Studying In New Zealand, Come on, Share your Expereince

aaron4d
post Apr 22 2008, 07:12 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Apr 22 2008, 06:45 PM)
hey aaron, you from inti? Do they have transfer programme for University of Auckland now?
nope they dont. im actually an adelaide twinning programme student. the aus/nz degree transfer programme does not hav arrangements with auckland uni.

Added on April 23, 2008, 10:33 am
QUOTE(wornbook @ Apr 21 2008, 06:23 PM)

As for Auckland, they don't actually offer double degrees - it's conjoint degrees for them. From what I understand, it's more than a simple difference in name. The structure is tighter because more cross credit between degrees is allowed, but it does mean that people who pick up the second degree late lose some time. Since I didn't do my undergrad in Auckland, I'm not quite sure how it works.

I'll strongly advise you to check with the unis first - both Otago and Auckland. You don't want to be surprised.

anyone from auckland uni here? emperormeng ur from auckland rite? mind sharing how the conjoint degree in auckland works? izzit as flexible as otago?
will i lose time if i start in the 2nd year? like wad wornbook says.....

need info dudes....
thx

This post has been edited by aaron4d: Apr 23 2008, 10:34 AM
aaron4d
post Apr 24 2008, 05:35 PM

110 posts

just for the sake of asking, izzit ok to do law wen u hav a pr? btw wornbook are u a pr? n its much easier to get a job in NZ if ur a PR rite?

anyways i dont think i'll be doing law. i'll stick to my orginal plan. (BA/BCom)
since u mentioned bout the accomodation, i'm swerving more towards auckland now...hehe
aaron4d
post Apr 24 2008, 07:19 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Apr 24 2008, 07:03 PM)
The reason why it's not advisable for an international student to do law in NZ (there aren't many places anyway) is cos there's no guarantee you'll make it to 2nd year. Tens of thousands is too much to risk in the hope of getting in where there are countries with guaranteed entry programmes. At least as a PR, the financial risk is much lower.

I believe that's what Haya is getting at, and I agree with him.

Also, with the size of the industry and possible prejudices, it'll be extremely difficult for an international student to be employed as a lawyer on graduation.

It's easier to get a job if you're a PR but not by such a huge margin these days.
International students are now granted a one year working visa on graduation (there are certain criteria to fulfil, but that's the general picture). If they get a job, it's a simple matter to convert that to a permanent work visa. So that deals with some employer reluctance to hire internationals - less paperwork.

Yes, I have NZ PR. Otherwise, there's no way I'd have risked doing law here.
IC. So even if u r a PR its hard to secure a job as a lawyer? (Going by ur experience) I thought New Zealand was experiencing a shortage of lawyers....

Haha same here....the reason im doing econs/politics is coz im gonna get a pr... if not theres no way i'll risk doing it too...wud hav done something like accounting instead(wic i dont like as u noe...but wat to do, int students are at a disadvantage)

This post has been edited by aaron4d: Apr 24 2008, 07:22 PM
aaron4d
post Apr 27 2008, 01:35 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(wornbook @ Apr 27 2008, 12:13 PM)
I'm only speaking from my experience... others might give a different answer. I know many Malaysians working as lawyers in NZ, but most of them took quite a while to get their jobs.

There's no shortage of lawyers in NZ. Otago has 200 law graduates coming out each year, Auckland has the same if not more. Victoria has a bigger law school, so there's bound to be more than 200. Add Canterbury and Waikato to the mix and you'll see there's an oversupply of lawyers. Of course, only about a third go on to do the professional legal studies course (ie Bar) but it's still quite a lot.

Heh, if I were an international in NZ, I'd do accounting or engineering. But if I were international, I wouldn't have come to NZ.
i share the same viewpoint...... since im getting the pr, can afford not to do accounting or engineering, free to pursue my real passion in economics. yeah, if i were international, i wud rather go to australia.
aaron4d
post Sep 10 2008, 08:16 PM

110 posts

hey evryone....im going to new zealand next year. my family is in the process of applying for PR and we wud get it most probably by april or may next year. im entering the july intake for nz unis
rite now i'm having a slight dillemma as to wic uni to go to
i am aware of the top 4 however i still havent made up my mind
i plan to undertake a Bachelor of commerce in marketing and/or management and possibly a double degree in arts as well
based on my preferences i hav singled out vic uni wellington, canterbury n auckland
between these 3 wic will be the best choice? or izzit a case of closing ur eyes n pick any one of those randomly?
also i wud like to know wic uni among those three has the most flexible degree system, coz im afraid i cant change my subjects if im not interested in it.

hope to hear from ppl alredi in the top 4...

oww yeah, i forgot to mention otago, although im not reli keen to go there due to the small size of dunedin(i prefer a city environment)

aaron4d
post Sep 10 2008, 10:05 PM

110 posts

ic...
thx for the info.
no doubt auckland has an excelent business school
n aut is up n coming for business as well rite? but its not veri strong in the social sciences and humanities?

btw liredridinghood, wad course are u doing in vic uni?
hows the reputation of the commerce faculty there?

