~* Sugar Gliders *~ V3, Marsupials with character

krynzpeaches
post Apr 12 2007, 12:57 PM

* k * a * P * i * s * h * ? *
2,047 posts

QUOTE(arraille @ Apr 12 2007, 10:30 AM)
i got few questions...

a. which is better, keep them single or in pair?

b. if kept single and later wanna get companion;
    i. will the introduction be so difficult?
  ii. which intro is better male to female or female to male?
  iii. should the intro been done between same age/size or different age/size also can?

c. we can easily indentify the toilet spot of crawling animals like hamster, gerbils, rat and even rabbit (it hops not crawls... biggrin.gif ), so how can we do that on suggie (coz it climbs also), do they pee & poo all around the cage?

d. do they chew like nobody business like hamsters & gerbils?

tq... sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Hello there, well, I'd now recommend to keep them in pairs, no matter how much time you have for them also, they need to have their fellow kind friend at some point soon. Even tho I spent as much time as I can with my glider, really a lot you know, but I still feel guilty for leaving him alone the few hours when I go to sleep... So, I'm getting him a companion soon smile.gif However, I would agree with Crazymouse, on getting them one by one to bond with you, unless they are already cage mates since joey...

Introduction between 2 glider needs to be done properly and with full supervision for any signs that they do not get along. Some gliders can accept another glider immediately and some will take time. Male and female introduction is easier, compared to same gender.

It is always advisable to intro same age gliders. There is always a tendency of the older glider not accepting a joey or so forth. Rape cases can also happen if you put an adult male with a female joey.

It is highly unlikely to toilet train suggies. They go whenever they want, but most of the time they know how to avoid doing it in their sleeping places smile.gif

Suggies tend to chew too, but not as much as gerbils I can say. In the wild they chew off tree barks to get the sap. It also depends on the suggie itself. Personally, I found that my suggies is a bit of a chewer... He has chewed off the leaves and vines in his cage... (Hun, Iggy chewed off the exoterra vines shocking.gif )

KP

This post has been edited by krynzpeaches: Apr 12 2007, 01:00 PM
krynzpeaches
post Apr 12 2007, 04:05 PM

2,047 posts

CFP, the DIY cage idea, okay, mebbe getting some materials this weekend (but depends on budget too), will update you always kay smile.gif

Jason, suggie poops are like lizard's or rat's poop, rarely smells one. However, smell or not, soft or hard, depends on their diet... Mine if eat ciku or jambu air, the poop will become soft... If they poop on you, you can just pick it up and throw it, unless it is soft lah smile.gif

CFP, introducing joeys should be easier especially if they are very-very young. If adults, some can accept one another, some don't. First off is the let them meet each other at a neutral open place, a place where neither both of the suggie has been to. This has to be supervised all the time. If they get aggressive, seperate them immediately. Next is to keep them in seperate cages, but side by side at about a foot apart, let them see and smell each other everyday. Occasionally, swap their sleeping pouches so that they'll get use to each others smell. I'm not really sure how long you'll have to do this, but some say until you can hear them chatting to each other laugh.gif I guess when you take them out again, they can play around together, means they're okay la smile.gif Then before you put them together, make sure you clean the cage, toys and pouches thoroughly so that there don't seem to be a territory. Some even advise to get everything new doh.gif

Ohh, and I don't think keeping a group like 2 male 1 female or 2 female 1 male is a good idea... 2 males might fight for dominance or over the female, and 2 females, well... Err, how the male to handle? Kahwin 2 arr... Hehehe... Well, normally if ppl keep more than a pair, I see them keeping it with another pair too, like 2 male, 2 female...

KP

This post has been edited by krynzpeaches: Apr 12 2007, 04:09 PM
krynzpeaches
post Apr 12 2007, 05:25 PM

2,047 posts

Yup, agree with Reanne. Joeys are easier to tame and bond with you compared to adults and getting from a hobbyist breeder is the best smile.gif

However, I will not say that an adult cannot be tamed, it is possible, but it really takes a lot of time and patience. Nothing is impossible, or else, kesian all the adult gliders out there, ppl don't want plak tongue.gif

But if captured wild probably different story then smile.gif

KP
krynzpeaches
post Apr 12 2007, 05:56 PM

2,047 posts

cheaka's kes, i dunno lar, cuz gollum so cool, don really care... if both males are as active, sure start territory...

