Investors Club V10, Previously known as Traders Kopitiam
Vanguard 2015
Jul 25 2017, 07:58 PM
QUOTE(kambing007 @ Jul 25 2017, 07:07 PM) I've got a question. When u say buying it slowly, does it mean really low units? Lets say only 1000 units at one time? I was doing some calculations as to how to buy in. Because previously I read that its better to buy in at 5-6k value (not lots) AT LEAST, so that it is easier to break even due to the brokerage fee. Buying at too low quantity, in the end the brokerage fees add up. What are you guys' "minimum" quantity value that u fix for yourself? I usually whack the highest quantity that I can at the time, but it seems like not such a good idea. Or is the brokerage fee negligible even if accumulated? Hi there. For me, buying it slowly means I will buy minimum RM8K or RM16K depending on my budget. Then monitor. If the share drops another 8% to 10% and the fundamental and valuation are still sound, then top up another RM8K and the cycle continues until I reach my maximum portfolio allocation for the share. For ATTA, I am a bit cautious. Small cap stock. In 1 year it has already gone up more than 100%. Now drop back 30%. Potentially it can drop more because it has fallen below its support level. As they say, beware of catching a falling knife. This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Jul 25 2017, 07:59 PM
Avangelice
Jul 25 2017, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jul 25 2017, 07:58 PM) Hi there. For me, buying it slowly means I will buy minimum RM8K or RM16K depending on my budget. Then monitor. If the share drops another 8% to 10% and the fundamental and valuation are still sound, then top up another RM8K and the cycle continues until I reach my maximum portfolio allocation for the share. For ATTA, I am a bit cautious. Small cap stock. In 1 year it has already gone up more than 100%. Now drop back 30%. Potentially it can drop more because it has fallen below its support level. As they say, beware of catching a falling knife. what's the allocation for each share? is it similar to UT investment then? stable stocks like big caps tenaga have 20% and small caps are 10%?
Vanguard 2015
Jul 25 2017, 11:58 PM
QUOTE(Avangelice @ Jul 25 2017, 11:18 PM) what's the allocation for each share? is it similar to UT investment then? stable stocks like big caps tenaga have 20% and small caps are 10%? IMHO, there is no fixed formulae. It depends on your risk appetite and what portfolio you are trying to build. But I suppose we can draw an analogy with unit trusts. You want stability? Build something like KGF. You want aggressive growth? Follow Interpac. Look at Peter Lynch's Fidelity Magellan Fund portfolio for e.g. He kept 30% to 40% in growth stocks, 10% to 20% in stalwarts stocks, another 10% to 20% in cyclical stocks and the rest in the turnaround stocks. His fund did great. P/S: I believe in diversifying across different industries as well. This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Jul 25 2017, 11:59 PM
foofoosasa
Jul 26 2017, 08:48 AM
who got buy karex ar? yesterday up 7%
dontlosecapital
Jul 26 2017, 09:36 AM
QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Jul 25 2017, 07:17 PM) in my view,overrated stock with boring AGM Agreed. Lets see how its goes in the next 3 months....
valan
Jul 26 2017, 09:40 AM
both hengyuan and petronm cont to rise too bad didn't manage to collect enough
donhay
Jul 26 2017, 10:19 AM
JOHOTIN losing steam?? what happened?
SUSlowya
Jul 26 2017, 10:43 AM
QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jul 25 2017, 07:58 PM) Hi there. For me, buying it slowly means I will buy minimum RM8K or RM16K depending on my budget. Then monitor. If the share drops another 8% to 10% and the fundamental and valuation are still sound, then top up another RM8K and the cycle continues until I reach my maximum portfolio allocation for the share. For ATTA, I am a bit cautious. Small cap stock. In 1 year it has already gone up more than 100%. Now drop back 30%. Potentially it can drop more because it has fallen below its support level. As they say, beware of catching a falling knife. the support is a zone between 1 to 1.2.
Vanguard 2015
Jul 26 2017, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(lowya @ Jul 26 2017, 10:43 AM) the support is a zone between 1 to 1.2. Noted bro. Let's see whether ATTA will jatuh masuk gaung like TienWah. I see you are also holding ATTA.
dontlosecapital
Jul 26 2017, 11:42 AM
QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jul 26 2017, 11:28 AM) Noted bro. Let's see whether ATTA will jatuh masuk gaung like TienWah. I see you are also holding ATTA.  all the best to all shareholder holding ATTA, i never scare of fall, i only scare of no fall
donhay
Jul 26 2017, 02:34 PM
QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jul 26 2017, 11:28 AM) Noted bro. Let's see whether ATTA will jatuh masuk gaung like TienWah. I see you are also holding ATTA.  enter more LUXCHEM?
Vanguard 2015
Jul 26 2017, 02:43 PM
QUOTE(donhay @ Jul 26 2017, 02:34 PM) enter more LUXCHEM?  Eh, what happened to Luxchem? Now fell -5.4%. Edited : Ah, now I know what happened. Q2 2017 just came out. Revenue up +16% but profit down -33%. Now Luxchem is in free fall. This post has been edited by Vanguard 2015: Jul 26 2017, 02:51 PM
GSCboy
Jul 26 2017, 02:45 PM
donhay
Jul 26 2017, 02:47 PM
QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jul 26 2017, 02:43 PM) Eh, what happened to Luxchem? Now fell -5.4%. The ex-date for distribution is only on 29th August 2017. profit not cantik
Vanguard 2015
Jul 26 2017, 03:06 PM
I did the only thing I could with Luxchem...which is to queue up and buy more.
Vanguard 2015
Jul 26 2017, 03:55 PM
Managed to top up Luxchem once at RM2.040. Now all the big boys come and sapu the stocks at RM2.070.
SUSlowya
Jul 26 2017, 04:21 PM
QUOTE(Vanguard 2015 @ Jul 26 2017, 03:55 PM) Managed to top up Luxchem once at RM2.040. Now all the big boys come and sapu the stocks at RM2.070. the real winner is the div collector instant 11.3% (0.25/2.22) div gain if the sold at open.
dontlosecapital
Jul 26 2017, 04:25 PM
QUOTE(lowya @ Jul 26 2017, 04:21 PM) the real winner is the div collector instant 11.3% (0.25/2.22) div gain if the sold at open. em. 0.25 or 0.025 ?
SUSlowya
Jul 26 2017, 04:36 PM
QUOTE(dontlosecapital @ Jul 26 2017, 04:25 PM) my bad, read the wrong decimal.
dontlosecapital
Jul 26 2017, 05:11 PM
coming days will be busy liao... 4 more days to go.. monday show time..