7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Bottom

LYN Official Honda CR-V (Gen5/Gen6) thread V1, Gen5 CRV is launched

fazleysyam
post Jun 17 2025, 08:47 AM

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jun 16 2025, 04:47 PM)
first of all, I had a worse experience with wet traction and wet handling for Continental UC6. And our WhatsApp group for the car, which unfortunately comes with UC6 as stock tyres, all complaining about the same issue with wet traction on this particular model, which is worse than any unknown brand's tyres or model for wet traction. For dry, it is ok and kinda quiet vs rival. Many I known are just letting go of this junk model at tyre shop and jump to Michelin, be it Primacy or PS4 SUV, both are praised by many owners for wet traction drive. Others with budget reason choose Toyo CR1 SUV, and surprisingly, it is much better than UC6, again at wet handling control. Not sure why they just not strong on this.

The website or Youtube shared, of course, must show Continental win big, after all the Dr Edwin is currently working with the Continental Tyres company. Its not really a neutral party who testing for the tyres test, hence if I can put inflated tyre pressure to rival model, my tyre will win for any categories listed. This I am assuming, since it is not handled by a neutral party or company for the test.

So for me and few buddies who had bad experience with this brand will either jump to reputable model from Michelin or skip any tyres from Continental. Hence I am not opting for UC7 or MC7 in the future. From my reading on FB, those who really test the MC7 on hoping it will good as Michelin PS series, they are all said it is not, especially on wet heavy rain situation. Only Cost factor they won against Michelin
quite similar experience when using max contact on my FC. somehow the sidewall cracked. due to safety reason changed to PS4 and then to P4.
but when it comes to michelin primacy, it served the balance need for my daily drive. its just the rolling resistance is noticeable to me.
fazleysyam
post Jun 19 2025, 10:42 AM

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jun 18 2025, 03:34 PM)
I think you should just keep to 0W20 for RS. RS engine start up at very high rpm in order to charge the battery. So the lighter viscosity 0W20 will lubricate faster. So unless your are constantly running high speed on long highway drive, just stick to 0W20 for better engine startup lubrication. Most of engine piston wear comes from engine startup.
sounds reasonable. maybe will stick to 0W20. at moment using 5W30. Somehow i feel the car response is a bit sluggish. not sure its real or just my feeling.
fazleysyam
post Jun 20 2025, 10:08 AM

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jun 20 2025, 09:56 AM)
The name e-CVT caused many confusion for many people.

e-CVT is in reality NOT a CVT gearbox. It is actually a single speed gear system called reduction gears that is similar to EV. No belt, no pulley, much lesser numbers of bearing and physical gears. It is much more reliable, longer lifespan and less wear and tear (will still wear and tear gradually especially with aggressive driving  but with lesser parts, lesser points of failure and wear). Still need to change transmission oil but due to the much smaller gear system with no belt and pulley, need only small amount of oil change and very
much longer change interval.

However unlike EV pure reduction gear, eHev is a hybrid that require switching from motor to wheel to engine to wheel, in the case of iMMD system via a lock-up clutch. The entire switching system are including as part of the complex so-called e-CVT gear system rather than just the simple EV reduction gear system.

Then why they call it eCVT when it has nothing to do with CVT gear system?
it is actually not referring to physical mechanical CVT gear structure but more for the marketing gimmicks that relates the current CVT smooth and gearless driving feel to the uninformed.

If fact, we can just remove the name e-CVT and call it reduction gear or single gear system but that will clash with the true simple EV reduction gear as we still require lock-up clutch system to switch between motor and engine to wheel. Toyota uses the same name, for the same reason, marketing and branding gimmick and also gives those old-school gearbox drivers some driving feel reference. Toyota uses their proprietary planetary gear system to do the switch instead of lock-up clutch.
someone mentioned in their video that Honda uses the term eCVT because they want to simplify the explanation. When potential buyer ask about the transmission, just reply eCVT. hahaha

This post has been edited by fazleysyam: Jun 20 2025, 10:30 AM
fazleysyam
post Jun 20 2025, 10:27 AM

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jun 19 2025, 11:13 AM)
If you talking about low to mid torque acceleration sluggish, that is likely not related to your oil usage. The torque response should come from motor, not engine at that torque range unless you go pedal to metal.
yes im referring to the low torque.

at same time i changed the 12v battery. donno it has anything to do or not.

