LYN Official Honda CR-V (Gen5/Gen6) thread V1, Gen5 CRV is launched

touristking
post May 29 2024, 10:19 PM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(Old1030 @ May 29 2024, 12:32 PM)

If you have the budget, and time to wait,, go way up to RS,, dont take AWD,, just settle for E

For pick up,, AWD is lazy from the start
That bad? Have you tried the S or E?

Old1030
post May 29 2024, 11:05 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ May 29 2024, 10:19 PM)
That bad? Have you tried the S or E?
Yeah the pick up is lazy,, but I cannot comment on your remarks V is like E on eco mode,, because never try it,, and im not really into pick up, but can say that based on G5 1.5TCP,, G6 AWD is really slow,, but comfy

Never test drive S or E,, only seat on it at showroom
Just I feel that my extra money go to AWD and lousy 360cam,, not worth it,,

The only reason I go to V long story short,,,,,
at first I budgeted for RS, booked for RS, loan approved for RS, and I have all the time in the world to wait, we got extra car, this car main purpose is purely for long drive and weekend car,,,,,,,
2 months already wait, so peaceful and enjoy life with temporary lesser monthly commitment

At the end of the day,, wife win, she dont want to wait, she want it fast, she want it now mega_shok.gif
Everyday asked me, , every time see new G6 she asked me,, lucky very few on the road to see,, smile.gif

Happy wife peaceful Life

I just telling evrybody here,, again,, Im happy with my G6 more than my G5,, because wife happy,,

But truly, deep down inside my heart,, G3 still the best of the best gen CRV hahaha

touristking
post May 29 2024, 11:19 PM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(Old1030 @ May 29 2024, 04:05 PM)
The only reason I go to V long story short,,,,,
at first I budgeted for RS, booked for RS, loan approved for RS, and I have all the time in the world to wait, we got extra car, this car main purpose is purely for long drive and weekend car,,,,,,,
2 months already wait, so peaceful and enjoy life with temporary lesser monthly commitment

At the end of the day,, wife win, she dont want to wait, she want it fast, she want it now  mega_shok.gif
Everyday asked me, , every time see new G6 she asked me,, lucky very few on the road to see,,  smile.gif

Happy wife peaceful Life

I just telling evrybody here,, again,, Im happy with my G6 more than my G5,, because wife happy,,

But truly, deep down inside my heart,, G3 still the best of the best gen CRV hahaha
Once married, you don't make decision any more. If you think White color is nice but she think Red is nice, want to guess which color you will buy? brows.gif

KingArthurVI
post May 30 2024, 04:43 PM

BWOAHHHH
1,127 posts

Test drove the e:HEV RS (showroom doesn't have V), and also CX-5 2.5 NA, and even though the CX-5 interior feels a bit more well put together, the CR-V wins from outlook/appearance and practicality. The CX-5 seems super cramped with two adults in the back, can't imagine three, so that was a deal-breaker for my wife.

What I like:

- Space space space.

- The 360 camera is actually quite usable (coming from old 2018 Civic FC), its definitely sharper than CX-5's, which looked like it came out from a 2005 flip camera phone.

- I like how the front camera and surrounding sensors will warn when something is close.

- The new steering wheel layout and tactile feel are a lot nicer and the buttons are miles better than my Civic FC

- Wireless CarPlay is awesome, get in the car it auto connect and start playing Spotify. I don't use my wired CarPlay in Civic FC that often because sometimes lazy to plug in for short journeys.

- When put into Sport mode, the pickup is nice and even though the pumped-in engine sounds are fake, they sound convincing/pleasing enough for it to be a nice add-on as opposed to V spec CVT drone which I'm used to (but despise) from my Civic FC

- The Bose® sound system... so much clarity and bass at the same time. Mind-boggling.

--

What I don't like:

- Door panel upper half is hard plastic — what??! Only the armrest portion is soft touch. Super WTF.

- LaneWatch™ is "okay" but would prefer a proper BSM on both sides because it'd also come with RCTA. This is a huge shame. SA said they may add it for the facelift but I can't wait that long.

- The engine kicked in more than I expected when test driving in Georgetown at slow city crawling traffic. I was expecting more EV driving but the engine kept coming in even on Normal mode. I didn't try ECO mode.

- Lots of things that should've came standard are optional, like the rear boot tray, rear boot scuff protector, side door step (CR-V is hard to get into for my wife who is only 160cm tall, so we need to get that).

