Plasma and LCD TV (FullHD)

TSkerorokatak
post Apr 2 2007, 10:18 AM, updated 19y ago

100 posts

What is the different between plasma tv and LCD TV (FullHD)..... can someone tech me... if i planning to get a LCD or plasma to fully support PS3, which brand should i choose.... samsung or sony....
Idzm
post Apr 2 2007, 10:34 AM

153 posts

Plasma have only 8 years lifetime bcoz it use gas to operate while LCD might last up to 10 years plus.

if u r thinking that u'll update u r system after 5 years, then plasma will be good. the picture much better than lcd. but the price will be much high.
bysquashy
post Apr 2 2007, 10:44 AM

Wireless Bliss [3GPP R14]
2,884 posts

This site would be a good read
http://www.flattvpeople.com/tutorials/lcd-vs-plasma.asp
scotty
post Apr 2 2007, 10:44 AM

THX Certified Conman
4,380 posts

both will last equally long. but if u gonna use it for gaming purpose, both has their own flaw. plasma has burn mark. lcd has slow response time smile.gif
rx330
post Apr 2 2007, 11:02 AM

11,808 posts

and CRT is the best biggrin.gif
mushem
post Apr 2 2007, 11:45 AM

IMO, Lcd works best for games, plasma has burn marks.
LCD has better color contrast too.

g5sim
post Apr 7 2007, 07:28 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(kerorokatak @ Apr 2 2007, 10:18 AM)
What is the different between plasma tv and LCD TV (FullHD)..... can someone tech me... if i planning to get a LCD or plasma to fully support PS3, which brand should i choose.... samsung or sony....
just just a 8th gen Pioneer 1080p plasma. oh its not out yet. introduced in Jan 2007.
Bedok
post Apr 8 2007, 07:27 PM

71 posts

LCD is best up to 40 inch, beyond that plasma is king.
SSJBen
post Apr 9 2007, 09:14 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(scotty @ Apr 2 2007, 10:44 AM)
both will last equally long. but if u gonna use it for gaming purpose, both has their own flaw.  plasma has burn mark. lcd has slow response time smile.gif
Burn-ins are issues of the pass.
Most LCDs are coming in the 6ms and 8ms response time, ghosting not a problem anymore.
rx330
post Apr 10 2007, 02:47 PM

11,808 posts

new sharp full HD model for 46 incher and above, oinly 4ms respoinse time
g5sim
post Apr 11 2007, 02:35 PM

5,750 posts

FULL HD = marketing hype by CEs that couldnt compete with others in term of pricing. This is the only fact that you need to know. Its like 7.1 audio channel or 3.2gh Pentium processor. 'nobody' needs thoses specs.

general TV size that people purchase = 32in n 37in. Full HD is "absolutely worthless" on these sizes. Why pay more? If you want a <45in with watching distance of 8ft then get a FullHD. How many living rooms out of the millions of household in malaysia can fit a 42in TV?
rx330
post Apr 11 2007, 05:04 PM

11,808 posts

wats an 8 feet viewing area, suppose to go for?
32? 37? 40?
redbull_y2k
post Apr 11 2007, 05:35 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Apr 11 2007, 02:35 PM)
FULL HD = marketing hype by CEs that couldnt compete with others in term of pricing. This is the only fact that you need to know. Its like 7.1 audio channel or 3.2gh Pentium processor. 'nobody' needs thoses specs.

general TV size that people purchase = 32in n 37in. Full HD is "absolutely worthless" on these sizes. Why pay more? If you want a <45in with watching distance of 8ft then get a FullHD. How many living rooms out of the millions of household in malaysia can fit a 42in TV?
I never knew our living room is that small that u can't even fit a 42" TV. Just bcoz u think it's worthless to u, doesn't mean it applies to everyone else. whistling.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by redbull_y2k: Apr 11 2007, 05:57 PM
g5sim
post Apr 11 2007, 05:39 PM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 11 2007, 05:04 PM)
wats an 8 feet viewing area, suppose to go for?
32? 37? 40?
sorry .. viewing distance !!