This post has been edited by fazleysyam: Jun 20 2025, 10:43 AM
fazleysyam
post Jun 23 2025, 08:35 AM

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Jun 23 2025, 12:00 AM)
Nah man. It’s on all the time and I don’t touch it even between engine starts. Not sure what you mean by car refusing to move… simply tap on the gas pedal and it should disengage the brakes that were engaged by brake hold.
i guess he mean need to tap the accelerator
fazleysyam
post Jun 23 2025, 08:37 AM

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jun 20 2025, 11:54 AM)
Like that better go SC report and check wor, coz it really has nothing to do with engine or engine oil usage. It should come entirely from motor.
have to do it later. need to capture some evidence prior to sending the car. u know la SC. i can expect the answer will be "nothings wrong with the car. its normal. kitorang tak jumpa any issue".

hopefully that sluggish feeling is just my feeling je la

This post has been edited by fazleysyam: Jun 23 2025, 08:40 AM
fazleysyam
post Jun 23 2025, 10:15 AM

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Jun 23 2025, 09:21 AM)
i have set it to automatically lift the handbrake when off engine and automatically release the handbrake when press on the accelerator.
not into that. prefer to driver to be ready prior to driving. if auto disengage, later my lady driver will melatah (hyperstartle) and it will be more dangerous to the car.
fazleysyam
post Jun 23 2025, 02:57 PM

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Jun 23 2025, 12:12 PM)
must be everything auto la. cannot kalah  to cina made car. lol. my previous ride auto one when you engage D mode.
hahaha..like i mentioned la bro..since got lady driver, better be safe than sorry

This post has been edited by fazleysyam: Jun 23 2025, 03:09 PM
fazleysyam
post Jun 23 2025, 03:39 PM

QUOTE(Jingle91 @ Jun 23 2025, 01:40 PM)
Ya, just done my claim this morning in this Semenyih 3S for brake switch, really want to vomit blood, another frustrated day, long story in short, if don't scold them they will just let customer wait and take their own sweet time. After raise my voice, manage to collect my car by 11am instead after 12pm.

So now I decided to go to this kajang center to do another claim for my windscreen instead of going to this 3S Semenyih. Their usual service is up to par, but the claiming process is really suffering, like purposely delaying to make u go away, very frustrated.
the waiting time at Semenyih is for rectification or to change the brake switch?
fazleysyam
post Jun 30 2025, 11:02 AM

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Jun 29 2025, 08:42 PM)
My low tire pressure indicator popped up today and scared me to death… went to petrol station right away to top up all four tires. Visually all looked fine and all were around same pressure, so not sure why the alert tripped…

Will observe over the next few days and see if one of them drops more than the rest
no need to worry if only the indicator appeared. usually it will appear if one of the tyre pressure is below threshold. however not sure the threshold. if it has been a while since u last pump the air, then its normal.

the only time u need to worry is when the warning appeared, followed with a flat tyre sound. hehe
fazleysyam
post Jul 1 2025, 04:55 PM

QUOTE(xSean @ Jul 1 2025, 03:59 PM)
i just collected my new car last week and just around 500km steering got sound

i think i heard some randomly tak sound when i drive out from showroom...

i thought it solved for model 2025....really unlucky and need go SC often

Any recommend good service center in klang valley?
i think the symptom for recent steering rack issue is about the vibration on the steering when u turn it. not about the tak sound. maybe due to other problem.

anyway which area u referring to klang valley?
fazleysyam
post Jul 11 2025, 10:39 AM

i talk with honda bodywork last time. the supervisor say consumer is complaining why the paint for honda car not like mercedes, volvo. very thin. kena batu sikit sudah scratch

the justification was..look at price la. honda price is not as much as mercedes or volvo

in my mind..so the 50K - 100k price difference is because of paint la..
fazleysyam
post Jul 15 2025, 10:04 AM

just have the opportunity to change to UX7. overall better than stock. feels more comfort mainly on harsh road and when passing speed breaker. road noise is lower (based on my hearing). however it doesnt meet my expectation on the term "quiet tyre".

This post has been edited by fazleysyam: Jul 15 2025, 10:42 AM
fazleysyam
post Jul 16 2025, 10:57 AM

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Jul 15 2025, 02:40 PM)
Anyone got their high-pressure fuel pump inspected or replaced yet? I just made an appointment in August for my usual servicing, and requested that they also do the recall checks together.

