LYN Power Tools Discussion V2, Bosch, Makita, Dewalt, Dremel etc

SUSceo684
post Sep 5 2021, 03:33 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(star0c3an @ Sep 5 2021, 03:10 PM)
Makita 5801 was in part of my wishlist (second link) which is 1050w vs stanley 1600w,  I think will mainly deal with 12mm plywood

would you recommend Bosch over Makita? I would prefer to buy a better quality brand and safety always the top priority for me.
I'm more Bosch oriented because of pricing and (I like to see that companies not afraid of having a proper datasheet) plus you get a 1300W bigger motor (so in hardwood you don't run the risk of the blade slowing down and bogging down but circ saw rotation direction is safe as it'll just tighten itself into the wood).

Between Bosch and Makita..Equally I would regard both as good as each other smile.gif

My stuff is heavily Bosch coz my dad is a "Bosch for life" person so that adage also carried down to me. Personally I have the previous version circ saw GKS7000, with parallel guide it cuts very cleanly with fine cut 80T blade. If you want super fast cut without need of finesse you can use a 40T blade. (More teeth finer cut but slower).

I guess you can say I'mma Bosch and Kyoritsu meter gal coz of these, some for work:
GSB180Li drill driver
GBH180Li cordless rotohammer
GBH 2-24 rotohammer
GDS 18V 400 impact wrench
GWS060 grinder
GKS7000 circ saw
GST700 jigsaw

Makita mini router

Kyoritsu clamp n desktop DMM
tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ceo684: Sep 5 2021, 03:38 PM
SUSceo684
post Sep 6 2021, 07:42 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Sep 6 2021, 10:36 AM)
That is probably more on perception most people have because of brand name. Bosch has many models and made using cheaper motor from China nowadays.

Even the US customers have complains on quality due breakdown frequency. They even compare made in US and China, Philippines, or Malaysia. Well, they probably less aware that even Milwaukee also made in China  laugh.gif
The made in Japan makita that comes in red pink white purple are cute wub.gif

https://www.amazon.co.jp/TD149DZP-Makita-Ch...30928539&sr=8-2
SUSceo684
post Sep 13 2021, 09:48 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(odin140 @ Sep 13 2021, 09:44 PM)
3M not the rm10 kinds for chemical. but rather the slightly more expensive kind for impact protection. your eyes are priceless!
You mean these type of polycarbonate goggle?

https://shopee.com.my/product/170086754/5362063668
SUSceo684
post Sep 15 2021, 04:03 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(SheepGeeks @ Sep 15 2021, 03:58 PM)
Wow.. thanks for the informative reply.

You can run the 250A set in home? any modification required on the mccb?

I favor TIG because it seems easier to control and to create unique weld pattern. MIG more to straight line. Apart of that, did you keep the argon gas tank at home? any issue on that?
Check input amps..you probably need to run a high amp line from DB box, even a 120A output MIG can suck 18A or 23A input current.

Something like 10mm² or 16mm² cables and 32A or 63A high current plugs will be required I think. They wont be able to operate on 13A socket.
SUSceo684
post Sep 15 2021, 07:19 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ Sep 15 2021, 06:59 PM)
guys ..
chain saw received ..

but wat oil to use for the chain ?
seller only gave empty oil bottle ..

thanks ...
https://www.3inone.com/products/multi-purpose-oil/
3 in 1 oil sounds good. Locally got sell ard 7 or 8 bucks.
SUSceo684
post Sep 15 2021, 08:41 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ Sep 15 2021, 07:44 PM)
shopee lazada have ?
are u sure cooking oil ?
Got..i bought also
https://s.lazada.com.my/s.WggWs
SUSceo684
post Sep 15 2021, 10:30 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ Sep 15 2021, 10:26 PM)
done order ...

will the oil keep on lesser and lesser ?
after some times need to topup the oil ?

thanks ...
Ideally before and after use can put a few drops, for lube n rust prevention. I use it to keep my hand tools eg bahco spanners & knipex pliers lubed up to prevent rust.
SUSceo684
post Sep 17 2021, 06:48 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(sgpdsmss @ Sep 16 2021, 09:31 AM)
few drop on all the chain part?

my hand saw mostly rusty already due to no supply oil tothe saw..
singer oil can use to keep inside the chain saw oil tank?
to keep the chain oil bath ?
Ya on the chain part..sprocket.
Its actually SAE 20 mineral oil la for the 3in1 bottle.

