Bump Topic Topic Closed RSS Feed New Topic New Poll

> Buying/Importing Goods from Overseas, Custom Tax & Duties

ikki9394
post Oct 23 2011, 02:12 AM

NexT
582 posts

Wanna ask, if i buy a bag a $200 camera bag +postage $230 in total from US, will it be taxed?

Edit: $200 dollars/ $230 dollars plus postage

This post has been edited by ikki9394: Oct 23 2011, 02:13 AM
ikki9394
post Oct 23 2011, 03:56 PM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(Dreamworkz @ Oct 23 2011, 11:26 AM)
Yup 10% frm the total value after ringgit conversion
Thanks for reply, just another quick question here. If i bring a used 40" led 3D tv with me from Australia back to Malaysia is it taxable? I lost the receipt already btw. Its 1 year old.
ikki9394
post Oct 28 2011, 08:18 PM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(Dreamworkz @ Oct 26 2011, 12:30 AM)
It's free frm taxes & Duties, it shall fall under personal effect... biggrin.gif

Added on October 26, 2011, 12:31 am
Free taxes & duties...below <500 RM
Ya me too, can u send me a link that detail about bring personal tv back? I went to the custom website there are broken links everywhere... So disappointing...
ikki9394
post Nov 13 2011, 10:50 PM

NexT
582 posts

Hi Dreamworkz, If I carry a self used 1 year old 40" led tv with me on board flying back to Malaysia, what should I do when I reach Malaysia?

PS: I do not keep the receipt anymore.
ikki9394
post Nov 15 2011, 05:22 PM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(Dreamworkz @ Nov 14 2011, 10:28 PM)
No question asked as the item is falls under Personal Effect ( open the packaging and prove to them during the inspection) u'll be
free
Thanks, do I need to apply something to do with the Malaysia electronics authority and some stuff like that? or just declare to custom and thats it?
ikki9394
post Nov 18 2011, 10:18 PM

NexT
582 posts

QUOTE(Dreamworkz @ Nov 17 2011, 12:09 AM)
Not necessary as its for personal use

thanks for all the help. Can u give me a link or guide me where I can find those code or documentation to proove that it falls under personal use? I mean, I just can't tell the custom people the code and it falls under personal use right?
I want them to know that I got proove that I knew that it should not be tax so dont have to argue with the custom ppl.

Would u mind guide to to any link states personal use or documentation that I can download please?

ikki9394
post Nov 25 2011, 04:31 PM

NexT
582 posts

Malaysian gov - customs department really should be stricter on training and employing employees. I called up the customs hotline and find few different person giving me BS advise. I called the customs hotline selected (2) for english then (4) general enquiries then this is what happened...

1st called up
A nice guy, speaks english fluently. Provided information I need straightforward and confidently.
I ask: I wanna bring used TV back to Malaysia how and got GST?
Answered: Get completion letter, receipt of purchase(to proove it has been used for a period of time) and show it to customs officer.

After inquire on how to get completion letter I came to realise i can't get it till result is out. Plus I already lost my receipt for the purchase. So I called back

2nd call up - same i pressed (2) for engish and (4) for general inquiries.
A malay guy pick up start speaking Malay. I was thinking(I thought I selected English?), fine I talked to him and ask.
I asked: Hi, i called a moment back regarding moving stuff back to Malaysia and I've been told to provide the 2 documents - receipt and letter of completion but I couldn't get them. So what else can I use as evidence?

This person actually ask me back what documents I have to show that I will complete the course. I was surprise and tell him that "he" suppose to tell me what documents that I can show other than the completion letter. He then say, well "u" have to pay 30% flat rate tax for the TV bla bla bla. Then I was like WTF? its like ur lazy to deal with me and just simply get rid of me by saying that I just have to pay GST for it. Im so mad in heart and kindly ask him whether there is a chinese guy(1st call up) who work in the same place. He answered me yes but he(Mr. Chew) went for lunch and won't come back in 2 hours. I unwillingly say thank you and I will call back later.

3rd call up right after 2nd call up - same i pressed (2) for engish and (4) for general inquiries.
A Malay lady pick up and start speaking malay. Again? wtf I thought I pick english? Fine I ask her questions from all over again as in 1st call up. However she just keep saying "sorry can u repeat it again".
Im like ffs, fine then I started to speak malay with her. She told me the same thing that 1st call up told me in a way that like she was reading out from an article. Fine I said I knew that and I told her that I couldnt get those 2 documents. Same thing like the 2nd called up malay guy told me, she can't suggest anything and say she will just send me a pdf file and told me to read it. WTF?

Fine, I try my luck and ask if Mr. Chew is around. Guess what? yes he is in. Obviously the previous malay guy is f**king liar, why can't he even direct me to him?
Yeah then she directed me to Mr. Chew; he clearly explain to me what I can do and gave me numbers of suggestion like:
-Use third party cargo to deliver my stuffs back to Malaysia - this would actually imply that I am moving back to Malaysia for good to the customs officers as Im bringing back all my used stuff at once back to malaysia
-Get the confirmation of enrollment which states anticipation of completion date - as an alternative to the completion letter
-Try to recover the receipt from the dealer - ultimate evidence to proove that I have been using it or at least bought it for a period of time more than 3 months
-etc

From all this, seriously out of 3 person I called only 1 person can help me thoroughly, 1 liar and lazy slacker, 1 inability to communicate properly in English as customs hotline customer service. Imagine people from other countries call up for inquiries and these custom hotline employees cant speak properly in English and simply got get rid of the people called. This will be a disgrace to Malaysia.

Apart from this, the Malaysian Customs website Diraja Malaysia is a total mess; broken link, button that does nothing, fake button(can't press), hard to find related or useful documents like import tax rate table. Oh! Please! F**KING PLEASE!! THIS IS A GOVERNMENT WEBSITE?!! A COLLEGE KID CAN MAKE A BETTER ONE THAN THAT.

Like my Malaysian lecturer who moved to Australia said, overall quality in Malaysia has fallen and so far behind many other countries.
MACAM MANALAH MALAYSIA BOLEH MAJU KALAU KERAJAAN TAK AMBIL TINDAKAN?

I'm so disappointed in the customs department of Malaysia.

ikki9394
post Mar 2 2012, 11:28 PM

NexT
582 posts

Are there any tax charges on these items from overseas?

Badminton racquet - Singapore

Headphones - Sweden / UK / US / HK / Singapore

Thanks in advance ! biggrin.gif

0.0454sec    1.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 07:16 AM