14 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Bottom

Planted Aquarium, Back to the Natural

the_catacombs
post Mar 5 2009, 10:03 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(SengCheong @ Mar 5 2009, 08:37 PM)
as u say before fliter can be avoided if i change my water every 2 week ,but if i hv sufficient  burget i will buy a cheap fliter also ( correct me if i am wrong )

i saw that u guys hv been say about the DIY CO2 but i am still confuse about the steps and the requirement  icon_question.gif
any respond will be appreciate.
i said water change twice a week or more often... not once every 2 week... sweat.gif

with rm10 ah??... substrate u can try mix some ADA aquasoil with holland sand (complete holland sand also can if u wanna save cost for other things)... lighting u find from ur house store room see if got spare table lamp... co2 dun need adi since u going for no-cost-low-tech tank.... plants, u ask donations from ur friends or other forumer lor... fish, go catch some guppies from the longkang in front of ur house....

my advice, try up ur budget at least rm50 lar if u wanna start a hobby... doh.gif
the_catacombs
post Mar 6 2009, 01:49 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

among the 6 cherry red shrimps i bought back, 1 of them has eggs... rclxm9.gif

hopefully can see shrimplets soon...

This post has been edited by the_catacombs: Mar 6 2009, 01:49 AM
the_catacombs
post Mar 7 2009, 12:46 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Mar 6 2009, 08:17 AM)
congrat...
your tank got fish? shrimplet is the best food for any fish  so careful about that
unfortunately, got many rasboras and some tetras... sweat.gif

QUOTE(playerseeker @ Mar 6 2009, 08:30 AM)
tetras and SAE can eat my shrimplets or not??

guys guys....dun worry bout seng cheong....his case is almost like my case....in my mind..i have around rm20 for my planted tank startup....but butLFS....subconciously.....i spent rm100 on it....lol!!!!!!!it's around rm80 off my initial setup budget...

trust me seng cheong.....if u have low budget maybe u save save 1st till u get around rm 100 like this only start??one time buy is better than buy abit but abit like me....everyday visit to LFS is quite tiring you know!lol...until the indon worker named yati also smile at me every day seeing me there....hahaahahahah
yeap... tetras eat shrimplets...

about how much i spent in planted tank, way above my initial setup budget already... everyday there is alwiz something to buy, coz everything seems cheap initially... but if everything adds up, its quite hefty.... sweat.gif

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Mar 6 2009, 05:41 PM)
hahhaa only 4 testing water.. hvn't put in others..

which angel u wanna see?

found 1 here hehe

vr nice CRS... drool.gif

QUOTE(playerseeker @ Mar 6 2009, 08:48 PM)
hey guys...got a question...

see the attached picture....the maroon color is my filter and tat is my current filter position..i notice tat only half of the tank's water can circulate....while another half water is still...so which position is best to put my HOB filter??

it's a 400L/H filter on 18" x 8" x 8"...i'm thinking of shifting to middle of the tank...

and if the plants planted infront of the filter..will the plant grow??

mayb u can try use powerhead filter to help with the water circulation... i'm using one in my tank now... not really recommended coz it heats up the water... datz why i jz switch it on once a while to help with the water circulation...

QUOTE(nezumitaro @ Mar 7 2009, 12:31 AM)

why didnt plant the lalang??.. rolleyes.gif
the_catacombs
post Mar 8 2009, 02:28 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(chuppy2 @ Mar 7 2009, 08:51 PM)
How many you want? =D hahaha I can get some for you... Ask me earlier mah.. just released 40+ pieces of S grades about a month ago LOL!! Now waiting for new brood.. haih... Now I can recomend you a guy I know who has too much and want to let go some lol.
What grade did you buy and how much did you pay for them??
CRS and RCS cannot cross breed with each other, I'm not too sure which but one of them is of the Neocardina sp. while the other is cardina sp. So they won't cross breed.. If you intend to breed hundreds of baby CRS, I suggest you do not mix as Rcs are much more aggressive compared to CRS..

