage and adjusted it for me. This done for free.
Curious to know; where is the OBD2 port for the Forte?
Your photo shows the SC Tech sitting in your car performing diagnostics. However, I was under the impression that the OBD2 port is located within the engine bay.
rompers
post Oct 8 2017, 07:08 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(jeremy_yee @ Oct 7 2017, 05:19 PM)
Anyone know where can replace the leather below the automatic gear stick? Tried asking car accessories shop around my area but no luck.
I plan to replace mine as well.
Would most probably head to my regular Cushion Shop (Kampung Melayu Subang area) to get it done.

You're welcome to send yours there if you're located within the vicinity.
rompers
post Oct 9 2017, 06:02 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(superhero_123 @ Oct 9 2017, 03:43 PM)
Thanks. Guess Will try taobao with my limited Chinese.
Alternatives for your side-mirror issue:

1) Autobiz Autosaver - Repair & Replace the auto-flip plastic gear within the side-mirror from RM 99 (call them to ask for more details).
2) Benjamin Tan (MyForte Club member) - Check in MFC's Facebook page for posts by Benjamin Tan on his DIY service for such repairs. If my memory serves me right, he charges RM 120/repair.
3) Also in MyForte Club's Facebook page - Someone is selling aluminum/steel gear to replace the plastic gear. Check the MFC's Facebook page for more details.
rompers
post Nov 11 2017, 03:19 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(nelsonooi7 @ Nov 10 2017, 05:47 PM)
Hi members, thank you for the concern. I was one lucky one as my area was higher area so not much damage except for some roads being flooded and need to detour to the least flooded road. So far now am still using the keyless with no hassle and regarding Alex's point, the SC guy told me he saw the insert key icon comin out during inspection while I never see it for the past few days and even now. So he might made a fast conclusion based on that. Jus hopefully I do not meet this kind of situation haha!
If the 'Insert Key Icon' shows up often, stand-by with a replacement CR2032 battery cell for your remote key-fob.
If youve recently replaced the remote battery, then it may be some other issue causing the 'Insert Key Icon' warning.
rompers
post Nov 12 2017, 07:52 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(nelsonooi7 @ Nov 11 2017, 05:18 PM)
Battery newly changed tested both keys no problem and past few days no such thing happened. If it's not battery then wad other causes may lead to the 'insert key icon'?
From my personal experience, I've only encountered two factors leading to such a warning light:

1) Low/Weak remote battery.
2) Electronic Devices/Mobile Phones interfering with the remote key's signal.

If your issue is not related to any of the above, suggest that you get a diagnostic check at the SC.

This post has been edited by rompers: Nov 12 2017, 07:53 AM
rompers
post Nov 27 2017, 10:01 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(epo @ Nov 17 2017, 03:48 PM)
4 common things for forte
- steering rack coupling
- rear wheel bearing
- side mirror motor / plastic gear
- ign coil
Add one more:

- broken gear selector cable washer/connector
rompers
post Jan 23 2018, 07:44 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(pds_disi @ Jan 16 2018, 08:21 PM)
Patiently wait for them to copy and paste 200hp engine into it (from their brother elantra)

If kia decide only 140hp engine for forte and nothing else, I will stick with what I already have...
Quoting you just to say that your signature is thumbup.gif
rompers
post Jan 31 2018, 11:55 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(Chabal @ Jan 30 2018, 02:22 AM)
Hi newbie here..I wanna buy Forte 1.6 6speed 2012.. your advice much appreciated.. thanks
Good car and great value for money (especially for the SX range).
Just be mindful to perform a thorough check on the vehicle, just like how you would on any used vehicles of different brands.
rompers
post Feb 3 2018, 09:17 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(angel of deauth @ Aug 25 2017, 12:05 PM)
Some notes;

For the LED, I actually prefer the 4300K colour. The 6000K shows up more on camera but the light is not so obvious after 50ft. 4300K does a little better.

For stock reflector, my pick is this:
1. Osram Nightbreaker or Philips Vision Plus series
2. LED 4300K
3. LED 6000K

The LEDs I tested were RM350 per pair. Osrams are around RM 130 while Philips are around RM 180.

If your objective is to have white lights but don't mind the shorter range and potentially narrow lights, LED is the better way to do it.

Try not to get those with electric fans. One more moving part to fail. Possibly not enough space to install also.
Sorry for bringing up an old post..

But was wondering if you managed to screw the Headlamp Dust Covers back on after installing the H7 LED bulbs?

rompers
post Feb 4 2018, 12:59 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(angel of deauth @ Feb 3 2018, 10:10 PM)
Not a problem.

Yes, I did manage to screw it back on. I had holes drilled into them from my last HID experiment covered by a removable rubber grommet. That's where the heatsink comes out.

I'm still going to do that projector retrofit some time this year.
If the LED H7 bulbs are with cooling fans instead of heatsink strips, do you reckon that I'll be able to screw on the Dust Cover Caps without any drilling?

