Planted Aquarium, Back to the Natural

presario316
post May 22 2008, 01:13 PM

663 posts

Amedion:

Not necessity to add salt in a Malawi-setup kinda tank you know? or any other fresh water tanks.

We add salt for 2 purposes(that i know of)
1) Helps the fishes to generate a layer of coating to protect itself against harmful parasites/illness bla bla bla

2) parasites that causes velvet and white spot/ich (i cant remmeber the name of it) hates salt!

For malawi tanks, things you'll need to dose are KH Buffers. You can DIY yours. Search online for the recipe. it's a mixture of baking soda, epsom salt...and somethign else i think. Not very sure. Helps maintain the pH above 7. Cos cichlids require pH that's above 7. Malawi's usually 7-8, Tanganyikans need 8 and above.

For your tank size, the only cichlid i can think of are Shell dwellers (Can be found at SLS...ONLY!) Or else, you can try South America cichlids like Apistogamma, Pelvicachromis etc. South America cichlids water parameter is the opposite of african cichlids. Do take note.

But they have very nice colorations and their size remain small (those i mention above), about 2 inches.

If you really want to have a salt water setup, be prepared to dish in more $$ smile.gif It's more complicated than just adding SALT! Good luck!

Amedion
post May 22 2008, 01:46 PM

It's a bird! No, it's a plane! No, it's star
3,377 posts

QUOTE(presario316 @ May 22 2008, 01:13 PM)
Amedion:

Not necessity to add salt in a Malawi-setup kinda tank you know? or any other fresh water tanks.

We add salt for 2 purposes(that i know of)
1) Helps the fishes to generate a layer of coating to protect itself against harmful parasites/illness bla bla bla

2) parasites that causes velvet and white spot/ich (i cant remmeber the name of it) hates salt!

For malawi tanks, things you'll need to dose are KH Buffers. You can DIY yours. Search online for the recipe. it's a mixture of baking soda, epsom salt...and somethign else i think. Not very sure. Helps maintain the pH above 7. Cos cichlids require pH that's above 7. Malawi's usually 7-8, Tanganyikans need 8 and above.

For your tank size, the only cichlid i can think of are Shell dwellers (Can be found at SLS...ONLY!)  Or else, you can try South America cichlids like Apistogamma, Pelvicachromis etc. South America cichlids water parameter is the opposite of african cichlids. Do take note.

But they have very nice colorations and their size remain small (those i mention above), about 2 inches.

If you really want to have a salt water setup, be prepared to dish in more $$ smile.gif It's more complicated than just adding SALT! Good luck!
Thanks for the tips, bro..
The pack of water conditioner / salt I got from PetFamily is suggested by the guy who work there.. I put 4 spoons as instructed.. Now I guess I'll throw it into the dustbin ..
I guess my pH is acceptable cause got crushed coral and the water is from filtered tap water ( mix with anti-chlorine ) ..
I will get pH tested for the next water change cause now already broke ..
So, far two Snow White goes into Lobster's stomach and one Yellow lab died coz the King in my tank killed it ..

This is the king :-

Now I will wait and see if my tank can survive for a week or two, then only decide what to do next ..
Thought of getting small reef tank because my gf wants colorful fish but after a lot of people said it can cost over RM 1k.. i give up..
Surfed a lot in the net and couldn't find much nice fish.. The nice one are Yellow Labs which is already in my tank ..
The fish you suggested is cichlids.. It's nice too but can grow big is size which my tank cannot hold..
Any other fish that looks colorful and cute like clown fish?
Any place that I can get a bigger driftwood .. ?
presario316
post May 22 2008, 06:14 PM

663 posts

Ame:
Try google "Pelvicachromis taeniatus" and "Apistogramma". These are soft water fishes, softwater cichlids. NO tank is sufficient if you overstock it with fauna. Your tank will do just nice for a pair of any of these.

Apistogramma cacatuoides
http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:2Hx2pH...%2520Red%27.jpg

Pelvicachromis taeniatus

http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:JbSh73...xy/apulcher.jpg

http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:zyZGt_...61/P1030070.JPG

Ame, You used to sell handfons in the forum ?

This post has been edited by presario316: May 22 2008, 06:19 PM
Amedion
post May 22 2008, 06:52 PM

3,377 posts

QUOTE(presario316 @ May 22 2008, 06:14 PM)
Ame:
Try google  "Pelvicachromis taeniatus" and "Apistogramma". These are soft water fishes, softwater cichlids. NO tank is sufficient if you overstock it with fauna. Your tank will do just nice for a pair of any of these.
Apistogramma cacatuoides
http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:2Hx2pH...%2520Red%27.jpg
Pelvicachromis taeniatus

http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:JbSh73...xy/apulcher.jpg

http://tbn0.google.com/images?q=tbn:zyZGt_...61/P1030070.JPG
Ame, You used to sell handfons in the forum ?
Already google after ur first reply to me .. I don't think my gf will like that kinda fierce look of it ..

