17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Bitcoin and other Cryptocurrencies, Comprehensive guide on first page.

dc_talkz
post Jun 29 2017, 04:24 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(thesnake @ Jun 29 2017, 04:20 PM)
any reason for the sudden NEO surge?
FOMO if you ask me. Don't get me wrong though, I do believe that NEO is still undervalued and that they have strong fundamentals. But most of the people, apart from the Chinese, who bought or are buying in currently don't have a clue whatsoever of its potential. Heck, majority of them don't even now that you can generate Antcoins from the wallet and are just waiting to dump it when it reaches the moon.

This post has been edited by dc_talkz: Jun 29 2017, 04:27 PM
dc_talkz
post Jun 29 2017, 04:34 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(wengherng @ Jun 29 2017, 04:29 PM)
Yes, I should have made it clearer.
If you consistently trade cryptocurrencies as a form of business to earn a living, then it is taxable.
So until jack2 gets taxed we all don't have anything to worry about correct? rclxms.gif rclxms.gif tongue.gif
dc_talkz
post Jun 29 2017, 05:40 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jun 29 2017, 05:19 PM)
The free gas from NEO is resalable??

If I have only 500 ANS, is it worth to claim free gas since the fee is 1 ANS.
I think if you plan to hold long term then it is worth it. We won't know how will the price of ANC appreciate it the future, or even depreciate for that matter. But besides having antcoins generated for free, it is also a lot safer to hold your ANS away from exchanges don't you think? Securty is the more imperative reason for me to transfer my ANS out actually.
dc_talkz
post Jun 29 2017, 10:08 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(TheReaderReads @ Jun 29 2017, 09:12 PM)
maybe my connections slow...

resyncing? u mean deleting my entire antsharecore file and reinstall it from antshare website CLIENT WALLET and get it back sync?

like from the start?
Bro I think you either have to wait or resync or restart the UI and try again. Same thing happened to me the first time i tried but I didn't panic because if you click on the address it will bring you to the blockchain site where it will show you that your ANS is still within your address. It is just not reflecting on the windows client thats all. Oddly, I tried again yesterday and my ANS and ANC were both reflected. I think the client is not cleanly made yet, so there could be some bugs or technical issues, your ANS are still in there though.

This post has been edited by dc_talkz: Jun 29 2017, 10:26 PM
dc_talkz
post Jun 29 2017, 10:18 PM

471 posts

ANS trading sideways on the hourly chart. I think it will consolidate around $9 until some catalytic news occur.

This post has been edited by dc_talkz: Jun 29 2017, 10:25 PM
dc_talkz
post Jun 29 2017, 10:48 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(b0rhui @ Jun 29 2017, 10:26 PM)
I noticed when the consolidation starts it would usually dip after some time, if the volumes go decreasing. Is it true?
Yeah, usually when the volume decreases the the MACD will reflect a downward trend. So if you're day trading the best time to sell after a surge is right when the line is about to intersect and curve downward, you can also look at the SAR patterns and compare with the previous market behaviours.

Sometimes volume may decrease but the price continues to stay afloat, that could be an indication that whales are gobbling up the coins to keep the price up. However, usually when this happens, the whales will eventually dump everything at one go and you'll have a massive dip. Same thing happened with LTC yesterday, I sold all my holding at the peak and right about an hour ago started buying back when the MACD is starting to trend upward again. See how the lines intersect and start moving upwards (http://prntscr.com/fpmag9), when the black line is going above the red line then that is usually an indication that the trend will go upwards. But to get a more accurate picture try also looking at the 1 hour chart and compare also with the SAR patterns.