Added on April 11, 2007, 5:41 pm
QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Apr 11 2007, 05:35 PM)
I never knew our living room is that small that u can't even fit a 42" TV. Just bcoz u think it's worthless to u, then it applies to everyone else. whistling.gif  laugh.gif
aiyo 0 you know what i mean. 1000sqf apartment living room chun chun ken fit a 42 in 10ft viewing distance. smaller than that susah wor. 37in or 32in ngam ngam. i bet you have a big living room tongue.gif

This post has been edited by g5sim: Apr 11 2007, 05:41 PM
redbull_y2k
post Apr 11 2007, 05:56 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Apr 11 2007, 05:39 PM)
sorry .. viewing distance !!

Added on April 11, 2007, 5:41 pm
aiyo 0 you know what i mean. 1000sqf apartment living room chun chun ken fit a 42 in 10ft viewing distance. smaller than that susah wor. 37in or 32in ngam ngam. i bet you have a big living room tongue.gif
What the? I thought normally viewing distance should be around 7ft. Anyways, 37-42" should fit ngam ngam, 32" is actually abit small for a living room IMHO. For 26-32" if u put in your own room ok la. tongue.gif
rx330
post Apr 11 2007, 07:39 PM

11,808 posts

opps, viewing distance, wat size suitable for 8 feet viewing distance?
g5sim
post Apr 12 2007, 12:24 AM

5,750 posts

QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Apr 11 2007, 05:56 PM)
What the? I thought normally viewing distance should be around 7ft. Anyways, 37-42" should fit ngam ngam, 32" is actually abit small for a living room IMHO. For 26-32" if u put in your own room ok la.  tongue.gif
37-42in can fit 7ft viewing drool.gif drool.gif i will have an empty room dinding to dinding 7ft. window to door 12ft. can fit lah lidat . hehe living room is 10ft viewing distance - so maximum for me = 42in icon_question.gif

anyhow . SenQ show room at low yat , the viewing distance all soo freaking close - its like for 1-3 person ...

Added on April 12, 2007, 12:25 am
QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 11 2007, 07:39 PM)
opps, viewing distance, wat size suitable for 8 feet viewing distance?
8ft-10ft 42in ken kua biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by g5sim: Apr 12 2007, 12:25 AM
rx330
post Apr 12 2007, 09:38 AM

11,808 posts

so big ar? sigh... and i tot 37 would be enuff...
neoardi
post Apr 12 2007, 12:38 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 12 2007, 09:38 AM)
so big ar? sigh... and i tot 37 would be enuff...
Big screen is never enuff. biggrin.gif
rx330
post Apr 12 2007, 01:41 PM

11,808 posts

im more easily content, just tat i would like to know wats the size suitable nia... @ least i know 32 incher would be a no no
redbull_y2k
post Apr 12 2007, 02:04 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 12 2007, 01:41 PM)
im more easily content, just tat i would like to know wats the size suitable nia... @ least i know 32 incher would be a no no
If you're currently using a 29" CRT tv, then a widescreen 37" LCDTV would be around the same height (slightly higher actually), but wider of coz. tongue.gif
rx330
post Apr 12 2007, 03:04 PM

11,808 posts

yes, higher biggrin.gif

i did some comparisons, tat is why i wun go for 32 if possible, cos the height is in fact lower than the 29 CRT

cos most of the time, still will see shows on 4:3, only watching dvds only 16:9

but 40 really jialat, so big, or is it merely a bit more than 37?
i think 37 phasedout soon, later only 32 and 40 incher nia
greyshadow
post Apr 12 2007, 03:46 PM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

Laser TV will pwned both plasma and LCD...
which has a clearer, sharper images and cheaper to produce too...
Lets hope it will be in mass production soon thumbup.gif
rx330
post Apr 12 2007, 03:49 PM

11,808 posts

i think for laser tv, still have a long time to wait for it to becum reasonable hor
redbull_y2k
post Apr 12 2007, 03:49 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Apr 12 2007, 03:04 PM)
yes, higher biggrin.gif

i did some comparisons, tat is why i wun go for 32 if possible, cos the height is in fact lower than the 29 CRT

cos most of the time, still will see shows on 4:3, only watching dvds only 16:9

but 40 really jialat, so big, or is it merely a bit more than 37?
i think 37 phasedout soon, later only 32 and 40 incher nia
Here's a link to help u estimate the size an aspect ratio difference among different size of TV/LCDs. thumbup.gif

