New French Bakery in Pavilion KL Mall

anthonywongy
post Jun 21 2017, 11:13 AM

227 posts

No, they arent nice.
How I know?Ive tried
How do I compare? I'm a pastry chef that have tried a varieties of pastries made by true french chefs.

Now you can close thread before you start flaming again

And yes Iceman is right, they aren't even serving their flagship products. Not having quiche in Pauls or any french bakery is like going to mamak with no roti canai, hence you can see they are not taking the real authentic way like the french is doing, Hence its not counted as authentic french bakery.

I'm sick and tired of seeing how Malaysians judge food based on their own context and not the real origiNAL taste, I've had a lady that came in to our shop telling our chef, that she tasted the best cream puff in Johor??? while we're making products with recipes that come from real french chef.

Take Hokkaido cheese tart as example, Malaysians are stupid enough to believe its the real deal when they first came out, maybe ure one of them, everyone is huhaing bout it, until the real recipe which is Pablo came into Malaysia, people were saying Hokkaido is better, so it must be the original cheese tart, not knowing Hokkaido is actualy secret recipe sub company.

If you understand what iceman is trying to point out on the food list that is not available, then yes u won't even bother bout Paul. And I got a frien who work there too.

Are you going to flame me? For giving you my legit review and opinions
anthonywongy
post Jun 22 2017, 12:16 AM

227 posts

You sure you won't be like the lady I mentioned earlier? No hard feeling, its purely my view as a chef. If u want, I can deliver some sample to you because we are supplying in SME size, you know not all foreigner can open a big shop like Paul, in malaysia
anthonywongy
post Jun 22 2017, 12:19 AM

227 posts

And all butter, say no to shortening and margarine! Peace.
anthonywongy
post Jun 26 2017, 01:43 AM

227 posts

QUOTE(Volkswagen2 @ Jun 22 2017, 10:26 AM)
Nobody is going to criticize anybody for no reason. Everyone is entitled to his opinions. Most importantly is you have tried the pastries at Pauls. Your opinion is appreciated.

Iceman may have made the comment about Pauls not serving their flagship pastries, but that's not the question here. I asked a simple question on whether anyone has tasted the pastries at the Pauls outlet in Malaysia. Not everyone is interested whether the Paul outlet here sells their signature pastries or not. The interest is just on the pastries that are being sold at Pauls, simple as that. There are a lot of irrelevant remarks being made by Iceman such as the pastries are too costly, the new Paul outlet will not be able to sustain business for long. This thread is not to discuss this but to ask opinions from those who have tried the pastries. Nobody is interested to know whether the pastries being sold are too costly or the outlet at Pavilion may not make it for long. The question I asked is straight to the point but all sort of remarks that are out-of-context are being written.

You may be sick and tired of seeing people judging food based on their own opinions but you cannot stop them from doing that as it's the norm. You cannot expect people to judge based on the original taste. Most people may not know what's the "original taste". Most important is the food tastes good to them, based on their personal palate, and that is all that matters. The pastries at the Paul outlet here in Malaysia may not have the authentic flavour of the ones being sold in France, though most people will likely not care. As long as they can taste the pastries, that's all that matters. Whether it tastes good or bad, that is irrelevant as it's up to individual taste and preferences.

Not too sure about your comment on Hokkaido cheese tarts. I am not sure what message you are trying to convey here when you mentioned Malaysians are stupid to believe that Hokkaido cheese tarts are the real deal when they came out. I do think that Hokkaido cheese tarts are good and rather cheap when compared to Tokyo Secret which offers a slightly different taste albeit at a higher price. Nobody cares if Hokkaido is a secret recipe sub-company. As long as the tarts are delicious, that is all that matters. Whether the tarts are expensive or the business will close down in future, that's another discussion which is irrelevant.

In closure, it's not that I didn't understand the point about the food that's not available at the outlet here in Malaysia. The point I am attacking is he did not provide the answers to the question that is being asked but rather brought irrelevant points as mentioned above. As I have mentioned before, not everyone is interested whether the food tastes authentic or not, or the food is too pricey or business is closing down soon. It's immature responses more suitable for posts at Kopitiam when all I have asked is whether anybody has tried the pastries. If one has not tried the pastries at the outlet, then better not post anything.
Cheers, no hard feeling anyway. Hope you can really get some time to try it out yourselves XD

0.0181sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 07:28 AM