Malaysian watch out for this!, Found the hidden clause!

TSdennistan07
post Mar 22 2007, 11:05 AM, updated 19y ago

As my previous thread was having the topic of Malaysia being banned from US realms by the account administration. I have some fact findings, they are as follows:

1. 10 day free trial
https://signup.worldofwarcraft.com/trial/10dayfreetrial.htm
Please note that this promotion is only valid in the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and Singapore.

2. Account creation (normal)
after the terms of use, and you click I AGREE, the following page is enter Authentication Key
https://signup.worldofwarcraft.com/authkey.html
there is a brown box showing this:

Please Note:
Your unique authentication key can only be used to create one (1) account.
This account creation process is only available to customers in North America, New Zealand, Australia, and Singapore.

3. I email Blizzard billing and support department to enquire about this issue and ask them whether Malaysia is their support country or not. And i got the following reply:

"timm.support@blizzard.com" to me
show details 6:33 am (4 hours ago)

Greetings Dennis,

Malaysia has been a fully supported part of the North American release of World of Warcraft since January 16, 2007. It is certainly possible that some of the information on our website has not yet been updated to properly reflect the expanded supported region for this release of the game.

Bear in mind that you and I were in contact regarding this issue prior to the official Malaysian release of the game. I first replied to your message on January 10, 2007, a week before the announcement of the inclusion of that region. As our supported region has expanded, so have our policies regarding use from that region changed.

If you feel that an error was made by our Account Administration team, feel free to email them directly with your concerns.

Tim M
Billing & Account Services
Blizzard Entertainment
www.worldofwarcraft.com

please note that Tim says It is certainly possible that some of the information on our website has not yet been updated to properly reflect the expanded supported region for this release of the game.

However, the following is what i got from their account administration for my account closure enquiry:

"wowaccountadmin@blizzard.com" to me
show details Mar 7

***Notice of Account Closure***

Greetings,

Access to the World of Warcraft account DENNISTAN07, and all World of Warcraft accounts associated with the payment information you have provided, has been permanently disabled. The account was created circumventing the valid account creation procedure, violating the World of Warcraft Terms of Use. The recurring subscription on the account has been disabled to prevent further charges.

It is implicitly stated on the account creation page that: This account creation process is only available to customers in North America, New Zealand, Australia, and Singapore. When this account was created, the standard, valid, creation method was circumvented, thus invalidating the account and subjecting it to closure.

As a result, the account(s) will no longer be accessible in any way and will not be reopened under any circumstances. Thank you for your time and understanding in this matter.

Any disputes or questions concerning this account action can only be addressed by Account Administration. To learn more about how Account Administration is able to assist you, please visit us at http://www.blizzard.com/support/wowaa/.

Thank you for your understanding in this matter and respecting our position and all statutes within the World of Warcraft Terms of Use.

Regards,

Nyathad
Account Administration
Blizzard Entertainment
www.worldofwarcraft.com
http://www.blizzard.com/support/wowaa/

Customer satisfaction is a top priority here at Blizzard Entertainment, and we would like your feedback on the level of service you have received. Please feel free to provide such feedback at the following web address: http://www.blizzard.com/support/?id=eSurve...W1010@GMAIL.COM

-----Original Message-----
To: wowaccountadmin@blizzard.com

Sent: 3/1/2007 5:51:51 PM
Subject: World of Warcraft - Account Administration - Account Closure Inquiry

Info - From: twow1010@gmail.com
Info - Name: Tan Wei Ming
Account - ---------------------------

Account - Character(s): oohunter
Account - Name: dennistan07
Account - Realm: Tichondrius

Account - Region: United States

Description - -----------------------

Dear sir,

This is a new account and I have just started playing for not very long. My hunter character is only Level 14. I do not share account password with anyone else and I am the sole and only person using this account. And can you please investigate as to why my account has been closed?

- Show quoted text -

Warmest regards,
Tan Wei Ming

To summarise all of the above, I have the following conclusions:

A. Possible Internet fraud by Blizzard.
Blizzard officially announced Malaysian can play, we buy, we pay, we create account, the website has a tiny little clause we didnt notice or care about, few days later one of Blizzard WoW department, ie account administration, they used it to close our account and no refund is made, and make us pay again to create another account. These actions is telling us we can pay and play, but setup a trap in the website where no words of Malaysia is mentioned and banned us. This is the biggest interenet scam I have ever seen with such a big company using the best and most popular game title.

B. Blizzard is in a state of chaos
The company is so big that no body is having authority over somebody else. Every department and people are doing their own things. With the change of new policy and Malaysia being included in their supported country list, account administration does not know or even care about it. Is it that Malaysia is too small a market for them? or what else could it be?

