V1. Swiftlet Keeping-EVERYTHING About The Industry, Techniques, Tips, Tricks, Complaints etc

aeiou228
post Feb 6 2009, 10:22 PM

5,867 posts

We are about to reach 2500 postings and we must close this thread and elect our v2 thread starter now. The job of the new v2 thread starter is to open a new v2 thread and reserve the 1st to 10th postings under him in order to copy and paste sticky issues, important informations and essence compilation from this 1st thread. Any one wanna take up the job ???
Sooner or later, v1 will be closed by Mod and all informations and discussions here will be gone after some time.
aeiou228
post Feb 7 2009, 12:07 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(chiongguo @ Feb 6 2009, 11:09 PM)
Anyway to get an archival copy ?

As this forum is so active I think moving to a google group or yahoo group is much better. I think due to the wealth of information in here a FAQ should be compiled and discussed. Moving to a google group will allow threading, easy reference and searches, file sharing , photos etc.

The archive can be moved to the file section of the google group and anyone coming along can often reference it.

Just my thought.
Ops...! if the admin sees this, he will grant you some holidays sweat.gif sweat.gif

QUOTE(chiongguo @ Feb 6 2009, 11:33 PM)
Someone had asked me for the system I am using in my BH for humidity control.  Below are some photographs of what I meant.

This is the float valve. I cannibalised it from the chicken farm humidifier.

This is the picture of the drainage channel and the cloth. The cloth must first be soak in water before hanging over the side. The wet cloth will start the water absorption and water from the channel will be pulled upwards and then downwards. If you don't wet the cloth the water may not rise over the edge of the drainage channel.

Humidity can be raised by adding more surface area along the drain. 

From recent discussion here I think shit may get into the drain and I intent to add a cover. This is also to prevent mosquitoes from laying eggs in the drain.

I filled the drain this morning and shortly after I started sweating and the humidity meter recorded a steady rise in humidty.  It works. 

As for controlling ventilation one thought that came to me was the use of louvred window. It will just be your normal window on the wall with a metal/plastic/wood backing to cut out the light. The louvre can be used to control ventilation and humidity. I don't have a picture (can never draw even if my life depended on it) but just imagine an ordinary window with louvred pane.  Has anyone tried out this approach ?
Interesting idea...
Questions
1) How do you control the topping up of water automatically accordingly to the humidity of the BH ?
2) What is the estimated cost to set up this system ? lets compare to the cost of chicken farm humidifier (RM400).

aeiou228
post Feb 7 2009, 03:19 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(chiongguo @ Feb 7 2009, 01:27 PM)
      One 20' drainage is about Rm80. The float valve RM10. The support brackets is about RM10 (I used 4). The cloth is about RM20/=. I used to pack.  Pipes and all the elbows and joints is another RM20. I think this is good for 1000 sq ft. room.

Very interesting... Do you reckon I can reduce the cost further by replacing the drainage with 4" PVC pipe ? Just cut a 1" x 2' opening at the top of the PVC pipe for the insertion of cloth. By using PVC pipe, we don't have to worry about the drainage cover anymore. A 4" x 20' PVC pipe is around RM20 to RM30 per piece.

Any sifu can commend about the reliability of chicken farm humidifier ? Will it gives me 2 -3 years of problem-free service performance ?
aeiou228
post Feb 7 2009, 11:01 PM

5,867 posts

This is something that I am not proud to write.

I don't know what to do and who to talk to.

Recently there was a briefing with the Menteri Besar of Johor on Swiftlet Farming. After the briefing the Menteri Besar asked the person in charge to proceed with the best recommendations on the guidelines.

The person called the Johore BH owners association head to drop by for a formal discussion with the hope to see their views and points.

What happened was frightening. The Association head have the chick to tell the person off by saying that he have no time for the Kementerian people. He has other matters to attend to.

So he never turned up or ask for a new date.

This person was so piss off and I think you can imagine what will happen to all swiftlet farmers in Johore.

