Travel To Japan V10

SUSchinti
post Jul 3 2017, 05:23 PM

Tarak Drama, Kita Bikin Drama
1,652 posts

QUOTE(AgnesB @ Jul 3 2017, 05:21 PM)
if include luggage and insurance 1 pax around 900 ,16/4 april
hmm...good price but u slightly late for cherry blossom. if ur goal is not to view cherry blossom i say go for it, the cheapest i seen so far also around this price but it was vietnam air, not sure how is that compared to airasia.
SUSchinti
post Jul 4 2017, 10:13 AM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jul 4 2017, 10:11 AM)
I think the fireworks, festivals and juicy summer fruits are the only reason I'll be going during summer (can't find any other motivation!). Probably should experience summer at least once biggrin.gif
fireworks n kawaii japanese girls in yukata drool.gif
seriously hotter than malaysia, will kena heat stroke if u not drinking enough water rclxub.gif
SUSchinti
post Jul 4 2017, 12:44 PM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jul 4 2017, 11:19 AM)
HAHAHAHAHAHA for me will be cute guys in yukata?

But i'm more worried about water pressure/ issue in accommodation for summer. I heard there are times when water pressure could be low or in worse case scenario, maybe no water...?
should be fine if u stay in landed, never experience water shortage in japan before
SUSchinti
post Jul 4 2017, 01:50 PM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Jul 4 2017, 01:28 PM)
just wondering, if wan minum water, the tap water in japan is safe to drink?
yeap it is safe, all their water r from tap water even in restaurant
SUSchinti
post Jul 5 2017, 08:38 AM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(_ChAoS_ @ Jul 5 2017, 08:29 AM)
Really? I wasn't sure as i had found mixed comments on it. I ended up buying drinking water off 7-11... sad.gif
yeap its safe, i never buy mineral water in japan before. always drink from tap
SUSchinti
post Jul 9 2017, 01:06 PM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(RegentCid @ Jul 9 2017, 12:07 PM)
Hi
Good to see New Thread Starter that so passion.

As Usual. Just PM me if anyone need my Service.
My Knowledge about Japan are on my Signature Area.  South to North , East to West
hey there, you can always still post here to help out people that wanting to go japan thumbsup.gif
my knowledge is pretty limited to sadly tokyo and kyoto only sad.gif
SUSchinti
post Jul 9 2017, 08:44 PM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(90929155 @ Jul 9 2017, 08:34 PM)
Hi guys, after googling..I found out that best transportation mode is the bullet train.Therefore, need to get a JR pass.But then, I found out that a 7-day pass costs around 1K plus.Would it be better or worth if I rent a car & travel around instead?

I'm soon going around Tokyo,Kyoto & Osaka
R u traveling alone or with family? U can rent car for Kyoto n Osaka but it's not recommended for Tokyo due to the parking fee. Also if I'm not mistaken Jr pass is limited to certain bullet train only. Have u check domestic flight from Tokyo to Osaka? It's pretty cheap
SUSchinti
post Jul 9 2017, 11:34 PM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(90929155 @ Jul 9 2017, 11:15 PM)
My second concern is, if I were to take other transportation modes other than the train would it be time consuming?

For example, bullet train takes 2hrs but bus takes 8-10hours to reach the same destination.If so, i rather get the JR pass. Hmmm
u can take night bus, can help u save money and u reach the destination in the morning so ur not really wasting ur time as u will be sleeping all night

This post has been edited by chinti: Jul 9 2017, 11:35 PM
SUSchinti
post Jul 10 2017, 09:17 AM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(Grimtooth @ Jul 10 2017, 01:47 AM)
JR pass is valid for the entire country. But you may only ride JR operated lines.
ICOCA/PASMO/SUICA are prepaid cards that allow you to ride all modes of transportation excluding some taxis for particular regions. ICOCA/PiTaPa for Kansai(Kyoto/Osaka/Kobe etc). Suica/PASMO for Kanto(Tokyo/Kanagawa/Saitama etc).
JR West well... it depends which pass you take.. Kansai, Hokuriku or Sanyo.. Otherwise, same as JR pass but on a smaller scale.

Note that there are private lines meaning you cant use JR pass on these. However they allow IC cards for tickets. For example metro lines(subway) that connects major part of Tokyo is not covered by JR Pass since they are operated by private companies.
Alternatively, there are passes sold for certain duration like 72hours Metro Pass for Tokyo(1.5k yen), 1 day Kyoto City Bus etc.

My advice: Get the 72h Metro Pass + Suica/Pasmo for your Tokyo trip.
For Kansai.. somebody else might have a better suggestion since I solely used ICOCA for convenience sake.
Metro pass + Suica/Pasmo for Tokyo and Osaka, Kyoto can just get the bus day pass as Kyoto mostly use bus only. the bus day pass is around 620yen only, so take bus more than 3 times already worth it d. metro pass is optional and usually based on how the itinerary is planned, if only few places needed metro to access then not worth buying the pass d
SUSchinti
post Jul 10 2017, 09:44 AM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Jul 10 2017, 09:38 AM)
I heard PASMO can only be used within Tokyo; but SUICA can be used in both Tokyo and Osaka + Kyoto.

