LYN Power Tools Discussion V2, Bosch, Makita, Dewalt, Dremel etc

ar188
post Jan 14 2018, 11:02 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(entire @ Jan 14 2018, 08:13 AM)
I know, I'm collecting fund to get miter  blink.gif  but then is small woods shud be no problem, theres no bite at all~
cool. hope you get one soon. one of the more frequently used tools for woodworking apart from table saw.

slide miter is very useful also. biggrin.gif
ar188
post Jan 16 2018, 09:32 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 16 2018, 05:18 PM)
=

Even she also can operate.
she "from porto" is damn good le. not your average DIYer. or else dont think so many people wanna send her free stuff to play with
ar188
post Jan 26 2018, 08:08 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(odour_stop @ Jan 26 2018, 03:06 AM)
so the bulk list is here:

1. lucifah (no ayam not gonna be the one doing the buying from SG LOL)
2. ar188
3. odour_stop (I can collect from KL)
wow nice. how to bulk?
ar188
post Jan 26 2018, 02:41 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(odour_stop @ Jan 26 2018, 11:16 AM)
ar188 loc?

If divide to 5-6 person. The delivery charge to Sarawak maybe can get below RM5 per person.
me PJ/Subang biggrin.gif
ar188
post Feb 7 2018, 02:31 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(odour_stop @ Feb 2 2018, 09:55 PM)
What is the purpose?

the best use for it. rclxms.gif
ar188
post Feb 10 2018, 10:21 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(shadow_walker @ Feb 8 2018, 04:14 PM)
guys..i am looking for a jigsaw. but too many brands & model lol. bosch, makita, stanley. any particular model that is good? i want professional grade one but maybe entry level professional lar..haha

before this i bought ikea jigsaw..LOL...quality really sucks..lol
festool one is really good, 2nd up is the bosch one. they perform well at the curve sections.

since i am in the cordless camp, i am using ryobi cordless. very good for outdoor use and times when u only need to cut 1-2minutes of stuff and dont need to find a power plug
ar188
post Feb 14 2018, 10:31 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(shadow_walker @ Feb 14 2018, 10:21 AM)
ok noted. very good insight  thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif
wow..your equipment sure is pro level only. haha. thanks for the suggestion
nice sifu. bosch so many models. i also pening. gst65 gst 700. lol. festool & ryobi got products for noob like me ka sifu..haha
ryobi got, but its not found locally, usually i get family members to buy at those megastores (UK/auz) then carry back when they visit for xmas/cny. biggrin.gif
festool is strictly professionals due to budget. damn costly can buy 5 x normal jigsaws

bosch good ones are like this

ar188
post Mar 5 2018, 09:01 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(lthium2 @ Feb 26 2018, 12:00 PM)
Regarding screw for wood, I just realized that we couldn't walk into a hardware store and get proper screw for wood in boleh-land. how sad!
what do you mean by proper wood screw? what shape?

plenty of place sell screws which can be used on wood.

ar188
post Mar 6 2018, 08:00 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(lthium2 @ Mar 6 2018, 07:27 PM)
I the picture are some example that I grabbed from my screw bin
to illustrate what I mean by "proper".
From left;common wood screw of yesteryear, Chinese made brass plated, 2nd non plated,
3th in middle common zinc plate screw salvage from some discarded cheap furniture.
4th common self tapping, last drywall screw. 
There're many situations that required a quick and dirty lap joint without having drilled a pilot hole on some
solid-wood, 2X4 for example;
try that and one quick noticed that the full threaded one will want to lift the top piece up and leave a small gap
in between. try forcing it in only ended up shearing the head right off!
I had some which is nickel plated, that the non-threaded shank is slightly smaller in diameter than the threaded part, this one is the best of all wood screw I ever used! unfortunately cannot find in Malaysia.
The finishing the screw also made a big different on how your work gonna look like in future months to come.
the wood will absorb in moisture from the air and rust the common self-tapping screw even though it is plated.
it will leave a ugly black spot around the screw area. Have you seen some where a black trail coming out nail spot on some old wooden house? that what I'm talking about.
try removing some of this rusted screws you will run risk of snapping the screw.
The Chinese brass plated one seems to held up pretty good on my saw horse which's place my semi enclose balcony.
On second picture show some "proper" drill bits for wood working in my opinion, note that the difference is on the "land" of the spiral flute.  [attachmentid=9637585][attachmentid=9637591]
just use stainless steel screws lo. easy
ar188
post Mar 25 2018, 01:46 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Mar 24 2018, 04:43 PM)
i have the makita cordless jigsaw.
and i also have the bosch 12v jigsaw.

skip the bosch 12v jigsaw. really weak. waste of money.
i tried it once then put it back in the box.
12v aka 10.8v nominal, memang weak biggrin.gif
ar188
post Mar 25 2018, 01:49 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 25 2018, 01:48 PM)
It is for light duty only.
just bypass it all together, dont need so many battery systems even for the same brand
ar188
post Mar 25 2018, 07:50 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Mar 25 2018, 07:37 PM)
the only 10.8/12v tool i use is the angle grinder. it's very very compact and it gets the cutting work done
specialty tool for tight spaces i guess. biggrin.gif thumbup.gif
ar188
post Apr 23 2018, 09:22 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Apr 23 2018, 01:25 PM)
electric chainsaw, unless it's from STIHL, i doubt it will be any good

if u want to invest, a good beginner petrol chainsaw from STIHL or HUSQVARNA starts from RM 600. they are made in china, but the important bits - the chain itself, is made in german / sweden

i did post some pics of chainsawas on sale few pages back if you want to have a look
i am using B&D electric scorpion
so far so good. can cut metal pad lock also. biggrin.gif
ar188
post Apr 24 2018, 08:38 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(lucifah @ Apr 24 2018, 01:36 PM)
can use for tree branches too? Looks kinda useful, but i afraid the saw tooth might not last saja.  tongue.gif
ya its not hardcore builder grade tool. more of home DIYer.. can cut branches, but 2-3inches la. i dont think can cut those 6-12inch thick logs le.. laugh.gif

ar188
post Apr 24 2018, 08:39 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 24 2018, 10:16 AM)
Dear sifu,

I would like to buy a corded circular saw for occasional home diy wood working project like making a wooden bench, table, stool etc.
What are the min power rating, brand name and other features I must look for ?
If possible, kindly suggest a specific model. Thank you.
usually the spec is controlled by the blade diameter. 5inch and 7inch models have different power ratings.
ar188
post Apr 24 2018, 09:37 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 24 2018, 09:33 PM)
Thank you sifu.
sure no prob. biggrin.gif

ar188
post Apr 24 2018, 10:14 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 24 2018, 09:38 PM)
Wah, you also suck into DIY wood ?

Many tree behind your home is it?  biggrin.gif
tree trunk become timber planks is a susah process. easier to just order from the wood shop. laugh.gif
ar188
post Apr 25 2018, 03:47 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Apr 25 2018, 10:18 AM)
Thank you sir.
Any circular saw recommendation ? notworthy.gif
i recommend cordless one. laugh.gif
ar188
post Apr 25 2018, 03:49 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 25 2018, 10:30 AM)
If you want circular saw, I sell it to you. Cheap cheap.  brows.gif  Cause I rarely use it.  Ryobi, 850W, 4500rpm.

wah so rare. is it blue color one?
ar188
post Apr 25 2018, 11:54 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Apr 25 2018, 05:29 PM)
Blue wan.

Now all china qc.

This wan still made in japan.  thumbup.gif
but its out of date already. biggrin.gif

18 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top