Drew
i also want CRS.... when can give me some??...
the_catacombs
post Mar 9 2009, 02:50 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(chuppy2 @ Mar 9 2009, 11:24 AM)
Go see the previous pictures of a room with many many fish tanks.. That's mine. It was a toilet. HAHAHA
toilet with air conditioning... sweat.gif

ohya, jz back from my trip to genting n PD... one of my corydora KO adi and my tetra is feeding on him... sad.gif
the_catacombs
post Mar 9 2009, 08:24 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

6 cherry red shrimps i added last week... dont know how many of it left as i lost sight of them since da first day i throw them in... so far outside the tank no casualty....

this is my fat cherry shrimp... not sure if fat or wif eggs... unsure.gif

otos feeding time... biggrin.gif
the_catacombs
post Mar 9 2009, 08:52 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(bartbarb @ Mar 9 2009, 08:42 PM)
can't see clearly the picture, but if the egg shack inside got little yellow tiny balls, then congraz, u got a pregnant cherry
no idea... i didnt see her for days already... hopefully she is alright...
the_catacombs
post Mar 9 2009, 09:42 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Mar 9 2009, 09:05 PM)
she might go search for a spot .. btw catacomb .. what u give to the otto ?
some bottom feeder food... written there suitable for corydora... i also use them to feed my crayfish...

QUOTE(playerseeker @ Mar 9 2009, 09:20 PM)

my just DIY-ed fan...will add another fan at the middle to cool off the heat generated by the lamp..now slightly below 28c...

ahh..sorry for the ugly planted tank......i dun think will re-scaping the tank again..i can see my shrimps are familiar with the current scape already...the DW provides a very very good protection for them...hehe..can see 4 to 5 shrimps inside there...and all my 4 CRS like tat place as well..always hide in there... blush.gif
ur fan placed abit too high to create water ripple.... try clip it on the side of ur aquarium....
the_catacombs
post Mar 9 2009, 10:01 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(chuppy2 @ Mar 9 2009, 09:43 PM)
Call em cruel.. but I have never fed my bottom dwellers before.. yet they are fat.. I wonder why..  blink.gif  blink.gif  (Of course.. besides the crs population i mean)

Drew
yeap my otos barely munch on da sinking pellets i gave them... they are fat mostly due to excessive algae growth in my tank... i dump 1 or 2 pellet inside for my corydora... my corydora seems skinny... sad.gif

btw, those sinking pellet food suitable for shrimps??... cherry red shrimp dont feed on algae rite??...
the_catacombs
post Mar 10 2009, 02:28 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(playerseeker @ Mar 9 2009, 10:05 PM)
i feed them the pellet i used to feed my lobster...lol..they eat also...ahhaahahah
lobster??... crayfish ah??... i feed my crayfish with sinking pellet as well... icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(coldfusionpower @ Mar 10 2009, 12:23 AM)
i agree with others .. the fan are too high .. some people put it at an angle but heres how i put the fans ..long time ago ..the problem with using fans, water evaporate faster ..

[attachmentid=838565]
i thought there is a debate at MAC even more fans u put it doesnt bring down the water temperature alot... unsure.gif hence, 1 or 2 fan is good enough as long as it creates sufficient water ripple....

true ah??... unsure.gif
the_catacombs
post Mar 10 2009, 12:21 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(playerseeker @ Mar 10 2009, 12:03 PM)
i believe he was trying to say "long"....but became "ong"...sipek ong a!!! if HG plant d can become ong...i wan wei...haah
laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
the_catacombs
post Mar 10 2009, 07:47 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(adrian7386 @ Mar 10 2009, 05:45 PM)
why crs are so hard to find in some aquarium shop around my house...is it still new or the trend had just pass like flower horn fish?
they are expensive mar... sad.gif sad.gif

