LYN Official Honda CR-V (Gen5/Gen6) thread V1, Gen5 CRV is launched

l2k
post Oct 8 2018, 11:32 PM

13 posts

Dear CRV G5 owners, any update to the humming noise above 110km/h and the flimsy gear knob issues?

Seems like no one has been discussing for sometime i assume those have been rectified?
l2k
post Oct 11 2018, 12:26 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Malaysian_driver @ Oct 10 2018, 08:10 PM)
Does your car have these problems?  My CRV is just over a month old.  Have driven on the highway from JB to KL a couple of times.  Have not encountered the humming issue yet.  But very pleased with the ACC and LKAS!
Thanks for letting me know. No, I have not gotten my car, just placed booking fee. Just a bit worry browsing through this thread.

Good to know that there is no humming issue, perhaps Honda has improved their production process.
l2k
post Oct 12 2018, 03:55 PM

13 posts

I think different Honda dealers have different system. Spoke with one SA he told me Honda basically once you book, it will go into the queue system, but the problem is they do not know what is the production plan like for example how many crv are going to be produced next month. To make the matter worst, Honda Malaysia has hit their sales target thus they are not ramping up their production. Basically he can't guarantee when to get the car.

Spoke with another SA that I used to deal with, from another dealership, he seems to have confident I will get the car by Dec. Seems like they have different system, and probably more exp SA has their way to secure the unit?

This post has been edited by l2k: Oct 12 2018, 03:58 PM
l2k
post Oct 12 2018, 03:56 PM

13 posts

Btw it seems like the engine oil case has become public now also in US, published by consumer reports.

I wonder if really none of the CRV owners here experience this engine oil dilution issue? Due to our high temperature?

This post has been edited by l2k: Oct 12 2018, 03:56 PM
l2k
post Oct 13 2018, 06:30 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Malaysian_driver @ Oct 13 2018, 01:59 PM)
Wow!  The new X70 looks dang impressive.  If I haven't got my CRV, this would be a close competitor.  I think also giving the CX5 a run for its money.  Hope the car sifus here can give some comparison and comments:

CRV vs X70 vs CX5
Doubt you will be getting a unbiased answer here in CRV club biggrin.gif

I think CRV advantages and disadvantages have been mentioned in alot of places, you can easily search from google or youtube review.

Personally i have test driven twice (first on highway, second on bumpy road), and I decided to place my booking.

Yet to test CX5 and don't plan to test it anyway as I want a SUV with good interior space. You can easily see the CX5 engine bay is longer compare to CRV, which I think could be the main reason why CX5 is smaller in the interior space.

X70 looks impressive from the spec sheet but price is still unknown until today. End of the day, the drivetrain is for me, one of the most important aspect of the car. From the review I read online, the car is a bit sluggish and has much higher fuel consumption than the rated fuel consumption. There is still room for Geely to catch up to the Japanese and German. I have also heard cases of transmission issue. Anyway I believe X70 will be competitive if it is priced decently, but I don't think it can challenge CRV or CX5 yet.

End of the day, if you are not rushing to get a car, why don't just wait until X70 is available and you can test drive all these 3 models and compare yourself.

This post has been edited by l2k: Oct 13 2018, 06:31 PM
l2k
post Oct 14 2018, 11:23 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(carboy123 @ Oct 14 2018, 10:06 PM)
I have join fb page and go through discussion. Many ppl complaing
1. sensor issue for tcp variant.
2. Humming sound, mind to share out what is this about?
3. Gear knob quality issue.
4. Some said petrol will flow into black oil area???

Any other issue mind to share out?? Im about the buy this car :-)
U mean the close group?

all these issues reported are known in this club, what concern me is that if there is any new owner still reporting this?
Also if possible can you please clarify what u saw in fab:
1. I know that Honda sensing has certain limitation like not able to detect motorcycles or sudden car cut in, etc. I wouldn’t call this issues but more like its limitation. My SA also told me if too much dirt on the sensor may impair it’s functionality.
2. Still no remedy? I talked to a friend and he told me he did not have this issue.
4. This issue is called engine oil dilution. You can google it. I am a bit skeptical if it was a Malaysian driver who reported this.

This post has been edited by l2k: Oct 14 2018, 11:39 PM
l2k
post Oct 16 2018, 01:31 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Henry T @ Oct 16 2018, 09:25 AM)
It means Honda Malaysia already know about the engine oil dilution problem in the 1.5 TC engine and program the car's software to remind owners to change the oil every 5000 km. Fuel entering the sump will cause the oil level to increase and degrades the engine oil's performance.