Well, i have email their account administration for an answer to my problem on this issue, if there do not reply me, I will resort to FBI to report as an Internet fraud as my conclusion A.

Good luck guys. Be careful!
Peanutz
post Mar 22 2007, 11:22 AM

423 posts

I support your conclusion B.

However I don't think the FBI or whatever organisations that have popular initials to even look at your case. You can try though, and I'll wish you luck on that smile.gif
seen
post Mar 22 2007, 11:30 AM

87 posts

Or I think what Tim meant is that Bliz starts to include Malaysia as one of the supported region since Jan 16 2007. Prior to Jan 16 (I think your account was banned on or before 3 Jan 2007), any accounts created in Malaysia is still "circumventing the valid account procedure" as stated by Nyathad.

TSdennistan07
post Mar 22 2007, 11:35 AM

QUOTE(seen @ Mar 22 2007, 11:30 AM)
Or I think what Tim meant is that Bliz starts to include Malaysia as one of the supported region since Jan 16 2007. Prior to Jan 16 (I think your account was banned on or before 3 Jan 2007), any accounts created in Malaysia is still "circumventing the valid account procedure" as stated by Nyathad.
Look carefully, all emails are attached in the thread. It is banned on Mar 02 (malaysia time). It was registered on 20 Feb.

And btw, I have made another account on the day of the closure Mar 02. having an account name dennistan08. It was banned too on Mar 07. Having the EXACT same explaination from Blizzard account administration.
Hell Fire
post Mar 22 2007, 01:27 PM

5 sTaR n00bs
741 posts

ZOMG i'm looked forward to this when you reported this to FBI @_@ lawl ftw
myremi
post Mar 22 2007, 01:38 PM

1,846 posts

dennis, maybe something to clarify first for the rest of us from your very first posting :

QUOTE(dennistan07 @ Mar 14 2007, 03:29 PM)
My account was created using guess pass cdkey and registered as malaysian residing in malaysia and paid using a malaysia bank credit card to upgrade to retail version, and of course, I created my account under the normal create account option.

That's the bit that is confusing some of us and that is why you see a fair number of postings stating making a trial account online will cause Blizz to give bans out to players. I presume that "guess" is a typo for "guest".

Further down the thread, you made another post about making a normal account and not using the trial account creation-process at all. That's when it gets extremely confusing.

Maybe my interpretation of what you wrote may not be correct. Feel free to correct me.

I should also caution you though. Blizz does review back every single complaint / feedback that they receive and there are occasions that they have reversed their decision. Not all the time, but a few times.

Ok, for your conclusions :

A. Possible Internet Fraud by Blizzard
Hmm... maybe better clear up the doubts on what I mentioned above. Because it sounds like there's a bit of contraction on your story and Blizz lawyers can shoot you to pieces. But like I said, it could just be misinterpretation on our part but I wasn't the only LYN poster to say that maybe it could have been the trial key creation that caused the ban.

B. Blizzard is in a state of chaos
Ugly reality, yes we are small compared to other markets. If we were big, we would have Malaysian realms by now. The state of chaos of their support team is no different from any other MMO. Just that because they have a wider customer base, there's higher expectations from them as well. Their support team site can be improved a lot better as well as their support. Then again, it is typical of an American company. Only thing you can do is iron it out with firmly but politely. You don't have to like them but you'd still have to be polite to get a response from them.

flush
post Mar 22 2007, 02:34 PM

Dennis, do u want a trial account by e-mail invite? biggrin.gif It worked for my friend, and I could sure use the free 30 days. tongue.gif

Added on March 22, 2007, 2:38 pmBtw, even though Tim M referred you to the Account Administration team, you can try asking him to follow up on your case. Make sure to forward him a copy of the email from Nyathad of Account Administration, or save the email to file and send as attachment.

That's what I'd do if I were in your position. Good luck, hope you'll be able to resolve the matter with a positive outcome.

This post has been edited by flush: Mar 22 2007, 02:38 PM
plaz
post Mar 22 2007, 02:52 PM

good info,

thanks ...keep us updated on it
flush
post Mar 22 2007, 03:18 PM

Hey Dennis, pls refer to solInvictus' reply to ur original thread.
limsk
post Mar 22 2007, 05:59 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(seen @ Mar 22 2007, 11:30 AM)
Following this reasoning, all of the early birds from Malaysia who have been playing WOW since launch is guilty of this. It is no great difficulty to write a script to check account create date and cross reference it to IP address which would unearth all of those guys "circumventing the valid account procedure".