TV Calculator laugh.gif
rx330
post Apr 12 2007, 03:52 PM

11,808 posts

wa seh, tis is good!!!!!!!!!! [biggrin.gif]
silencer
post Apr 12 2007, 08:50 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Apr 12 2007, 03:49 PM)
Here's a link to help u estimate the size an aspect ratio difference among different size of TV/LCDs.  thumbup.gif

TV Calculator  laugh.gif
waaa...even tv has its own calculator...
redbull_y2k
post Apr 12 2007, 11:12 PM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Apr 12 2007, 08:50 PM)
waaa...even tv has its own calculator...
There's even a rims and tyre size calculator... whistling.gif laugh.gif
neoardi
post Apr 12 2007, 11:35 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(redbull_y2k @ Apr 12 2007, 11:12 PM)
There's even a rims and tyre size calculator...  whistling.gif  laugh.gif
biggrin.gif Hehehe...got a girlfriend calculator also? tongue.gif
burgerkill
post Apr 22 2007, 12:32 PM

47 posts

ermmmmmmmmmmmmmm

This post has been edited by burgerkill: Feb 17 2009, 10:09 AM
neoardi
post Apr 22 2007, 06:47 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(burgerkill @ Apr 22 2007, 12:32 PM)
aku pakai lcd projektor,2000 lumens.tembak kt dinding rumah.Lg besar drpd plsma or lcd tv.ahahahaha,tapi maintenence dia teruk sikitla.bulp mahal.Tapi xpe,aku pakai lcd projektor opis punya.
Yippieeee yawn.gif rolleyes.gif
AlamakLor
post Apr 25 2007, 08:32 AM

9,856 posts

plasma is superior to LCD in every aspect regarding picture quality. The only concerns with plasma is:

1) burn-in if you left it on static for VERY long (a few days)
2) Image retention - happens all the time but is fades off quickly
3) power consumption...150-200% more than lcd

other than that, lcd can kiss my ass...click on the link in my sig to see why.
neoardi
post Apr 25 2007, 11:38 AM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(AlamakLor @ Apr 25 2007, 08:32 AM)
plasma is superior to LCD in every aspect regarding picture quality. The only concerns with plasma is:

1) burn-in if you left it on static for VERY long (a few days)
2) Image retention - happens all the time but is fades off quickly
3) power consumption...150-200% more than lcd

other than that, lcd can kiss my ass...click on the link in my sig to see why.
Every people hv their own opinion..... biggrin.gif but for me, i've seen it all. Here i want to share my side of the story:
Went to an electrical shop cos i want to see which display is the best, then stumble to the Pioneer display (from what i heard, Pioneer PDP is the bestest in the world yawn.gif ), sit there to watch some demo movies using Pioneer DVD upscaller player. Then come the seller promoting to me with his sweet talk....bla bla bla. But then, blink.gif i realise that there's some shadowy lines on the left of the display (even i'm not a HT pro can see it), but the seller denies it, then i want to leave, somehow the manager came and he admit thats a faulty display, then OK la.
But at another day went to another shop just to see the same display, guess what.... rclxub.gif the Pioneer PDP have the same sh@#$y problems. I dont know WTF is happening here.....so to my conclusion Plasma is a SUXXOR. vmad.gif whistling.gif doh.gif
Added: BTW, 1080p plasmas still nowhere to be found. That Hitachi PDP resolution at 1024x1080 doh.gif what kind of resolution is that? Are they trying to cheat the n00bs. rclxub.gif
I know now the Plasma fanboy are trying at least to flame me, but this just my 2 sen. icon_rolleyes.gif

FIN.

This post has been edited by neoardi: Apr 25 2007, 12:18 PM
JayYeong39
post Apr 25 2007, 03:20 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(neoardi @ Apr 25 2007, 11:38 AM)
Every people hv their own opinion..... biggrin.gif but for me, i've seen it all. Here i want to share my side of the story:
Went to an electrical shop cos i want to see which display is the best, then stumble to the Pioneer display (from what i heard, Pioneer PDP is the bestest in the world  yawn.gif ), sit there to watch some demo movies using Pioneer DVD upscaller player. Then come the seller promoting to me with his sweet talk....bla bla bla. But then,  blink.gif i realise that there's some shadowy lines on the left of the display (even i'm not a HT pro can see it), but the seller denies it, then i want to leave, somehow the manager came and he admit thats a faulty display, then OK la.
But at another day went to another shop just to see the same display, guess what.... rclxub.gif the Pioneer PDP have the same sh@#$y problems. I dont know WTF is happening here.....so to my conclusion Plasma is a SUXXOR. vmad.gif  whistling.gif  doh.gif
Added: BTW, 1080p plasmas still nowhere to be found. That Hitachi PDP resolution at 1024x1080 doh.gif what kind of resolution is that? Are they trying to cheat the n00bs. rclxub.gif
I know now the Plasma fanboy are trying at least to flame me, but this just my 2 sen. icon_rolleyes.gif 