This is purely a reactive measure until they find a permanent fix.
Not really, it's more like turbo engine is more sensitive to engine oil degradation. If you drive alot in the highway, you will see almost 1:1 matching between the oil life and mileage. At least this is what I read in the civic forum. From what I know, it is based on internal ecu algorithm to calculate oil life based on average speed, car run time, etc.

Actually even in other cars , you will also see a section in the user manual about driving under severe condition, which recommends a shorter service interval, but service center doesn't enforce that.
l2k
post Oct 16 2018, 07:28 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Henry T @ Oct 16 2018, 01:53 PM)
FYI, I've own a TC car before. The service interval is 10k.

You may need to top up due to the low viscosity of the 0W20 or 5W30 oil used but there is no need to change at 5k.

It is not the engine oil but the engine. Perhaps you bought into the propaganda.
So you think that Honda already knew about this oil dilution so they introduce this maintenance minder thing? blink.gif Anyway if this was really what Honda had planned, obviously an EPIC fail for Honda as they have recalled tons of CRVs and Civics in China. Your argument hardly make sense.

FYI, I think someone posted this already

Comparing your turbo car to VTEC turbo is not apple to apple. Were you using 0w20 ? I can imagine for a combination of turbo + thin oil (VTEC turbo engine), the oil quality is going to be very important. I have seen some engine cutaway video shared in the Civic Club, there are some narrow passages in the engine block which requires thin oil with low viscosity, such oil can flow faster to lubricate and cool the engine. Perhaps this is also the reason why this 1.5T engine can crank out 192hp, which is one of the highest output 1.5 turbo. I know I am only speculating but unless someone has done an oil analysis and prove the service interval is too conservative, I will stand by my argument.

From the other perspective, this maintenance minder actually educates the drivers to plan their route and try their best to avoid traffic jam, not idling their car for excessive duration, etc.. For me the logic behind this system make sense just by comparing 2 scenarios: 1) Driver A drives a lot, mostly on highway, thus high mileage 2) Driver B, drives a lot as well but idling alot, always stuck in jam, plenty of short route.
The total drive time for both may be the same (which translate to the engine oil being exposed for same time for both scenarios), but scenario 1. the driver definitely has much more mileage. Don't you think in this case, the driver B will need to change the oil at a shorter mileage?

This post has been edited by l2k: Oct 16 2018, 08:16 PM
l2k
post Oct 17 2018, 09:10 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(Henry T @ Oct 16 2018, 10:07 PM)
Perhaps it is not apple to apple. Some turbo engines need mollycoddling. Mine doesn't.
Whatever. I see no point to further discuss if you intention is to mock and not to have a good knowledge exchange. Mind to share which bulletproof turbo car you owned before?

End of the day, to each of its own.

This post has been edited by l2k: Oct 17 2018, 09:18 AM
l2k
post Oct 23 2018, 07:21 AM

13 posts

Anyone know if our CRV has the active grill shutter.

This post has been edited by l2k: Oct 23 2018, 07:22 AM
l2k
post Oct 23 2018, 09:57 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Oct 23 2018, 09:30 AM)
I don't think it does.. Else, they'd market the heck of out it.. Don't remember any reviewers pointing such out either..
Guess you are right, can't see anything similar in Malaysia version.

Seems like all the goodies go to US and China..

crv malaysia

l2k
post Oct 26 2018, 07:19 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Oct 26 2018, 01:49 PM)
If you love environment friendly/fuel efficient SUV in it's class, you are looking at the wrong car.
Mazda CX5 SUV is the market leader for fuel efficient currently with it's skyactive engine.

https://www.carbase.my/car-comparison?id=HG...93je,JQklVo2Rfm,
Bro, your logic is really off, why buy a suv if fuel efficiency is the top priority? it's also sad that the so called NDEC cycle is your only source of reference. NDEC cycle is not really a good way to compare. A better source of comparison is referring to real life record from owners from fuelly.com. What I observe is that crv is slightly fuel efficient. Even it's true that Cx5 2.0 is slightly more fuel efficient (0.2l/100km) based on NDEC, it's nothing to shout about as crv is 28hp and 33nm more output and peak torque is available as low 2000rpm.

Not to blindly defend crv but 1.5t is actually comparable to 2.5 skyactiv not 2.0. I have a friend who own 2.5 regretted his purchase as he claimed that his Cx5 is no fuel efficient. It's all physics. When you have a huge cc engine, it will always consume more fuel especially at idle. The engine is also heavier.

From what i see, the reason some people choose Cx5 over crv is not due to fuel efficiency, but interior quality, ride quality, auto vs cvt, handling, na engine that is presumably less problematic and perhaps less viral quality issues around the internet. My 2 cents.