I am sure it won't be something good but the attitudes of these associations head need to be more civilized.

If they are not willing to fight for their members then what is the purpose of holding their high post?

Their negative actions are causing more harm to the Industries.

To all Johorian, I feel very sad with what is going to happen and please blame your association head for the damage.

Here I am putting my neck for the farmers and I got stabbed at the back while those association heads are not doing anything.

I feel really sad and I hope those who are stabbing my back should focus their attentions to those who need to be criticized. I don't deserve those bad remarks.

Above was extracted from Harry's blog. Can any Johor farmers commend about it ?
aeiou228
post Feb 7 2009, 11:36 PM

5,867 posts

sorry wrong posting deleted.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Feb 7 2009, 11:37 PM
aeiou228
post Feb 12 2009, 09:58 AM

5,867 posts

chiongguo

Mind to share the complete set up of your humidity control invention with more pictures ? I've still can't grasp the whole concept in your earlier posts. Thanks.
aeiou228
post Feb 14 2009, 06:53 PM

5,867 posts

Just wanna make things right. chiongguo is from Kuantan and have BH in Kuantan whereas Harry is based in KL but having his BH in SP. Both are two different people.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Feb 14 2009, 06:54 PM
aeiou228
post Feb 14 2009, 10:48 PM

5,867 posts

PLEASE VOLUNTEER YOUR SELF TO HELP US DO IT :-

1) PAGE 1 TO 10 - VOLUNTEER NAME :

2) PAGE 11 TO 20 - VOLUNTEER NAME :

3) PAGE 21 TO 30 - VOLUNTEER NAME :

4) PAGE 31 TO 40 - VOLUNTEER NAME :

5) PAGE 41 TO 50 - VOLUNTEER NAME :

6) PAGE 51 TO 60 - VOLUNTEER NAME :

7) PAGE 61 TO 70 - VOLUNTEER NAME :

8) PAGE 71 TO 80 - VOLUNTEER NAME :

9) PAGE 81 TO 90 - VOLUNTEER NAME :

10) PAGE 91 TO 100 - VOLUNTEER NAME :

11) PAGE 101 TO 110 - VOLUNTEER NAME : aeiou228

12) PAGE 111 TO 120 - VOLUNTEER NAME : ChanK

PLEASE KEY IN YOUR NAME SO THAT WE KNOW SOMEONE IS SAVING THE POSTS N WE CAN PROCEED TO SAVE OTHER PAGES.

Chank, I think we copy only the useful postings such as tips, new ideal, latest infor and discard those non constructive arguments. Compile all archives in a words doc and attach it in the 1st post of v2 thread and name it "v1 archive doc file". Whoever wanna down load it can do it any time he wish to.

If no one want to become TS, I shall open a new v2 thread and reserve the 1st 10 posts for faq and future updates. Any takers ??

aeiou228
post Feb 15 2009, 02:35 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(ChanK @ Feb 15 2009, 07:56 AM)
THANK YOU !! THANK YOU!!! Engineer Lee..You Are The Man.

Brother aeiou228, i think you can set up the v1 for all of us as you are more familiar with all this. We count on you.
I I will open the v2 thread on 1/3/2009 or v1 reached 2500 postings which ever come first.
Based on goggle key-word search, lowyat.net swiftlet thread is ranked as follows:

swiftlet = rank 15
swiftlet farming = rank 4

As swiftlet keeping is still a new term and most people will still use the above key words to search, I would like to suggest that we remain the "Swiftlet farming" as our topic in order to increase the chance of reach.

Engineer Lee, can you email the archive to me as per Pmed ?

aeiou228
post Feb 16 2009, 11:16 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(West Wing @ Feb 15 2009, 11:41 AM)
Engineer Lee......You are very helpful and deeply  appreciated by all.
Seeseng, why such a long silent from you ?? we elected you to be the new v2 TS. Kindly open a new thread and reserve the 1st 10 postings for sticky info.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0605sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:39 AM