Nissan reputation in Malaysia

TScontestchris
post May 31 2017, 08:26 PM, updated 8y ago

5,544 posts

I'm thinking of buying my first brand new car soon, and I'm kinda gravitating towards getting a Nissan.

While I'm going my research and asking around, I thought I could drop by here and seek input from the knowledgeable people of this sub-forum.

1) As a brand, how are Nissan's cars viewed at in terms of reliability in Malaysia?

2) What about their after sales support and servicing? Is it decent?

3) Overall, for the lower end segment, assuming I am fine with the looks and pricing is it fine to go with a Nissan or is there good reason I should be forgoing it and going for a Toyota/Honda?

Thanks!
afoka
post May 31 2017, 08:33 PM

313 posts

never bought nissan before..but tan chong trade in price offering was quite high for my 2009 persona...
6UE5T
post May 31 2017, 10:04 PM

1,704 posts

My comments below based on my sole experience of owning a Livina and some sharing of Nissan owners from car forums

QUOTE(contestchris @ May 31 2017, 08:26 PM)
I'm thinking of buying my first brand new car soon, and I'm kinda gravitating towards getting a Nissan.

While I'm going my research and asking around, I thought I could drop by here and seek input from the knowledgeable people of this sub-forum.

1) As a brand, how are Nissan's cars viewed at in terms of reliability in Malaysia? Not as good, just so-so only. Parts also a rather expensive.

2) What about their after sales support and servicing? Is it decent? After sales service though is very good from Tan Chong. But like I said parts prices are expensive.

3) Overall, for the lower end segment, assuming I am fine with the looks and pricing is it fine to go with a Nissan or is there good reason I should be forgoing it and going for a Toyota/Honda?  personally, I would not buy any recent models of  Nissan, at least not in the near future because of not so good reliability and expensive parts. For newer cars, I'd rather buy other Japanese brands.

Thanks!
Damon6
post May 31 2017, 11:15 PM

QUOTE(contestchris @ May 31 2017, 09:26 PM)

1) As a brand, how are Nissan's cars viewed at in terms of reliability in Malaysia?

3) Overall, for the lower end segment, assuming I am fine with the looks and pricing is it fine to go with a Nissan or is there good reason I should be forgoing it and going for a Toyota/Honda?

Thanks!
Try searching Nissan almera at low yat..
Failed JJ
post May 31 2017, 11:52 PM

142 posts

1) More minor irritants than full-blown Peugeot in terms of reliability, but though as 6UE5T say, spare parts rather expensive.

2) Tan Chong aftersales very good, they have divisions from north to south so no problem finding SC.

3) Nissan's current lineup is abit outdated, especially the Almera which launched 2012(facelifted 2015, which made it uglier rclxub.gif ) and the Teana & Sylphy launched 2014 but have not received facelift afaik. Besides, Honda has better safety features anyway.

This post has been edited by Failed JJ: May 31 2017, 11:53 PM
k!nex
post Jun 1 2017, 02:39 AM

Restless stars
3,389 posts

Only car from Nissan I will bat an eye is their X-trail. Others I wont even consider.
Almera is too long in the tooth, quite underpowered going uphill.
Sylphy is not bad at all, but at that price, I rather go for a new Civic 1.8L.
I would consider a Teana in the past, the 2.0L is slow and steady but very comfortable but then I saw my own director's car bought for 4 months only, got oil leak in his parking lot. Very poor QC it seems although plenty of discount. >10k discount.

dstl1128
post Jun 1 2017, 06:48 AM

4,464 posts

The reputations they have, IMO, are
1. keep releasing ugly cars.
2. their reliability only applies to Nissan Sunny 130Y.
3. poorly informed salesman - or in another words, sales man that babbles & praises everything about the cars they're going to sell, even that they themselves have no idea about it, so long as it promotes the car. e.g. "this car has abs. protect you one", "this car has seat belt, hold u back one", "this car has CVTC, no gear one", "this car so tough until one airbag also more than enough"...

This post has been edited by dstl1128: Jun 1 2017, 06:52 AM
roocarroll
post Jun 1 2017, 09:56 AM

32 posts

IMO, the problem with Nissan in Malaysia is that they don't bring in the right cars. The Juke and the Note are their most popular cars and they don't sell them in Malaysia.
TScontestchris
post Jun 1 2017, 07:18 PM

5,544 posts

QUOTE(roocarroll @ Jun 1 2017, 09:56 AM)
IMO, the problem with Nissan in Malaysia is that they don't bring in the right cars. The Juke and the Note are their most popular cars and they don't sell them in Malaysia.
What would be the reason for that? Surely, there must be a reason...
sonyman
post Jun 2 2017, 08:24 AM

1,043 posts

better off with toyota...... as every thing is cheap in toyota...... the car, the parts. and best resell value even before you buy your car. Can Consider an investment if you buy a Toyota.... sure make money one.....

nissan by tan chong is the worst among the bunch. but nissan world wide. not too bad. second to toyota..... honda somehow is smaller.

But with malaysia... Toyota > Honda > Nissan
or HOnda > Toyota > Nissan

Depending where you stand.

ahchun
post Jun 2 2017, 08:47 AM

MiddleAge
1,147 posts

Thanks!
For cheap car like Almera, quality is so so. Not as what I expect.
Service center is good. Technician is knowledgeable

Part like lubricant price about same with outside. Other parts are pricier at SC.

As other said the current line up is abit old. Honda and Toyota can offer same segment car with better value for money.
Jet23sky
post Jun 2 2017, 08:54 AM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

I have Nissan Almera from Tan Chong. To tell you the truth, the after sale is really really good. These car dealers are not just people like, after you bought the car and they will ignore you. They will help you if you need help like, car break down, some issue with cars etc.

