QUOTE(gengkey01 @ Jul 21 2017, 02:22 AM)
I.dont have time to be in workshop learning abc of modding / installing stuff in car, ill just let mechanic do the work.
just get a honda with k20.200hp car under 50k, Weekend only ride
Jul 21 2017, 02:24 AM
109 posts Joined: Mar 2010 From: Today, 00:01 AM |
Jul 21 2017, 02:29 AM
109 posts Joined: Mar 2010 From: Today, 00:01 AM |
QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 19 2017, 09:59 AM) if you are gona avoid the mitsu's (especially the terbalik ones) for reliability issues, you might was well forget the b series hondas.... k series, yeah those are like the terbaliks, generally more reliable cause its basically a newer engine. and let me be very frank, an eg/ek at 200km/h doesn't exactly fill you with the sense of safety either. |
Jul 21 2017, 09:53 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
309 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
Jul 21 2017, 10:10 AM
202 posts Joined: Jan 2011 |
Subaru Impreza Version 8 (4wd, auto transmission available)
find those stock unit. parts should be not an issue but however alot of people finding it. |
Jul 21 2017, 10:24 AM
1,077 posts Joined: Jan 2013 |
2001-2004 impreza can get at that price nowadays
Jul 21 2017, 10:49 AM
13 posts Joined: Aug 2014 |
ANOTHER ONE!!!!!!!!! FUN! SMALL! FAST! 200hp! BELOW 50k!
![]() |
Jul 21 2017, 11:20 AM
QUOTE(lsthian @ Jul 21 2017, 10:49 AM) there are a few reasons for that lowish pricetag... first of which is... its nolonger loanable. Not as easy to sell anymore.iirc, no 200hp, the most powerful variant of the mark1 had less than 170 at crank so even less at the wheels anyway, something written by @zenix a while back » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « |
Jul 21 2017, 11:44 AM
4,464 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Isn't it that this Cooper uses the bmw-psa prince engine (aka peugeot 1.6) famous for endless issues?
This post has been edited by dstl1128: Jul 21 2017, 11:45 AM |
Jul 21 2017, 11:51 AM
591 posts Joined: Aug 2015 |
QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Jul 21 2017, 11:44 AM) Isn't it that this Cooper uses the bmw-psa prince engine (aka peugeot 1.6) famous for endless issues? Even current newer B38 3 cylinder units have inherent big problem. The earlier year units have problems related to the crankshaft bearings and BMW silently issued TSB.http://www.minif56.com/forum/289-mini-f56-...e-bearings.html Those getting this car try to get assurance the engine is manufactured post 2016 to be on the safe side. |
Jul 21 2017, 11:59 AM
1,032 posts Joined: Oct 2011 |
Are these >10 year old Conti cars a viable prospect to maintain? They could be money pits and instead of weekend rides they could be weekend workshop visits. Reminds me of my foolish friend along time ago who thought buying an old Alfa Romeo for weekend rides was a good idea. The car spend more time in the workshop than on the road. In his one year of ownership he only managed to drive the car for 4-5 months. He had to let go of the car at basically junk price because he could no longer afford to repair it and his finances was shot to pieces.
Just a cautionary tale. |
Jul 21 2017, 12:06 PM
QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jul 21 2017, 11:59 AM) Are these >10 year old Conti cars a viable prospect to maintain? They could be money pits and instead of weekend rides they could be weekend workshop visits. Reminds me of my foolish friend along time ago who thought buying an old Alfa Romeo for weekend rides was a good idea. The car spend more time in the workshop than on the road. In his one year of ownership he only managed to drive the car for 4-5 months. He had to let go of the car at basically junk price because he could no longer afford to repair it and his finances was shot to pieces. Well, new alfa yes. Old alfa is no no. your fren did not perform a full survey before execute. "Cautionary"......it can be reduce the risk depend on how hardworking u r and how dirty is your hand can be. and obviously this is human behavior issue, not the mechanical issue. Just a cautionary tale. Mini: http://www.roadandtrack.com/car-culture/bu...s-buyers-guide/ 50k with 200hp.......most of the car need to be on cash. |
Jul 21 2017, 12:18 PM
QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Jul 21 2017, 11:44 AM) Isn't it that this Cooper uses the bmw-psa prince engine (aka peugeot 1.6) famous for endless issues? yeah they were flawed from the very start.QUOTE(lsthian @ Jul 21 2017, 12:06 PM) Well, new alfa yes. Old alfa is no no. your fren did not perform a full survey before execute. "Cautionary"......it can be reduce the risk depend on how hardworking u r and how dirty is your hand can be. and obviously this is human behavior issue, not the mechanical issue. ouhh be careful saying that... the new alfas are realllly not cheap to jaga. Mini: http://www.roadandtrack.com/car-culture/bu...s-buyers-guide/ 50k with 200hp.......most of the car need to be on cash. have a friend who had a 159 ...... he mentioned, the services were quite a bomb. He didnt divulge any figs tho... i should go cucuk for more info. |
Jul 21 2017, 12:23 PM
QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 21 2017, 12:18 PM) yeah they were flawed from the very start. can afford to buy new alfo which mean kaya la bro. cover warranty etc ofcos consider ok. kaya pipol use the max 5 years then buang. than wats next........next person kena bomb lo. lol.ouhh be careful saying that... the new alfas are realllly not cheap to jaga. have a friend who had a 159 ...... he mentioned, the services were quite a bomb. He didnt divulge any figs tho... i should go cucuk for more info. this he mean old alfo definitely vomit blood one. |
Jul 21 2017, 01:34 PM
834 posts Joined: Jul 2011 |
QUOTE(Ginny88 @ Jul 21 2017, 11:59 AM) Are these >10 year old Conti cars a viable prospect to maintain? They could be money pits and instead of weekend rides they could be weekend workshop visits. Reminds me of my foolish friend along time ago who thought buying an old Alfa Romeo for weekend rides was a good idea. The car spend more time in the workshop than on the road. In his one year of ownership he only managed to drive the car for 4-5 months. He had to let go of the car at basically junk price because he could no longer afford to repair it and his finances was shot to pieces. Alfas, new or old, is in a different league of their own in terms of reliability, and not in a good way.Just a cautionary tale. |
Jul 21 2017, 01:45 PM
5,957 posts Joined: Sep 2004 From: www.bitching.asia |
QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 21 2017, 11:20 AM) there are a few reasons for that lowish pricetag... first of which is... its nolonger loanable. Not as easy to sell anymore. + spare part ain't cheap too for this car, it cost slightly higher than bmw but less reliable ...iirc, no 200hp, the most powerful variant of the mark1 had less than 170 at crank so even less at the wheels anyway, something written by @zenix a while back » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « QUOTE(dstl1128 @ Jul 21 2017, 11:44 AM) Isn't it that this Cooper uses the bmw-psa prince engine (aka peugeot 1.6) famous for endless issues? that is second gen .... |
Jul 21 2017, 01:49 PM
591 posts Joined: Aug 2015 |
QUOTE(dares @ Jul 21 2017, 01:34 PM) Alfas, new or old, is in a different league of their own in terms of reliability, and not in a good way. The latest ones also have this "reliability" hallmark, actually died in the hands of a few reviewers :http://www.thetruthaboutcars.com/2017/03/c...er-service-bay/ http://www.thetruthaboutcars.com/2017/02/q...ss-breaks-down/ http://www.motortrend.com/cars/alfa-romeo/...s-v-comparison/ http://www.thetruthaboutcars.com/2017/03/s...xactly-perfect/ |
Jul 21 2017, 02:07 PM
660 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
Jul 21 2017, 02:22 PM
1,704 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
Jul 21 2017, 04:37 PM
253 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
QUOTE(gt4turbo @ Jul 21 2017, 04:10 PM) WHY DONT CONSIDER MITSHU AIRTREK 2.0T ??? NICE OUTLOOK , INTERIOR NICE AND ENGINE THE MOST EXCITED~ EVO 7 ENGINE WITH 5 SPEED AUTO REALLY NICE CAR TO DRIVE ~ EVEN YOUR GIL ALSO FEEL NICE TO DRIVE TOO COZ IT'S AUTO~ WITH 240 HP~ IT CAN BE TUNED TO MORE THAN THAT ~ I like the car , but im not into fast suv, more hatchback /sedan. |
Jul 21 2017, 08:13 PM
473 posts Joined: Apr 2015 |
If you want to drive a 200HP car there is a new car option and it doesn't cost RM200K or more. In fact it is only RM131K OTR w/o insurance.
You have peace of mind with 5 years warranty and 3 years/50,000 km free service. Best of all it can be used as a daily car so you don't need to maintain 2 cars with double road tax, insurance and parking space. Ya, RM131K is far from RM50K but consider that you can trade in your present ride and factor in RM10K a year maintenance for the next 5 years for the second hand weekend car plus whatever amount for your present ride and it begins to make sense. But the security and peace of mind is priceless. Instead of driving in fear of the next breakdown and the effect on your pocket you drive in peace and sleep soundly at night. What wonderful car is this? I'll give you a hint. It carries a slanting H. |
| Change to: | 0.0236sec
5 queries
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:20 PM |