Wet Marinade or Dry rubs?, Which you all prefer?

TSshinchan99
post Jun 8 2017, 02:15 PM, updated 9y ago

619 posts

Hi all sifus,

Which type sifu's prefer on their meat? Dry rub or wet marinate? May I know why?
Ahmad Fikri Bin Mahmood
post Jun 8 2017, 02:21 PM

60 posts

prefer wet marinate since flavour stick inside compare dry rub

but cannot eat meat anymore due to gout

sadface...
nebula87
post Jun 8 2017, 02:32 PM

Fg = mg
1,420 posts

"Yeah Boiii..."

Dry rub if you want to have the original taste.

Wet Marinate is when you cant stand the original smell of the meat/vege...(example beef or lamb)

soulhunter87
post Jun 8 2017, 02:33 PM

455 posts

depend on how u want to prepare. steak go for dry
TSshinchan99
post Jun 8 2017, 02:45 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(soulhunter87 @ Jun 8 2017, 02:33 PM)
depend on how u want to prepare. steak go for dry
Why can't steak go for wet marinade?
TSshinchan99
post Jun 8 2017, 02:46 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Jun 8 2017, 02:32 PM)
"Yeah Boiii..."

Dry rub if you want to have the original taste.

Wet Marinate is when you cant stand the original smell of the meat/vege...(example beef or lamb)
Say if you can accept both the smell of lamb and beef.. Which one will you go for? Dry or Wet ?
soulhunter87
post Jun 8 2017, 02:52 PM

455 posts

QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Jun 8 2017, 02:45 PM)
Why can't steak go for wet marinade?
can if u want to. but i dont prefer it like that. i like the rawness of meat when it come to steak
nebula87
post Jun 8 2017, 03:04 PM

Fg = mg
1,420 posts

QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Jun 8 2017, 02:46 PM)
Say if you can accept both the smell of lamb and beef.. Which one will you go for? Dry or Wet ?
I will prefer wet.

then will get a wine to feel the dryish taste...
TSshinchan99
post Jun 8 2017, 03:09 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(soulhunter87 @ Jun 8 2017, 02:52 PM)
can if u want to. but i dont prefer it like that. i like the rawness of meat when it come to steak
thumbsup.gif
TSshinchan99
post Jun 8 2017, 03:10 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(nebula87 @ Jun 8 2017, 03:04 PM)
I will prefer wet.

then will get a wine to feel the dryish taste...
Eh, not suppose to be the other way round ? biggrin.gif
nebula87
post Jun 8 2017, 03:34 PM

Fg = mg
1,420 posts

QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Jun 8 2017, 03:10 PM)
Eh, not suppose to be the other way round ?  biggrin.gif
keke...but i prefer it another way.. brows.gif
TSshinchan99
post Jun 8 2017, 03:43 PM

619 posts

Should dry rub be cooked immediately? Or should we let it rest say 3-4 hours?
patryn33
post Jun 8 2017, 10:37 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Jun 8 2017, 03:43 PM)
Should dry rub be cooked immediately? Or should we let it rest say 3-4 hours?
Read
http://dish.allrecipes.com/how-to-marinate-meat/
icemanfx
post Jun 8 2017, 11:10 PM

21,457 posts

It is a waste of money to wet marinate or dry rub a good piece of steak. Whether wet marination or dry rub, flavour doesn't penetrate deep but stay at surface only. However, the salt is marination and rub will tenderize the meat a bit.

TSshinchan99
post Jun 9 2017, 08:47 AM

619 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Jun 8 2017, 10:37 PM)
lovely share.. thanks !
patryn33
post Jun 9 2017, 11:57 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 8 2017, 11:10 PM)
It is a waste of money to wet marinate or dry rub a good piece of steak. Whether wet marination or dry rub, flavour doesn't penetrate deep but stay at surface only. However, the salt is marination and rub will tenderize the meat a bit.
Salt method is not about marinate since it's wash off
http://steamykitchen.com/163-how-to-turn-c...ime-steaks.html

Really depends on time
http://www.food.com/recipe/steak-marinade-...-and-easy-39145

This post has been edited by patryn33: Jun 9 2017, 12:00 PM
TSshinchan99
post Jun 9 2017, 03:53 PM

619 posts

QUOTE(patryn33 @ Jun 9 2017, 11:57 AM)
Hi ..
I dont know it's just me or what, most of the reference was to beef meat.. How about lambs? Does this apply the same? Should we put salts to remove the moist inside the meat?

