why accordion not popular in malaysia, i need some opinion from u guys..

faceless
post May 20 2010, 04:34 PM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

I think instrument range and the inability of the instrument to blend with other instrument is a major setback to its popularity.
empire
post May 21 2010, 09:59 PM

2,549 posts

I love Accordion. In fact....ABBA keyboardist's fav instrument is this!
This should be played more often in public. yes...it does sound amazing for folk songs and World Music...but it is also a very versatile instrument for other genres.

Wacth some terror Accordion vids in youtube and be prepared to be bowled over by its rich tone.
JazzPiano
post Sep 24 2010, 05:46 PM

Hello, I am a jazz pianist but also play accordion.
I frequently play from 12:30PM - 3:30PM at Vineria Restaurant in Bangsar Shopping Center on Sundays.
I usually play piano with a few traditional accordion songs each set.
I also teach both piano and accordion. I do not know how to find accordions in this part of the world so you must have one already..
empire
post Sep 25 2010, 11:57 AM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(JazzPiano @ Sep 24 2010, 05:46 PM)
Hello, I am a jazz pianist but also play accordion.
I frequently play from 12:30PM - 3:30PM at Vineria Restaurant in Bangsar Shopping Center on Sundays.
I usually play piano with a few traditional accordion songs each set.
I also teach both piano and accordion.  I do not know how to find accordions in this part of the world so you must have one already..
Hey Bro..cool! I heard from a Malay pakcik that the cheap China Ones are under RM2k. The really good German ones are between RM5k-6k!
chansherly212
post Apr 5 2015, 10:28 PM

21 posts

QUOTE(gracious @ Apr 1 2007, 12:55 AM)
why accordion not popular in malaysia or rather why no development of accordion here... i need some opinion from u guys..
sorry for resurrecting this ancient post, but i play the concertina!! look it up,. it doesn't look much like an accordion, but the principle is the same, push , pull, accompaniment + melody. Actually, accordion is common in Malaysia compared to concertina. lots of traditional malay bands use it, its almost a standard for malay folk, isn't it?

This post has been edited by chansherly212: Apr 5 2015, 10:28 PM
pj_guitarist
post Apr 5 2015, 10:47 PM

1,625 posts

QUOTE(chansherly212 @ Apr 5 2015, 10:28 PM)
sorry for resurrecting this ancient post, but i play the concertina!! look it up,. it doesn't look much like an accordion, but the principle is the same, push , pull, accompaniment + melody. Actually, accordion is common in Malaysia compared to concertina. lots of traditional malay bands use it, its almost a standard for malay folk, isn't it?
5 years ago wei!
liquidsny
post Jul 28 2022, 06:39 AM

589 posts

Anyone knows where i cam buy a 48 or 60 bass accordion?
togekiss
post Jul 29 2022, 11:31 AM

429 posts

QUOTE(liquidsny @ Jul 28 2022, 06:39 AM)
Anyone knows where i cam buy a 48 or 60 bass accordion?
lazada

0.0132sec    0.80    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 10:35 PM