FIN.
TV also got fanboys....haix..... doh.gif
rx330
post Apr 25 2007, 04:01 PM

11,808 posts

hahahhaha biggrin.gif but these are moderate ones, @ least their points and evidence sounds logical to back them up
neoardi
post Apr 25 2007, 08:08 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(JayYeong39 @ Apr 25 2007, 03:20 PM)
TV also got fanboys....haix..... doh.gif
Hehehe, welcome to the REAL world. biggrin.gif Guess what, even kitchen knife has it fanboys/fangirls u know. blush.gif

This post has been edited by neoardi: Apr 25 2007, 08:08 PM
JayYeong39
post Apr 25 2007, 08:14 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(neoardi @ Apr 25 2007, 08:08 PM)
Hehehe, welcome to the REAL world. biggrin.gif  Guess what, even kitchen knife has it fanboys/fangirls u know. blush.gif
OMG, sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif wondering how they bash each other doh.gif doh.gif

Kitchen knife Fanboy A:My knife is sharper
Kitchen knife Fanboy B: NONO,yours knife with ugly design,mine one are more
cool looking and sharper then yours tons tons tons tons and
tons.
Sorry for off topic

This post has been edited by JayYeong39: Apr 25 2007, 08:21 PM
piscesguy
post Apr 25 2007, 08:33 PM

ç§ã®åå‰ã¯ã‚Šã‚…ã†ã§ã™
3,963 posts

I think LCD technology is only good to use as PC monitor. To use as a tv, Plasma is the best choice thumbup.gif , then again...LCD is good for gaming because the ability to handle static image better than plasma.
BeastX
post Apr 26 2007, 05:52 PM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

Most if not all Plasma TVs have the strobing effect like a sub-70Hz refresh rate CRT TVs (If your eyes/visual processing of your brain are fast enough)... While most LCDs light is based on the cold cathod refresh rate... which is at a very high rate .... faster than any human can perceive... That said some older sharp lcd panels do use a low refresh rate cold cathod that has the strobing effect.

This strobing effect is not obvious to everyone.. as some people can stand a 60Hz refresh tv/crt.

This post has been edited by BeastX: Apr 26 2007, 05:53 PM
Taman Linkin
post Apr 26 2007, 07:31 PM

Bijes
1,657 posts

IMO CRT FTW! tongue.gif
enriquelee
post Apr 27 2007, 01:38 PM

Don't ask for more, ask for COKE
10,510 posts

I will say respond time should be the main concern if you wanna use your plasma or LCD for gaming.

Reason is simple, fastest respond time give you clearer picture when your pictures are fast moving object. And most of the game involve fast moving object.
htkaki
post Apr 30 2007, 04:18 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

response time for plasma?!
ar188
post Apr 30 2007, 06:46 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(neoardi @ Apr 25 2007, 11:38 AM)
Went to an electrical shop cos i want to see which display is the best, then stumble to the Pioneer display (from what i heard, Pioneer PDP is the bestest in the world  yawn.gif ), sit there to watch some demo movies using Pioneer DVD upscaller player. Then come the seller promoting to me with his sweet talk....bla bla bla. But then,  blink.gif i realise that there's some shadowy lines on the left of the display (even i'm not a HT pro can see it), but the seller denies it, then i want to leave, somehow the manager came and he admit thats a faulty display, then OK la.
But at another day went to another shop just to see the same display, guess what.... rclxub.gif the Pioneer PDP have the same sh@#$y problems. I dont know WTF is happening here.....so to my conclusion Plasma is a SUXXOR. vmad.gif  whistling.gif  doh.gif

FIN.
actually, Large LCD panels esp those >40" consume more power than large Plasma cos all the backlights has to be turned on (constant power consumption) while plasma, you only charge what you need. (variable) so LCD peak power might be lower than plasma peak power ratings but plasma's average power is usually lower than LCD's peak power (which is also nearly average power)

as for true 1080p plasma, err..never heard of the award winning Pioneer Elite Pro FHD1 at 1920x1080 rez ?

