Studying In New Zealand, Come on, Share your Expereince

aaron4d
post Apr 10 2008, 07:49 PM

110 posts

hey guys... im interested in transferring to the university of auckland. im currently in my first year of the inti-university of adelaide twinning programme. hoping to transfer to auckland in my 2nd year. i would just like to know whetheer its absolutely neccesary for me to take ielts? coz i hav an 1A for SPM Gce O english. afta that i did SAM and obtained an A for ESL (English as Second Language Studies). are these qualifications accepted in place of the IELTS?
I really want to know as it can save me the considerable cost of doing IELTS.

And also, as a transfer student, what are my chances of gaining entry into auckland uni? wad are the minimum grades required? any auckland uni students care to share their experiences?

thx....
aaron4d
post Apr 10 2008, 10:05 PM

110 posts

what course are you doing? Most transfer students i know just stay for one or two months. Not the entire year. Besides, since you are twinning to adelaide, why bother coming to Auckland?

For more information, please inquire Auckland Uni itself.
auckland.ac.nz

[/quote]

doin bachelor of commerce...isnt that exchange students, not transfer students?
well the reason is coz parents have recently gotten invitation to apply for new zealand pr, so high chance im goin there coz fees way cheaper if ur a pr...

so is spm gce acceptable?

aaron4d
post Apr 11 2008, 07:55 PM

110 posts

thx for the info....
ill try lah anyways...
i just feel that takin ielts isnt neccesary and the only reason thery're asking us to it is coz :
a) the ielts ppl wanna make lots of money
b) saves the uni considerable amounts of admin work

no one thinks bout the students and the costs...ishhh
aaron4d
post Apr 13 2008, 02:17 PM

110 posts

well ppl, in case u dint notice...our spm gce is certified by the cambridge board....now isn't that good enough?

n furthermore i did, SAM (Australian Matriculation), don't tell me the uni doesnt know that in order to score well for SAM, u hav to hav a good grasp of the language.....
same can be said for A -levels and other international pre-Us...

so stop defending ielts pls...its useful for ppl from countries wic do not hav good standing in english language qualifications..eg thailand, china....

but not for us...with a lvls, sam etc... we dont need ielts as proof of proficiency

i noe of a few of my friends who went in without taking ielts/toefl or any of those stuff...

so its actually not neccesary..persevere a bit n it might save u a lot of money...
its worth the trouble of having to convince ur uni that ur proficient enough...

This post has been edited by aaron4d: Apr 13 2008, 02:17 PM
aaron4d
post Apr 13 2008, 06:01 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 13 2008, 05:57 PM)
actually, in most applications to oz/nz, they do ask which qualification you are using for entry purpose, and if it is not wholly done in english, only then do you need proof on english proficiency......so it is NOT a blanket requirement.....

however, 1119 is NOT recognised by most of their unis.....it is actually marked locally in msia, based on cambridge marking scheme, NOT marked by cambridge itself........
ic....so that means SAM is recognised as a proof of proficiency rite? coz it's done fully in english...plus we have to do ESL as one of the subjects....

aaron4d
post Apr 13 2008, 08:24 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Apr 13 2008, 06:58 PM)
you do not need ielts if you apply with sam to oz unis.......
what about nz unis?
aaron4d
post Apr 14 2008, 10:48 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Apr 14 2008, 10:40 AM)
@ arron.
some uni will accept ur 1119, some not.
thats for you to checkout on which uni ur enrolling.
if not , they will need your IELTS.

an entrance based on SAM will require different band based on wat you're enrolling into. the obvious medic and law will require a higher band of ielts.
nobody gives a damn if you got A20 for ESL. its only english as SECOND language. and you dont learn any english in that course , lol. but yes, many aussie uni's do accept ur ESL if its band B16 and above ( or a higher band i cant remember) according to my SAM ESL teacher... she always emphasize how important her subject is when we all skip her classes to go chaogei in Asia.Net .
wad are u doing now emperor meng? wic uni are u in? did they ask u to sit for ielts as a requirement?
aaron4d
post Apr 14 2008, 01:57 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Apr 14 2008, 11:37 AM)
mechengineering Auckland UNi.
IELTS requirement was 6.5 .
but if im not mistaken, 1119 was allowed also for my course in this uni.