According the car dealer, Slyphy is going to obsolete and replaced with another car, but not sure when. The spare parts wise, so far I have not had any issue that required the parts to be change until now ( Around 5 years already ). So I can say, Nissan is quite durable at my end.
benson92
post Jun 2 2017, 08:57 AM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(afoka @ May 31 2017, 08:33 PM)
never bought nissan before..but tan chong trade in price offering was quite high for my 2009 persona...
how much? mine 2009 persona as well hmm.gif
jimmybcmy
post Jun 2 2017, 09:03 AM

395 posts

Nissan cars are not selling well here or other Asian countries...so there must be something there that make the brand unpopular.
Jet23sky
post Jun 2 2017, 09:07 AM

Love is Peace~~~~~
1,339 posts

QUOTE(jimmybcmy @ Jun 2 2017, 09:03 AM)
Nissan cars are not selling well here or other Asian countries...so there must be something there that make the brand unpopular.
But it sells really well in Singapore. I can see Nissan Qashqai on the road everyday. laugh.gif laugh.gif
dachshundPet
post Jun 2 2017, 09:35 AM

18 posts

QUOTE(sonyman @ Jun 2 2017, 08:24 AM)
better off with toyota...... as every thing is cheap in toyota...... the car, the parts. and best resell value even before you buy your car. Can Consider an investment if you buy a Toyota.... sure make money one.....

nissan by tan chong is the worst among the bunch. but nissan world wide. not too bad.  second to toyota..... honda somehow is smaller.

But with malaysia... Toyota > Honda > Nissan
                      or  HOnda > Toyota > Nissan

Depending where you stand.
Toyota and Honda parts are more expansive than Nissan especially servicing in authorized SC unless you buy OEM from the spare parts shop and servicing under the Pokok Shop. Resale Value for toyota indeed better than Nissan but the value is getting worsen year by year under UMW. After sale service in Nissan is among the best too. Myself wont take any new Toyota until with the TNGA platform models coming will only consider then. By the way, I am not Nissan SA.
mushigen
post Jun 2 2017, 10:46 AM

4,952 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jun 2 2017, 09:07 AM)
But it sells really well in Singapore. I can see Nissan Qashqai on the road everyday.  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
True. If the Qashqai belongs to you.
mlamlam
post Jun 2 2017, 10:46 AM

652 posts

Nissan no bad but TC is doing what here?
already 18 months and no new car released, just have some NISMO kit or upgrade kit like this
HK already have Nissan Serena C27 and here no news
some Nissan great car such as Nissan note also not available here
Neo_Y
post Jun 2 2017, 11:03 AM

219 posts

NISSAN is relatively good and reliable especially after sale service.
The only problem is TC always PLAY SAFE.
Their car seldom facelift, launched a new car, the model last 5 to 7 years then straight away all new and that make consumers feel boring and unexcited.
afoka
post Jun 2 2017, 11:14 AM

313 posts

QUOTE(benson92 @ Jun 2 2017, 08:57 AM)
how much? mine 2009 persona as well  hmm.gif
owe bank 22k, nissan offered 19k

other second hand dealer offered 14k, perodua n toyota 15k.

mileage 200k over, persona highline.
benson92
post Jun 2 2017, 11:17 AM

1,010 posts

QUOTE(afoka @ Jun 2 2017, 11:14 AM)
owe bank 22k, nissan offered 19k

other second hand dealer offered 14k, perodua n toyota 15k.

mileage 200k over, persona highline.
wow thats very good price
Eilrach
post Jun 2 2017, 11:18 AM

Thanks!
Honestly speaking, if you want to go for the Almera just because of the low price, I'd suggest getting the new Persona Premium instead. Its a better car in almost every aspect.

If you can pay more, then a Honda City or Mazda 2 would make more sense.
zstan
post Jun 2 2017, 11:22 AM

15,856 posts

My family had nissan cars over the past 10 years. and as other forummers mentioned, TC after sales service is really good. Even during Sunday you can send in your car for service for a full day ( at least at the PJ branch).

But just that comparing their car specs and techs to all the latest cars from other Japanese companies, Nissan just feels really underwhelming.
putra23
post Jun 2 2017, 01:26 PM

654 posts

I think more reliable than Honda but Toyota is the winner.

Service level quite good and flexible too.

Their reputation not as strong due to absence of models after the Sunny.

Nissan parts is cheaper than Toyota or Honda SC. There are also TanChong parts for those on the budget.

allanlee89
post Jun 2 2017, 01:37 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(Jet23sky @ Jun 2 2017, 08:54 AM)
I have Nissan Almera from Tan Chong. To tell you the truth, the after sale is really really good. These car dealers are not just people like, after you bought the car and they will ignore you. They will help you if you need help like, car break down, some issue with cars etc.

According the car dealer, Slyphy is going to obsolete and replaced with another car, but not sure when. The spare parts wise, so far I have not had any issue that required the parts to be change until now ( Around 5 years already ). So I can say, Nissan is quite durable at my end.
Agree, even when they fail to fix, they will entertain with a smile till problems solved. Not like other brand, can't fix then taichi back to customers, give 10 yrs warranty also useless.
Jessieccy
post Jun 2 2017, 08:17 PM

160 posts

Yes Nissan the after sales service is good. I would say the cars like x-trail or teana is worth it. Almera is a cheap car so its not a looker or for driving fast. Most Nissan is family n very Japanese, so comfort at legal speed limits is great. I personally think Honda feels cheap n plastic.
You could consider a VW if you drive on highways alot and want a 2nd car. Vento is really worth it now. Allstar/Comfortline 1.6 is below RM80k. 5 yrs warranty n free maintenance. Go check it out. Of course design even more boring.

