4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

V1. Swiftlet Keeping-EVERYTHING About The Industry, Techniques, Tips, Tricks, Complaints etc

aeiou228
post Jul 28 2008, 06:21 PM

5,867 posts

州大臣:市區養燕問題多‧登尋地點闢養燕區

http://mykampung.sinchew.com.my/node/38400?tid=10

To swiftlet breeders from KT,
I intend to build a farm out side of KT town ( low density kampong area ). Will the proposed centralisation farming give any impact to my project ?
aeiou228
post Jul 29 2008, 01:14 PM

5,867 posts

Hi, I have just discovered this thread through google even though I have been pretty active in Lowyat.NET for the past 2 years. I am very interested in this industry and is picking up the knowledges from Sifu here before building my BH DIY style.

Here goes my first contribution to this thread:

"如何开拓燕窝市场" 讲座会

马来西亚中华工商联合会 星洲日报 吉隆坡暨雪兰莪中华工商总会 主办 农牧世界 协办

日 期 : 2008年7月12日(星期六)

时 间 : 上午10时至下午4时30分

地 点 : 隆雪中华工商总会成枫堂

Ground Floor, Wisma Chinese Chamber

258, Jalan Ampang, 50450 Kuala Lumpur

Tel: 03-42532135

主持人:郭隆生先生、王令仲博士、张光明博士

1. 讲题 (1):如何開拓中國燕窩市場

主讲者 :陳勁錠先生

2. 讲题 (2):燕窩出口指南

主讲者 : 蔡文泰律師生

3. 讲题 (3):開拓燕窩市場經驗談

主讲者 :駱榮富先生

4. 讲题 (4):燕窩下游工業

主讲者 :黃祥華先生

5. 讲题 (5):燕窩業的前景

主讲者 :拿督巴杜卡馬興松

欢迎各位踊跃出席。请于2008年7月28日前回复秘书处曾善美 / 张喜明女士。

电话:03-4253 2135;传真:03-4253 2524 / 0

RM100 per person.
I will be attending and hope to meet you guys there.

http://www.chinesechamber.org.my/mainwnc.htm

aeiou228
post Jul 30 2008, 03:45 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(long2292 @ Jul 30 2008, 09:46 AM)
Hi all, I'm new to this business and planning to buy over one of the swiftlet house (shoplot) 100m away from sea in Pontian. Please advice
1.What precaution I need to look at and is it possible to get lessen there?
2.Is it consider success SH if got abt 200 nests in 2 years time?

Thanks in advance
If i were you, i will avoid investing in commercial shop lot for BH instead of purposed built BH on agri land. There were indications from the local councils to discourage BH in the populated area and the recent statement from Terengganu MB was one good example. The risk is high if the BH is located in the commercial area cos we never know when the local town council want to chase us out due to political reason.
BH is a long term investment, if you have a choice better avoid the risk which is clearly visible before your own eyes.

aeiou228
post Jul 30 2008, 11:29 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Jul 30 2008, 07:06 PM)
You are trying to scare all newbiz away and you are not in D industry> So, what do you really know about D swiftlets industry? .................................
Wow !!.... what an overreaction from you West Wing. shocking.gif sweat.gif Sorry if i ever stepped on your toe. sweat.gif
Relax Bro....It was just merely my spontaneous personal view responded to long2292 query in open forum.. ..... I did not purposely write a stand alone post with intention to scare off new investor and i am not even from the group of people who wanted to built the so called BH Eco farm. I join this thread simply because I am interested to DIY a small BH my self and learn from all sifus here that is all.

My intention to reply long2292 query was just want to share some of my little info I heard from my BH owner friends from KT that there were people sabotaging town BH owners by hanging banner in KT town area to urge state government to take action against BH owners. Maybe nothing will happen in the next foreseeable future but the political pressure is getting heavier then ever from the non breeders...therefore we can't just look at the bright side only as local council policies changes is a risk in swiflet farming that breeders can not deny.......wait a minute ?? is it wrong or too sensitive to share such info here ?? But the title of this thread is "Swiftlet Farming-EVERYTHING About The Industry" what ? rclxub.gif
To all town BH owners, no offence intended. I am just sharing info here in this open forum. sweat.gif

Anyway, I have learn quite a fair bit of swiflet knowledges from your previous posts and including your last post as your mentioned about the disadvantages of BH farming in Kg area and the risk of so called BH Eco park. Thank you for sharing and kudos to thread starter seeseng and all sifus here who were willing to share their experiences in this very tight-mouthed industry.notworthy.gif .
aeiou228
post Aug 2 2008, 09:30 PM

5,867 posts

About the ultrasound, I did ask this question to CS experts before and they too rejected the claim that it will attract more births. CS said swiflets have more or less the sound hearing ability as human being and what human can't hear, Swiflets can't hear it too. CS advised don't wait money on this method.