and for the CRT strobing effect? er? how is plasma like the CRT (which uses electron gun to draw the dots line by line)??
while plasma dishes out the entire image at 50/60 or 72Hz depending on your input signal..
BeastX
post May 1 2007, 12:21 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Apr 30 2007, 06:46 PM)
and for the CRT strobing effect? er? how is plasma like the CRT (which uses electron gun to draw the dots line by line)??
while plasma dishes out the entire image at 50/60 or 72Hz depending on your input signal..
Plasma still needs to charge at 50/60 or 72 (or others with some blanking time i suspect or the screen will suffer burn-in) times to produce a constantly lighted image just like crt phosphors needs to be charged by the electron gun.... If your brain/eyes can register/train to register frequency below 75Hz (like me) you will see strobing effect on plasma screens ... to me all plasmas screens I have observed do have strobing effect (minor on newer panels).

mean while lcd usually does not suffer strobing effect as the cold cathod backlight usually used very high frequency... above and beyond 100Hz..and pixel twisting has also evoled to be faster than 8ms (120Hz).. So at least to me LCD registers as a constant image without strobing and may suffer shadow effect for fast moving objects (on slower panels)....

This post has been edited by BeastX: May 1 2007, 12:26 AM
ar188
post May 2 2007, 04:48 PM

9,206 posts

depends on your source material as well... if film based 24Hz or multiple of 24Hz, you are bound by some frame rate refresh (apart from panel charge and discharge cycle, which newer models have greatly improved by preboosting the voltage to speed up the response)

also the refresh times on LCD you quotes like 8ms are not actually panel refresh but actually GTG speed (grey to grey)...so actual refresh is still visible.. there are actually demo videos/dvds that are made just to highlight this response time when viewing movies, and they do show even if GTG response time of 2ms, some of the side effects of these LCD response times are still very visible..

and funny that LCD constant white sheen (due to backlight spill over ) on the panel doesn't bother you? or at least it does to me.. anyway, I guess both has it's advantages and disadvantages... esp on the price front.. LCD seems to give a better bang for buck on the size/rez ratio
Taman Linkin
post May 2 2007, 06:41 PM

Bijes
1,657 posts

I hate LCD. Today develop another 1 dead pixel with total of 3. If there 50" CRT HDTV I take it over LCD anyday.
neoardi
post May 2 2007, 09:06 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(Taman Linkin @ May 2 2007, 06:41 PM)
I hate LCD. Today develop another 1 dead pixel with total of 3. If there 50" CRT HDTV I take it over LCD anyday.
What brand is it? shocking.gif How old is it?
Taman Linkin
post May 2 2007, 09:16 PM

Bijes
1,657 posts

QUOTE(neoardi @ May 2 2007, 09:06 PM)
What brand is it?  shocking.gif How old is it?
Samsung LA32", about 2 months. And Samsung warranty says atleast 7. Thats stupid, since even 1 dead pixel is annoying enuff.
neoardi
post May 2 2007, 10:52 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(Taman Linkin @ May 2 2007, 09:16 PM)
Samsung LA32", about 2 months. And Samsung warranty says atleast 7. Thats stupid, since even 1 dead pixel is annoying enuff.
What u meant, Samsung stated that u will able to entitle a warranty if theres more than 7 dead pixels? Wow, thats really sucks. vmad.gif
htkaki
post May 3 2007, 11:00 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(Taman Linkin @ May 2 2007, 09:16 PM)

LA32? R or S?

Taman Linkin
post May 3 2007, 01:32 PM

Bijes
1,657 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ May 3 2007, 11:00 AM)
LA32? R or S?
LA32R7.......
cyew86
post May 3 2007, 04:35 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

what is the difference between R and S? sorry, noob here, but i am learning laugh.gif
Lord_Ashe
post May 3 2007, 04:40 PM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

Sorry guys, but since we're on the topic of dead pixels:

IINM there are 1049088 pixels in a 1366x768 display, no?
If there are 3 dead pixels, that means it's a 0.000285 percent of the actual screen real estate. Is this a universally accepted ratio? Do manufacturers include a guarantee of how many you should have before you can replace the unit under warranty?