This post has been edited by l2k: Oct 26 2018, 07:27 PM
l2k
post Oct 26 2018, 09:53 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Oct 26 2018, 09:23 PM)
Sorry boss... You are wrong.. I drove both.. Multiple times and really really wanted to get the CRV.. But that engine is nowhere near as easy to propel the car as the 2.5 engine of the cx5.. Don't even get me started on the diesel engine's power.. It'll run circles around the CRV.. This is fact! As for fuel efficiency, as an owner.. I can tell you that I easily get 700km with almost 100% city drive. Plus since it's a diesel, it barely consumes any fuel on idle. Torque is available on low revs.. I'm able to move from 0 - 150km rapidly without needing to cross 3K revs and needle hovers just around or under 2k revs at such speeds. You won't get such with the CRV's 1.5t engine. My 2 sen.

Another example of excellent fc from a huge & powerful cc engine will be BMW's diesel engine..Particularly the 520d.. Easily gets 1k km mileage with each full tank... Real world figures.. If I recall correctly, official figure is around 3.9L per 100km..
Bro, I am not comparing to CX5 2.2 diesel. Diesel is not everyone's cup of tea, unfortunately. Low end torque, fuel efficiency are always the strong point of diesel engine, no doubt about it. I am merely replying to littlefire since he was comparing CX5 2.0 vs CRV 1.5T. Moreover, comparing 2.2 turbo liter to 1.5 turbo petrol is not fair at all, even for petrol vs petrol (2.2 liter vs 1.5 liter).

Yes, the cx5 2.5 could feel peppier, but I will blame it on the nature of the CRV CVT. Anyway, CRV is not slow at all which you can tell by the 0-100 time. Personally i like how the CRV CVT is tuned. Civic FC on the other hand, its CVT feel much more punchier.

As always, a lot of arguments surrounds AT vs CVT. Sensation of speed vs smoothness. For me, I really appreciate Honda CVT ability to accurately predict the throttle input vs gear ratio especially driving uphill. I have a 6 speed AT car before, it is unavoidable for AT to hunt for gear unless there is an excessive amount of low end torque. I am surprised even in City CVT, I can drive up Genting smoothly.

This post has been edited by l2k: Oct 26 2018, 10:13 PM
l2k
post Oct 27 2018, 11:12 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ Oct 26 2018, 10:16 PM)
I understand and meant no offense.. I was merely replying to your second paragraph about bigger engines, fc and SUVs.. Indeed, the CRV's CVT drives much better than the Civic.. Actually initially tested the Civic, but immediately ruled it out. Just couldn't accept that turbo lag. Guess the Civic was the real Guinea pig..  biggrin.gif
None taken, no worry, i am not a diehard Honda fanboy, I have owned cars from Hyundai and Perodua before getting my first Honda. I enjoy factual and data based discussion perhaps due to my background in R&D engineering.

I have tested the Civic briefly, without intention to make a purchase perhaps made me overlooked the turbo lag, I felt the throttle is quiet sensitive with ECON mode off.

I believe a lot of first time SUV buyers like me are also caught in a dilemma, mainly between the perceived higher quality, good drivability of CX5 and the practicality, temptation of VTEC turbo of CRV (Honda sensing is also a luring factor for me). Anyway I have been asking myself, why I want to get a SUV in the first place instead of other "common" choice like D-seg sedan? Then I came to a conclusion that I rank practicality in the highest spot, followed by others. The questions I asked myself including what if I get another child? What if I want to stuff one more bicycle at the back? The comfort of the center seat? etc.

I also drive in highway quite a bit annually. Sat in friend's TCP few times and he demoed to me the adaptive cruise control and few other features and I was impressed.

Aware of several quality issues of CRV including the infamous oil dilution problem does make me worry quite a bit, but I think Honda will be able to figure its way to resolve them. I have talked to several other CRV owners, none of them has faced this oil dilution issue.

All in all, I think both CX5 and CRV come very closely in competitiveness and they both serve slighty different groups of people.
l2k
post Nov 1 2018, 07:24 AM

13 posts

Surprisingly..

J.D. Power 2018 Malaysia Initial Quality Study – Toyota Vios, Honda CR-V, Isuzu D-Max least problematic

Survey covered new cars from sep 17 to jul 18.
l2k
post Nov 5 2018, 10:33 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(badtzcroc @ Nov 4 2018, 07:57 AM)
Will CRV 1.5 TC get the fuel subsidy that was announced from Budget 2019?
I think no one knows exactly how this will pan out. LGE said luxury car even below 1500cc will not be qualified, but fdid not mention what price point or any other criteria. We can speculate only until more information is available.

At least crv still has the possibility while on the other hand, Hrv, cx5 or even upcoming Proton X70 won’t have any subsidy.