*the reason im coming to nz is the fact that i will be getting a pr so the fees will be a lot cheaper...

aaron4d
post Sep 11 2008, 12:01 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Sep 10 2008, 10:27 PM)
hahahaha, on a serious note, if you are looking to have a busier lifestyle and NZ is the only option, try to get to Auckland Uni or AUT, as Wellington, although is the capital city of NZ, is not exactly the busiest place. Whereas at Auckland, still quiet though, but much better than Wellington. Not to mention, much more Asians hence less chances of you getting homesick as it is not always easy to hang out with a Kiwi guy/gal, making friends is easy though.

Even though I was impressed at Auckland Uni's new business school, I have never regretted choosing Wellington as my destination. As some Kiwis would say, Auckland is not like other NZ states and the people there are less friendly as compared to the others. Some of my Kiwi friends even said that some Aucklanders are stuck up. However, it is not a secret that New Zealanders hate Auckland, due to various reasons. Although I do notice that Aucklanders aren't as friendly as the Wellingtonians, I recently met a couple of AUT students who came to Wellington last Friday for a drink, they are quite alright to be honest. I guess the unfriendliness is due to the large Asian population over there.

Other than that, Vic has a very good reputation of its commerce and administration faculty, do tell me what major are you looking forward to do and I shall comment about the lecturers.

Do look at my previous long post, if you wish to know more about NZ education
Well i dont need a huge city but at the same time i want to live in a place with nearby amenities and things like cinemas and bars. in australian terms, im not looking for a melbourne, but an adelaide. based on ur opinion it looks like wellington is something like adelaide. I want to live in a city but not too big to the point it overwhelms u.

good to hear that vic has a good reputation. im planning to do a major in marketing and international business. izit ok in vic uni?
btw are u a commerce student as well? wad major?

thx again for the info...
aaron4d
post Sep 12 2008, 03:33 PM

110 posts

thx lilredridinghood for the info.

what are the prospects for commerce, specifically marketing grads in nz?
will it be hard to look for a job? what is the demand for mktg majors like?

also, can a degree from vic uni be used as a platform to look for work in australia?
izzit hard to switch to australia to work once graduate from an nz uni?
aaron4d
post Sep 12 2008, 08:45 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(lilredridinghood @ Sep 12 2008, 07:16 PM)
Apparently, some of the Kiwis would go to look for jobs in Aus as the pay there is higher. Besides that, the job market in NZ is very very bad according to some of my graduated Kiwi friends, I mean for Marketing la.

Some of them are still working in Burger Fuel(you'll know what is it when you come here) since graduating 3 months ago.

Since you are a PR, it won't be hard for you to get a job in Aus, just like how Malaysians can go to Singapore and work.
that sounds disheartening....how do u feel being a marketing major ur self?
aaron4d
post Sep 16 2008, 09:08 PM

110 posts

thx for all ur thoughts guyz...
im currently in a dillemma

i got a place in the university of adelaide for the Bachelor of Commerce..
its a group of eight uni btw, for any of u ppl who dont alredi noe.

the question now is, shud i accept the place at adelaide or go to victoria uni wellington, which i havent applied for yet on the basis of my new zealand pr?

wic wud be the best option for me?
(in terms of career prospects etc.)

thanks guyz
aaron4d
post Sep 19 2008, 11:35 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(psyeo @ Sep 19 2008, 10:50 PM)
I received offer from University of Queensland, University of Adelaide, NSW, QUT as well...

haha but end up in NZ as well~

career wise, for Marketing Major , i guess it all depends to ur personal portfolio and skills....unlike other professional majors that place a very big emphasis on ur grades.