I'm only asking because unlike a PSP or DS display, LCD TV screens have many more pixels and so I'm just wondering how noticeable are the dead ones. I understand that LCD TVs are still expensive, so of course we'll all get upset.
htkaki
post May 3 2007, 05:37 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ May 3 2007, 04:35 PM)
what is the difference between R and S? sorry, noob here, but i am learning laugh.gif

Contrast ratio n viewing angle are the 'significant' difference

cyew86
post May 3 2007, 07:30 PM

oh my ...
4,251 posts

did some research, apparently the main difference between R and S series is the digital tuner which is built into R series but not the S series. The viewing angles are the same for both models (178 degrees vertical and horizontal) and the contrast ratio is higher for R series, but insignificant to naked eyes. PQ for both models are similar though. Correct me if I am wrong, all sifu notworthy.gif
verced
post May 3 2007, 07:44 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(cyew86 @ May 3 2007, 07:30 PM)
did some research, apparently the main difference between R and S series is the digital tuner which is built into R series but not the S series. The viewing angles are the same for both models (178 degrees vertical and horizontal) and the contrast ratio is higher for R series, but insignificant to naked eyes. PQ for both models are similar though. Correct me if I am wrong, all sifu notworthy.gif
As for the digital tuners, none of the TVs available here comes with it. Maybe you're comparing the asian with the us/uk/jp version.

//--

Need some help here guys!

With all the choices in the market right now, searching for a TV can be a real pain. Using your greatest tool, the eyes, will not yield accurate results as none of the displays I've seen so far are displaying the same source. It's either Astro or some weird promotional videos. Budget? Hopefully below 9K. Need to get a good set of speakers too.

For this budget, the most I will get is 720p, but I guess that's sufficient for the size I'm getting.

Here's what I've drilled down to. What do you guys recommend?
1. Sony V Series (A bit old, 1 hdmi input, pretty)
2. Samsung R8 (3 hdmi! Good review from CNET Asia)
3. Samsung N7 (What's the major diff between this and R8? I though R8's the lower spec version? The price is similar though)
4. Sharp PX5.

Any other recommendations besides the one on the list?

This post has been edited by verced: May 3 2007, 07:53 PM
Lord_Ashe
post May 4 2007, 08:42 AM

Old Treasure Hunter Sidekick
1,495 posts

Well, I would recommend the Philips (which is almost impossible to find reviews for), but then again that's cause I use my eyes as the ultimate tool LOL.

At the end of the day that's always the best gauge of a TV's performance. Personally I find the Sharp BX series colours a little on the garish side, and I just don't like the way my 360 shows on a Samsung (however there is a nifty backlight control thingy on the Samsung that's good).

So we can go on and on but at the end of the day you're gonna live with it bro, so I suggest go and test em all out.
BeastX
post May 4 2007, 04:17 PM

5,987 posts

Samsung F7....... LA46F71B, 46inchers, native 1080p, 2 hdmi inputs at RM9k in northern borneo

This post has been edited by BeastX: May 4 2007, 04:37 PM
neoardi
post May 4 2007, 11:35 PM

Membanteras Pembenci
645 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ May 4 2007, 04:17 PM)
Samsung F7....... LA46F71B, 46inchers, native 1080p, 2 hdmi inputs at RM9k in northern borneo
Sure or not? Maybe a display set? Or staff price? Last time (a month ago tongue.gif ) i ask the price is somewhere 14k++.
But from some review I read, the plus pont for this Sammy F7 is the price but the picture quality is never near the Bravia X and the Aquos G7. whistling.gif
verced
post May 5 2007, 06:10 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ May 4 2007, 04:17 PM)
SRP for that model is still going for 15999 here.

For 9K, you can only get 720p panel here. I really wish I can get that kinda price here man. smile.gif
shakiraa
post May 5 2007, 01:20 PM

hips dont lie
785 posts

QUOTE(Taman Linkin @ May 2 2007, 06:41 PM)
Hi all experts,

If my purpose of purchasing a LCD TV mainly for Astro and DVD viewing, is the below a good option? As from what i've gone thru in the forum, Astro looks really bad on LCD. Your opinion will help me alot in making a good decision.

Thanks guys.

KF-50E200A
50 inch 3LCD Projection TV
RM5,999.00

Spec as below:
HD Ready