At the end of the day, there is no one certain answer, these are all just there to help you make a better decisions by reading the market behaviour, and by no means work as a crystal ball. I have made plenty of mistakes and bad decisions to from time to time, so take what I say with a pinch of salt and do your due diligence as well smile.gif

This post has been edited by dc_talkz: Jun 29 2017, 10:50 PM
dc_talkz
post Jun 30 2017, 10:51 AM

471 posts

NEM starting up their HQ in Malaysia?

https://coinjournal.net/nem-io-foundation-u...expansion-plan/
dc_talkz
post Jun 30 2017, 04:35 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 30 2017, 04:27 PM)
Just curious. If you don't make money from hodling, how exactly do you make money?
That would be by MOFO-ing.. opps I mean FOMO-ing

This post has been edited by dc_talkz: Jun 30 2017, 04:35 PM
dc_talkz
post Jun 30 2017, 06:26 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 30 2017, 04:40 PM)
Haha, I'm both a HODLer and a FOMOer.... biggrin.gif

How leh? icon_question.gif
No problem as long not a Mofo haha
dc_talkz
post Jun 30 2017, 08:24 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Jun 30 2017, 07:34 PM)
Finally gone through in detail NEO's (Antshares) v1.1 whitepaper and their consensus algorithm paper.

Very ambitious project overall. Some loose ends I noticed which isn't addressed on their whitepaper (e.g. stakeholder votes and possible scenarios given differed percentage of holdings and number of voters, finer implementation details with regards to latency, accountant selection, etc), and some things I personally am not too comfortable with (NEO uses PBFT) - Though I would not outright say is unsuitable given the political geography of NEO and its target audience if I caught them correctly. And of course, in the style of Chinese, very frank on the technical limitations of other blockchain implementations.
I don't think I need to say this since all of you guys are already on the boat, but NEO is indeed worth looking into as in my opinion it is one of the more mature blockchain implementation that is still fairly underpriced (within its region). I would expect prices to go up further when more local Chinese companies look into being joint accounting nodes on the NEO blockchain (though an open question on my end is the incentivisation needed to get companies interested in hosting a node).
Hey thanks for this analysis. It was a good read. I'm very grateful to people like Wootz who has consistently brought news about ANS, which are not easily accessible to those who can't read Chinese, and Heavensea for providing good inputs on the general perception of the Chinese public in relation to ANS. Overall, I'm thankful that this community is turning into a valuable information hub. I can't stand the pump and dump groups on telegram and slacks.

On another note, any of you have any thoughts on Tezos? Token sale is tomorrow I think.

This post has been edited by dc_talkz: Jun 30 2017, 08:26 PM
dc_talkz
post Jun 30 2017, 08:47 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Jun 30 2017, 08:38 PM)
Tezos. Got billionaire backer(dont remember the name thou)....

But Clif High mentioned the investor and the programmer have a conflict point of view/interest on how the company should be run(in the details)....
Tim Draper. He is known for walloping the 30000 BTC auction. Clif High is.. well, he is a sketchy person IMO. Do you trust his calls?
dc_talkz
post Jun 30 2017, 09:03 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Jun 30 2017, 09:01 PM)
Don't, that's just my thoughts though

I hope they get more ETH contributions, cause they mentioned they'll dump those on the spot, great bargain if that's the case  biggrin.gif
Oh so would it be wise to liquidate some eth now to prepare for the dip?

dc_talkz
post Jun 30 2017, 09:11 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(WooTz @ Jun 30 2017, 09:05 PM)
up to you, I always standby low buy orders for such known events, their hatred for Ethereum shall be my boon!  smile.gif
Yah, I find it odd how they hate eth more than the etc community does. Thanks for the input I guess I'll stay away from this one and try to make profits off the dip

dc_talkz
post Jun 30 2017, 09:15 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(Enigmatic @ Jun 30 2017, 09:05 PM)
I think I should rephrase a bit - IMHO NEO is more mature than some other blockchain implementations (e.g. Stratis, Ubiq) in the sense that they know their target audience, what should be done to fulfil regulatory commitments locally and subsequently what are the technical attributes to be introduced into their blockchain as a result of these combined factors.

There is no point developing something to not have anyone using it; NEO took the approach of dealing with the business end of things first, which is good.