QUOTE(West Wing @ Aug 1 2008, 12:16 AM)
I did and I am proud to say that I did it in  3 years so can you. Sorry if I sound  boosting but that I want to share my good fortune to others and I want others to share my God's given wealth; I am not selfish and want you to try and if you are successful, just remember me and pm me when you become rich as I will be very happy knowing that I have help another fellow man.

Well, to me, you don't sound boosting at all. you are just being truthful in your writing and I respect your willingness to share and help other fellow man and your unselfishness virtue. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
aeiou228
post Aug 25 2008, 12:40 PM

5,867 posts

To all Sifus
I will be building a 20' x 70' x 11' x 3 storey BH on a agri land soon but still undecided on the design and lay out of the BH.
I would appreciate if you can share your experience and expert opinion in this matter.
aeiou228
post Aug 26 2008, 02:06 PM

5,867 posts

Thanks for the feed backs.
Yes, my BH friends also advice me to built the BH wider like 24' if budget is not an issue. My contractor charge me RM34 per sqft (including material and nesting plank), there will be an additional cost of 4' x 70' x 3storey x RM34 = RM28,560.00. sweat.gif
My BH design will adopt the tunnel method that is, a void area (roving area) of 20' x 16' from top floor to ground level at the end of the building. The balance of 20' x 54' x 3 floors will be designated for the nesting area.

Is 20' w x 16' d x 42' h good enough for internal roving area ?
( i have a 20'w x 16'd x 9' h foyer on top of the building for the entrance hole )

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Aug 26 2008, 02:12 PM
aeiou228
post Aug 27 2008, 02:37 PM

5,867 posts

Below is the basic sketch of my BH. Please comment or better still, criticise. notworthy.gif
To view larger image, click the image then ctrl +

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Aug 27 2008, 02:41 PM
aeiou228
post Aug 27 2008, 02:55 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(athlic @ Aug 26 2008, 02:25 PM)
remember your safety features ya. no point having no life while nest a lot.
Yes, yes, thank you ! thank you ! Recently one BH owner fell to his death ( tunnel type BH ) in Terengganu. Safety features in my BH will be the main priority.
aeiou228
post Aug 28 2008, 06:22 PM

5,867 posts

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=18071688

Dear West Wing
I read your above posting#1091 with interest and now I have 2nd thought for my yet to build BH side entry hole. If I change to open roof entrance (on top of the tunnel) How can i solve these issues
1) Direct sunlight from top during noon time ?
2) Rain water dispersement ?
3) Tweeters placement to prevent direct rain fall ?

my draft BH design is here:
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=19500812

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Aug 28 2008, 09:08 PM
aeiou228
post Sep 5 2008, 05:15 PM

5,867 posts

Where is the best location to open the LAL ( Lubang Antara Lantai ) between 2 floors in a 20 x 70 stand alone BH ?
According to Dr E Nugroho of EKA Walet book, the idea place is at the end corner where nesting room entrance hole is at the opposite end. If the LAL is located along the side wall, the birds will tend to fly straight and chances of flying down/up the LAL is lesser. LAL at the corner will force the bird to turn and while turning it is easier for the birds to fly down to the LAL.

Can any experience Sifu here give me suggestion and opinion on this situation ?

aeiou228
post Sep 8 2008, 10:38 AM

5,867 posts

Thank you Swift4ever and West Wing for your valuable feed back.

aeiou228
post Sep 10 2008, 05:37 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(swifbuild @ Sep 10 2008, 02:49 PM)
200k per acre still can buy but some area totally can't sell to chinese no matter how much you pay.

I pity the seller really pity, chinese pays 10 times higher he still can't sell but he can sell to other who pays 10 times lower this is the only regulation & system that work here>You can not find such thing in the entire world except here....beautiful & wonderful country.

So who benefit...ha..ha...ha.. stupid isn't it.

I suggest this type of land should be kept til the next cycle of dinosaur time. rclxms.gif
Malay reserved land doesn't really benefit the Malay in terms of monetary gain but in terms of preserving the Malay land, yes indeed.
Malay property developer pay lower price to the Malay reserved land owner because the developed properties on a Malay reserved land fetch lower prices than the free hole titled properties. As a result, you hardly see any Malay reserved area developed into a big township. One good example is Kg Baru located just right in the heart of Kuala Lumpur.

QUOTE(West Wing @ Sep 10 2008, 11:43 AM)
Here, much higher about Rm50-Rm55....so expensive and the workmanship bad, too. Maybe, the contractors think that BHs ranchers are all very rich and don't mind paying. They charge cheaper in town with are more expensive to build.......what logic?
That kind of price is only justifiable for constructing a normal residence house but it will be indeed very expensive for a BH.
aeiou228
post Sep 11 2008, 06:04 PM

5,867 posts

Agreed agreed, we don't talk politic, we talk bird here.

I hv these BH questions to ask all sifu,

1) Do I need 3 units hygrostat for a 3 floors BH (20'x70') ?

2) If I do, how is it possible to connect to one water pump to mist spray 3 different floor individually ?

