New French Bakery in Pavilion KL Mall
Jun 8 2017, 12:17 PM, updated 9y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
439 posts Joined: Dec 2012 |
Just read about this new bakery, Pauls at Pavilion mall in KL. Has anyone tried the pastries or bread? Do they taste good? The pastries look rather delicious in the photos.
http://www.star2.com/food/food-news/2017/0...paul-bakery-kl/ ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Jun 9 2017, 12:06 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
21,457 posts Joined: Jul 2012 |
KL pricing is like in france, not many could eat regularly. |
Jun 9 2017, 03:49 PM
QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 9 2017, 12:06 PM) Well, for these types of comfort food it's usually taken occasionally and not regularly like several times in a week. I would expect the bill to come up to RM100+ depending on the amount of tarts or bread that one is buying. Even if the bill comes up to about RM200 it's still not too bad if you visit the outlet say once in a month. |
Jun 9 2017, 03:50 PM
It appears that nobody has tried the delicacies in this French outlet. Interesting that they don't keep the bread or tarts overnight as they will all go to the garbage. All are freshly made to the day.
Jun 9 2017, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(Volkswagen2 @ Jun 9 2017, 03:49 PM) Well, for these types of comfort food it's usually taken occasionally and not regularly like several times in a week. I would expect the bill to come up to RM100+ depending on the amount of tarts or bread that one is buying. Even if the bill comes up to about RM200 it's still not too bad if you visit the outlet say once in a month. Without regular patronage, expansion is less likely and may even unsustainable.QUOTE(Volkswagen2 @ Jun 9 2017, 03:50 PM) It appears that nobody has tried the delicacies in this French outlet. Interesting that they don't keep the bread or tarts overnight as they will all go to the garbage. All are freshly made to the day. Which bakery with pride keep their products over night?This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jun 9 2017, 05:19 PM |
Jun 12 2017, 09:54 AM
Would appreciate if responses focus on the taste and quality of the food (as what that was asked in the first post of this thread) rather than speculation of the expansion of the outlet and prospect of it going bankrupt.
Thanks. |
Jun 12 2017, 11:16 AM
QUOTE(Volkswagen2 @ Jun 12 2017, 09:54 AM) Would appreciate if responses focus on the taste and quality of the food (as what that was asked in the first post of this thread) rather than speculation of the expansion of the outlet and prospect of it going bankrupt. For a start, quiche lorraine, fougasse lardons, ham sandwiches are not available, so is a let down.Thanks. |
Jun 12 2017, 11:30 AM
QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 12 2017, 11:16 AM) Nobody is asking for your opinion on the food that's not available at this outlet, nor whether it can sustain business. If you have nothing useful to add here it is better than you don't post anything. Also, it would be useful if you do not tag me as your responses are all irrelevant to the thread. |
Jun 12 2017, 12:47 PM
QUOTE(Volkswagen2 @ Jun 12 2017, 11:30 AM) Nobody is asking for your opinion on the food that's not available at this outlet, nor whether it can sustain business. If you have nothing useful to add here it is better than you don't post anything. It happened​ quiche lorraine, fougasse lardons, ham sandwiches are my favourite from Paul in France.Also, it would be useful if you do not tag me as your responses are all irrelevant to the thread. This is a public forum. If you can't accept negative feed back, you should set up private fb group. This post has been edited by icemanfx: Jun 12 2017, 12:49 PM |
Jun 12 2017, 02:21 PM
QUOTE(icemanfx @ Jun 12 2017, 12:47 PM) It happened​ quiche lorraine, fougasse lardons, ham sandwiches are my favourite from Paul in France. For goodness sake. It's not a case of public forum or negative feedback. It's a case of you posting something that's irrelevant to the thread. I reiterate, if you have not tried the pastries at Pauls, it is better that you don't post anything as you look like a fool with your drivel. This is a public forum. If you can't accept negative feed back, you should set up private fb group. Nobody is interested to know whether the pastries are pricey, the expansion of the outlet or the type of food that it doesn't have. I have asked a simple question you posted things which are out of context. If you want to have some fun, you can always go to Kopitiam as that is the place where everyone can post freely, mostly rubbish. You show childishness by posting something that's silly in this thread. I have been quite polite to put up with your antics here. Just to repeat, if you have nothing useful to say, it is better to shut up. People are free to post on a public forum, yes. Nevertheless, you just show your immaturity and childishness with your responses here. I am sure you are an adult, though no one can stop you from acting like a 12-year old. |
Jun 12 2017, 02:22 PM
How old are you by the way?