This post has been edited by Jessieccy: Jun 2 2017, 08:19 PM
vexus
post Jun 3 2017, 09:33 AM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,659 posts

QUOTE(Jessieccy @ Jun 2 2017, 08:17 PM)
Yes Nissan the after sales service is good. I would say the cars like x-trail or teana is worth it. Almera is a cheap car so its not a looker or for driving fast. Most Nissan is family n very Japanese, so comfort at legal speed limits is great. I personally think Honda feels cheap n plastic.
You could consider a VW if you drive on highways alot and want a 2nd car. Vento is really worth it now. Allstar/Comfortline 1.6 is below RM80k. 5 yrs warranty n free maintenance. Go check it out. Of course design even more boring.
VW maintenance cost very high. Minor service rm800++, Major rm2k++ Cheap car but slaughtering after sales service, what the point?????
Jessieccy
post Jun 3 2017, 10:47 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Jun 3 2017, 09:33 AM)
VW maintenance cost very high. Minor service rm800++, Major rm2k++ Cheap car but slaughtering after sales service, what the point?????
15k km per service. Its about the same with the Nissan maybe extra rm100 to 300. I own an Almera, on paper if you can stick to minimum service price of course it is cheap. But as a new car owner u tend to spend more than that. My minor approx rm400 - 600. Major approx rm700 - 1200.
That was why I suggested Vento, it comes with 5yrs free maintenance. Also VW can drive better than my almera at least. Well different needs different preferance. Unless u plan to own the car more than 5 yrs wich does not comes with free maintenance. Then dont get the VW.
bob
post Jun 3 2017, 01:28 PM

* hari2mau *
1,707 posts

nissan is a good car ... to drive , comfort & realibility
SC also good & part price is reasonable and some part cheaper than other japanese car brand.
only the exterior design is bit different but that up to personal taste.
Interior space & material is also better.
DarkNite
post Jun 3 2017, 05:25 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(mlamlam @ Jun 2 2017, 10:46 AM)
Nissan no bad but TC is doing what here?
already 18 months and no new car released, just have some NISMO kit or upgrade kit like this
HK already have Nissan Serena C27 and here no news
some Nissan great car such as Nissan note also not available here
Yup.
I saw the C27 and feel in love with it!
Came back to Msia and WTF!!!!
No C27!!!! vmad.gif
kyen
post Jun 3 2017, 05:29 PM

71 posts

To my knowledge, only Nissan SC's allow you to bring in your own parts and they will charge labor for the replacement.
Anyone know if that has changed recently ?
Jessieccy
post Jun 3 2017, 06:10 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(kyen @ Jun 3 2017, 05:29 PM)
To my knowledge, only Nissan SC's allow you to bring in your own parts and they will charge labor for the replacement.
Anyone know if that has changed recently ?
I dont think any offical SC will do that unless its a 3rd party "approved SC". Beacuse the offical SC hv a limited time warranty for ori parts compared to other workshops. They need to do business, impossible they let u do that.
ckwhy
post Jan 23 2018, 04:22 AM

367 posts

When is Nissan Malaysia releasing new model? Only heard going to launch Serena and Leaf soon. How about Qashqai and Kicks? Sure will win CHR and HRV
pg84
post Jan 23 2018, 07:50 AM

289 posts

Sorry but nissan design looks hedious only qasqai looks ok

This post has been edited by pg84: Jan 23 2018, 07:51 AM
destee88
post Jan 23 2018, 11:47 AM

1,385 posts

QUOTE(ckwhy @ Jan 23 2018, 04:22 AM)
When is Nissan Malaysia releasing new model? Only heard going to launch Serena and Leaf soon. How about Qashqai and Kicks? Sure will win CHR and HRV
kicks no more edy same as Qashqai... no need hope i can let u know nissan malaysia is hopeless for new product launching.. u can consider baoteng boyue loh if want all new suv

This post has been edited by destee88: Jan 23 2018, 11:47 AM
Platonic
post Jan 23 2018, 09:11 PM

20 posts

I drive a Teana XL 2014,
It's a reliable car that gives no problem at all.
However the only set back is servicing fee at Tan Chong is on the high side.
ckwhy
post Jan 23 2018, 09:13 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(destee88 @ Jan 23 2018, 11:47 AM)
kicks no more edy same as Qashqai... no need hope i can let u know nissan malaysia is hopeless for new product launching.. u can consider baoteng boyue loh if want all new suv
Aiyo, when I go China, those Nissan new models looks great. How I wish there are all here in Malaysia
TScontestchris
post Jan 23 2018, 09:21 PM

5,544 posts

This year Tan Chong management has confirmed that there will be one brand new model introduced into the Malaysian market. According to MIDF research, this hints closely to the Nissan Kicks. I doubt it will be the Nissan Qashqai, though you never know.
EnergyAnalyst
post Jan 24 2018, 06:09 AM

4,119 posts

https://www.thestar.com.my/business/busines...ing-a-comeback/
amar_arifin
post Jan 25 2018, 11:37 AM

68 posts

ya dude..
others brand too also kena..volkswagen..
others countries look ok jer after sale division..
but in Msia..so many fishy..mmm..

amar_arifin
post Jan 25 2018, 12:05 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(ckwhy @ Jan 23 2018, 09:13 PM)
Aiyo, when I go China, those Nissan new models looks great. How I wish there are all here in Malaysia
then u know how bad Msia try to do to plotek plotek own brand.. ranting.gif doh.gif
ckwhy
post Jan 30 2018, 10:36 PM

367 posts

Nissan Kicks is most likely going to be launched in Malaysia in 2018. This car is going to sell like hot cakes if Tan Chong knows how to priced it nicely. Just look how HRV push Honda to Malaysia top Non National Car makes. Toyota also will launch CHR soon if not mistaken. Let’s see know launch first. This will be the greatest fight among Toyota, Honda and Nissan in Malaysia.

gcmming
post Jan 31 2018, 12:25 PM

Nissan tan chong forget it, worst car dealer, they always ignore problems, their cars has more problem than myvi
dannychen
post Jan 31 2018, 09:07 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(gcmming @ Jan 31 2018, 12:25 PM)
Nissan tan chong forget it, worst car dealer, they always ignore problems, their cars has more problem than myvi
can't agree more.
gcmming
post Feb 1 2018, 11:16 AM