So far i've tried aged beef.. Is there anyone who aged lamb meat? Probably after aged got no more meat left? biggrin.gif
patryn33
post Jun 11 2017, 01:09 AM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Jun 9 2017, 03:53 PM)
Hi ..
I dont know it's just me or what, most of the reference was to beef meat.. How about lambs? Does this apply the same? Should we put salts to remove the moist inside the meat?

So far i've tried aged beef.. Is there anyone who aged lamb meat? Probably after aged got no more meat left? biggrin.gif
Beef and lamb not same, diff cut calls for diff style

https://www.chowhound.com/food-news/139125/...for-lamb-chops/
http://www.thekitchn.com/5-mistakes-to-avo...-of-lamb-229889

Lamb is young and tender, mutton you could get age
http://www.foodnetwork.com/videos/dry-aged-lamb-0156346

This post has been edited by patryn33: Jun 11 2017, 01:11 AM
TSshinchan99
post Jun 12 2017, 04:47 PM

619 posts

Today's experiment :

1. Dry rub Lamb Rack with Herbs
(Dry rub consist of garlic powder, dried thyme, dried rosemary, sea salt, black pepper)

LAMB RACK

2. Salt & Pepper beef short ribs
(Sea salt on meat for 1 hour)

BEEF

Both lamb rack and beef are served with Balsamic Reduction Sauce..

Technique used: Room temperate on meat and a hot pan with olive oil and butter seared up both the meat for about 1 minute each side.. Into small home oven pre-heated with 250c top and bottom heat at about 10 minutes.

Verdict: Both the lamb rack and beef are good.. A very good alternative to wet marinate.. All the while I've only tried wet marinate in my life being a typical chinese mindset.. With this new experiment on dry rub and sea salt only, it can be as good as wet marinate..

Mistake made:
1. I think I should not add more salt to the beef after putting the sea salt on top of the meat for 1 hour.. Should had remove all the excess salt and just put black pepper only.. End up my steak is slightly on the salty side..
2. Slightly overcook my beef .. Should had set probably 5-7 minute for medium rare..

Feel free to comment, add in ideas or share your personal experience or tips for me to improve smile.gif

(Sorry presentation of food not great, i am just a home cook not a professional chef)

This post has been edited by shinchan99: Jun 12 2017, 04:49 PM
patryn33
post Jun 13 2017, 12:16 PM

3,940 posts

QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Jun 12 2017, 04:47 PM)
Today's experiment :

1. Dry rub Lamb Rack with Herbs
(Dry rub consist of garlic powder, dried thyme, dried rosemary, sea salt, black pepper)

LAMB RACK

2. Salt & Pepper beef short ribs
(Sea salt on meat for 1 hour)

BEEF

Both lamb rack and beef are served with Balsamic Reduction Sauce..

Technique used: Room temperate on meat and a hot pan with olive oil and butter seared up both the meat for about 1 minute each side.. Into small home oven pre-heated with 250c top and bottom heat at about 10 minutes.

Verdict: Both the lamb rack and beef are good.. A very good alternative to wet marinate.. All the while I've only tried wet marinate in my life being a typical chinese mindset.. With this new experiment on dry rub and sea salt only, it can be as good as wet marinate..

Mistake made:
1. I think I should not add more salt to the beef after putting the sea salt on top of the meat for 1 hour.. Should had remove all the excess salt and just put black pepper only.. End up my steak is slightly on the salty side..
2. Slightly overcook my beef .. Should had set probably 5-7 minute for medium rare..

Feel free to comment, add in ideas or share your personal experience or tips for me to improve smile.gif

(Sorry presentation of food not great, i am just a home cook not a professional chef)
Get a https://anovaculinary.com, yield good results

0.0181sec    0.61    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 06:25 PM