Addendum: dc_talkz - I'm not joining Tezos. I don't like the how they market themselves and how they put down competitors (or even genuinely curious people).
Sorry I missed your post earlier. I'm reading from my phone. Yeah, I wasn't optimistic about it to begin with but just curious what are others opinion on it. Thanks for your reply smile.gif

dc_talkz
post Jul 1 2017, 03:00 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Jul 1 2017, 02:44 PM)
Ether dipping in at 257usd.

Pretty good deal guys.

Plan to buy some to participate skincoin eventhough im quite late to the party lol 😂
Has the ICO started? Haha, I was thinking about it as well but too lazy to do any research at the moment. If they can somehow get some solid backing from either Valve or Steam, that would be definitely a sound investment. I follow the esports news quite closely, while there is definitely a market for esports betting, the organizations involved seems to not like the idea of teenage exposure to gambling, which make sense if you think about it.
dc_talkz
post Jul 1 2017, 05:02 PM

471 posts

I know that this is probably an unpopular comment but I'd advise to stop using Polo. I've quit using that platform a month ago and it's so much better now. Polo is ridden with problems and only a week ago there was a huge fiasco with Steem. There is rumours that they are having liquidity issues. These guys can't seem to know how to handle a business and they are pretty much like the Tezos of exchanges.
dc_talkz
post Jul 1 2017, 05:09 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(Ash96 @ Jul 1 2017, 05:08 PM)
Which do you recommend? Bittrex?
Yep. And with Binance going live soon, I might give that a try too just to be able to diversify my funds on exchange

This post has been edited by dc_talkz: Jul 1 2017, 05:09 PM
dc_talkz
post Jul 1 2017, 05:52 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Jul 1 2017, 05:42 PM)
Beware about polo. My account got hacked on 29th June. 4 EtH worth rm6k gone.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1988476.0

Exactly same as this guy case except he kena on 27th june. 2 days before me. My mistake is no 2FA. I will avoid using polo. Chance is insider job. No withdrawal made, just buy/sell high spread. My password was complex enough. Weird thing is all account hack start with alphabet "A" email. Mine also "A"
That's a bruteforce cracking method that has been going on sometime within the cracking sphere now. A software called "SentryMBA" utilizing the decrypted SQL from sites to get hold of your ID and password. So if you're using the same ID and password for all your sites, chances is that one of these sites got hacked, then the server where storing information of your ID and password is extracted from it. What hackers do is collect all these extracted IDs and Passwords, run them on Sentry and on a targetted site, like Polo, Localbitcoin, Paypal and etc etc. Without 2FA, if they get a hit. They will have access to your account.

This is why we need a decentralized internet. Nothing is safe at the end of the day when you have all your sensitive data stored in a centralized server.

This post has been edited by dc_talkz: Jul 1 2017, 05:55 PM
dc_talkz
post Jul 1 2017, 06:06 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Jul 1 2017, 05:56 PM)
Thanks for information. Internet just got alot scarier. Will do 2FA on all sites support 2FA. And change password.
Try to diversify your passwords. I use serious tough passwords for more sensitive sites, and sites for entertainment and what not, I have a more casual password and email to go with. The internet has been scary for a long time bro, people are only now learning how to exploit them.
dc_talkz
post Jul 1 2017, 06:13 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Jul 1 2017, 06:00 PM)
wah.. u r so pandai...

But what are the advantages to them if they hack in and trade the account?
Well I can't tell you that. What I can say is that most crackers find satisfaction just being able to access your account. They used to monetize hacked accounts through the dark webs and silk road, but ever since silk road was taken down, people now mostly do it for fun. I know many people who hack into amazon accounts, steam account or PSN accounts, used the money available inside and purchase stuff for themself. Some would purchase Amazon gift cards and in turn sell them for cheap on the internet. There are various creative and unique ways to monetize hacked accounts. Just hope that they don't have access to your sensitive info so as to allow them to blackmail you is all I can say. Not every cracker has loose morals as some are genuinely just doing it as hobby, but there are definitely really nasty ones as well.

This post has been edited by dc_talkz: Jul 1 2017, 06:16 PM

17 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.1179sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:16 PM