QUOTE(dannychen @ Jan 31 2018, 09:07 PM)
can't agree more.
lousy shit tan chong, their cars always fail.
goandloveyourself
post Feb 1 2018, 05:46 PM

53 posts

QUOTE(roocarroll @ Jun 1 2017, 09:56 AM)
true also
ckwhy
post Feb 2 2018, 09:03 PM

367 posts

It’s really difficult to understand what is Tan Chong trying to do, perhaps spending too much time developing other markets such as Vietnam and Myanmar. But I believe they are now back to push sales in Msia as the ringgit is now much stronger and it’s already 4 years without new model launching in Msia market. It’s about time to bring something exciting to disrupt the market.
DarkNite
post Feb 19 2018, 11:00 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(ckwhy @ Feb 2 2018, 09:03 PM)
It’s really difficult to understand what is Tan Chong trying to do, perhaps spending too much time developing other markets such as Vietnam and Myanmar. But I believe they are now back to push sales in Msia as the ringgit is now much stronger and it’s already 4 years without new model launching in Msia market. It’s about time to bring something exciting to disrupt the market.
Fark la, TC Msia is like a black sheep among the Nissan Japan partners.
Every year also tok kok sing song about bring in New Models!
Ya new 4-5 years old base models!
Currently selling old 2014 nissan models in 2018!
What innovation!!! doh.gif
What excitement!!! doh.gif
seand19
post Feb 20 2018, 11:11 AM

86 posts

my dad's pa used to drive a gran livina and for awhile before my dad sold it, i drove the 2.5 xtrail.
from what i have gathered from others and in my opinion:
-nissan engine is reliable as heck
maybe too reliable as the car broke down before the engine would , even the whole car is in bad shape, the engine would keep running.
- somehow on the road, almeera drivers in general are petpet drivers
from what i notice, most of the drivers are on their phones, love cutting without signal and do all sort of things that as a normal driver ticks me off
but almeera is cheap as heck compared to other japanese brands like toyota and honda.
-the sc are reliable and quick but not sure the cost as, bill sent to office

i heard almeera is the cheapest in terms foreign brand intro model, i contemplated getting the city which is about 70-80k i think and vios was about 80-90k.
from a financial point, go with the new myvi, its economical, cheap and very reliable.
maintenance, service and spare parts are all affordable. even the monthly installments too.
55k for top spec 1.5, why pay an extra 10-50k just for a foreign brand?
essentially what matters is the performance, which is about the same. all are 1.5l engines only, the others like interior, safety features and reliability are decisive on you.
if you see it worth to pay extra money then go ahead, because more 'yeng' to own foreign brand than local ma.
but imo, add the other accesories i want that foreign brands have myself which wont even cost as much and use the rest to save in something that doesnt depreciate in value.

This post has been edited by seand19: Feb 20 2018, 11:13 AM
Antzfield
post Feb 20 2018, 12:11 PM

496 posts

from those early days of Nissan Sunny which my dad bought, pretty happy with it, no major issue

Moving fast foward the clock, i got myself Grand Livina, starting to curse as the parts not lasting and even bolts and nuts rusty, failed suspension despite weekend car, SC ok no complaint but not the best.

Then CBU Serena comes in, price is good and it ticks most of my requirements, thought CBU should be more reliable than local TC. Again, disappointed, under carriage / drive shaft / EPS steering with sound whenever on uneven road, SC say just tightened it but problems continue and i give up.

So, no more Nissan for me (just like proton, no more for me since those days wira time)

riezzien
post Feb 20 2018, 08:26 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(amar_arifin @ Jan 25 2018, 12:05 PM)
then u know how bad Msia try to do to plotek plotek own brand..  ranting.gif  doh.gif
Zzz. Its tanchong la stupid didnt bring in new model fast enough.

SUSNew Klang
post Feb 20 2018, 09:08 PM

4,998 posts

How is Nissan cars resale value?
amar_arifin
post Feb 21 2018, 01:34 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(riezzien @ Feb 20 2018, 08:26 PM)
Zzz. Its tanchong la stupid didnt bring in new model fast enough.
like i said...Tan chong got alliances more with gomen..
they tunduk to gomen n loyal.. ahhaha..
what u expect frm them maa...with out gomen ..they also be like Proton now..probably..
GOmen xbagi..xbagi laa..haha..
Nissan Worldwide focus all segment..not like Honda fcus more on sedan vehicle..
DarkNite
post Feb 23 2018, 11:05 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(knnhenry @ Feb 23 2018, 10:11 AM)
have u guys just come out from cave ? tan chong launched a lot of new cars from subaru and renault.

captur
koleos
megane
xv
outback
brz
levorg

all these are exciting innovative brand new global models.
Ha ha ha ha ha ha so exciting & innovative that sales figures are shooting off the charts!
..... Oh wait....
riezzien
post Feb 23 2018, 11:19 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(knnhenry @ Feb 23 2018, 10:11 AM)
have u guys just come out from cave ? tan chong launched a lot of new cars from subaru and renault.

captur
koleos
megane
xv
outback
brz
levorg

all these are exciting innovative brand new global models.
Diamlah, we are talking about NISSAN.
Title says NISSAN
NISSAN
NISSAN..
NISSANNNNNNN
DarkNite
post Feb 23 2018, 12:30 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(knnhenry @ Feb 23 2018, 11:45 AM)
you cannot deny that all the models i mentioned above and brand new global models, exciting and innovative.
Just in case you dun understand ...... all these new global models are really NOT making waves or selling like hot cake globally!