Also, was there any signs of melted plastic/rubber grommet ever since you started using the LED bulbs?
rompers
post Feb 6 2018, 07:24 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(zaengurl @ Feb 6 2018, 01:23 AM)
Hai there. I saw your post kinna similar to my problem right now.. kindly help to advise.. i planned to send my car to service center day after tomorrow.. i have no idea what to expect from the mechanic.. currently my car can't move obviously the indicator showing neutral eventhough i shift the gear to P or D.. when shift to D and accelerate, the car is not moving at all.. anybody very kind to share some opinions? $$$$ burned to expect 😭😭😭 Thanks in advance

My car manf yr 2010 n mileage is 136k.. thank youuuu
SCENARIO A:
Does the gear shifter feels loose?
Is it stuck at N only (even when you tried shifting to any other gear)?
If it is, then high chances that your vehicle's gear cable may have come loose or broken (common problem for our Forte).

SCENARIO B:
If the gear shifts from P > R > N > D and vice versa, but moves on its own during drives/acceleration, then it may be a similar problem with angel of deauth
rompers
post Feb 6 2018, 04:27 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(zaengurl @ Feb 6 2018, 09:02 AM)
Haiii thank you very much for your reply. ☺️☺️☺️ Mine is more on scenario A.. the gear shifter feels loose and yes only showing N even shifting to another gear πŸ˜–πŸ˜–πŸ˜–

If that case, loose or broken how much will be the cost? Errrgghhh.. thank you in advance
Where's your location.
If you're close to my location, perhaps I can help.
I've never performed the same 'surgery' for my own vehicle, but would be happy to help a fellow owner out (while at the same time gather the experience of doing the same).
Just need you to prepare the tools (screwdriver, plastic spatula/scraper, etc.).
rompers
post Feb 28 2018, 09:24 PM

76 posts

Just adding the Pilot/Evening Bulb type for future reference smile.gif

Exterior
Headlight = H7
High-Beam = H1
Pilot/Evening Lights = T10/W5W
Front Turn Signals = 1157
Fog-lights = 881
Mirror Turn Signals = 168/194/T10
Tail lights = 1157
Brake Lights = 1157
Signal Lights = 1156
Center Mounted Brake Light Factory Assemby = 921 Bulb
Reverse Lights = 921
License Plate Lights = 168/194/T10
Interior
Map Lights DE3022 = 31mm Festoon
Dome Light DE3022 = 31mm Festoon
Door Courtesy/Safety = Light Reflector
Trunk Light DE3022 = 31mm Festoon
rompers
post Mar 1 2018, 08:00 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(alextyw85 @ Mar 1 2018, 03:53 PM)
What and where is Pilot/Evening bulb located? Is this Daytime Running Light?
Pilot/Evening Light = the light which lights up when you twist once (turn on) at your car light/headlamp stalk.
The light bulbs are located within the Forte's headlamp housing, sharing the same area as your high beam bulbs.

Daytime Running Light (DRL) = LEDs. To the best of my knowledge, the diodes are not replaceable individually.

Hope this helps.
rompers
post Apr 26 2018, 03:55 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(kord @ Apr 25 2018, 08:50 AM)
i did. so far no issue..already more than a month. the cooling fins and fan made it unfit to use with the original dust caps. so have to replace with the rubber ones that got hole in the middle so that the fins and fan can protrude from the cap, but still can have ventilation, and somewhat waterproof. but have to adjust the level abit. its quite bright but so far never got any high beams from the opposite traffic..

btw, led light itself is not hot..so, shud be no problem with it melting or blackened the casing.. its the led circuit u need to worry about. if u got good ventilation, shud be no problem. the led wud last long
Could you please share more details about your experience on the use of LED headlamps, in particular:

1) What is the colour temperature of the LEDs used by you?

2) What is the driving experience like for you under the following conditions:
2.1 Good weather city drive at night (road with yellow streetlamps).
2.2 Good weather city drive at night (road with white LED streetlamps).
2.3 Good weather city drive at night (road without streetlamps/dark roads).
2.4 Good weather highway drive at night (dark roads without streetlights).
2.5 Rainy weather city drive at night (without streetlights).
2.6 Rainy weather highway drive at night (without streetlights).

3) How much was the purchase cost? Did you install it yourself (DIY)?

4) Any recommendation on brand/make/model? I've done quite a bit of search via Lazada and couldn't decide which seller provides the best quality (in terms of robustness/tahan lasak-lama) sad.gif

5) How long have you been using your LEDs?

This post has been edited by rompers: Apr 26 2018, 03:56 AM
rompers
post Apr 27 2018, 04:10 AM

76 posts

QUOTE(kord @ Apr 26 2018, 09:38 AM)

6000K ? That's very much higher than the JPJ permitted range of ~4300K for factory fitted non-projector headlamps.
No issues during roadblocks? *touchwood*

Also, how many LEDs are there in each of the unit your purchased?
I see some advertised units have 2 big LEDs, while some have up to 6 LEDs per unit (one-side).
Some even has on-the-fly switchable colour temperature (3000K, 4300K, 6000K).

Btw, did you also purchase the headlamp rubber dust caps via online as well?
rompers
post Apr 30 2018, 03:59 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(and.inc @ Apr 29 2018, 03:02 PM)
Guys any idea where to locate the point for ATF Oil change for my 1.6 2012 doing it outside
What do you mean by point?
Do you mean to say 'ATF lube inlet orifice/opening'?

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0651sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:04 AM