Continuing on from this logic, it will also mean that all the European account holders who signed up before the Euro servers where opened are also in violation of this rule and could also be banned, including American troops serving overseas logging into US servers. Would be a pretty big hoohaa if they did that, I would imagine.

Anyway, my point is that they can very easily catch and ban us all but they have not done so, and I belief, it wont be any time soon unless some big stink occurs to make them want to actively kick us out, e.g. tons of farmers with MY IP addresses causing problems and affecting their business.

Personally I think your case is that of a company whose customers have grown far beyond what they could have imagined and just got themselves confused with their own rules. Since the rest of us escaped, it would be safe to assume that is part of the (new?) vetting procedure for new accounts only and person doing the vetting followed the letter of the agreement a little too accurately.

To be fair, it is not stated implicitly whether Malaysia is considered to be part of "Singapore" mentioned in the Terms of Service even though there is an official distributor for WOW here. Anything which is not stated implicitly is often the cause for confusion - this happens in other businesses too, not just online games.

This post has been edited by limsk: Mar 22 2007, 06:03 PM
slickz
post Mar 22 2007, 06:00 PM

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

looking forward to the outcome too! Especially since I still haven't keyed in retail yet. Good luck! For all of our sakes.
TSdennistan07
post Mar 22 2007, 06:53 PM

Well, my story is about we as malaysians being ill treated by Blizzard account administration. I have spend hours try to find an alternative route to complain, and I found no other. Its either through their billing and support OR account administration.

Though not many will suffer the same fate as I am, I am sure there are many sufferings by our Malaysian citizens which have not been reported. Or many other coutries players too may also happen to them. Especially the Hong Kong players.

I have seen my friend playing in the new server tortherin, its like a dead server, she is level 70 human mage, the population is 1A:5H. There are no farmers farming and grinding of mats, she has to do everything herself. Amercians there are purposely resting for the 200% experience by playing with twinks rather than main. No guild in alliance have enough players to raid even kara yet which is a 10man 10 boss raid. And her spell damage is 565. Even my 60 mage in taiwan server which i stopped playing in Dec 2006 is already having spell dmg 580. I am doing more dmg than her 70 mage with with 1 level lower of ice bolt. While she is capable of making good gold, all her guild mates, all americans, are borrowing gold from her for mount to epic gears and to epic mounts. How shameful for the americans. We started together, i got my account banned, she is lucky, she isnt, and now she is at 70. i am still at 0. Of my incident, she is about to leave US realm too, to join me in taiwan server. And she receive few email from their guildmates asking what she is going to do with her gold when she leaves, and telling her tales they are readying to buy epic mounts while they are still at 40s. OMFG. US server really sucks. Worst than beggers. Well, this is what i saw on 1 server.

For me, i just want to get to the end of my story and finish it off. We must have the kind of spirit of not being bullied by the big brother of America and sit down here doing nothing! I hope my story will inspire Malaysians to fight for our own rights. Because i can be happened to anyone of us in the future. We are not some stupid dumb ass who doesnt read english and can be played around like a fool with their trick of wording play.

Be smart. Play smart.
limsk
post Mar 23 2007, 10:11 AM

62 posts

No offense, dennis but that rant about the server community is better served in another topic.

There are dumb employees in every company large or small that damage their reputations. I truly believe thats what happened to you. I dont think there is any intentional bullying here. Some dumbass employee who screwed up your account after getting confused by the rules of the free Trial pass which apparently is only applicable in those countries specifically named in the ToS.

You are the victim here and absolutely have the right to be angry and complain about the way you were treated. We really sympathize with you, but let's keep the discussion coherent and keep the prosecution complex out of it. To label Americans as crass and bullying is just ranting. Just like if we were to call all Indonesians criminals, or all Chinese cheats and liars, or all Malaysians rude and kiasu. That sort of attitude helps nobody and does you no credit.

This post has been edited by limsk: Mar 23 2007, 10:24 AM
myremi
post Mar 23 2007, 11:31 AM

1,846 posts

QUOTE(limsk @ Mar 23 2007, 10:11 AM)
No offense, dennis but that rant about the server community is better served in another topic.

There are dumb employees in every company large or small that damage their reputations. I truly believe thats what happened to you. I dont think there is any intentional bullying here. Some dumbass employee who screwed up your account after getting confused by the rules of the free Trial pass which apparently is only applicable in those countries specifically named in the ToS.

You are the victim here and absolutely have the right to be angry and complain about the way you were treated. We really sympathize with you, but let's keep the discussion coherent and keep the prosecution complex out of it. To label Americans as crass and bullying is just ranting. Just like if we were to call all Indonesians criminals, or all Chinese cheats and liars, or all Malaysians rude and kiasu. That sort of attitude helps nobody and does you no credit.
limsk, rclxms.gif Concise and straight to the point. Although admittedly dennis did mention that he created the account using a "guess pass" which up till now is only confirmed that it's not the online key pass. mind you, he went up and created 2 accounts using trial keys just to see what happens.