Renualt should have died long ago!

and FYI my 1st car is 160J SSS! thumbup.gif

DarkNite
post Feb 23 2018, 01:05 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(knnhenry @ Feb 23 2018, 12:57 PM)
hot cake or not is besides the point. a lot of idiots here are claiming that tanchong did not bring in new models and i have proven them wrong.

Renault nissan alliance is top 3 globally. you must be so disappointed
I am disappoint that I cant buy Nissan Serena C27 NISMO Edition in Malaysia! whistling.gif
apekgoh
post Feb 25 2018, 12:48 PM

13 posts

Bought nissan navara VL black series. Sales experience quite unpleasant, promise this and that and at end quite disappointing.

The truck is a bad experience, i dont understand wh some owner not willing to admit its a inferior product. Partly my own fault of not doing more test drives.

Can PM me if you really wants to know the details that car reviewer never writes it in their page and forget about reading any bad comments in their car club.

This post has been edited by apekgoh: Feb 25 2018, 12:48 PM
ckwhy
post Feb 26 2018, 02:24 PM

367 posts

I guess every car brands will have their own issues. Nissan basically is doing pretty well worldwide, but in Malaysia, it’s always behind Toyota and Honda. Perhaps Tan Chong have been focusing on other brands and other countries.
All Tan Chong need is just to release 1 brand new model this year. Tan Chong, if you are reading this, please bring in the New Qashqai or Kick. Sure sell like hot cakes.
Gen-T
post Mar 1 2018, 05:55 PM

121 posts

Am a loyal supporter to Toyota, but their cars are getting less spec compared to others.
Considering to buy Nissan Serena.. now waiting for C27... curious too.. is Nissan car reliable or not?
Jessieccy
post Mar 1 2018, 10:50 PM

160 posts

I think Nissan is fine. Sure their SC prices are not as cheap as others as they don't give you cheap and mid range EO options like Toyota and Honda, proton and Perodua as well.
So far as a Nissan owner there is only full synthetic EO, they actually are coming out with more local OEM to keep prices down. TanChong repackaged parts. Even their engine refresh package is affordable. It looks exactly like LiquiMoly. I say its worth my money!
The new Serena should be out by April. Not sure if the e-power hybrid is coming as well.

This post has been edited by Jessieccy: Mar 1 2018, 10:55 PM
lockheed90
post Mar 2 2018, 08:59 AM

272 posts

is nissan teana any good? compared to accord or camry?
vincent_on9
post Mar 2 2018, 11:19 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(seand19 @ Feb 20 2018, 11:11 AM)
my dad's pa used to drive a gran livina and for awhile before my dad sold it, i drove the 2.5 xtrail.
from what i have gathered from others and in my opinion:
-nissan engine is reliable as heck
maybe too reliable as the car broke down before the engine would , even the whole car is in bad shape, the engine would keep running.
- somehow on the road, almeera drivers in general are petpet drivers
from what i notice, most of the drivers are on their phones, love cutting without signal and do all sort of things that as a normal driver ticks me off
[U]

same as what i noticed!
seand19
post Mar 2 2018, 11:39 AM

86 posts

QUOTE(vincent_on9 @ Mar 2 2018, 11:19 AM)
same as what i noticed!
right?!
almeera drivers are either old aunty's or speedy little koontz that has no manners on the road
Jessieccy
post Mar 2 2018, 11:46 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(vincent_on9 @ Mar 2 2018, 11:19 AM)
same as what i noticed!
QUOTE(seand19 @ Mar 2 2018, 11:39 AM)
right?!
almeera drivers are either old aunty's or speedy little koontz that has no manners on the road
While i admit most nissan owners are not younger gen drivers. Fast, i like to apply it to all cheaper/affordable range of cars, which is Almera. Unless you see an elderly driver which also drive really fast. Im lost for words too.
ckwhy
post Mar 2 2018, 08:41 PM

367 posts

QUOTE(Jessieccy @ Mar 2 2018, 11:46 AM)
While i admit most nissan owners are not younger gen drivers. Fast, i like to apply it to all cheaper/affordable range of cars, which is Almera. Unless you see an elderly driver which also drive really fast. Im lost for words too.
Wait for the Nissan Kicks. Almost confirmed will launch this year. Maybe will launch before raya
Jessieccy
post Mar 2 2018, 09:14 PM

160 posts

QUOTE(ckwhy @ Mar 2 2018, 08:41 PM)
Wait for the Nissan Kicks. Almost confirmed will launch this  year. Maybe will launch before raya
Sure not, I just simply ask my SA he only mention Serena, and Leaf. I showed him Note, but he say no need petrol... I guess he thought it was the New LEAF... im excited regardless if its a new model not just some cosmetic bodykit launch.
ckwhy
post Mar 3 2018, 11:59 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(Jessieccy @ Mar 2 2018, 09:14 PM)
Sure not, I just simply ask my SA he only mention Serena, and Leaf. I showed him Note, but he say no need petrol... I guess he thought it was the New LEAF... im excited regardless if its a new model not just some cosmetic bodykit launch.
Ur SA only knows new Serena and new leaf. That news already confirmed since last year. Nissan kicks is all new and will compete with HRV.