I was surprised when the staff said likely no need to leave overnight because they're just checking and not replacing... but according to Paul Tan website (can't link, sorry) Honda Malaysia is recalling our cars to change the high-pressure fuel pumps as a precautionary measure. So which one is it?
Strange. My SC mentioned that it will be replaced. for CRV Hybrid even have to leave 1 day for some run-in procedure, unlike for my FC which doesnt require any run-in.
to bad the earliest available date for this replacement is in Nov 2025 bangwall.gif bangwall.gif
fazleysyam
post Jul 18 2025, 11:39 AM

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Jul 18 2025, 11:13 AM)
wanna ask sifu here. How does those 'paddle shifter' works? i read that it's not a gear changing function feature.
which model u referring to.

for Non-RS, my understanding it work as a gear changing feature. however unless u not using S gear, the ECU/TCU will take over the control and assign back the appropriate gear. Thats the reason the change made using paddle shifter will not last long unless u are at the correct speed.

for RS, it work as a regen braking. i quote "converts a vehicle's kinetic energy into electrical energy during deceleration, which is then stored in the battery. This process not only slows the vehicle down, but also recharges the battery, extending the driving range and reducing wear on brake pads ". but this only happen if u didnt press the accelerator.
fazleysyam
post Jul 18 2025, 12:00 PM

QUOTE(Cavino @ Jul 18 2025, 11:50 AM)
That's the regen braking paddle, not paddle shifter. Paddle shifter switch the gear, regen braking increase braking levels (for the RS traction motor to both brake AND increase power regen to battery.

These two are totally different functions.

For me, regen braking paddle is a gift, a special feature that our eHev have. Not all hybrids has the this paddle, most EV just set high, medium, low from the screen. A fixed feature where you can't change mid-way coz you are driving and not to be distracted by going thru the menu.

But regen paddle allow you to spontaneously increase or decrease the level of regen braking right there.

There are 3 levels, you can treat it like engine braking. Instead of pressing the brake pedal to slow down, you can use this paddle to increase the level, 1,2,3. Once it slows down to below 10km/h, this regen feature is disabled. Note that traction regen will work at all times at the lowest level. This paddle allows you to increase and decrease the level above 10km/h.

I used it a lot during higher speed cornering, instead of pressing the brake pedal (which makan brake pad), using the paddle allows me more control to the car during cornering. It all increase battery regen at same time. It will make your brake pads last a long time. Now if the paddle wear out...hehe...

I also used it to slow down gradually during tolls stop and and slower traffic. The extra battery regen thru the traction motor helps increase the range of EV drive.
So if you drive RS eHev and not using it, you are missing one of the best and yet somehow not too emphasis feature of brake regen of our eHev.

So unlike most EV that fixed set the level of regen, that is very inconvenient if you switch from traffic heavy traffic to highway drive (where high level traction worked against cruising), use the regen paddle as a gradual slow down speed brake pedal especially during cornering. It cannot replace brake pedal that are much stronger but a very useful assisting tools to both slow the the car and retain control of the wheel.

Also note that this is also especially useful during slippery wet road, rains where regen paddle will using the internal traction motor to pull the wheel back to slow down instead of using the external brake pad to stop the wheel. Reduce the changes of tyre slipping on wet road.

That is my experience in using this not much spoken of great feature. The 2 weakness of using regen paddle,
1. Don't know if it wear out the paddle if used a lot.
2. Very important.....using regen paddle does not activate the brake light behind.....meaning if you slow down a lot using the paddle and the rear car ran to fast or don't notice (coz you no press brake pedal, no brake light), it has a risk of them not knowing you slow down without the brake lamp.

So when I used this, I automatically watch out for the rear car....too close, too fast, I will press the brake paddle to activate the brake light once, to alert them I am slowing down...
haiyaaa.....u so free to give this long comment? tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif .
nonetheless, comprehensive info

if i may add a bit. the regen braking works a bit different between Normal and Sport mode. I believe during normal mode, the regen brake will be off once we press the accelerator after a while. however during Sport mode, u will have to off the regen brake using the pedal. do correct me if im wrong since before this only use regen brake in sport mode once
fazleysyam
post Jul 31 2025, 05:02 PM

QUOTE(WhiteFlag @ Jul 31 2025, 04:59 PM)
only the ehev variant come equipped with all around acoustic (double layer) windows?
yes. only for ehev variant. however not sure its all rounder. i believe only the windscreen and front windows are double layer
fazleysyam
post Aug 8 2025, 09:28 AM

so many ex-ketam user here ya...
fazleysyam
post Aug 18 2025, 09:02 AM

QUOTE(Jingle91 @ Aug 17 2025, 10:32 AM)

Rotating tyres after drove for 12k km.
G6? did u change the rim?
fazleysyam
post Aug 18 2025, 11:05 AM

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Aug 18 2025, 10:48 AM)
Just left my car at SC to do the high-pressure fuel pump recall inspection... and was told there's a RM43 labor charge for the test/inspection, wtf? I asked the SA he said this is their (HM) SOP and they're just following. What the heck? A recall exercise that the customer has to pay for? Anyone kena the same or did I get BS'ed?
is there any inspection required for the product recall? i thought all impacted car will straight get a replacement regardless of the condition
the inspection, is that ur request or procedure by HM?

7 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 >Top

0.1148sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 12:10 PM