At the end of the day, booked blue CR-V e:HEV RS biggrin.gif SA said the waiting period is 3 months++ but I've read horror stories both here and on FB where people have been waiting since January... so fingers crossed.

This post has been edited by KingArthurVI: May 30 2024, 04:45 PM
tango1800
post May 30 2024, 09:36 PM

89 posts

Hello All,
Gen 1 HRV Owner here.
I am thinking of upgrading to the new CRV E-specs as my kids are getting bigger and I would love to have more space for them at the passenger seats. Moreover, the looks of this new CRV is simply stunning.

The only thing which is missing from the E specs for me is the 360 camera. So I am wondering if there is any possibility for us to install a 360 camera at any car accessories shop? Also, will the warranty be affected if we do that?
touristking
post May 31 2024, 06:28 AM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ May 30 2024, 09:43 AM)

- Wireless CarPlay is awesome, get in the car it auto connect and start playing Spotify. I don't use my wired CarPlay in Civic FC that often because sometimes lazy to plug in for short journeys.

- The engine kicked in more than I expected when test driving in Georgetown at slow city crawling traffic. I was expecting more EV driving but the engine kept coming in even on Normal mode. I didn't try ECO mode.
Unfortunately the Android Auto is wired on the E.

I didn't have the opportunity to try the Hybrid in slow bumper traffic. But I think the Toyota Camry battery can only last 2 km on pure electric so may be the Honda's isn't much further before needing charging from the engine.

I notice, Honda Malaysia focusing on the Hybrid and that may be why only Hybrid demo car available. And almost all the local car reviewers recommending the Hybrid being the better option. But I do occasionally see some foreign reviewers actually preferring the turbo being the better drive.
https://www.edmunds.com/honda/cr-v/2023/hybrid/
touristking
post May 31 2024, 06:32 AM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(tango1800 @ May 30 2024, 02:36 PM)
The only thing which is missing from the E specs for me is the 360 camera. So I am wondering if there is any possibility for us to install a 360 camera at any car accessories shop? Also, will the warranty be affected if we do that?
I too like the 360 camera very much. But I believe you will void your warranty fitting after market to your car. I even opted for the original Honda dashcam for that very reason, as advised by my SA

Having said that, the 4 proximity sensors on front and back bumpers do help a lot because this CRV is a big car.

KingArthurVI
post May 31 2024, 11:43 AM

BWOAHHHH
1,127 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ May 31 2024, 06:28 AM)

I didn't have the opportunity to try the Hybrid in slow bumper traffic. But I think the Toyota Camry battery can only last 2 km on pure electric so may be the Honda's isn't much further before needing charging from the engine.

I notice, Honda Malaysia focusing on the Hybrid and that may be why only Hybrid demo car available. And almost all the local car reviewers recommending the Hybrid being the better option. But I do occasionally see some foreign reviewers actually preferring the turbo being the better drive.
I tried only 500m in EV mode before I had to step on the pedal to overtake someone when the light turns green lol but that's in Georgetown.

The engine does seem a bit more sensitive than I initially expected. I should've tried ECON mode in hindsight, maybe it'll delay the engine kicking in and stay in EV mode for a longer time if using ECON mode.
Old1030
post May 31 2024, 11:52 AM

572 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ May 31 2024, 06:32 AM)
I too like the 360 camera very much. But I believe you will void your warranty fitting after market to your car. I even opted for the original Honda dashcam for that very reason, as advised by my SA

Having said that, the 4 proximity sensors on front and back bumpers do help a lot because this CRV is a big car.
Best is to install accessories at Honda

but warranty claim is purely based on your luck and how the service advisor and Claim Manager mood.

If you asked me
Dashcam is stand alone accessories, this can install and uninstall easily or can be argue if it is blame
while 360cam is not because need to have some wired hot tapped then route to your center console, this is tricky

If anything happen to your any original accessories,, they can blame it to your 360cam
Cavino
post May 31 2024, 12:37 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(touristking @ May 31 2024, 06:28 AM)

But I do occasionally see some foreign reviewers actually preferring the turbo being the better drive.
Android Auto still wired on E, what about RS?? All the time, I did not realise that. Now that I look back at the brochure, it seems only Carplay are listed as wireless from E spec onwards. What happen to Android Auto.

It makes no sense tho, even 100K City RS all wireless for both carplay and android auto liao.