As for note, not too sure if tan Chong bring that in as the market is pretty saturated with jazz and new myvi.
gold member
post Jun 1 2018, 08:08 PM

114 posts

My experience with "Nissan is once bitten twice shy". Currently using Nissan and I would say the spare parts are economical only if you know about car and buying spare parts at ah beng shops then ask workshop to change the parts for you. Servicing in their SC is always either expensive, the SC charges you some services and parts that they are not performing (the wordings could be very "fancy" but actually refer to some simple service or part e.g.: flushing injection line, 36 points check or change plug ring something etc.) or their technicians are lazy or do not bother to entertain your inquiry. If any squeaking or rattling sounds they will say it is normal and without looking at the matters they presume that is the way they handle customers' complain and we have to live with it. Their CSO even worse, never attend to consumer's request, just follow their own SOP. Nissan gives minimum specifications as compare to overseas specifications in local and some obvious example are there is no need for powerboot for x-trail, the succeed feature in the new Serena is co-pilot is not popular in Malaysia and Malaysia is relatively safe that they need only 2 air bags. I wonder is it cost and brand cheaper if stripe off these features (maybe just like CRV) from their renown models. Facelift in Malaysia is not required as they just launched the launching campaign just 1 year ago and Malaysian can live with that, at most give 10k-20k discount (note that this is the only best entry-point to buy Nissan). Most of the SAs I dealt with are lack of knowledge about the products that they are selling, most of the questions I asked they are clueless. Simple or basic necessities are being bragged as major features over other brands (just looking at their website or brochure) e.g.: Chrome front grille, side mirrors with light indicators, intelligent key, ABS, EBD, seatbelts with pre-tensioners and load limiters? (OMG, other car don't have? Please do not repeat normal and standard items as "highlights" in the website/ brochure). One bad experience I was with Nissan was the SC people unable to detect the rattling sound of my car and I have to make several visits and it is their authorized air-con vendor who figured out that it was the exhaust problem and I have to go back to Nissan SC and tell them the root cause (they were "busy" to maybe look into such trivial matters). Nissan also very stingy or maybe they adopt the concept "less is more" in providing more gadget or features in the product line they have to offer, less innovation and very boring car manufacturer (MY). However these might be due to my personal experience and TCM is marketing Nissan under old uncle car category somehow.

This post has been edited by gold member: Jun 1 2018, 11:23 PM
ckwhy
post Jul 20 2018, 11:16 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(gold member @ Jun 1 2018, 08:08 PM)
My experience with "Nissan is once bitten twice shy". Currently using Nissan and I would say the spare parts are economical only if you know about car and buying spare parts at ah beng shops then ask workshop to change the parts for you. Servicing in their SC is always either expensive, the SC charges you some services and parts that they are not performing (the wordings could be very "fancy" but actually refer to some simple service or part e.g.: flushing injection line, 36 points check or change plug ring something etc.) or their technicians are lazy or do not bother to entertain your inquiry. If any squeaking or rattling sounds they will say it is normal and without looking at the matters they presume that is the way they handle customers' complain and we have to live with it. Their CSO even worse, never attend to consumer's request, just follow their own SOP. Nissan gives minimum specifications as compare to overseas specifications in local and some obvious example are there is no need for powerboot for x-trail, the succeed feature in the new Serena is co-pilot is not popular in Malaysia and Malaysia is relatively safe that they need only 2 air bags. I wonder is it cost and brand cheaper if stripe off these features (maybe just like CRV) from their renown models. Facelift in Malaysia is not required as they just launched the launching campaign just 1 year ago and Malaysian can live with that, at most give 10k-20k discount (note that this is the only best entry-point to buy Nissan). Most of the SAs I dealt with are lack of knowledge about the products that they are selling, most of the questions I asked they are clueless. Simple or basic necessities are being bragged as major features over other brands (just looking at their website or brochure) e.g.: Chrome front grille, side mirrors with light indicators, intelligent key, ABS, EBD, seatbelts with pre-tensioners and load limiters? (OMG, other car don't have? Please do not repeat normal and standard items as "highlights" in the website/ brochure). One bad experience I was with Nissan was the SC people unable to detect the rattling sound of my car and I have to make several visits and it is their authorized air-con vendor who figured out that it was the exhaust problem and I have to go back to Nissan SC and tell them the root cause (they were "busy" to maybe look into such trivial matters). Nissan also very stingy or maybe they adopt the concept "less is more" in providing more gadget or features in the product line they have to offer, less innovation and very boring car manufacturer (MY). However these might be due to my personal experience and TCM is marketing Nissan under old uncle car category somehow.
I think it’s pretty much the same in other brands service centres.i got the Xtrail rattling problem as well,but only happens once in a while. I can live with it. Other than that, the car is fine.
leon898
post Jul 20 2018, 03:36 PM

734 posts

QUOTE(ckwhy @ Jan 30 2018, 10:36 PM)
Nissan Kicks is most likely going to be launched in Malaysia in 2018. This car is going to sell like hot cakes if Tan Chong knows how to priced it nicely. Just look how HRV push Honda to Malaysia top Non National Car makes. Toyota also will launch CHR soon if not mistaken. Let’s see know launch first. This will be the greatest fight among Toyota, Honda and Nissan in Malaysia.
any news for this baby?
doraemon0824
post Jul 20 2018, 05:08 PM

18 posts

QUOTE(gold member @ Jun 1 2018, 08:08 PM)
Totally agree!!!! Their customer and maintenance services are poor. Always cannot tackle the problem after several visits and charge pretty high. No more nissan car for me!
shirley_andy
post Jul 20 2018, 05:11 PM

VR Hardware Solution Provider
2,631 posts

QUOTE(leon898 @ Jul 20 2018, 03:36 PM)
any news for this baby?
end 2018 / early 2019
Zot
post Jul 20 2018, 05:15 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(doraemon0824 @ Jul 20 2018, 05:08 PM)
Totally agree!!!! Their customer and maintenance services are poor. Always cannot tackle the problem after several visits and charge pretty high. No more nissan car for me!
The SC experience is more on foreman experience than the car brand name itself. If the foremain in that SC has less experience, then the technicians may not have someone to refer to, but sometimes the technicians are more experience. smile.gif

I owned Nissan car but has no problem at all during 12 years and had to change alternator once which is ordered directly from supplier through spare part shop I'm accustomed to. Cheaper by about RM200 smile.gif
Roman Catholic
post Jul 20 2018, 10:24 PM

3,520 posts

Thought someone mentioned uglier earlier and that could be the reason.
alexchin91
post Jul 27 2018, 12:26 AM

612 posts

hi guys, wondering is nissan teana a good buy now ? considering getting one.
figuremeout
post Oct 15 2018, 10:41 PM

~In another life, I would make u stay~
890 posts

I'm thinking of getting the navara np300 VL. any sifu can share some feedback? Tq2
dstl1128
post Oct 17 2018, 08:30 AM

4,464 posts

Not local. But it is Nissan as a whole.

plouffle0789
post Feb 7 2021, 06:59 PM

1,824 posts

QUOTE(Failed JJ @ May 31 2017, 11:52 PM)
1) More minor irritants than full-blown Peugeot in terms of reliability, but though as 6UE5T say, spare parts rather expensive.