3) If Q 2) is not possible, buying 2 extra hygrostats will be a waste doesn't it ?
aeiou228
post Sep 11 2008, 10:51 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(swift4ever @ Sep 11 2008, 07:37 PM)
In my humble opinion, top floor and lower floors hygrostat readings are different. So no harm having 3. On Q2, water pump must be at least 1hp to do a good mist spray at 3 floors. I haven't tried this mist spray extensively so this is just my observation only.
Thanks for your opinion, swift4ever.
I plan to have 3 hygrostat for each floor but then I don't know how to connect to one water pump so that it can spray mist individually in each floor according to the respective hygrostat.

QUOTE(West Wing @ Sep 11 2008, 08:00 PM)
Giving my 5 sen electrical knowledge, you just connect your  3 unit of hydrostats to each floor control by a electrical flow valve. Your electrician should be able to fix the valve at each floor. This way, you need one pump only,  once one floor is cool enough, it will shut off leaving the other two running or either way. It a small problem and for the pump, it will be control by the top floor as the top floor will be dryer and hotter of all 3 floors.
Wow.... ! West Wing, this is such a marvellous ideal. I have been squeezing my little brain cells left and right for about a week now to find a solution for this but to no avail.
Well, Thank you Sir, you solved me a problem. As wise old sayings, old ginger is always spicier.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Sep 11 2008, 11:02 PM
aeiou228
post Sep 12 2008, 10:55 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(seeseng @ Sep 12 2008, 02:38 AM)

p/s aeiou229 if you want to find electronic 2-way valve, PVC nozzles, pumps, hygrostat etc There's a shop in Kg. Cina selling.  whistling.gif
Thank you for the lengthy mist spray installation details. Yes, I know the shop in Kg Cina, will go there to do some shopping when my BH completed.

QUOTE(swift4ever @ Sep 12 2008, 09:31 AM)
For at least 20 nozzles to run simultaneously and for all 3 valve shut to power off the pump, pump might have to run longer than we can control. Overheating the pump more often and service and repair will be more also.
But for your suggestion, another 1HP pump may not be necessary if your source of supply is not a problem to the top floor tanki, in which case, you save the hassle to install another pump.
You mean when the required humidity is reached and the Hygrostat shut down the electric flow valve, the water pump wouldn't off simultaneously ?

aeiou228
post Sep 13 2008, 01:52 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(seeseng @ Sep 13 2008, 11:44 AM)
Problem of this switch when in mist spray system is it will only trigger off the pump when the pressure is high. Pressure become high when the output side is block. Under situation of no water supply it will still run dry.
The above problem can be overcome by fixing a electric flow valve + Hygrostat on each floor main water outlet as suggested by West Wing earlier isn't it ?

QUOTE(seeseng @ Sep 13 2008, 11:44 AM)
The water supply must come from tanky. Inside the tanky the float is wired to a contact switch where it supply power to the pump. When the water level low the contact switch at the float will disconnect power to the pump. Only reconnect when water level rise to a required level.
Wow....very complicated. Is there any 'wonder valve' just fix before the water inlet of the pump that can do this wonder..... no water supply, pump wouldn't power on even thought Hygrostat trigger the electric flow valve to open the water flow in the pipe ?

aeiou228
post Sep 13 2008, 04:50 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(seeseng @ Sep 13 2008, 02:36 PM)
Yes I know about hygrostat electronic 2-way valve. I was explaining how a pressure switch works not finding solution for a problem. FYI electronic valve can be more expensive than the pump. 3 units around RM9xx.
Aaaik... hmm.gif then might as well use 3 water pump for 3 floors ?? rclxub.gif back to square one again. doh.gif
aeiou228
post Sep 15 2008, 02:54 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Northstation @ Sep 15 2008, 08:47 AM)
Hello to all Sifu,

I'm new in Swiftlet farming and would like to learn more about it. I've been searching the web and stumbled upon few Swiftlet farming blogs and sites that include Lowyat.

I need some opinions from all Sifu here, which of the blogs and sites are providing useful infomation for new person like me in this field ?

Thanks in advance to all Sifu.
I have visited almost all the swiflets blogs and web sites in Malaysia and Indonesia and my preference is here in LYN. Why ? Because unlike Blog, I can post questions here and there are so many sifus here are willing to share their experiences in swiflet farming with you without expecting anything in return. The sifu here are mostly experience BH rancher themselves and off course some of them are part time consultant.
Swiftbuild, Harry, Pak henmulia, W.O.S.G are some of my favourite blog sites that worth reading and I really appreciate these bloggers who are willing to share their knowledges and pictures in swiflet farming to all of us.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Sep 15 2008, 06:10 PM
aeiou228
post Sep 17 2008, 11:44 AM

5,867 posts

Guys, I have a piece of Agri land in Kuala Terengganu. Can build several stand alone BHs. The land is right below the flying path of Swiflets. Any one interested to JV please PM me.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0757sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:30 PM