Anyway, I'm taking a break from posting about this until something interesting is posted.

dennis, I'd also like to add that you should really consider checking back some of your postings. Getting confusing and misleading as well. I also notice that you do not reply to people's postings but rather to post up instead what you feel and that you do ignore what people have pointed out (and it need not necessarily be my posting but others as well). Not quite the best way to go about it but to each his own.

tryer
post Mar 23 2007, 05:40 PM

34 posts

cre8 using guest pass from not bs & updated to bs & then play untill today, paying by credit card.. no problem for me.
so if u sure this is true then i'll jz guess this is the new rule.
slickz
post Mar 24 2007, 02:32 AM

2,149 posts

Hey guess what ? I emailed blizzard personally regarding the account creation process and this is what I got

Hello,

Thank you for contacting us. If you are having trouble with the account
creation process, please note the following:

The signup page is located here http://signup.worldofwarcraft.com.

- Please be sure to clear your cache files and set your security to
"low" to accept any cookies (just during account creation, you may switch
it back when the account has been created), also completely close and
restart your browser after making the adjustments.
- Be sure you are using the right region's website. For assistance
with setting up a European account, please visit www.wow-europe.com.
- When entering the phone number, please be sure to enter all the
digits without using dashes or spaces. Be sure to include the area code. Do
not put a "1" before the number.
- If you do not have an extension then leave this space blank.
- Please be aware that the address given must match any credit card
used on the account.
- The address must reside within the North American region (U.S.,
Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Malaysia and Thailand), in order
to gain access to the North American Realms.

- Make sure you're not entering a pre-paid game card in the
authentication key field, or vice versa. A pre-paid game card will have a format
like this: XXXX-XXXXXX-XXXXX-XXXXXX-XXXX and be entirely numeric. An
authentication key will have a format like this:
XXXXXX-XXXX-XXXXXX-XXXX-XXXXXX and be a combination of numbers and letters. The appropriate
page will be formatted to accept these numbers. If they don't match up,
then please double check which page you are on.
- Game cards are only usable within their home region and cannot be
used with Guest Passes.

Billing representatives are on hand to take your call Monday thru
Friday between 9am and 6pm Pacific Time, at 1-800-59-BLIZZARD
(800-592-5499). Customers in Australia should call 1-800-041-378. For more
information regarding account set up feel free to visit our billing website at
http://www.blizzard.com/support/wowbilling/ .Please keep an eye on
www.worldofwarcraft.com for any further news on World of Warcraft.  We look
forward to seeing you in the game!

For assistance with setting up a European account, please visit
www.wow-europe.com.

Regards,
Carlos L.
Blizzard Entertainment
carlosl.support@blizzard.com

So no worries! Malaysians are NOT banned . They do however, keep a close eye on asian players I believe, since majority of gold farmers are from asia. Any form of activity associated with goldfarming are immediately acted upon. Much to the dismay of certain ppl here I'm sure brows.gif

but rejoice legit players! You have nothing to fear!

This post has been edited by slickz: Mar 24 2007, 02:34 AM
myremi
post Mar 24 2007, 07:56 AM

1,846 posts

well down slickz. great to see that response.
Jambu
post Mar 24 2007, 10:24 AM

A lot of us has been palying this game since release and alot of us has registered to be new players recently with 'No problems at all'. Dennis is making a big 'HOOHAA' out of it!
cqf
post Mar 24 2007, 06:43 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Mar 24 2007, 02:32 AM)
So no worries! Malaysians are NOT banned . They do however, keep a close eye on asian players I believe, since majority of gold farmers are from asia. Any form of activity associated with goldfarming are immediately acted upon. Much to the dismay of certain ppl here I'm sure brows.gif

but rejoice legit players! You have nothing to fear!
Does this mean that Malaysian accounts created using the 10-day Web Trial are save?
slickz
post Mar 24 2007, 10:14 PM

2,149 posts

the correct word is "safe", not save.

ANyhow, I would say the answer would be NO. Since I emailed them regarding standard account creation and the website expressly said

"Please note that this promotion is only valid in the United States, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and Singapore. If you are located in Europe, please click here for the World of Warcraft European Trial Site. "

https://signup.worldofwarcraft.com/trial/10dayfreetrial.htm

This post has been edited by slickz: Mar 24 2007, 10:15 PM

0.0188sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:51 PM