so honda needs to brake hard inorder not to have the rocking boat effect?
LYN Official Honda CR-V (Gen5/Gen6) thread V1, Gen5 CRV is launched
Jan 27 2025, 10:01 AM
1,682 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
so honda needs to brake hard inorder not to have the rocking boat effect?
Jan 27 2025, 10:11 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,127 posts Joined: Feb 2011 From: Penang |
Jan 27 2025, 10:27 AM
QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Jan 27 2025, 10:11 AM) Have you tried using the regen paddles and notice any difference from using just pure brake pedal modulation? no. i was referring to daily driving like braking for halting at traffic lights. i found that if you step on the brake lightly, it will have the rocking boat effect when the car comes to a complete stop. maybe i am still not accustomed to the driving style of the japanese car. lol |
Jan 27 2025, 11:35 AM
139 posts Joined: Aug 2013 |
QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Jan 20 2025, 02:00 PM) Yeah we have the same thing, but generally I use the gauge when it dips into charging to know how efficient I'm braking Wow that’s quite high. I tried, but my best just around 19km/lMy best mileage when driving carefully... ![]() |
Jan 27 2025, 02:11 PM
Jan 27 2025, 03:25 PM
842 posts Joined: May 2009 |
QUOTE(touristking @ Jan 25 2025, 12:44 PM) I would think hybrid excel in busy town slow speed driving. On high speed highway, the reverse is true. When one mentioned highway, they always equate to high speed drive.What about highway drive below 110km/h? Actually hybrid excel at that speed coz EV mode are still being constantly activated during beloe 110km/h cruising or light footed driving. Many including me nowadays drive at or below that speed with hybrid at busy highway like Kesas or even NKVE within Klang Valley. |
Jan 29 2025, 11:13 AM
happy cny to fellow crv owners. huat ah! Old1030 and KingArthurVI liked this post
Jan 30 2025, 03:23 PM
572 posts Joined: Jun 2012 |
QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Jan 29 2025, 11:13 AM) Enjoy your ride going back for New Year 19 Degree South liked this post
Feb 2 2025, 12:24 PM
sometimes on highway at 90km/h, it runs on EV for a while. till know catch no ball about this hybrid system. lol
Feb 2 2025, 04:52 PM
QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Feb 2 2025, 12:24 PM) sometimes on highway at 90km/h, it runs on EV for a while. till know catch no ball about this hybrid system. lol Just enjoy your ride bro… no point fussing over the system. I OCD’ed over it the first month and it was exhausting. Later I learned once I stopped obsessing over it I actually got better fuel economy, and I step on the accelerator however often I like after the break-in 1,000km. Now that’s enjoying your 200k ride. |
Feb 2 2025, 06:44 PM
QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Feb 2 2025, 04:52 PM) Just enjoy your ride bro… no point fussing over the system. I OCD’ed over it the first month and it was exhausting. Later I learned once I stopped obsessing over it I actually got better fuel economy, and I step on the accelerator however often I like after the break-in 1,000km. Now that’s enjoying your 200k ride. Good advice bro. Will just do that! Happy chor 5 to you. KingArthurVI liked this post
Feb 2 2025, 09:00 PM
QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Feb 2 2025, 06:44 PM) Same to you, friend! Trust the system and let it do its thing. Remember it’s not in our best interest to have the battery at max all the time because it means there’s nowhere else to store extra energy from braking or cruising. The system regularly dumps energy by going into EV mode to save petrol and to make sure there’s a good amount of headroom to store recuperated energy if needed. |
Feb 3 2025, 08:01 PM
139 posts Joined: Aug 2013 |
Feb 3 2025, 09:34 PM
Feb 5 2025, 10:26 AM
5,831 posts Joined: Jun 2017 |
QUOTE(Cavino @ Jan 27 2025, 08:25 AM) When one mentioned highway, they always equate to high speed drive. How many km can it run on pure electric power?What about highway drive below 110km/h? Actually hybrid excel at that speed coz EV mode are still being constantly activated during beloe 110km/h cruising or light footed driving. Many including me nowadays drive at or below that speed with hybrid at busy highway like Kesas or even NKVE within Klang Valley. |
Feb 5 2025, 11:41 AM
QUOTE(touristking @ Feb 5 2025, 10:26 AM) With 1Kw battery max and the fact the EV battery never charge full, very difficult to measure. Sometimes a few km, sometimes, 1 km, sometimes half a km. It will charge up to certain extend, depending how we press pedal, it can switch to EV once there is enuf charges (can be a quarter or half full before switch to EV) and we are cruising aka light on pedal. If you accelerate more, it will remain in engine mode charging the battery. If you let go of pedal and then press lightly aka cruising without sudden acceleration, it will activate the EV mode when there is enuf charge and no spike in acceleration. Back and forth. So if the speed is generally below 110km/h or so, while cruising, it will switch back and forth....when battery is full or have enuf charge. We can't really calculate mileage on pure electricity. This post has been edited by Cavino: Feb 5 2025, 11:42 AM |
Feb 5 2025, 12:05 PM
5,831 posts Joined: Jun 2017 |