Jun 12 2017, 02:33 PM
Iceman - I have put you in my Ignore list. You are the first one to be in the list. I didn't expect this silliness to happen on this Food thread but that goes on to show that anything can happen on a public forum.
Jun 21 2017, 11:13 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
227 posts Joined: Jan 2006 |
No, they arent nice.
How I know?Ive tried How do I compare? I'm a pastry chef that have tried a varieties of pastries made by true french chefs. Now you can close thread before you start flaming again And yes Iceman is right, they aren't even serving their flagship products. Not having quiche in Pauls or any french bakery is like going to mamak with no roti canai, hence you can see they are not taking the real authentic way like the french is doing, Hence its not counted as authentic french bakery. I'm sick and tired of seeing how Malaysians judge food based on their own context and not the real origiNAL taste, I've had a lady that came in to our shop telling our chef, that she tasted the best cream puff in Johor??? while we're making products with recipes that come from real french chef. Take Hokkaido cheese tart as example, Malaysians are stupid enough to believe its the real deal when they first came out, maybe ure one of them, everyone is huhaing bout it, until the real recipe which is Pablo came into Malaysia, people were saying Hokkaido is better, so it must be the original cheese tart, not knowing Hokkaido is actualy secret recipe sub company. If you understand what iceman is trying to point out on the food list that is not available, then yes u won't even bother bout Paul. And I got a frien who work there too. Are you going to flame me? For giving you my legit review and opinions |
Jun 21 2017, 08:53 PM
49 posts Joined: Jun 2016 |
QUOTE(anthonywongy @ Jun 21 2017, 11:13 AM) No, they arent nice. interested to try the food you make, where is your store?How I know?Ive tried How do I compare? I'm a pastry chef that have tried a varieties of pastries made by true french chefs. Now you can close thread before you start flaming again And yes Iceman is right, they aren't even serving their flagship products. Not having quiche in Pauls or any french bakery is like going to mamak with no roti canai, hence you can see they are not taking the real authentic way like the french is doing, Hence its not counted as authentic french bakery. I'm sick and tired of seeing how Malaysians judge food based on their own context and not the real origiNAL taste, I've had a lady that came in to our shop telling our chef, that she tasted the best cream puff in Johor??? while we're making products with recipes that come from real french chef. Take Hokkaido cheese tart as example, Malaysians are stupid enough to believe its the real deal when they first came out, maybe ure one of them, everyone is huhaing bout it, until the real recipe which is Pablo came into Malaysia, people were saying Hokkaido is better, so it must be the original cheese tart, not knowing Hokkaido is actualy secret recipe sub company. If you understand what iceman is trying to point out on the food list that is not available, then yes u won't even bother bout Paul. And I got a frien who work there too. Are you going to flame me? For giving you my legit review and opinions |
Jun 22 2017, 12:16 AM
You sure you won't be like the lady I mentioned earlier? No hard feeling, its purely my view as a chef. If u want, I can deliver some sample to you because we are supplying in SME size, you know not all foreigner can open a big shop like Paul, in malaysia
Jun 22 2017, 12:19 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
And all butter, say no to shortening and margarine! Peace.
Jun 22 2017, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(anthonywongy @ Jun 21 2017, 11:13 AM) No, they arent nice. Nobody is going to criticize anybody for no reason. Everyone is entitled to his opinions. Most importantly is you have tried the pastries at Pauls. Your opinion is appreciated. How I know?Ive tried How do I compare? I'm a pastry chef that have tried a varieties of pastries made by true french chefs. Now you can close thread before you start flaming again And yes Iceman is right, they aren't even serving their flagship products. Not having quiche in Pauls or any french bakery is like going to mamak with no roti canai, hence you can see they are not taking the real authentic way like the french is doing, Hence its not counted as authentic french bakery. I'm sick and tired of seeing how Malaysians judge food based on their own context and not the real origiNAL taste, I've had a lady that came in to our shop telling our chef, that she tasted the best cream puff in Johor??? while we're making products with recipes that come from real french chef. Take Hokkaido cheese tart as example, Malaysians are stupid enough to believe its the real deal when they first came out, maybe ure one of them, everyone is huhaing bout it, until the real recipe which is Pablo came into Malaysia, people were saying Hokkaido is better, so it must be the original cheese tart, not knowing Hokkaido is actualy secret recipe sub company. If you understand what iceman is trying to point out on the food list that is not available, then yes u won't even bother bout Paul. And I got a frien who work there too. Are you going to flame me? For giving you my legit review and opinions Iceman may have made the comment about Pauls not serving their flagship pastries, but that's not the question here. I asked a simple question on whether anyone has