So i guess, no matter which University u go to should be fine, as long as the University is widely recognize..
Wad made u choose NZ over UQ, Adelaide, UNSW etc...?
Do u hav any regrets over ur decision?
aaron4d
post Sep 21 2008, 06:07 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Sep 20 2008, 01:17 PM)
yes, even if study locally in msia also is the same.
unless ur uni is like top 5 in the world, nbody really cares.
thts why there is still interview etc...

correct me im wrong
i dont think so..
if studying abroad is the same as studying locally, why are so many students flocking abroad to study wen they can study locally?

it is widely known that employers value overseas grads more than local grads (largely due to communication and other soft skills that is more evident in overseas grads). of course there are exceptions, but generally it can be said that overseas grads are in a betta position to land a good job compared to local grads. our education system hasnt reached the level of aus, uk, nz, us n canada yet, unlike singapore. therefore, there is still a marked difference between an overseas n a local grad. (although as i hav said, there are exceptions)

This post has been edited by aaron4d: Sep 21 2008, 06:20 PM
aaron4d
post Sep 21 2008, 09:40 PM

110 posts

QUOTE(EmperorMeng @ Sep 21 2008, 08:58 PM)
i still feel its overrated. there are also many who choose to study locally even if they can afford overseas.

yes, but there are a great deal more who choose to go overseas instead of studying locally. and even if those who can afford to go overseas study locally, chances are they'll be doing a 3+0 programme of some sort, awarded by foreign unis...

mayb its overrated, but the fact is, overseas grads definitely get the better jobs compared to local grads. there are many good local grads, no doubt, but a great deal more aren't up to par ..(esp language skills). however, there are many lousy overseas grads as well, though not as much as local grads.

This post has been edited by aaron4d: Sep 22 2008, 07:08 PM
aaron4d
post Nov 5 2008, 03:31 PM

110 posts

fensiang, u seriously need to improve ur english. but i guess going to wellington will improve it anyhow over time
aaron4d
post Nov 5 2008, 08:41 PM

110 posts

[quote=fensiang,Nov 5 2008, 08:07 PM]
yea. I need to improve my english. My english is broken english=.=''
i also not confident whether i go there can easily communicate with the people there and they my racist.
blush.gif

dont worry, even if they are, which i highly doubt, it wont be as bad as what we are experiencing here....here we are at a time when the USA has elected its first black president n we cant even elect a non-bumi head of pkns....sometimes i just get dissapointed with this nation
aaron4d
post Nov 6 2008, 09:20 AM

110 posts

hey lilred, what is the cheapest flight to wellington available now? There's no direct flight from KL to Wellington, so what route do u normally take? N whats the rough estimate of the ticket price (incl. tax n surcharge)

Added on November 6, 2008, 9:22 am
QUOTE(fensiang @ Nov 5 2008, 09:17 PM)
i am proud that i can speak 5 different languages compare to those kiwi only know english only.
if u keep dissing the kiwis, why the hell do u wanna go study in NZ? Stay in Malaysia lah, that suits u the best i think.

This post has been edited by aaron4d: Nov 6 2008, 09:22 AM
aaron4d
post Nov 6 2008, 09:05 PM

110 posts

thank u evryone for the wealth of information!

now i seem to have too many options! lol

if im right:
option 1: KL-Auckland then Wellington (MAS, SIA(transit in Changi))
option 2: KL-Brunei-Auckland then Wellington (is this Air brunei or somthing?)
option 3: KL-Melbourne then Wellington (MAS, SIA, QANTAS heck, even Air Asia X)
option 4: KL-Goldcoast/Brisbane then Wellington (Air Asia X)

wic of these options are the cheapest again?
right now in contemplating between options 1, 3 n 4. option 2 seems a bit too tiring n ill be terribly jet-lagged by the time i reach wellington. wic option is the best, in terms of value for money and convenience?
aaron4d
post Nov 7 2008, 08:12 AM

110 posts

Whic route do u normally take?
I understand that there are three main routes to get to wellington, either thru auckland, brisbane or melbourne.

aaron4d
post Nov 8 2008, 05:27 PM

110 posts

i've found out that qantas offers some of the cheapest rates to wellington. SIN-WLG with a transit in either Melbourne or Sydney will cost only around 600-900 SGD, 850-1100 SGD after tax.
it's more convenient in that i dont have to look for a flight to WLG once i get to MEL or SYD, everything is alredi arranged. oni problem is that, i have to get to singapore somehow, but i guess there are many cheap flights to singapore nowadays (air asia, jetstar, tiger, n even mas)

aaron4d
post Nov 9 2008, 06:17 PM

110 posts

yeap im cmin. coming to ur place lah, vic uni! february intake...

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0178sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:30 AM