KP
krynzpeaches
post Apr 13 2007, 09:18 AM

2,047 posts

Haha, pichu so cute like that wub.gif Just the head pop out smile.gif

Wahh, you all can still think of getting ferret ah, and other animals... I wish I can too, like Hun, so many of them tongue.gif But to many restrictions sad.gif

Have to settle with suggies family only smile.gif

KP
krynzpeaches
post Apr 13 2007, 10:59 AM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(cheaka @ Apr 13 2007, 10:36 AM)
now i have 3 of them in the bonding pouch with me in my office..... doh.gif  doh.gif
What?? All 3 in the bonding pouch??? doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

How ley?? They not to crowded ker??

Take pix lar Jane, so I can see and decide how big your new bonding pouch should be... Hehehe, if you want lar a new bigger one tongue.gif

KP
krynzpeaches
post Apr 13 2007, 11:34 AM

2,047 posts

Ohh, the "almari"...

Thanks. But anyway, 70 bucks is expensive lah, not counting the mesh lagi... And with that size, sure koyak pocket tongue.gif

I'm still going for the PVC tube frame. Plus with that we can decide how big we want it to be, plus I wanna do a tray insert, so have to take into consideration the tray size smile.gif Gonna check out the cost and stuff this weekend.

KP
krynzpeaches
post Apr 13 2007, 03:06 PM

2,047 posts

Yeah, I will still buy the flexarium cuz I need a portable one smile.gif

I was thinking to do the DIY cage (if the cost is cheap) for people's reference then I jsut sell it off at cost price for whoever that wants lar...

I will list down all the stuff needed, then go to my hardware store that I always go and ask the tauke to calculate the cost first smile.gif

CFP, cut Chika's nail when she is sleeping smile.gif First time memang susah sikit, slowly play around with her feet while she is sleeping, then slowly cut... Now I find it easy to do already smile.gif I cut Iggy's nail while he is sleeping, I think he knows too, sometimes he purposely don't want to open his hands laugh.gif Anyway, here's a link that could help you smile.gif

http://sugar-gliders.com/nail-clip.htm

KP

This post has been edited by krynzpeaches: Apr 13 2007, 03:06 PM
krynzpeaches
post Apr 13 2007, 05:20 PM

2,047 posts

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Apr 13 2007, 05:04 PM)
btw, the small flexrarium size similar to our current cage is rm80+ right ?
Nope, the RM85 is only 2 ft height(22 gallon), smaller than our cage. The RM110-130 which is 38 gallon is the same size. But you have to remember that you cannot just buy the fleaxarium, you need to buy the clear tray too which is about RM20-RM30 depnding on size.

Suggie nails needs to be cut because they don't climb on tree barks so it doesn't get trimmed. Too long nails also will scratch us badly and cause them to get caught in their pouch or cloths...

KP
krynzpeaches
post Apr 17 2007, 09:41 AM

2,047 posts

Wahh CFP, dah siap your DIY cage... I couldn't even go to the hardware store this weekend cuz so bz before rushing to PD...

Anyhow, 5ft??? That's freaking huge blink.gif Chika sure syok sakan tongue.gif

Went to PD, brought Iggy along, since I dun have a portable cage yet, let him free in the hotel room, damn syiok him smile.gif But at 2 am he jumped onto my face while I was sleeping, so shocked that I said okay, enough roaming, have to put him in the closet tongue.gif Lucky the closet design got lots of holes... But I woke up almost every hour to check on him...Then at 6 and let him out again smile.gif He was a good boy biggrin.gif

Ohh, and he barked!!! He finally barked smile.gif Kindda weird tho cuz dunno what he wants... Went to him, open the cage, rub2 his head and body and all, but he was still barking... Ask him to come out, he didn't move but kept on barking... Then he quiet himself... blink.gif

On the other hand, seems like so many thins have happened...