This post has been edited by l2k: Nov 5 2018, 10:35 PM
l2k
post Dec 24 2018, 09:45 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Dec 18 2018, 11:02 PM)
Not to spam or talk bad about CRV/Civic 1.5T engine, but in US warmer states been reporting oil/fuel diluting issues. I believe Malaysian owners should also be aware of this as it is going to be a global thing. Not only in colder climate countries.

https://www.consumerreports.org/car-repair-...-rollout-plans/

"But some consumers say the problem occurs in warmer-weather states, too. For example, CR has heard from CR-V owners in Arizona, California, Delaware, Texas, and Nevada. And the database maintained by NHTSA includes accounts of this oil-gas mixture problem from CR-V owners in Kentucky, Oregon, Tennessee, and Virginia."

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fVdKNRgzGT8

Honda even came out a video mention this oil/fuel diluting issues is in most cases, that’s okay. “What you’re seeing is a normal occurrence for this engine,” the video states.
“Some engine oil dilution is normal, even in warmer-weather states,” Martin says.  doh.gif
Actually fuel dilution is not uncommon in a direct injection engine since the fuel is directly injected to the cylinder. During cold start condition, the air fuel ratio is rich and thus more unburnt fuel will sip through the piston ring and thus mix with the engine oil. What differs from one engine to another from what i know is how fast the engine warms up, how aggressive is the tuning, how to trap and seperate the fuel, and how to evaporate. I am not sure if you notice that our CRV doesn't come with active shutter, as our hot climate here doesn't require extra blockage of cold air into the radiator to facilitate faster warm up.

Obviously Honda hasn't done a good job as they overlooked the use case of frequent short trip in a colder climate country.

Compare to my previous NA 1.8 car, I do notice CRV turbo has much more efficient cooling as she seems to require slighly more distance for the engine to reach working temperature. Don't get me wrong, usually working temperature will be reached in around 2km of continuous driving, in the morning. I do notice idling for long time doesn't really help in warming up.

I would say we don't really have to worry in Malaysia, I believe since the outbreak of this news, alot of Malaysian owners will also be constantly checking their engine oil level, and I have not bumped into any complain yet. Personally I have checked mine, it is well below the center of the scale. To be honest, I am more worry for the shift knob problem compare to engine oil dilution. Luckily mine is solid so far.

As a preventive action, my advise is not to idling the car for too long during cold start (it will take long time for the engine to reach operating temp), and should drive right away after maybe like 20-30 seconds of idling warm up.

For China, I have recently browsing through their reputable automotive forum, it seems like the fix work for at least for some owners, as few reported no increase of engine oil level in below 0C temperature, as of now.

This post has been edited by l2k: Dec 24 2018, 10:54 AM
l2k
post Dec 24 2018, 07:35 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Dec 24 2018, 02:33 PM)
Bro, modern cars now require to heat up as fast as possible to hit working temperature to reduce cold start emission, that why you got thermostat, EGR & VVT at exhaust cam shalf to help warm up fast. I believe this is why a lot of issue happen at colder climates regarding the oil/fuel dilution as if the engine is hard to warm up to reach optimum working temperature in a short time, fuel is easier to leak through the piston rings as it is not warm up/expand completely to prevent the outcome. I believe the update is to remap the fuel timing & adjust the VVT opening range to help reach the working temperature fast.
I kinda agree with you. However, there are actually 2 different solutions (which I find it awkward).

For China, Honda actually changed the AC unit, coolant piping and some transmission software update.
For US, they only provide software update to the AC unit and transmission, if not mistaken.

I can see why it make it worse in the cold climate country is because the air heater unit is actually drawing heat from the engine as well, thus the so call recall I believe is to speed up the engine warming by retarding heater operation, increasing engine idle RPM, and some stuff.

This post has been edited by l2k: Dec 24 2018, 07:36 PM
l2k
post Dec 27 2018, 08:48 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(Col @ Dec 26 2018, 09:31 PM)
Any owner can comment? But i think this is true as the last chinese guy said he is admin of G5 group. And the worst part is the last message given by Honda malaysia shown they are ignorong the wheel hub and streering rack issue
I think perhaps the issues were from the early batches. So far my TCP 2 months old (touch wood) doesn't have those steering rack, suspension related issues. I feel that my gear knob button is also tighter compares to my relative one (2017).

I think sooner or later all the issues will be rectified as Honda is now facing more pressure in this heated segment from competitors like Mazda and even Proton/Geely.

This post has been edited by l2k: Dec 27 2018, 08:49 AM
l2k
post Dec 28 2018, 11:55 AM

13 posts

China November sales saw CRV moved up to 4th position, with 22617 units sold. It seems to me the china customers have regained their confidence on CRV which also means Honda solution to the oil dilution is working.

0.1058sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 06:41 PM