Cichlid all looks so fierce.. Tetra looks like Ikan Bilis ( she said that ) .. I'll try to find more suitable fish ..

Yes .. I am handphone seller .. not selling for over 2 years+ already..
geediver
post May 22 2008, 11:35 PM

649 posts

Ame: there's another way... get your gf too chip into the hobby too la. All the I want this I want that, then bf also keliru! eheheh Just kidding. Ask around here, most of the time its the other way around for most of us. Minister of Home Affairs don't approve of our hobbies until much much later.
Amedion
post May 23 2008, 10:19 AM

3,377 posts

QUOTE(geediver @ May 22 2008, 11:35 PM)
Ame: there's another way... get your gf too chip into the hobby too la. All the I want this I want that, then bf also keliru! eheheh Just kidding. Ask around here, most of the time its the other way around for most of us. Minister of Home Affairs don't approve of our hobbies until much much later.
Actually I am not confused .. I know what she want.. Just that I can't make it for her..

She want this :-

This post has been edited by Amedion: May 23 2008, 10:26 AM
geediver
post May 23 2008, 11:30 AM

649 posts

Surgeon fish and Nemo? lolx... you both share-share the cost of building it la
Amedion
post May 23 2008, 12:47 PM

3,377 posts

QUOTE(geediver @ May 23 2008, 11:30 AM)
Surgeon fish and Nemo? lolx... you both share-share the cost of building it la
Impossible to get lar.. The adult size = 12" .. shocking.gif

Need at least 6 ft tank .. sweat.gif Let's forget about saltwater for now..

Anyway, let's discuss my current tank setup first..
On daytime the whether is hot.. Temperature reading for my water is 29c.. So I off the light..
When nighttime.. It reach 26c cause I turn on the aircon.. So, I on the light for a little heat..
Question is -> Is it okay to turn the light off in the night and on at daytime?
Jamien
post May 23 2008, 04:45 PM

2,647 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ May 23 2008, 10:19 AM)
Actually I am not confused .. I know what she want.. Just that I can't make it for her..

She want this :-

Your girlfriend watched finding nemo? That's why she wants Dory and Nemo?? I also suggest you all share cost. A salt water tank is not cheap.

This post has been edited by Jamien: May 23 2008, 04:45 PM
geediver
post May 23 2008, 05:01 PM

649 posts

Amedion: I'd like to know where your tank is situated. My wildest guess would be your room. Your question is:

When to turn the lights on and off?
Well the lights are used to simulate natural light, and an aquarium being an unnatural setting, we can only try to simulate or recreate. Hence, try to turn the lights on as close as possible with nature. Remember in nature light comes on gradually, whereas in your tank the light effect is immediately after you hit the switch. Optimum light penetration during the day in nature is between 10am - 2pm. You can try simulating those times too within your tank. Invest in a timer, to set the on/off times of your lights (the time the light is switched on in a planted tank is known as PHOTOPERIOD)

Hope this explanation helps. Otherwise you know what to do la... Google some more smile.gif
silverwineus
post May 23 2008, 06:07 PM

514 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ May 23 2008, 12:47 PM)
Impossible to get lar.. The adult size = 12" ..  shocking.gif

Need at least 6 ft tank ..  sweat.gif  Let's forget about saltwater for now..

Anyway, let's discuss my current tank setup first..
On daytime the whether is hot.. Temperature reading for my water is 29c.. So I off the light..
When nighttime.. It reach 26c cause I turn on the aircon.. So, I on the light for a little heat..
Question is -> Is it okay to turn the light off in the night and on at daytime?
26 degrees is ok. But a sudden drop to 25 degrees, sometimes will cause your fish to contract white spots..