tasted the pastries at the Pauls outlet in Malaysia. Not everyone is interested whether the Paul outlet here sells their signature pastries or not. The interest is just on the pastries that are being sold at Pauls, simple as that. There are a lot of irrelevant remarks being made by Iceman such as the pastries are too costly, the new Paul outlet will not be able to sustain business for long. This thread is not to discuss this but to ask opinions from those who have tried the pastries. Nobody is interested to know whether the pastries being sold are too costly or the outlet at Pavilion may not make it for long. The question I asked is straight to the point but all sort of remarks that are out-of-context are being written. You may be sick and tired of seeing people judging food based on their own opinions but you cannot stop them from doing that as it's the norm. You cannot expect people to judge based on the original taste. Most people may not know what's the "original taste". Most important is the food tastes good to them, based on their personal palate, and that is all that matters. The pastries at the Paul outlet here in Malaysia may not have the authentic flavour of the ones being sold in France, though most people will likely not care. As long as they can taste the pastries, that's all that matters. Whether it tastes good or bad, that is irrelevant as it's up to individual taste and preferences. Not too sure about your comment on Hokkaido cheese tarts. I am not sure what message you are trying to convey here when you mentioned Malaysians are stupid to believe that Hokkaido cheese tarts are the real deal when they came out. I do think that Hokkaido cheese tarts are good and rather cheap when compared to Tokyo Secret which offers a slightly different taste albeit at a higher price. Nobody cares if Hokkaido is a secret recipe sub-company. As long as the tarts are delicious, that is all that matters. Whether the tarts are expensive or the business will close down in future, that's another discussion which is irrelevant. In closure, it's not that I didn't understand the point about the food that's not available at the outlet here in Malaysia. The point I am attacking is he did not provide the answers to the question that is being asked but rather brought irrelevant points as mentioned above. As I have mentioned before, not everyone is interested whether the food tastes authentic or not, or the food is too pricey or business is closing down soon. It's immature responses more suitable for posts at Kopitiam when all I have asked is whether anybody has tried the pastries. If one has not tried the pastries at the outlet, then better not post anything. This post has been edited by Volkswagen2: Jun 22 2017, 10:29 AM |
Jun 22 2017, 01:18 PM
150 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
Tried this bakery last week, i thought the prices are on the expensive side, but since it is in Pavillion, its still acceptable...
However when it comes to food quality, it is one of the worst restaurant that I have visited. The sandwich that we order comes with a bread that is so HARD that one will have to bite into the bread, then pull away with both hands in order to eat it.... Smoked salmon is very fishy and of low quality, Mushroom soup while thick and filled with mushroom, lack of fragrant of usual mushroom soup, waffle with hard outer crust, felt like a cookie than a waffle Service is also bad, the waiters are just zooming past us took a long time to flag a waiter to take our orders, and same when we asked for the check. Bottom line, I would not visit again. |
Jun 22 2017, 02:26 PM
491 posts Joined: Oct 2012 |
QUOTE(kit615 @ Jun 22 2017, 01:18 PM) Tried this bakery last week, i thought the prices are on the expensive side, but since it is in Pavillion, its still acceptable... Did you try the meringue and chocolate tarts? They look rather nice in the pictures. As for sandwiches, it's a pity they don't taste good considering the high price. I don't really take sandwiches though from your description it looks like Subway may be a better choice for nice sandwiches at a more down-to-earth price.However when it comes to food quality, it is one of the worst restaurant that I have visited. The sandwich that we order comes with a bread that is so HARD that one will have to bite into the bread, then pull away with both hands in order to eat it.... Smoked salmon is very fishy and of low quality, Mushroom soup while thick and filled with mushroom, lack of fragrant of usual mushroom soup, waffle with hard outer crust, felt like a cookie than a waffle Service is also bad, the waiters are just zooming past us took a long time to flag a waiter to take our orders, and same when we asked for the check. Bottom line, I would not visit again. |
Jun 22 2017, 03:14 PM
1,597 posts Joined: Nov 2005 |
I havent visited the one in Pavillion yet, and frankly in no hurry, from the pix, the Paul's selections here look much more colorful than the one's in Europe, hope it taste better than the one's in Europe too, frankly some of the smaller pattiserie's in France are better.
For those that are interested, we chanced upon a nice patisserie in France, just get out from St Paul's metro,I wont tell the name of the patisserie And if you're craving for macaroons in France, try Pierre Herme. One look at my wife after she took her first bite told me everything i need to know. This is my personal opinion ya, not interested in getting into arguments |
| Change to: | 0.0277sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:44 AM |