4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

I want to buy used mercedes or bmw, But they kept saying expensive

bobowyc
post Jul 8 2017, 07:56 PM

You are who you are.
1,921 posts

QUOTE(wk_edifire @ Jul 8 2017, 07:15 PM)
Since I got do research abit d
Plz get new bmw from Bmw malaysia
dun go recon
Becoz no free service

If from Bmw Malaysia got free mind if anything happen
Lol I saw on carousell i think bmw m3 black 69k lol. whoa.. xD
TSwk_edifire
post Jul 8 2017, 08:10 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(desong @ Jul 8 2017, 06:44 PM)
normal service is affordable, but sometime u need to spare 4k or 10k if any happened to your old car.

For example, my ex W204, key ignition faulty, the problem is u cant change the parts only, u have change the whole system and reset the key with your car.......cost you about 6k.

central locking got problem, u cant go roadside accessories to fix it..... u have to go to specialist to fix it for you, rm600 one door, if 2 doors rm1200.

not to mention if the gear box got problem.......

If you prepare please go ahead...... it is a experience to drive BMW or Benz.
I heard from friend
Who own w203 also
Change Bolt for Merc costs around 6 k
TSwk_edifire
post Jul 8 2017, 08:33 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(bobowyc @ Jul 8 2017, 06:48 PM)
Lol The place I work got 1 lady about late 20s or mid 30s driving bmw white. lol. 3series i think. lol. nice wor.. xD i also tempted to buy. xD
Wah so young can drive New Bmw

For me I want to save some money for emergency matter too
Mr.Weezy
post Jul 8 2017, 09:21 PM

无处安放的魅力
945 posts

QUOTE(donfutsal @ Jul 8 2017, 06:21 PM)
only unker drive benz & bmw  rclxs0.gif  rclxs0.gif
Bullshyt

Aku dah pakai Benz since 2"
Lil Kiasu
post Jul 8 2017, 09:46 PM

Ok
723 posts

QUOTE(wk_edifire @ Jul 8 2017, 06:16 PM)
I want to buy a used mercedes benz w203
or
Bmw e90

But my family kept saying maintenance expensive .
Haha how to convince them to let me buy it

How is bmw or mercedes maintenance yearly.
I can't say much about Bimmers... but I can tell after having driven and own 2 old Benzes (W126 and W202), used them as daily machines.

Maintenance wise, provided everything is in good shape la,

I use Mobil's engine oil... I use 5W-30 for the W202 (M111 engine), 10W-40 for the W126 (M110 engine).
Regular interval at 5000km.

ATF, you can opt for Dexron 3 I suppose... but I'd recommend using the general MB tranny fluid. Change every 20000kms.

The other general maintenance items to look at would be the PS, brake and diff fluid as expected. Other than that, it's pretty much standard.

I'd suppose the early batches of the W203 is somewhat similar to the W202, so in general, you'd wanna look at electronics... Be careful of crumbly wire harnesses, avoid that. Ask the seller if it has been changed. Plastics are a headache, make sure interior is still in good shape.

As usual, if you can, take a test drive... these German machines tend to feel pretty solid and study... if it doesn't check thoroughly. Bushings are something to consider if you want a comfy and steady ride.

When it comes to repairs, either you learn the DIY way (Mercedessource), or find a trusty workshop (ie. City Cycle, DTM Benz) that has sufficient knowledge. These cars aren't for the general workshops so accustomed to the usual breed of machines on the road.

Anyways, all the best in your hunt! Feel free to ask if you have any specific questions.
TSwk_edifire
post Jul 8 2017, 10:12 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Weezy @ Jul 8 2017, 09:21 PM)
Bullshyt

Aku dah pakai Benz since 2"
Terima Kasih
Bagi saya determination untuk beli Benz
Mr.Weezy
post Jul 8 2017, 10:15 PM

无处安放的魅力
945 posts

QUOTE(wk_edifire @ Jul 8 2017, 10:12 PM)
Terima Kasih
Bagi saya determination untuk beli Benz
Yes definitely

Never buy new , biggest regret

Get a low mileage Pre reg / used local car
TSwk_edifire
post Jul 8 2017, 10:18 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Weezy @ Jul 8 2017, 10:15 PM)
Yes definitely

I am planing to get a c230 2005-2006
1.8 version but the price rclxms.gif
or
Bmw 320i only costs RM 36k for the 2007 .

Jebonmacho
post Jul 9 2017, 12:40 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(wk_edifire @ Jul 8 2017, 11:18 PM)
1.8 version but the price  rclxms.gif
or
I'm also intrested in dis two models but for de mercs, i'm looking for 2006 2.5 v6 n bmw 325i
sonyman
post Jul 9 2017, 08:51 AM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(wk_edifire @ Jul 8 2017, 06:20 PM)
Around 25 years old

Is age really a big matters
take 320i , its cheap, e 90 is very modern.

maintenance is subjective. expensive vs japanese, yes. expensive vs proton, maybe not, cause proton keep changing cheap parts.

i just bought a w203, though. but i look at the pricing, bmw is cheaper. plus bmw performance is better. i went for the comfort instead. but i am 12 years ahead of you, so merc is fine.

if you really really want to own one. you need to do one thing first. read and learn about the car. love the car and know where to source to service, and if problem occur. what should you do, and how much does it cost. then your brain, wont suddenly say. wah, like that meh?

most ppl buy car for the sake of showing off to their family and friends i also got one. because my family dont approve i can buy?