Foreign countries travel distance are way greater, turbo are better on those longer distance roads. Also their specs on Turbo also much upgraded than the one here.
Cavino
post May 31 2024, 12:48 PM

842 posts

QUOTE(Old1030 @ May 31 2024, 11:52 AM)
Best is to install accessories at Honda

but warranty claim is purely based on your luck and how the service advisor and Claim Manager mood.

If you asked me
Dashcam is stand alone accessories, this can install and uninstall easily or can be argue if it is blame
while 360cam is not because need to have some wired hot tapped then route to your center console, this is tricky

If anything happen to your any original accessories,, they can blame it to your 360cam
For dashcam, if it is hardwired with parking mode feature, then no doubt cannot installl outside lor. Can void electrical warranty especially the ultra important electrical warranty in Hybrid models. Of course one can argue install with 12V power source no void but I never like to have a hardware stuck on the 12V power. I always used that for tyre pump at home. Also no parking mode feature with external power source.

Installation of 360 camera very difficult wor. While the front and rear camera can be easily installed, the issue comes from the side camera that should be placed or integrated with the door mirror. The left door mirror have already integrated with lane watch cam, making it even more difficult to place/integrate camera there.

This post has been edited by Cavino: May 31 2024, 12:48 PM
KingArthurVI
post May 31 2024, 01:29 PM

BWOAHHHH
1,127 posts

QUOTE(Cavino @ May 31 2024, 12:37 PM)
Android Auto still wired on E, what about RS?? All the time, I did not realise that. Now that I look back at the brochure, it seems only Carplay are listed as wireless from E spec onwards. What happen to Android Auto.

It makes no sense tho, even 100K City RS all wireless for both carplay and android auto liao.

Foreign countries travel distance are way greater, turbo are better on those longer distance roads. Also their specs on Turbo also much upgraded than the one here.
Looking at C&D (largely American): https://www.caranddriver.com/honda/cr-v, they said they prefer the hybrid too:

The CR-V LX, EX, and EX-L are all gas-only models. The Sport Sport-L, and Sport Touring models come exclusively with the hybrid powertrain, and these are what we'd recommend most.

However, what's strange is that their 0–60mph (96km/h) is quite a bit different from ours from Honda Malaysia.

Behind the CR-V's upright grille is a standard 190-hp turbocharged 1.5-liter four-cylinder. It pairs with a CVT and either front- or all-wheel drive. This setup is standard on the LX, EX, and EX-L models. At our test track, the nonhybrid EX-L needed 8.1 seconds to get to 60 mph

Since both our CR-V and theirs (turbo, nonhybrid) have 190hp 1.5T, how come theirs take 8.1s and ours is 9s+. Does that 4km/h difference between 60mph and 100km/h really make that big of a difference?

This post has been edited by KingArthurVI: May 31 2024, 01:31 PM
dudester
post May 31 2024, 02:25 PM

1,230 posts

Android Auto / Apple Carplay both WIRELESS BT for RS I know.
ZeneticX
post May 31 2024, 02:28 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ May 30 2024, 04:43 PM)
Test drove the e:HEV RS (showroom doesn't have V), and also CX-5 2.5 NA, and even though the CX-5 interior feels a bit more well put together, the CR-V wins from outlook/appearance and practicality. The CX-5 seems super cramped with two adults in the back, can't imagine three, so that was a deal-breaker for my wife.

What I like:

- Space space space.

- The 360 camera is actually quite usable (coming from old 2018 Civic FC), its definitely sharper than CX-5's, which looked like it came out from a 2005 flip camera phone.

- I like how the front camera and surrounding sensors will warn when something is close.

- The new steering wheel layout and tactile feel are a lot nicer and the buttons are miles better than my Civic FC

- When put into Sport mode, the pickup is nice and even though the pumped-in engine sounds are fake, they sound convincing/pleasing enough for it to be a nice add-on as opposed to V spec CVT drone which I'm used to (but despise) from my Civic FC

- The Bose® sound system... so much clarity and bass at the same time. Mind-boggling.

--

What I don't like:

- Door panel upper half is hard plastic — what??! Only the armrest portion is soft touch. Super WTF.

- LaneWatch™ is "okay" but would prefer a proper BSM on both sides because it'd also come with RCTA. This is a huge shame. SA said they may add it for the facelift but I can't wait that long.