Chain tank if ur chainsaw use SAE20 (motor oil spec) then can use that..the tank one see what the chainsaw require
SUSceo684
post Sep 18 2021, 01:46 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(odin140 @ Sep 18 2021, 01:20 AM)
not exactly power tool but related, what impact sockets u guys using? happy to move my question elsewhere if not appropriate.

i got a set of total impact socket but wondering if theres better alternative.
not to the level of snap on la. but rather affordable and decent.
For me I don't use bigger than 21mm impact sockets much. But one thing for sure I prefer 6pt anytime..not a fan of 12pt.
Deep socket 21mm for lug nuts, SATA taiwan fits well for me and are quite well made for the price..
Smaller ones I just use the bosch set of shallow impact sockets.

I actually have assorted bits of chrome non impact ones from stanley/cross or crafts man (cant remember).

This post has been edited by ceo684: Sep 18 2021, 01:46 AM
SUSceo684
post Sep 19 2021, 03:04 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(odin140 @ Sep 19 2021, 12:10 AM)
eh got sata taiwan? isn't it all manufactured in china now? 6 point for me as well, dont want to strip the heads. almost similar with you, 17mm most used for me. anything above rarely gets used.
have any of the bosch or sata crack before? also both are cr-mo?
i felt SATA pricing actually above average. have always heard good reviews but compared to other brands, seem like their prices bit on the high side. i got a swivel socket in cr-mo for rm40 at knight. where u usually get your sata from?

also, yes im a fan of 6 point. for tight spaces i got the swivel socket from them haha.
Lemme check.. My SATA ones are CrMo ("usual" impact sockets).. I thought they were TW made.. alamak PRC punya mega_shok.gif
Bosch ones use some sort of softer S2 (officially "S2 Modified Steel and an optimised heat-treatment process provide extra-tough endurance for high performance") bruce.gif

So far held up well with my impact wrench. I believe as long as its impact rated it should be safe to use lah...and NOT CR-V (chrome sockets) will be the main criteria for using on impact wrench.

If not mistaken, impact rated black socket usually only come in 6pt version only biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ceo684: Sep 19 2021, 03:10 AM
SUSceo684
post Sep 19 2021, 01:59 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(odin140 @ Sep 19 2021, 09:36 AM)
Which kind of dealer u getting your sata from? the Sata parellel import china ones or is it the official sata dealer for malaysia?
Should be parallel import ones..but from local hardware store. I noticed if I'm getting thin wall sockets the more legit listing on lazada also say its consumable, not within lifetime wty - so no reason to pay more? Or the official channel one will also cover such "consumables"?

SUSceo684
post Sep 20 2021, 01:54 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(odin140 @ Sep 19 2021, 09:07 PM)
yeap, no reason to pay more but just wondering if u get better prices?

from what i understand, no warranty for sockets at all, if official dealer dont have then the parallel import i think lagi dont have.

i buy from knight, packaging also dont have.

looking at sata website having so many statements about similar products, makes me worried its from different manufacturers.
I got mine online. Geolaser is also an actual hardware store lol smile.gif
41 bucks delivered for two pcs 21mm thin wall (not the plastic coated thin wall) sockets. Decided to get two in case one broke.

I got it with the sata box, product seems legit. If you have use for the other sizes I think there's a set of six sockets covering 17 19 19 21 21 21 kinda thing for below 80 bucks.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Sep 20 2021, 02:00 AM

SUSceo684
post Sep 21 2021, 06:58 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Sep 21 2021, 07:53 AM)
Why not buy from MrDIY? It comes with a set of different sizes.
Good idea. For me its because I mainly use single size 21mm more.. the rest lesser used.

Also cannot assume ALL black socket can work for impact wrench, some of the cheaper ones I saw are black painted CRV (black painted chrome socket material)..must be at least CrMo material ya.
SUSceo684
post Sep 27 2021, 04:25 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(PalakOtakHang @ Sep 27 2021, 03:50 PM)
I want to buy rotary hammer drill to drill holes in wall, Using for home diy purpose only.