2) Tan Chong aftersales very good, they have divisions from north to south so no problem finding SC.

3) Nissan's current lineup is abit outdated, especially the Almera which launched 2012(facelifted 2015, which made it uglier  rclxub.gif ) and the Teana & Sylphy launched 2014 but have not received facelift afaik. Besides, Honda has better safety features anyway.
They have own insurance company???

TAN CHONG INSURANCE BUSINESS STREAM listed

plouffle0789
post Feb 7 2021, 07:00 PM

1,824 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jul 20 2018, 05:15 PM)
The SC experience is more on foreman experience than the car brand name itself. If the foremain in that SC has less experience, then the technicians may not have someone to refer to, but sometimes the technicians are more experience.  smile.gif

I owned Nissan car but has no problem at all during 12 years and had to change alternator once which is ordered directly from supplier through spare part shop I'm accustomed to. Cheaper by about RM200  smile.gif
Tan chong have own insurance company???

plouffle0789
post Feb 7 2021, 07:01 PM

1,824 posts

QUOTE(ckwhy @ Jan 30 2018, 10:36 PM)
Why tan chong until 2021 no bring in?
plouffle0789
post Feb 7 2021, 07:04 PM

1,824 posts

QUOTE(ckwhy @ Mar 2 2018, 08:41 PM)
Wait for the Nissan Kicks. Almost confirmed will launch this  year. Maybe will launch before raya
Now tan chong nissan become almera,serena,x trail

3 main car to sell

People have corolla vs civic
Camry vs accord

Nissan tan chong no
C segment
D segment

Give up

Suv also left x trail
plouffle0789
post Feb 7 2021, 07:05 PM

1,824 posts

QUOTE(Jessieccy @ Mar 1 2018, 10:50 PM)
I think Nissan is fine. Sure their SC prices are not as cheap as others as they don't give you cheap and mid range EO options like Toyota and Honda, proton and Perodua as well.
So far as a Nissan owner there is only full synthetic EO, they actually are coming out with more local OEM to keep prices down. TanChong repackaged parts. Even their engine refresh package is affordable. It looks exactly like LiquiMoly. I say its worth my money!
The new Serena should be out by April. Not sure if the e-power hybrid is coming as well.

what is eo???

Do you means their official car service center engine oil package cheap?

plouffle0789
post Feb 7 2021, 07:07 PM

1,824 posts

QUOTE(ckwhy @ Feb 2 2018, 09:03 PM)
Now become worst

X trail
Almera
Serena

Mainly sales this 3
Zot
post Feb 7 2021, 07:34 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Feb 7 2021, 07:00 PM)
Tan chong have own insurance company???
https://www.tcibs.com.my

If you look at the website, their partners are all familiar insurance company like AXA, Etiqa, Alianz, etc. Probably more like partnering.

Last time new car almost all go to AXA, Renew only other like Etiqa. No also the same but there are few other options other than AXA I think.
plouffle0789
post Feb 7 2021, 08:17 PM

1,824 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Feb 7 2021, 07:34 PM)
https://www.tcibs.com.my

If you look at the website, their partners are all familiar insurance company like AXA, Etiqa, Alianz, etc. Probably more like partnering.

Last time new car almost all go to AXA, Renew only other like Etiqa. No also the same but there are few other options other than AXA I think.
What nissan car you buy??
Regret or not?
Jessieccy
post Feb 8 2021, 12:12 AM

160 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Feb 7 2021, 07:05 PM)
what is eo???

Do you means their official car service center engine oil package cheap?
Engine Oil. EO

I don't know. I just know their packages are not cheap but because they like to recommended stuff. ATF oil is worse. Almera only use 2.8 liter of you just drain and fill but they charge 5liters. They don't flush the ATF, so it's a scam.

Nissan Kicks was supposed to launch end of 2020 after Almera turbo... But oh well got push back... Maybe if lucky 2nd half of 2021. A lots of things we get later because Nissan Thailand get the first say, then only TanChong... Damn Nissan drama in Japan push back many things. Now they are actively replacing all the older aged models. Hopefully New management turn Nissan brand around.
plouffle0789
post Feb 8 2021, 05:48 AM

1,824 posts

QUOTE(ALtsMagent @ Feb 8 2021, 01:18 AM)
I'm also thinking to take a Nissan
Almera???
satriaguy
post Feb 8 2021, 08:07 AM

306 posts

i have a very bad experience with Nissan, the gearbox faulty after 4th years and i'm only city driving, 4 years only clocked 45K km. Repair cost RM20K, i ended up sold the car.
Zot
post Feb 8 2021, 08:39 AM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Feb 7 2021, 08:17 PM)
What nissan car you buy??
Regret or not?
That was long time already. Now I used other brand. Last time I owned X-Trail 2.5L and the loan was also from Nissan. Never has any problem with it. The only major part faulty was alternator but that was around 8 years I think. Now already sold.

