5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Technical HD-DVD® Official Thread, Everyone feeling blu...

arj
post Dec 8 2007, 12:34 AM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

The HD-A30 is now only US$280 at B&H. After shipping and tax it comes to around RM1700 hmm.gif

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/5200...DVD_Player.html
arj
post Dec 8 2007, 03:09 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

It's even lower at amazon at US$246. Comes with 12 HD DVDs as well shocking.gif
arj
post Dec 10 2007, 01:01 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(ps360 @ Dec 10 2007, 07:34 AM)
Free 12 HD-DVDs? I think its only 10. Cuz 300 and Bourne Supremacy comes in the box, while you can choose 3 other titles with the shipment. The balance 5, you gotta do a Mail In thing and wait 4 to 12 weeks to process. I bought 2 Toshiba A35 1080p player from amazon. Waiting for it to reach me on the 17th. My nephew will be bringing it back for me.

waaaahhhh.... you bought two? Sell one to me la tongue.gif

When I posted the above message you get 10 HD DVDs. 2 in the box, can choose 5 before checkout and another 5 through mail in rebate. I think it went back to 10 the next day. Still a good deal though biggrin.gif

QUOTE(eismeal @ Dec 10 2007, 11:19 AM)
hey guys .. sorry if this question have been posted before.. i just cant find it. Anyways, the HD-DVD player is region free?? and how much does it cost now? thanks.
For the time being there's no region protection for HD DVD biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by arj: Dec 10 2007, 01:06 PM
arj
post Dec 11 2007, 09:57 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(terranova @ Dec 11 2007, 07:16 PM)
These Tosh players don't have auto voltage psu right? That means you'd probably use a stepdown convertor .... is that advisable for delicate electronics? Would really like to know as that's the only thing stopping me from getting it. Thanks.
Should be ok I guess. If wanna talk about delicate electronics I think the 360 is more sensitive and there's quite a number of use who bought Jap units, nearly all of the dead ones because of 3ROD and none because of the stepdown converter IIRC biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ps360 @ Dec 11 2007, 09:14 PM)
Hehehe. If not mistaken, someone is doing a bulk here.
My Nintendo Wii and Xbox360 HD-DVD add-on are both US units. Both using step down. No problem whatsoever. (touch wood)
I'm trawling Ebay at the moment looking for some good deals on the HD-A30 laugh.gif

As for the add-on HD DVD drive, it has auto voltage psu. I'm using my Jap drive without any stepdown converter icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on December 11, 2007, 10:01 pm
QUOTE(g5sim @ Dec 11 2007, 09:28 PM)
amazon HD DVD buy one get one free biggrin.gif

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/589294
Finally! I'm eyeing about half a dozen titles at the moment rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by arj: Dec 11 2007, 10:01 PM
arj
post Dec 12 2007, 09:15 AM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

Anybody getting any HD DVDs from the amazon BOGO offer? biggrin.gif
arj
post Dec 13 2007, 08:45 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

I was just about to place my order, then I notice that some of the titles in my cart no longer in stock while some of them no longer in the BOGO list. End up with two titles only from the BOGO list out of the initial 8 doh.gif

Might get these instead hmm.gif

This post has been edited by arj: Dec 14 2007, 08:13 AM
arj
post Dec 14 2007, 08:14 AM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(XenoFr3ak @ Dec 14 2007, 08:06 AM)
Yo Arj ... your 300 HD DVD still up for sale ?
Sorry, movies reserved for somebody already.
arj
post Dec 14 2007, 06:51 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

The Kingdom and Eastern Promises will be released 3 days early on the 23rd December rclxms.gif

http://themanroom.com/news/Universal_Moves...es_HD_DVDs/1813
arj
post Dec 14 2007, 07:53 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(Zerg1008 @ Dec 14 2007, 07:46 PM)
Still no update from Amazon yet, or else we can watch it before new year biggrin.gif
"Online retailers have not updated their listings to reflect the street date change, but should be doing so momentarily."

This is a must get movie for all KARI RPG lovers laugh.gif

This post has been edited by arj: Dec 17 2007, 06:02 PM
arj
post Dec 17 2007, 06:03 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

My Harry Potter Boxset just arrived today rclxms.gif

Nothing fancy for the Borne Trilogy. Basically they just tape up the three movies together laugh.gif

Only two BOGO titles for me....

arj
post Dec 18 2007, 12:40 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(MK84 @ Dec 18 2007, 12:18 PM)
Music from Pirates of the Carribbean? Apa tu? Music from the ride or the movies?
It's the movie soundtrack, performed by the Prague Philharmonic Orchestra. Sounds better than the original IMO. Check out the samples on the amazon page thumbup.gif

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000U1ZIUQ
arj
post Dec 18 2007, 09:08 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

The Bourne Trilogy now cost $11 more at amazon. Luckily the one I ordered that was shipped earlier today is still the old price biggrin.gif
arj
post Dec 19 2007, 10:16 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