I see MR.DIY selling for ~200. (warranty 15 days); some oem china brand selling <200 (1years). Which 1 is better?
200 bucks buy Daewoo lah. Its powerful enough for any finger or thumb sized holes.

https://shopee.com.my/product/3127509/11306471915

MrD one manyak mahal. Used to be 149 ish but at 200..buy Daewoo better. It is hard to send things to China for warranty claim.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Sep 27 2021, 04:29 PM
SUSceo684
post Sep 27 2021, 07:11 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(chamelion @ Sep 27 2021, 04:46 PM)
Bosch spare part more expensive than whole unit.. blush.gif
Lol i thought mostly just the carbon brush fail over time but not that expensive to change..
SUSceo684
post Oct 4 2021, 02:58 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Oct 3 2021, 10:03 PM)
Anyone here has Bosch X-lock GWX 17-125ci angle grinder?

Worth to get it or not?
X lock Will save time compared to normal 100mm basic one..if you run a foundry or metalworks place. Else not much diff if not used heavily..changing cutting disc only takes 30 seconds with the basic bosch. Most small SME firm get by with the basic bosch GWS 060.. it is quite a workhorse, and most of the time cutting at max speed safer (less jamming risk) than running too slowly. The variable speed may be good if u do more grinding than cutting?

The X lock use 125mm disc..still cute laugh.gif this one still not the big plate size disc ones used in foundry where they really use it all day, everyday.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Oct 4 2021, 03:03 AM
SUSceo684
post Oct 4 2021, 12:39 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Oct 4 2021, 12:27 PM)
If you don't mind not to have 3rd party disc al alternative for a while, then no problem. I think currently maybe no other alternative available except to buy only Bosch  biggrin.gif
125 disc alao not that common size I think laugh.gif but can buy online wan lah.
SUSceo684
post Oct 4 2021, 07:28 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(lyt25_1234 @ Oct 4 2021, 06:45 PM)
Oops, correction. It's the other way round.
Okay, im going for Bosch GWS 17-125CI
Excellent choice rclxms.gif
I just took delivery of a new toy too..hehe

SUSceo684
post Oct 11 2021, 10:48 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(IceBikers @ Oct 10 2021, 10:34 PM)
Hi, I'm looking for a  budget cordless drill for ad-hoc screwing and drill some hole for equipment installation.

Is it ok if I get this? 36v impact drill? Or any better recommend ation?
https://shopee.com.my/product/343370131/904...96-1633874676.9

Btw I don'tvhag the concept of the volt, do I really need 36v.  Primarily would be using for screwing screw and secondary if can drill wall for equipment installation.
Drill wall depends on brickwall or concrete. If concrete... laugh.gif nothing happen one. So u need to advise what material u drilling into.

Aa a screwdriver shud work well enough
SUSceo684
post Oct 11 2021, 08:55 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(IceBikers @ Oct 11 2021, 02:09 PM)
Usually brick wall
The very cheap china ones alao come in variety of prices.
Super elcheapo one wont be much use beyond screws..
About 90 100 bucks is generic 12V tool despite whatever fake V they say. About 25Nm is similar to bosch gsb120.

54Nm one for more torque is GSB180.

But if buying cordless leh . Many choice available. Mostly 12V or 18V good enough already.
12V more compact but not super powerful. Light and small.
18V bigger toys and more robust. Better runtime.
36V if you are in heavy construction.
China tool V, cannot trust. Fake V.

QUOTE(dickybird @ Oct 11 2021, 02:29 PM)
any recommendations for powered screwdriver?
thanks in advance
Ahh since both of these are similar questions can refer above.
If you're expanding the tool range then brand consideration matters..

QUOTE(PalakOtakHang @ Oct 11 2021, 07:11 PM)
off topic but somehow relevant, i dont want to open new thread to ask question. Hence, posting  here.

Bought these expansion screws from MrD to mount pull up bar onto the wall (Couldnt find other type of expansion bolt). What is the thing circled in red?
Specifically that is a spring washer to be placed in btwn the flat washer and the nut.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Oct 11 2021, 08:56 PM

12 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.1801sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:23 PM