For me, all well known brand has problem from time to time mostly due to bad batch of parts. The most important thing is how manufacturers handle the problem. I get my airbag replaced on airbag recall last time. Nissan msg me and I also can check what year and model online.
4WD_er
post Feb 8 2021, 10:44 AM

571 posts

QUOTE(satriaguy @ Feb 8 2021, 08:07 AM)
i have a very bad experience with Nissan, the gearbox faulty after 4th years and i'm only city driving, 4 years only clocked 45K km. Repair cost RM20K, i ended up sold the car.
Did you not replace the CVT fluid in those 4 years ? If yes then no surprise. Earlier Nissan all came with 2 years warranty, during those 2 years the SC would probably not changing the CVT oil. If after warranty you also did not replace the fluids, then it would fail.
littlefire
post Feb 8 2021, 11:28 AM

2,716 posts

QUOTE(4WD_er @ Feb 8 2021, 11:44 AM)
Did you not replace the CVT fluid in those 4 years ? If yes then no surprise.  Earlier Nissan all came with 2 years warranty, during those 2 years the SC would probably not changing the CVT oil.  If after warranty you also did not replace the fluids, then it would fail.
Yup, agree. Even Mazda also did not change the automatic oil unless request.
It is mostly their business strategy, lower the maintenance package cost to make it attractive and also after warranty gearbox spoilt can earn even more money fixing it.. laugh.gif
asusman
post Feb 8 2021, 11:49 AM

153 posts

used to be Nissan owner, here are few thoughts of mine bout Nissan:

1. trade-in price will be higher than outside dealers as all they want is your sales
2. Nissan Malaysia is managed by Tan Chong (TC), hence the spec you see online and the actual MY unit will be different here and there as TC remove it to cut cost in order to stay competitive
3. car build up quality is so-so as mentioned earlier TC removed a lot of good stuffs then replaced it with 3rd tier or worse parts
4. in terms of Service center, service agent is amazingly rude even if you came in slightly later than your scheduled time
5. super long queue at the service center, sometime it took almost day
6. servicing cost at the SC is crazily expensive

Overall, Nissan is ok for normal daily use especially with family due to bigger rear space but when it comes to performance, don't even think about it.

For myself, the Nissan I owned can last only 6 years as the mechanic told me not worth to repair the car as too many faulty parts and most of them are major
But if you ask will I get another Nissan, my answer is very clear - NO.

The rest I leave it to you....

This post has been edited by asusman: Feb 8 2021, 11:51 AM
asusman
post Feb 8 2021, 12:21 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(apekgoh @ Feb 25 2018, 12:48 PM)
Bought nissan navara VL black series. Sales experience quite unpleasant, promise this and that and at end quite disappointing.

The truck is a bad experience, i dont understand wh some owner not willing to admit its a inferior product. Partly my own fault of not doing more test drives.

Can PM me if you really wants to know the details that car reviewer never writes it in their page and forget about reading any bad comments in their car club.
Totally agreed, the sales experience is totally fork up....
what the sales person did to me was, all the audio equipments was somehow 'disabled' upon test drive, so wont know how the sound quality goes at this point.
upon received the car, then only realized the sound is worse than your 60's radio plus no bass, treble nothing at all
when complained, the manager can tell you, its 'working as design'.
ends up, I gotto fork out extra cash for the ICE......
plouffle0789
post Feb 8 2021, 12:41 PM

1,824 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Feb 8 2021, 11:28 AM)
Yup, agree. Even Mazda also did not change the automatic oil unless request.
It is mostly their business strategy, lower the maintenance package cost to make it attractive and also after warranty gearbox spoilt can earn even more money fixing it..  laugh.gif
they so bad
Garysydney
post Feb 8 2021, 12:41 PM

527 posts

I have lived in Aust for close to 40 years now.

Best sellers in Aust (sales figures) are Toyota, Mazda and Hyundai.

Forget Honda and Nissan. Both these companies have dropped out of the Top 10 car companies. Why do you think Honda and Nissan is out of the top 10 car companies and Toyota is no.1?

Consumers are very savvy and vote with their wallets!!
plouffle0789
post Feb 8 2021, 12:42 PM

1,824 posts

QUOTE(asusman @ Feb 8 2021, 11:49 AM)
used to be Nissan owner, here are few thoughts of mine bout Nissan:

1. trade-in price will be higher than outside dealers as all they want is your sales
2. Nissan Malaysia is managed by Tan Chong (TC), hence the spec you see online and the actual MY unit will be different here and there as TC remove it to cut cost in order to stay competitive
3. car build up quality is so-so as mentioned earlier TC removed a lot of good stuffs then replaced it with 3rd tier or worse parts
4. in terms of Service center, service agent is amazingly rude even if you came in slightly later than your scheduled time
5. super long queue at the service center, sometime it took almost day
6. servicing cost at the SC is crazily expensive

Overall, Nissan is ok for normal daily use especially with family due to bigger rear space but when it comes to performance, don't even think about it.

For myself, the Nissan I owned can last only 6 years as the mechanic told me not worth to repair the car as too many faulty parts and most of them are major
But if you ask will I get another Nissan, my answer is very clear - NO.

The rest I leave it to you....
what nissan car you buy?
plouffle0789
post Feb 8 2021, 12:43 PM

1,824 posts

QUOTE(satriaguy @ Feb 8 2021, 08:07 AM)
what car?
automatic gearbox?
asusman
post Feb 8 2021, 12:52 PM

153 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Feb 8 2021, 12:42 PM)
what nissan car you buy?
Slyphy
plouffle0789
post May 31 2024, 03:10 AM

1,824 posts

QUOTE(Neo_Y @ Jun 2 2017, 11:03 AM)
NISSAN is relatively good and reliable especially after sale service.
The only problem is TC always PLAY SAFE.
Their car seldom facelift, launched a new car, the model last 5 to 7 years then straight away all new and that make consumers feel boring and unexcited.
Tan Chong motor company already lost money for 5 years consecutive

Moren than 60 years but now kesian.......

hksgmy
post May 31 2024, 09:00 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

My father used to drive a Datsun 120Y ages ago…. Good memories
SUSMaybachS600
post Jun 1 2024, 02:03 PM

900 posts

Still living with outdated models.