Meaning PASMO can also be used in Osaka? Or both Kyoto and Osaka? I actually have 2 PASMO laugh.gif coz I thought I lost it during one of my trip, and got another one. Was thinking of exploring Kansai someday and if PASMO is accepted then I don't have to get the SUICA card.
Pasmo can be use pretty much entire japan already, i always carry my pasmo with me only be it Kyoto, Osaka, or Tokyo. so far no trouble, din get stuck or anything.

This post has been edited by chinti: Jul 10 2017, 09:46 AM
SUSchinti
post Jul 10 2017, 09:48 AM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(90929155 @ Jul 10 2017, 09:43 AM)
10 Days for me.
have u been to japan before? if nope then i strongly suggest u either go tokyo 10 days or kansai area 10 days. by covering two regions u will be quite rush and might not cover everything as well.
SUSchinti
post Jul 10 2017, 09:58 AM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(90929155 @ Jul 10 2017, 09:53 AM)
Following is the list that I have planned so far.
for kyoto two days u can check the itinerary i make, its posted on the first thread 2nd post.

not planning to go disney sea? your 4th day in tokyo is too rush, all those places are pretty far. i suggest moving yokohama to 3rd day, so it will be like this tsukiji in the morning, then head to tokyo station, walk to emperor palace, then head to yokohama.

also which month r u planning to go? i can re-arrange ur itinerary a bit for u based on tht. and do u prefer sightseeing, shopping, or foods trip?

This post has been edited by chinti: Jul 10 2017, 10:00 AM
SUSchinti
post Jul 10 2017, 10:12 AM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(90929155 @ Jul 10 2017, 10:00 AM)
I'm visiting a friend there.  biggrin.gif  .He recommends me to get the JR pass, but i feel like would be a waste thats why turn to this forums for more alternatives as my this friend always use JR only.

Btw, for the ICOCA IC need to be bought outside Japan like the JR pass or can buy over counter in Japan?
for the location u going, JR pass is worth it i guess.
ICOCA card can be bought over counter or directly from the ticketing machine.

QUOTE(90929155 @ Jul 10 2017, 10:06 AM)
U meant Japan Disney?It isnt in my list as I thought this place is suitable more for families. Hahaha
its fun lol. wat time will u b reaching tokyo? i will roughly draft an itinerary for u as the place u wanna go is quite rush for 4 days.
SUSchinti
post Jul 10 2017, 11:47 AM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(90929155 @ Jul 10 2017, 10:28 AM)
I have total 11days actually, but then im reserving 10days to travel around there.My current list takes 8days, so I have another 2-3 spare days .
QUOTE(90929155 @ Jul 10 2017, 10:29 AM)
FYI, I will be there during winter season.From what I can imagine in the Disney are those cartoon characters which looks childish to me. LOL
have u already make some rough itinerary? i can help u fixed it a bit if u do. coz im not sure 4 days can cover so many things in tokyo especially u got quite a few places tht requires half a day minimum
SUSchinti
post Jul 10 2017, 12:27 PM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(lyc1982 @ Jul 10 2017, 12:25 PM)
well unless of course he / she only planning to visit japan only once in their lifetime

which is not applicable to me...haha
lol same here, at least twice a year for me.
still 10 days is very rush for two different region unless u really know ur ways around. travelling from osaka to tokyo also half a day gone d
SUSchinti
post Jul 11 2017, 10:33 AM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(NiLeS @ Jul 11 2017, 10:29 AM)
Nice. I wonder if i should change right now or wait until end of Oct..
change a bit first as u wont know whether the currency will drop or increase
SUSchinti
post Jul 11 2017, 10:42 AM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(NiLeS @ Jul 11 2017, 10:41 AM)
Ok. Is 100,000 yen is enough for 10 days in Japan (Osaka-Kyoto-Kobe-Nara)?
100k yen just for spending? and how many persons?
SUSchinti
post Jul 11 2017, 10:49 AM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(NiLeS @ Jul 11 2017, 10:48 AM)
100k for entrance fees, transportation and spending(food). Only for 1 person.
yeap 100k yen is enough thumbsup.gif
SUSchinti
post Jul 11 2017, 11:31 AM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(Fyonne @ Jul 11 2017, 10:43 AM)
used Suica, but certain vending machine in Kyoto din accept it.
din has chance to try on konbini store tho.
QUOTE(sacwoc @ Jul 11 2017, 11:27 AM)
Not sure about vending machine. But all prepaid IC card hve been made compatible with each other.
Refer to http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e2359_003.html. It did mentions "almost".
sometimes just the vending machine bug, i kena few times before. the vending machine show pasmo can b used but it wont detect my card
SUSchinti
post Jul 11 2017, 11:43 AM

1,652 posts

QUOTE(adix4 @ Jul 11 2017, 11:40 AM)
early April for  Osaka and Tokyo trip

this is my third trip lmao but never been on April

going on April because the weather is ok dowan cold cold month

but sked lots of tourist, but early april ok or not?

any advice

already do some search, some said lots of tourist some said ok ok lor
early april definitely still a lot of tourists as it is sakura season, usually full bloom is around end of march till beginning of april for tokyo. so tourists will still hang around even after the season is overed

17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0214sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:03 AM