- Lots of things that should've came standard are optional, like the rear boot tray, rear boot scuff protector, side door step (CR-V is hard to get into for my wife who is only 160cm tall, so we need to get that).
At the end of the day, booked blue CR-V e:HEV RS biggrin.gif SA said the waiting period is 3 months++ but I've read horror stories both here and on FB where people have been waiting since January... so fingers crossed.
I think for the same price.... can consider CX8 also if need more space. But that's a different segment already
KingArthurVI
post May 31 2024, 02:34 PM

BWOAHHHH
1,127 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ May 31 2024, 02:28 PM)
I think for the same price.... can consider CX8 also if need more space. But that's a different segment already
Seriously considered CX-8 too but it's too long and hard to park in Georgetown street parking lots. The middle row being captain seats is also a huge disadvantage because we have a mid-sized dog that enjoys some space in the 2nd row bench, so it'll be hard to fit her in a captain chair.

And if I get a CX-5/CX-8 I'll get minimum 2.5NA and ideally 2.5T, but their fuel consumption is really crazy. I'm not worried about the money but it's the guzzling dinosaur juice that wife and I are conscious about. Laugh all you guys want... nod.gif
ZeneticX
post May 31 2024, 02:53 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ May 31 2024, 02:34 PM)
Seriously considered CX-8 too but it's too long and hard to park in Georgetown street parking lots. The middle row being captain seats is also a huge disadvantage because we have a mid-sized dog that enjoys some space in the 2nd row bench, so it'll be hard to fit her in a captain chair.

And if I get a CX-5/CX-8 I'll get minimum 2.5NA and ideally 2.5T, but their fuel consumption is really crazy. I'm not worried about the money but it's the guzzling dinosaur juice that wife and I are conscious about. Laugh all you guys want... nod.gif
That's true. Mazda's main weakness so far is no efficient powertrain in their line up other than the cramped space compared to other offerings in the segment. If you not considering EV, the CRV hybrid is the only true C segment SUV to offer a hybrid iinm, other than that its gonna be the conti offerings

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: May 31 2024, 02:56 PM
KingArthurVI
post May 31 2024, 02:58 PM

BWOAHHHH
1,127 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ May 31 2024, 02:53 PM)
That's true. Mazda's main weakness so far is no efficient powertrain in their line up other than the cramped space compared to other offerings in the segment. If you not considering EV, the CRV hybrid is the only true C segment SUV to offer a hybrid iinm, other than that its gonna be the conti offerings
Very true what you said. Corolla Cross Hybrid is like B+ segment and not a true C segment too.

My only concern now is the waiting period. SA told me 3+ months but I asked him "6 months is also 3 months, right?" and he had nothing smart to say about that rclxub.gif gg
ZeneticX
post May 31 2024, 03:04 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ May 31 2024, 02:58 PM)
Very true what you said. Corolla Cross Hybrid is like B+ segment and not a true C segment too.

My only concern now is the waiting period. SA told me 3+ months but I asked him "6 months is also 3 months, right?" and he had nothing smart to say about that rclxub.gif gg
I suddenly recall Mazda have the 2.2D.... but its known for some issues and since no more diesel subsidies, ya good luck with that

For waiting period there's really nothing can be done about it especially when it comes to a popular brand like Honda or Toyota, the demand is always there

Though I'm surprised the hybrid also need to wait that long because my impression was the hybrid is the least popular spec in the line up. Maybe they underestimate the demand for it hence the production was cut down
KingArthurVI
post May 31 2024, 03:07 PM

BWOAHHHH
1,127 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ May 31 2024, 03:04 PM)
I suddenly recall Mazda have the 2.2D.... but its known for some issues and since no more diesel subsidies, ya good luck with that

For waiting period there's really nothing can be done about it especially when it comes to a popular brand like Honda or Toyota, the demand is always there

Though I'm surprised the hybrid also need to wait that long because my impression was the hybrid is the least popular spec in the line up. Maybe they underestimate the demand for it hence the production was cut down
Yeah, same, I was confused too because the V spec made up more than 40% of total bookings and even now I can get a V spec ready stock or 1 month wait maximum. RS allocations are crazy slow according to my SA and we speculated it's because the demand isn't very high so they're only allocating a small portion of their production capacity to produce the RS hybrid models. The RS models also have quite a bit of difference compared to S, E, V, so it's not like they share a lot of the exterior bits too. bye.gif cry.gif
touristking
post Jun 1 2024, 04:10 PM

5,831 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ May 31 2024, 08:04 AM)
Diesel are generally reliable. So what's the issue with this one?

209 Pages « < 141 142 143 144 145 > » Top

0.0301sec    0.77    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 04:45 AM