Collected the HD-A30 at KLIA after work today. Shipping was very fast, arrived in the country 5 days after being shipped from the States even though normal shipping was used rclxms.gif

I asked the ebay seller to declare the player $100 but for some reason he declared it $149.99. Postage is $55. Kena tax RM60+ but after some sweet-talking manage to get it lowered to RM50. Probably could've BS'd my way out of the tax but nevermind la, contribute abit to the country's coffers tongue.gif

These are the five free movies that comes with the player. I have three of them already and have found a buyer for them rclxms.gif

I seriously need to get myself a proper AV rack doh.gif laugh.gif

Here's my every growing remote control lineup laugh.gif

Here's how my HD collection looks like currently biggrin.gif

arj
post Dec 19 2007, 11:15 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(crazyconsumer @ Dec 19 2007, 11:08 PM)
Seems like the A30 is popular here.

Why no A35?
The A35 is around $100 more expensive and most of us don't have the necessary equipment to take advantage of the extra features sweat.gif
arj
post Dec 20 2007, 10:19 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

If I were to describe the A30 in one word, it would have to be "slow". The startup time, loading time and the skip to the next takes ages compared to the Xbox 360 add-on HD DVD player. As for the picture and audio quality, with my limited time spent on the A30, I really can't tell the difference between the two. Will try to do a more thorough comparison over the weekend hmm.gif

While I was researching for a player, I read about people raving about the SD DVD upconversion capability of the A30 so I decided to give my LOTR: ROTK EE a go. From the moment the movie started, I quickly noticed a huge improvement in the picture quality compared to playing it on my PC or even my top-of-the-line Pioneer upconverting DVD that cost even more than the A30! The picture looks sharper, color looks more vivid and not as washed out like on the Pioner. Guess I'll be holding on to my DVD collection a while longer biggrin.gif
arj
post Dec 21 2007, 07:10 AM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(sunauto @ Dec 21 2007, 01:09 AM)
So based from your feedback, seems like the XBOX 360 HD-DVD add on is a much better buy but I believe the PQ on your A30 is much better since it is using Anchor Bay's video processing DSPs to handle the deinterlacing part whereas the XBOX 360 relies on software to do the deinterlacing part. A properly authored HD-DVD movie will play fine on the XBOX 360 since it is flag based, if not, those ugly jaggies will be an annoying sight. Of course, most HD-DVD movies are properly authored except for a couple of old movies like Full Metal Jacket, etc or the Toshiba HD-DVD demo disc (not properly authored)
Reviews from HT forums indicates that the A30 and even the A3 produces better PQ compared to the 360 add-on. Personally I don't think I see any difference, may my eyes not sensitive enough. Maybe if I have two identical TVs next to each other, one for the A30 and the other for the add-on, I might see the difference laugh.gif

If the HD805 upscales much better than the A30 and the average viewer sit some distance away from the TV, they might not be able to distinguish between HD DVD and SD DVD shocking.gif
arj
post Dec 21 2007, 10:57 AM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Dec 21 2007, 09:52 AM)
frankly, i wan the toshiba for the upscaling capabilities biggrin.gif
You need to get the A30 or A35 then. The A3 that you've been eyeing have inferior upscaling capability tongue.gif

Another thing to take note, there's a region lock for SD DVDs on the A30 so only region 1 disc is playable sweat.gif

QUOTE(MK84 @ Dec 21 2007, 10:18 AM)
Hahahaha arj you're gonna need to invest in a programmable remote soon hehehe.

I'll stick to consoles for now for my hi-def feed... don't have the proper infra in place yet to justify going standalone.
Yeah, currently eyeing one of those Logitech Harmony laugh.gif
arj
post Dec 21 2007, 06:22 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

Finally manage to get my hands on the Jack Ryan Collection rclxms.gif

Manage to get it from ebay. Didn't get the chance to get it from amazon since it was recalled by Paramount a few days after its release due to some packaging issues sweat.gif

arj
post Dec 22 2007, 03:18 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(ferricide @ Dec 22 2007, 12:04 PM)
yeah, my bad... kena conned by the description... it said FULL HD DDVD Player...

should rephrased it to be "Full HD [comma] DVD Player.
You're not the first one. Some even bought HD DVDs and BDs to play on their "HD" DVD player sweat.gif

Dude if you're still looking for a player, why don't you make string an offer for his player. Who knows, you might be able to get it at a good price biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by arj: Dec 22 2007, 03:20 PM
arj
post Dec 23 2007, 02:36 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(JEHUTHI @ Dec 23 2007, 12:11 PM)
Hi guys~  I am curious what shipping method you guys use when buying DVD/HD DVD from amazon ??
I pre-ordered "Transformers" (16/10 released)with standard international shipping, received it on 15/12  !!! rclxub.gif
Most of us use international priority. They cost more but we get our stuff in 3-5 days. To save on shipping cost, a few of us combine our order so that the average shipping cost per item will be lower.

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0424sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:00 PM