For the good of your fish, turn on the lights when you on the air-con, but you can turn the lights off when you go for sleep.
presario316
post May 24 2008, 09:44 AM

663 posts

I'm the one of those odd one that changes the photoperiod timing for my planted tank, and the rest of my tanks. I only have my lights on at night, when i'm in the living room where my fish rack and tanks are. I dont see a point of having the lights on when i'm not home, and lights out when i'm home smile.gif

Just like any other living creature, plants need time to get use to the routine. After one or two months with the same routine, they'll be fine. However, many planted tank gurus are against this idea. But anyway, my plants are hardy and low requirement plants, so not much problem, i dont mind even if it's not growing promptly, as long as it's alive smile.gif

Amedion
post May 24 2008, 09:47 AM

3,377 posts

QUOTE(geediver @ May 23 2008, 05:01 PM)
Amedion: I'd like to know where your tank is situated. My wildest guess would be your room. Your question is:

When to turn the lights on and off?
Well the lights are used to simulate natural light, and an aquarium being an unnatural setting, we can only try to simulate or recreate. Hence, try to turn the lights on as close as possible with nature. Remember in nature light comes on gradually, whereas in your tank the light effect is immediately after you hit the switch. Optimum light penetration during the day in nature is between 10am - 2pm. You can try simulating those times too within your tank. Invest in a timer, to set the on/off times of your lights (the time the light is switched on in a planted tank is known as PHOTOPERIOD)

Hope this explanation helps. Otherwise you know what to do la... Google some more smile.gif
Yes it is situated in my room ...

I was thinking to use the light as heat cause my aircon is cold ... Daytime is freaking hot.. Therefore I dun wan to run on the light to add extra heat..

Now I see the best time to turn on the light is 10am ~ 2pm .. run it for 12~14hours, right?

QUOTE(silverwineus @ May 23 2008, 06:07 PM)
26 degrees is ok. But a sudden drop to 25 degrees, sometimes will cause your fish to contract white spots..

For the good of your fish, turn on the lights when you on the air-con, but you can turn the lights off when you go for sleep.
I guess my aircon also need time to get cold.. So, It shouldn't be a problem... smile.gif
presario316
post May 24 2008, 11:31 AM

663 posts

12-14 hours? too long smile.gif later you gonna have a "green tank"....

This post has been edited by presario316: May 24 2008, 11:32 AM
Amedion
post May 24 2008, 12:17 PM

3,377 posts

QUOTE(presario316 @ May 24 2008, 11:31 AM)
12-14 hours? too long smile.gif later you gonna have a "green tank"....
That's the hours I need to sleep ..

Someone asked the same question in other forum.. The guru there said it is okay to turn on the light in the night as long as ur room don't have any light source from the sun at daytime.. I think mine is good cause my room is dark ..

Btw, what substrate you all normally use? How much for 15gallon tank? Does it have dark coloured type / black?

This post has been edited by Amedion: May 24 2008, 12:22 PM
frankzane
post May 26 2008, 03:40 PM

664 posts

I'm investing on a pressurized CO2 soon. The LFS recommended me on this diffuser (the external one that attach to the filter and mix with water before it get into the tank) saying that this type save a lot.

I'm wondering is this type really better compare to the typical diffuser where it is placed in the tank itself (the one where you can see the bubble)?

And anyone can recommend any LFS around PJ with good price of CO2 set?

Thanks!

TSnezumitaro
post May 26 2008, 10:45 PM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

yes CO2 reactor is much more better smile.gif and save ur CO2. cos its 100% 'melt' in water smile.gif

normally a 3.5L with auto regulator is about $500+

i normally go damansara damai. aqua world
frankzane
post May 27 2008, 01:16 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ May 26 2008, 10:45 PM)
yes CO2 reactor is much more better smile.gif  and save ur CO2. cos its 100% 'melt' in water smile.gif

normally a 3.5L with auto regulator is about $500+

i normally go damansara damai. aqua world
hi nezumitaro,

ok, thanks for the info! very helpful indeed. notworthy.gif

TSnezumitaro
post May 27 2008, 01:18 PM

Taro: I am the KING, all GERBILS are MINE!!
4,711 posts

hv got ur light n filter too?
presario316
post May 27 2008, 05:25 PM

663 posts

QUOTE(Amedion @ May 24 2008, 12:17 PM)
That's the hours I need to sleep ..

Someone asked the same question in other forum.. The guru there said it is okay to turn on the light in the night as long as ur room don't have any light source from the sun at daytime.. I think mine is good cause my room is dark ..

Btw, what substrate you all normally use? How much for 15gallon tank? Does it have dark coloured type / black?
I dont mind you switching your lights on at night and off in the day because i'm doing tthe same. As long as your plants have gotten used to it and growing well, it's ok.

WHat i meant to say is that if you have LOTS of lights for a LONG period, and INSUFFICIENT plants in your tank, you gonna give something else a chance to grow-----ALGAE!

To have good planted tank...to grow plants and not algae...you need to balance out the supply of Lights, CO2 and nutrients in the water. Excess or insufficient of these, you either see your plants rotting/melting/dying or algae growth. And that itself is another chapter to your adventure into planted tanks. smile.gif take note my friend.

127 Pages « < 26 27 28 29 30 > » Top

0.0207sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 03:26 AM