its different based on uni and course.
ask here

or checkout uni website.
which uni and course lar,,...?

but for safety, IELTS is accepted by all.
i took it earlier, coz i didnt know which uni to go.
thx for the info, ill check it out...yeah i plan on going to selset soon, (btw izit somewhere near taylors subang?)

plan to do commerce at auckland uni...
aaron4d
post Apr 14 2008, 02:55 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(<EdLiNa> @ Apr 14 2008, 02:31 PM)
selset?? that is my agent..
i just got in NZ last 2days..
selset made an arrangements for me..
yeah, just next to taylor college in subang..
ss15/7.. ghee  smile.gif
thx...wic uni are u in? wad course? btw did u sit for ielts?
aaron4d
post Apr 15 2008, 12:33 PM

110 posts

hey just asking ur opinion.....

bcom at auckland uni?
or
bcom at otago uni?

wic wud be the better choice (in terms of employment prospects, student life etc..)?
or is there little or no difference at all?

aaron4d
post Apr 17 2008, 07:08 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(bluequeenjay @ Apr 16 2008, 06:22 PM)
Hey... I heard that NZ is famous for studying Accounting. Is that true???
ermm...not really..i think australia is more famous for that(although nz's accounting is on par).
NZ famous for medic, science stuf...although they're pretty good in business n law as well...
overall, NZ is a quality place for education. so dont hav to worry whether 'famous' or not.

Added on April 17, 2008, 7:21 pmhey guys, is there any real difference in quality n prestige between these top 4 NZ Unis:

Auckland
Otago
Canterbury
Victoria

ie, will a degree from one of these unis(lets say auckland), be significantly better than the other 4?
And, are these generally considered to be the best unis in nz internationally? thx...

This post has been edited by aaron4d: Apr 17 2008, 07:21 PM
aaron4d
post Apr 17 2008, 11:07 PM

110 posts

hey guys, which is THE best uni to study economics and/or politics in NZ? izzit auckland uni, or otago, or some other uni?
aaron4d
post Apr 18 2008, 05:50 PM

110 posts

thx for the heads up, haya n wornbook...made me escape the narrowmindedness typical of msian students(the prestige etc..)

based on my interests, i wud love to go to otago, auckland also seems quite nice.
aaron4d
post Apr 19 2008, 10:22 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Apr 18 2008, 06:58 PM)
What are your interests?
i always wanted 2 experience a great student life. based on ur comments bout otago, it seems to fit the bill. then again, i'm always a city boy at heart...lolxx
aaron4d
post Apr 19 2008, 02:25 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Apr 19 2008, 12:06 PM)
Just curious, what is your idea of a great student life? Cos opinions differ and Otago's might not exactly what you would want.

I'm a city kid too. smile.gif Otago is great to study at but I couldn't live there forever.
a sense of camaraderie among students, lots of student organised activities. i want to be in a place where life is centred among students, somehow i feel that being in a big city dilutes this student experience. agreed, i cant live there forever, but at least for my student years, i want to experience a rich student life (ie strong bonds, sense of togetherness, etc. etc.)
aaron4d
post Apr 20 2008, 09:37 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Apr 19 2008, 03:43 PM)
Sounds like Otago's more the place for you than Auckland then. This is the uni where people carry bikes and race down a river while being pelted with flour bombs in the middle of winter.

Bear in mind that the experience is what you make of it though. I know a few who never get involved in anything and stay in their little cocoons. But you don't sound like that sort of person.

Something you should take note of though - a big part of the experience is the drinking culture. If you cannot stand the crazy behaviour and noise created by drunkards or are strongly against drinking in principle, stay away. The drink culture is something you cannot escape in Otago, whether you choose to join in or not, unless you live in your own little cocoon. It's easier not not get involved/affected in Auckland since you don't live with potential drunks.

I'm not a drinker myself though I don't mind a drink or two now and then. But I found the whole experience, umm... educational. smile.gif

For a really different experience, watch out for national nude day.