Khairizha, may your suggies RIP. Won't say anything more as the rest have said their peace. Hope your other 2 will be taken care of and be fine smile.gif

Crazymouse, gave Iggy some dragonfruit the other day, he loves it, but eat, eat, then shake, shake his head, eat, eat, then shake, shake his head blink.gif Probably the trying to make out the seeds... Ohh, he doesn't seem to be finishing his mix like before lah... He eats about half only of what I normally put...

KP

krynzpeaches
post Apr 17 2007, 11:30 AM

2,047 posts

Jane, he was just holding the cage bar, looking down, and barked... Lasted like a minute or two... Funny, since the other day was the first time he barked like that, I just received the suncoast newsletter for this month and the topic is "why do gliders bark?", hahaha, haven't read it yet tho...

Yeah, Iggy went on holiday... Mebbe end of this month going back hometown plak, so Iggy goes to Kelantan plak tongue.gif Hahaha...

Mebbe lor, the pumpkin... So worried when saw his bowl still got half the mix every morning, last time licin...

KP
krynzpeaches
post Apr 17 2007, 03:12 PM

2,047 posts

Aww, Chika so cute wub.gif, why you all nyer glider like to sleep weird2 one tongue.gif

KP
krynzpeaches
post Apr 17 2007, 05:53 PM

2,047 posts

I don't think they have neutered male gliders here. Cannot find a vet to do it yet. Why don't you ask the prev owner?

Anyhow, I think different male glider balds at different stage... Also I think some can be visible, some may not...

Iggy just lost a patch of his fur on his forehead due to the scented liquid that had dried up and I think it came off while he was grooming and such... I hope his fur will grow back tho...

KP
krynzpeaches
post Apr 17 2007, 06:38 PM

2,047 posts

Mebbe cuz she's happier??

KP
krynzpeaches
post Apr 19 2007, 09:53 AM

2,047 posts

Morning everyone smile.gif

Hmm, seems like another picky glider don like pumpkin tongue.gif

Hehe, what to do, mebbe we all did spoil our glider...

Last nite as usual left a bowl of the mix, but also left a bowl of fresh fruit which is papaya. He ate half the fruits and half the mix... Aiyohh, today his poop so smelly lah... Smell of papaya unsure.gif

KP
krynzpeaches
post Apr 19 2007, 10:47 AM

2,047 posts

Wahh Cheaka, sounds like a lot of food... Like buffet like that laugh.gif

I'm not too sure lah, but I am more worried if Iggy doesn't eat the mix, compared to the rest...

Right now he doesn't seem to like the new mix flava I got. So I feed him more fruits and mealworms. But fruits still a bit only, mealworm sure habis...

I think if a glider doesn't eat at all, then that is worrying...

KP
krynzpeaches
post Apr 19 2007, 11:31 AM

2,047 posts

Worried moms = good moms tongue.gif Hehehe...

Just want the best for our suggies biggrin.gif

Question, how do you guys keep the crickets? Thinking of trying 'em, but feel susah lah to keep...

KP
krynzpeaches
post Apr 19 2007, 11:44 AM

2,047 posts

If I get the small plastic aquarium, can right?

How do we take it out to feed? If we open the lid, won't they jump out? Hehe, I feed the mealworms using tweezer lah, geli to hold tongue.gif

Yeah, once in a while I still read up about suggies, refresh memory smile.gif

KP

This post has been edited by krynzpeaches: Apr 19 2007, 11:46 AM
krynzpeaches
post Apr 19 2007, 12:00 PM

2,047 posts

Aiyahh, enuff lah that Iggy bite-bite me, cricket also bite-bite one ahh... Gee, gotta reconsider again lah... Why oh why don't they have the canned cricket?? Would make my life and suggies way, way easier, hahaha...

Wanna try superworms, but they look too ugly and scary lah tongue.gif

KP
krynzpeaches
post Apr 19 2007, 12:18 PM

2,047 posts

Yeah, superworms are ugly things, hahaha.

Aiyoh, my husband will kill me if I bake the crickets in our toaster oven which I normally toast his roti bakar doh.gif

Hahaha...

KP

20 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0516sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:52 AM