QUOTE(Cavino @ Feb 5 2025, 04:41 AM) With 1Kw battery max and the fact the EV battery never charge full, very difficult to measure. Then, range wise, Honda is not much different from Toyota's. Battery can only power for a few km. Sometimes a few km, sometimes, 1 km, sometimes half a km. It will charge up to certain extend, depending how we press pedal, it can switch to EV once there is enuf charges (can be a quarter or half full before switch to EV) and we are cruising aka light on pedal. If you accelerate more, it will remain in engine mode charging the battery. If you let go of pedal and then press lightly aka cruising without sudden acceleration, it will activate the EV mode when there is enuf charge and no spike in acceleration. Back and forth. So if the speed is generally below 110km/h or so, while cruising, it will switch back and forth....when battery is full or have enuf charge. We can't really calculate mileage on pure electricity. So I reckon, for practically wise, plug in Hybrid will be the best for normal town use with range from 50 - 80 km per charge. I would reckon 90% of people only drive about that much km/day. So hardly use any petrol. |
Feb 5 2025, 02:49 PM
anyone change the car horn to the hrv type? this horn is is just too sissy. lol
Feb 5 2025, 03:23 PM
QUOTE(touristking @ Feb 5 2025, 12:05 PM) Then, range wise, Honda is not much different from Toyota's. Battery can only power for a few km. Yes. Implementation concept and working between both brands are different but they produce almost similar savings.So I reckon, for practically wise, plug in Hybrid will be the best for normal town use with range from 50 - 80 km per charge. I would reckon 90% of people only drive about that much km/day. So hardly use any petrol. Both implementations got their pro and con. Although I prefer the way eHev was implemented vs Toyota. Honda more driver centric and fun to drive with but maintenance wise, Honda eHev will have more headaches with way more parts and gears that might wear out if use long term. Those ICE drivers that don't drive hybrids might keep thinking of hybrid battery usage in terms of how many km to run in EV mode. Wrong thinking coz technically unlike plug-in hybrids that DO run in pure EV mode for many KMs, hybrid small battery are MEANT to supplement the ICE engine meaning they will non stop switch between EV and ICE mode to charge, recharge battery and drive in motor to wheel mode and switch back to ICE and vice versa. It can't be measured in how many km we can drive in EV mode at 1 go, it is not meant to be use this way in daily drive. More like the EV motor to wheel are being switch on and off ALL the time we drive below 110km/h (light footed that is), to increase fuel saving and add motor to wheel power efficiency constantly thru out whole drive. I am a proponent of go standard Hybrid or EV direct. Plug in hybrid are not that popular here or the market is too small to bring in plug-in hybrids. 1. Plug-in hybrids are usually WAY more expensive than standard hybrids. So ppl would likely pay for EV straight or just stay with Hybrids or ICE. 2. Practically have to charge DAILY unless you drive less thank 20km daily. If drive at least 40km daily, then have to charge daily to take advantage of plug in...a bit too inconvenient or should I say way MORE inconvenient than EV that need not charge daily. 3. Plug-in hybrids are way heavier than hybrid due to its way bigger battery capacity. This add more weight to the car thus when we run on petrol to drive, petrol consumption are much higher than standard hybrid. So it is only practical if you 1. Like to charge everyday 2. Usually drive 20km or less, or else you have to charge daily or every alternate days. 3. Running on petrol is way less efficient than standard hybrid due to the extra weight, so unlike standard hybrid that goes on petrol, it does not really make sense to drive on petrol for plug-in (meaning the petrol best only use to driving in emergency only). If after buying the car, then you switch job that need to go longer distance, running of ICE charging the battery is way less efficient due to the weight increase of the extra battery pack that you may as well get a hybrid or ICE straight...that is if you don't mind CHARGING every day. Any day you don't charge, the engine charging the battery will be less efficient than hybrid when running on petrol due to the weight. Due to the less efficient petrol consumption and way more frequent charging need, I would have either go for Hybrid for convenience (semi EV experience and petrol savings) or direct to EV for smooth EV exp, power and daily cost savings. For me, Plug-In inherit all the cons of EV (amplified charging frequency, range anxiety-if you want to runs of EV all the time to maximize benefit of plug-ins) and cons of ICE. It has pro of ICE and EV BUT the pro's comes with conditions such as very limited EV distance, switching to petrol not as efficient as standard hybrid, etc. Unlike standard Hybrid, it is a true middle ground ICE to EV transitional vehicle but that also makes it feels like it is stuck in LIMBO here...not having the best of EV or ICE and got the worse of both EV and ICE. Although the same can be said with standard Hybrid, it is more geared toward being an ICE with the EV motor providing some EV experience and maximized petrol savings. It does not pretend to be either one. That is my 2 cents tho, other might differs in their opinion. ps. If you don't mind CHARGING every DAY without fail and travel 100km/h, actually it should still beat out hybrid in running cost. Just thinking have to charge everyday is very tiring to many ppl tho some ppl ok with it, then it will be perfect for those ppl that ok with charging daily. This post has been edited by Cavino: Feb 5 2025, 03:37 PM touristking, MegaThroned, and 1 other liked this post
Feb 7 2025, 09:22 AM
835 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Malacca |
Hi guys, I wanted to check have you guys received the letter from Honda to fix the steering gearbox ? Just wondering do I need to wait for the letter or can I just request when I do 10k service.
| Change to: | 0.0257sec
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 11:40 AM |