Oh, and there's a total absence of Malaysian food in Dunedin.
wow...so cool!! i would love to take part in wacky stuff! staying, in their own cocoons, thats just sad. no point going overseas to study in da first place : (

oww, so they hav a pretty strong drinking culture huh.....well i dont mind that. i consider myself to be a social drinker.
not the extreme drunkard, but i hav gotten drunk a couple of occasions. but i dunno how i'll cope with too much drinking ; )

no msian food..........definitely a con! : (

other than that, this uni pretty much suits my profile!

btw, u sound like ur from otago.... so u reli enjoying ur life there?
n does auckland hav a drinking culture as well?
aaron4d
post Apr 21 2008, 04:10 PM

110 posts

Just curious, wornbook. Based on previous posts, i gather that u did a double degree in law and economics. I plan to undertake a double degree as well. BCom/BA in Economics and Poltical Studies, either in otago or auckland. Are there good job opportunities for this particular combination? im pursuing this course based mainly on interests, as im passionate about both subs. wil that be a problem wen im looking for a job in nz or elsewhere?

Can I complete the doub. deg. plus honours in less than 5 years? (factoring in summer school, cross-crediting and credit overloading)

anotha factor, im transferring into 2nd year straight.(im doin 1st year here in msia) so am i still eligible to complete the double degree in otago/auckland? coz i rememba readin somwhere that u can start workin on ur 2nd degree credits in ur 2nd year(in this case the BA), coz im currently completing only the BCom requirements rite now for 1st year.

btw im in INTI nilai enrolled in the adelaide uni BCom twinning programme. But switching to NZ for 2nd year coz received ITA for PR. most prob gettin it by this december.

aaron4d
post Apr 21 2008, 10:07 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Apr 21 2008, 06:23 PM)
Economics and Politics? Excellent choices, from the interest point of view. I sometimes regret not doing politics, but hey, I can't have everything.
Have you considered changing to Philosophy, Politics and Economics (PPE)? It's a BA. Btw economics can also be taken as a BA.

I don't think I'm really in a position to give you accurate info about job opportunities. From my own experience and observing others, I think there are opportunities but they don't come easily. It's only easy to get a job in NZ if you're doing accountancy, engineering (but only in some fields), medicine and dentistry. Like it or not, it's a small market with far too many grads, IMHO.

If you want to boost your employment chances, consider adding accounting as a major to the BCom.

I suppose you could complete the double degree plus honours in less than 5 years, depending partly on what your first year credits from INTI are like. A double degree in econs and pols will take 4 years and a single honours another 1 year. It's not too hard to reduce that by a semester or even a year if you push it with summer school and credit overloading. Most people only do 3-4 papers a semester... you could do 5, it's manageable enough. For 6, I think you'll need special permission. Note that you can only do 2 summer school papers at once and to push for max credits you need good grades.

But why the rush? 5 years isn't too long, and frankly whether you do it in 4 or 5 years isn't going to affect your employment prospects. Better that you use the extra time to get a summer job/internship and get involved in clubs/societies... that'll do much more for your employability.

For Otago, I'm fairly sure that you can still do a double degree. Otago has a very flexible system... I have friends who transferred from HELP for their second year, changed their degree and picked up another one. Another friend of mine picked up her second degree in her 3rd year. So I think you'll be fine... but just check with the uni to be sure.

As for Auckland, they don't actually offer double degrees - it's conjoint degrees for them. From what I understand, it's more than a simple difference in name. The structure is tighter because more cross credit between degrees is allowed, but it does mean that people who pick up the second degree late lose some time. Since I didn't do my undergrad in Auckland, I'm not quite sure how it works.

