77 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

Guitars LYN Classical and Acoustic Guitars Thread, Kapok, Kayu, Wood everything here !

Ihero
post Jun 8 2010, 09:02 PM

162 posts

hey, i play classical too..
i have yamaha c40 that 13 year old..
currently focusing on Francisco Tarrega's songs..
SUSmhb
post Jun 10 2010, 12:59 AM

Zen.....
654 posts

Hi everyone.

This is my 1st post here.

Just bought my 1st acoustic as a prelude for my guitar journey.

I honestly knows nothing about guitar.

Absolutely nothing, no chord, no songs, no nothing.

I only know how to tune the guitar. In a very noob way.

So what's the next step u guys suggest me?

Go straight to learning song, or familiarize with the chords first?

I intend to go to lessons, but no budget sad.gif

By the way the guitar that I bought is T. Burton Foresthill, Jumbo-sized. thumbup.gif

exsea
post Jun 10 2010, 01:10 AM

656 posts

youtube + search "guitar tutorials" = ftw

google "online guitar tuners" to help u find out if ur tuning is correct.

learn how to read tabs

learn this song : http://www.classtab.org/anon_romance_de_amor.txt

the youtube for the song

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ypx8caI6vk

mumeichan
post Jun 10 2010, 01:12 AM

4,152 posts

Harden your fingers

Play as slow as you can

Practice scales and chords like there is no tomorrow

@exsea, romance de amor have to bar 6 string le. Acoustic guitar summore steel string, beginner sure die wan play this song.

This post has been edited by mumeichan: Jun 10 2010, 01:15 AM
apihblind
post Jun 10 2010, 01:14 AM

308 posts

buy a guitar chord book to remember the chords.i got 1 small can put in pocket and carry where ever i went.
exsea
post Jun 10 2010, 01:18 AM

656 posts

QUOTE(mumeichan @ Jun 10 2010, 01:12 AM)
Harden your fingers

Play as slow as you can

Practice scales and chords like there is no tomorrow

@exsea, romance de amor have to bar 6 string le. Acoustic guitar summore steel string, beginner sure die wan play this song.
yeah lol most of my friends cheat n just play the first string.

its one of those songs that he ll put aside and come back again some other day

Added on June 10, 2010, 1:28 amwhen i first started to learn how to play guitar "properly", my sifu taught me to play

C, Aminor, F and G.

first play each one by one, string by string to make sure each one sounds clear and has no distortion nor muted sound due finger touching adjacent string.

if u learn how to read tabs C is 0302010

Aminor is the easiest 002210 , you only move one finger from C to Aminor

F is a b**** 133211, to cheat use xx3211 instead, if thats too difficult go xx321x (super cheating but tats wat i did long ago)

G is 320003

as stated earlier try each chord alone on its own first. get the sound right release ur fingers n try again. do this till u can get the sound right on each try.

then learn how to switch chords from C-> Am -> F -> G then back to C again and repeat, strum each chord 4 times before switching to the next chord. start the strumming slowly as once u start strumming you are not supposed to stop/pause while switching to the next chord. when u get the hang of it, increase ur strumming speed till u're proud of urself

This post has been edited by exsea: Jun 10 2010, 01:28 AM
SUSmhb
post Jun 10 2010, 01:56 AM

Zen.....
654 posts

Whoa slow down there u fellow sifus.

Just a noob here.

Save the serious stuff later hehe.
TheCarpenters
post Jun 10 2010, 02:08 AM

127 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

list down 5 of ur favourite songs.. google its chords.. n then try if u can strum n sing along it or not..

if its a success, surely will boost ur spirit..

ZintanthraX
post Jun 10 2010, 02:38 AM

La Dolce Vita
2,324 posts

QUOTE(TheCarpenters @ Jun 10 2010, 02:08 AM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

list down 5 of ur favourite songs.. google its chords.. n then try if u can strum n sing along it or not..

agree!!!hehehe....dats how i start playin....
SUSmhb
post Jun 10 2010, 02:43 AM

Zen.....
654 posts

Will do!

But nao must sleep first.

Tumoro 10am work.