SUSgengkey01
post Jul 9 2017, 09:06 AM

253 posts

E90 huh got lotsa sensor problem and the parts are all expensive, even bolt n nut if im not mistaken per nut cost rm40++ and they change 10 of them so cost around 400++, just nuts okay, from auto bavaria.
sonyman
post Jul 9 2017, 10:29 AM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(wk_edifire @ Jul 8 2017, 10:18 PM)
1.8 version but the price  rclxms.gif
or
Hmmm why 230k . I got one also. Taking car next week.

Why not take BMW. You mentioned. You are 25 right. Take 320i and it's a younger car. 230k is all 2005 in the market. Been around a few places to find the car.

Can ask have you seen any unit?. Btw. C230k it's quite rare. So not many in the used market. I went through a few came down to 2 cars that are still great in condition.

This post has been edited by sonyman: Jul 9 2017, 10:33 AM
sonyman
post Jul 9 2017, 10:34 AM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Weezy @ Jul 8 2017, 10:15 PM)
Yes definitely

The smartest way to save some money but still get the same product.
silwen
post Jul 9 2017, 11:23 AM

103 posts

For the e90, check on maintenance esp with regard to the transmission and fluid changes. If you have no service history, walk away.

Common problems include the fuel pump failing past 100k, sensor failures and transmission failures due to lack of maintenance. This gets expensive.

Rarer problems include vanos problems. The aircon is known to have intermittent electronic issues

Usual maintenance at 100+k include seal changes. The car needs preventative maintenance and if you aren't familiar with cars, don't touch a used BMW.

At this age, you'll be looking at bushings and mountings changes. Spark plugs may be due for a change as well.

On average, for an older e90, expect to pay about rm10k on maintenance per year excluding fuel, insurance, tax, tyres. Total incl tyres is closer to 15-20k.

If you can't come up with this kind of money without blinking an eye, don't bother.

However, if you do your own wrenching and know how to source parts- ie home mechanic, then go ahead. This bill comes fown to about 4K. But keep a second car for the months, yes, months, that your car is out of service.

I suggest you keep a used myvi or Axia around.

I deal with older cars and keep two extra cars because at anyone time, something is in the workshop for routine or preventative maintenance.
alphaz
post Jul 9 2017, 11:42 AM

406 posts

Does E90 320D in Malaysia suffer from timing chain issues like those in UK?
TSwk_edifire
post Jul 9 2017, 03:22 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(alphaz @ Jul 9 2017, 11:42 AM)
Does E90 320D in Malaysia suffer from timing chain issues like those in UK?
Diesel
Hmm quite bad
TSwk_edifire
post Jul 9 2017, 03:25 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Jul 9 2017, 08:51 AM)
take 320i , its cheap, e 90 is very modern.

maintenance is subjective. expensive vs japanese, yes. expensive vs proton, maybe not, cause proton keep changing cheap parts.

i just bought a w203, though. but i look at the pricing, bmw is cheaper. plus bmw performance is better. i went for the comfort instead. but i am 12 years ahead of you, so merc is fine.

if you really really want to own one. you need to do one thing first. read and learn about the car. love the car and know where to source to service, and if problem occur. what should you do, and how much does it cost. then your brain, wont suddenly say. wah, like that meh?

most ppl buy car for the sake of showing off to their family and friends i also got one. because my family dont approve i can buy?
But the used car dealer just sold off the 320i for RM38000 (OTR)
Haha Kinda like that cars too bad

TSwk_edifire
post Jul 9 2017, 03:27 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(silwen @ Jul 9 2017, 11:23 AM)
For the e90, check on maintenance esp with regard to the transmission and fluid changes. If you have no service history, walk away.

Common problems include the fuel pump failing past 100k, sensor failures and transmission failures due to lack of maintenance. This gets expensive.

Rarer problems include vanos problems. The aircon is known to have intermittent electronic issues

Usual maintenance at 100+k include seal changes. The car needs preventative maintenance and if you aren't familiar with cars, don't touch a used BMW.

At this age, you'll be looking at bushings and mountings changes. Spark plugs may be due for a change as well.

On average, for an older e90, expect to pay about rm10k on maintenance per year excluding fuel, insurance, tax, tyres. Total incl tyres is closer to 15-20k.

If you can't come up with this kind of money without blinking an eye, don't bother.

However, if you do your own wrenching and know how to source parts- ie home mechanic, then go ahead. This bill comes fown to about 4K. But keep a second car for the months, yes, months, that your car is out of service. 

I suggest you keep a used myvi or Axia around.

I deal with older cars and keep two extra cars because at anyone time, something is in the workshop for routine or preventative maintenance.
Ok I also was thinking off that
Buy a cheap old Bmw still kept my Proton Saga FLX for spare or emergency used too

Haha So far I quite good in computer /desktop parts maybe I go cars diy next
sonyman
post Jul 9 2017, 09:42 PM

1,043 posts

QUOTE(lostgirl @ Jul 9 2017, 09:18 PM)
Unmatured fella, I got cash to buy a civic in one shoot also won't go for bmw, wait the maintenance see u cry. unless u make more than 10k go for other car pls.
Obviously u haven't come to that level yet. Heck you should ask him to get a myvi cash
edmundsivaraj
post Jul 9 2017, 09:45 PM

how about 190e merc? very sporty

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0393sec    0.74    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 06:49 PM