I'll strongly advise you to check with the unis first - both Otago and Auckland. You don't want to be surprised.
Thx for the detailed explanation. Im much more informed now. The websites of the two unis dint reli giv this kinda detail.... : )

Ic, problem is i'm just not into accounting. struggled thru it for my SPM, Australian matriculation and now my first year..(although im getting the hang of it now afta those countless repetitive exercises)
econs on the other hand, has been quite fun for me. although not easy at times, i find that i can grasp the concepts fairly well. so interest wise, definitely econs. plus i also am reli drawn to the link between econs n politics in global issues and stuff, so i thought it wud be a gud combination.

i did consider PPE, but if i did a Bcom major in econs, and a BA in ppe, wudnt some parts of the double degree be repeating itself?

plus i dont on hell plan to become an accountant. rite now i dont reli hav a clear picture of wad career i want 2 embark on but my interests are:

management/strategy consulting,
pr,
financial journalism,
investment banking
(all 4 of which do not require any specific degree)
international organizations,
and perhaps even academia.

such wide interests rite? thats why i thought maybe getting a liberal education wud be better, coz i dont want to go on a set path right now.

since u did a law/econs double, how were ur opportunities wen u graduated. shud i substitute the BA component for an LLB instead? (the law also interests me, but dont reli plan on practicing)

yeah ill check with both unis for further clarification bout the structure.

This post has been edited by aaron4d: Apr 21 2008, 10:33 PM
aaron4d
post Apr 22 2008, 12:20 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Apr 22 2008, 06:49 AM)
Heh, totally understand not liking accounting. It's also something I tried and gave up on. You actually sound like me, with all those wide interests. It can be hell trying to decide what to do.  tongue.gif

Oh when I threw the PPE idea out I was thinking about you doing PPE with Accounting or something like that (but that's out of the picture now). Not PPE with Econs.

If you're thinking about going down the investment banking/international organizations/academia line, I think it would be good for you to do Econs with Honours. Make sure you do the maths and econometrics papers (some are required for Honours anyway). In NZ, you can almost get away without touching the maths in an economics degree... a bit silly IMO. Or at least you could when I was a student.

As for me, the job market was difficult to break into. I tried to get a law graduate position at a law firm but was unsuccessful. I'm now working at another company, doing nothing related to law/econs while doing the NZ equivalent of CLP. Hopefully after that, things will look up.
Of my 4 good friends at law school, one went back to Malaysia and 2 are working in accounting firms (one did acctg and another did econs), and the last is still at uni pursuing postgrad qualifications.

It's really up to you whether you want to do law. But bear in mind that it'll take an extra year (6 if you intend to do honours in any subject) and it's not easy to get in.   

Speaking of law, the racial composition of Otago and Auckland law schools are like night and day. There were a grand total of about 15 non-white students (that includes Chinese, Indian, Maori etc) in my Otago class. But in Auckland, there's a huge number of Asians... my friend says it's almost 50%.
yeap thats what i'm probably going to do. get a BCom(Econs)/BA(Pols) with Honours in economics. I can do without the honours for politics. well since according to u there's really little or no difference (in job prospects, assuming that i dont want to practice) if i take a BCom/LLB VS. Bcom/BA., plus it takes an extra year, i might as well settle for the BCom(Hons)/BA. Between law and politics, im definitely more inclined towards politics anyway.

that wud be fine rite? plus i can still end up in an accounting firm with econs rite? just that i wont get the same exemptions as the accounting grads for cpa or nzica.(that wud be my last resort : )

This post has been edited by aaron4d: Apr 22 2008, 12:26 PM
aaron4d
post Apr 22 2008, 05:38 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Apr 22 2008, 04:35 PM)
Nope, I didn't say there's little or no difference if you don't want to practice. I actually have little idea about the job prospects of a law grad who doesn't want to practice. I do know it's hard for a law grad who wants to practice to find a job. My friends at the acctg firms - they might not actually be practicing law, but it's a requirement that they pass the bar and get a practicing cert. Apart from that, I have no idea what they're doing.

Since you're more inclined towards politics, by all means go for it.

Sorry, I've got no idea if you can get into an acctg firm with econs only. I'd always assumed that you'll generally need a acctg degree.
oww okay. coz i just checked out the careers site of the big 4. dont hav to have a degree in acctg for certain business groups suchs as corporate finance and consulting. degrees in economics, finance, are acepted .

(wic seem to be the oni two things that im interested in an acctg firm)

0.0453sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:27 AM