QUOTE(tenchi0205 @ Mar 10 2009, 06:04 PM)
cos CRS expensive...and hard to jaga...so not any LFS will carry CRS...if got cherry shrimp and amano shrimp also very lucky liao
yea... and most all LFS carries ghost shrimp if u want cheap shrimps.... tongue.gif
the_catacombs
post Mar 10 2009, 11:28 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(chuppy2 @ Mar 10 2009, 09:01 PM)
Those shrimps serve no purpose at all.. I rather keep Malayan shrimps over those tongue.gif

Drew
got got... they clean up uneaten fish food... i got 1 ghost shrimp still living happily inside... alwiz able to spot him, unlike my cherry shrimps so shy alwiz hide in da bushes.... rclxms.gif

QUOTE(playerseeker @ Mar 10 2009, 10:08 PM)
but i did made a full cement tank myself when i was in form 2 like this....ownself campur cement...and my cement wall inside got reinforcement...put metal rod to grab the cement strongly...of course with help of my dad on the tank's mold...nvr crack for few years...i use tat to keep my goldfish and i place it outside the porch where morning kena sunlight...and the water is rain water....guess one...i'm not bluffing..my goldfish grew very fat...till one day i put them inside a pile with tap water cause i wanted to change the tank water..they died...maybe was because of chlorine...lol....i broke tat tank and threw away..

anyway..it was just an idea....lol.....nvr plan to build the cement tank again...campur cement using bare hand.....it dem tiring okay!!lol

edited: i lowered down my fans already...lol....but not till 1inch from water...around 2 inches plus like this...let's see how....with tat height...the wind from fan can cause water movement...so i guess is okay
water will soon seep through ur cement wall... ever notice how construction worker build walls for ur house toilet floor n wall??... inside they have a layer of waterproof layer to prevent water seeping thru...
the_catacombs
post Mar 11 2009, 05:13 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(adrian7386 @ Mar 11 2009, 03:15 PM)
hey we open a thread just for discussion of shrimps?
can continue discuss here mah... since shrimps live in planted tanks... its also part of planted tank setup..
the_catacombs
post Mar 12 2009, 09:52 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(chuppy2 @ Mar 12 2009, 09:03 PM)
Walao! today like so dead.

All busy looking at iPhone ar?ahaha

Drew
thread dead nvm... dun later my shrimps dead can adi... sweat.gif

ohya, my cherry shrimp alwiz hang around da internal filter jz below the water surface.... so scared it will jump out of water all of da sudden... sweat.gif

update of my glosso... all inside dustbin adi... laugh.gif
the_catacombs
post Mar 16 2009, 09:21 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(playerseeker @ Mar 16 2009, 08:37 PM)
i think i'm not going to put any cucumber for time being.....

i saw one of my CRS carries eggs already... smile.gif
congrates rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

got baby shrimplets remember donate to me ya tongue.gif
the_catacombs
post Mar 17 2009, 01:47 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(playerseeker @ Mar 16 2009, 09:38 PM)
got baby cherry shrimplets....lol...
also can... rclxms.gif
the_catacombs
post Mar 18 2009, 03:27 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(playerseeker @ Mar 17 2009, 08:38 PM)
ohh..thanks thanks..i just saw she letting eggs everywhere..practically walked one round of my tank

i think is my CRS gugur anak!! cry.gif  cry.gif
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
the_catacombs
post Mar 18 2009, 12:00 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(pinchboyz @ Mar 18 2009, 10:04 AM)
not only the shrimplet... the shrimp itself also...
shrimp is the natural food for all fish, their most favourite food source...
so u say ler...
my tetra sometimes tries to nip my cherry shrimps... datz why i seldom see my shrimps in open water... mostly hiding in da bushes...
the_catacombs
post Mar 19 2009, 11:35 AM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

dem jz now timer auto switch off the lights, one of my rasbora got shocked and jumped out from water.... wacko.gif

14 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 07:02 AM