Thanks guys!
Ihero
post Jun 10 2010, 11:23 AM

162 posts

play one string only until your fingers movement smooth and your fingertips rock hard..
la bella
post Jun 10 2010, 11:52 AM

962 posts

QUOTE(exsea @ Jun 10 2010, 01:10 AM)
youtube + search "guitar tutorials" = ftw

google "online guitar tuners" to help u find out if ur tuning is correct.

learn how to read tabs

learn this song : http://www.classtab.org/anon_romance_de_amor.txt

the youtube for the song 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ypx8caI6vk
Wah.. romance de amor? I remember i learned romance de amor after 1 year of basic learning. It's more suitable to play on classical guitar. Most people can play the beginning part only. The rest is more challenging.
faceless
post Jun 10 2010, 11:54 AM

Straight Mouth is Big Word
4,515 posts

QUOTE(TheCarpenters @ Jun 10 2010, 02:08 AM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

It is so easy for expert to say and so difficult for the novice to do. When I started playing the guitar, music schools only teaches you classical guitar and theory. If I were to go through all that technical stuff, I would rather take the piano. I was still keen on the guitar. I figured that if I could just learn to hold down a chord, that should be the first step. In due time I was able to hold any popular chord that you can find in a typical guitar book. So what, I still can play anything. Then I figure the next step is to change chords fast enough. I studied all available combinations for chord change and tried it out. In due time I could do that too, but still cant play a song. So, please give some tips which part of the lyric to strum and what tempo?

This post has been edited by faceless: Jun 10 2010, 11:57 AM
la bella
post Jun 10 2010, 12:14 PM

962 posts

Just a suggestion.
Try strum simple song 1st with simple chords, such as happy birthday song. If you could strum and sing happy birthday, then only try other song. Learn how to walk 1st then only learn how to run.
Ihero
post Jun 10 2010, 12:26 PM

162 posts

watever it is, use your force..
wahah!
exsea
post Jun 10 2010, 01:37 PM

656 posts

learn songs from nirvana.

thats how my old school gang learnt the guitar. they eventually "mastered nirvana"

lol
hidzwan
post Jun 10 2010, 02:05 PM

377 posts

u need to know kind of song do u love to hear, hence make u eager to learn..

try to master the basic chord progression and plucking technique..

gud luck to u..
Kimie
post Jun 10 2010, 02:34 PM

187 posts

QUOTE(exsea @ Jun 10 2010, 01:18 AM)
yeah lol most of my friends cheat n just play the first string.

its one of those songs that he ll put aside and come back again some other day

Added on June 10, 2010, 1:28 amwhen i first started to learn how to play guitar "properly", my sifu taught me to play

C, Aminor, F and G.

first play each one by one, string by string to make sure each one sounds clear and has no distortion nor muted sound due finger touching adjacent string.

if u learn how to read tabs C is 0302010

Aminor is the easiest 002210 , you only move one finger from C to Aminor

F is a b**** 133211, to cheat use xx3211 instead, if thats too difficult go xx321x (super cheating but tats wat i did long ago)

G is 320003

as stated earlier try each chord alone on its own first. get the sound right release ur fingers n try again. do this till u can get the sound right on each try.

then learn how to switch chords from C-> Am -> F -> G then back to C again and repeat, strum each chord 4 times before switching to the next chord. start the strumming slowly as once u start strumming you are not supposed to stop/pause while switching to the next chord. when u get the hang of it, increase ur strumming speed till u're proud of urself
C, A min, F & G = if i'm not mistaken is the basic technique play guitar.. blush.gif

QUOTE(mhb @ Jun 10 2010, 01:56 AM)
Whoa slow down there u fellow sifus.

Just a noob here.

Save the serious stuff later hehe.
dude... you need to look for the basic chords 1st, like exsea mentioned (thanks to exsea for the tips). Acoustic guitar yet painful when playing as it has steel strings but be patience with it... try at least 2 to 3 hours min of practice the chords.. and most important you also need to know the notes of each strings for the each tabs...man i guess i'm going too deep already ... hahahaha.. anyway have fun learning guitar and don't care if you finger gets numb just continue -NO PAIN NO GAIN-.

This post has been edited by Kimie: Jun 10 2010, 03:05 PM
mhaniff_11
post Jun 10 2010, 06:37 PM

128 posts

try to play one note by another..
play chord..
search for youtube lesson..
play ur desire song...
practice harder..
and good luck..
LovesReborn
post Jun 11 2010, 10:33 AM

1,739 posts

i recomend start with learning some basic chords(C,Am,F,G). but just by knowing how to press those chords alone probably wont help much in motivation, so learn some songs that uses only C Am F G. it's pretty easy to find especially on oldies.

so, how about starting with

diana - Paul anka
Stand by Me - Ben E. King
Heart and Soul - Hoagy Carmichael
The Thin Ice - Pink Floyd
Earth Angel - The Penguins (in family guy, back to the future etc.)
Donna - Ritchie Valens
Duke of Earl - Gene Chandler
Every Breath You Take - The Police.

those are pretty popular songs, and the tunes are easy to remember with simple strumming styles... for strumming, start with down strokes only if you can't strum like the songs do.

have fun learning.
PS: practice AT LEAST 5-10 minutes a day, and you'll probably be able to play diana in about a week or so. then you realise...you can play the rest of the songs as well...hahaha

77 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0290sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:30 AM