Credit Cards Credit Card v20, Post/Ask general questions here, Please read post 1-3 before posting, tq

1tanmee
post Feb 6 2018, 07:41 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

What does 'no compounding charges' means?
1tanmee
post Feb 19 2018, 03:50 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Feb 7 2018, 12:03 AM)
Compound interest la,  @bunga atas bunga. Understand? If every month pay in full no need to worry compound or non compound interest. Only Islamic card got non compound interest.
So if outstanding RM100, interest 10%, so interest for conventional:

Month 1=RM10
Month 2= RM110*10%=RM11
Total interest=RM21

Islamic:

Month 1=RM10
Minth 2=RM10
Total=RM20

?
1tanmee
post Feb 22 2018, 12:27 AM

~noMNom~
970 posts

QUOTE(laymank @ Feb 21 2018, 03:50 PM)
let's put it this way, imaging that your income entitles you to maximum of 100k eligible total credit.

if you apply 1 card, the bank gives you 50K CL, that will take away 50K from your 100k.
apply second card, the bank gives you another 40k, you will be left with 10K.
apply third card, the bank may deem you as high risk in debt since your total committed amount is now 90k over 100K.
But if at the moment no CC, applying multiple CC and see which ones are successful makes sense. If not kena all, 1 is good enuff. And since there is lapse in reporting to ccris, banks would not know abt the multiple applications until later.
1tanmee
post May 9 2018, 03:27 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

If I want to change Cc type for the same FI, need to submit new request?
1tanmee
post Jul 11 2018, 08:04 AM

~noMNom~
970 posts

What does it mean by statement cycle is on 18th of each month? Does it mean all transactions made up to 18th inclusive? Or all transactions posted up to 18th inclusive?
1tanmee
post Jul 18 2018, 09:03 AM

~noMNom~
970 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Jul 11 2018, 08:04 AM)
What does it mean by statement cycle is on 18th of each month? Does it mean all transactions made up to 18th inclusive? Or all transactions posted up to 18th inclusive?
QUOTE(rapple @ Jul 12 2018, 12:07 PM)
All transactions that is posted from 19th to 18th will be generated in that month of statement.
In other words, the key is posting date. So if swipe on 18th (i.e. transaction date) but merchant posts it on 19th, it gets reflected in the next statement. Yes?
1tanmee
post Jul 18 2018, 10:35 AM

~noMNom~
970 posts

QUOTE(rapple @ Jul 18 2018, 09:17 AM)
Yes you are right.

For some it will get posted on the same day, like aeon supermarket using mbb cards. Always get posted on the same day.
Thanks! So a day diff may mean having to pay by the same cycle, or the next!

Swipe/posted on 18th July = payable by 7th Aug
Swipe/posted on 19th July = payable by 7th Sep!!!

Or am I getting this wrong?
1tanmee
post Jul 18 2018, 02:05 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jul 18 2018, 10:41 AM)
about 50 days max, for those posting just right after statement date.

that's why it's advisable to keep track of all your cc transactions, then you'd know where & when to spend, especially near statement date.
Thanks for confirming!

QUOTE(apamise @ Jul 18 2018, 10:53 AM)
Is it really worth it though? Sounds like too much effort for 0 gain. You're making things easier for your current self at the expense of your future self. hmm.gif
Say you incur the expenses anyway, it makes sense to have the payment delayed. Like them credit terms, the longer it takes for you to pay, the better it is!

QUOTE(rapple @ Jul 18 2018, 10:55 AM)
Yup. My budget follows my credit card payment cycle
I should do the same for my budget too!

QUOTE(cybpsych @ Jul 18 2018, 11:06 AM)
that's the behavior of all credit card statement cycle. nothing to burden.

same like monthly postpaid bill or utilities bill. you dont pay every day of usage. you pay according to monthly statement.
Make sense!
1tanmee
post Jul 26 2018, 08:51 AM

~noMNom~
970 posts

Lower credit utilisation score for CC would be the % of amount charged over the credit limit. The lower the score, the better. Is this correct?
1tanmee
post Jul 26 2018, 05:21 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

QUOTE(laymank @ Jul 26 2018, 10:34 AM)
is the score here referring to the CTOS score?
If otherwise, I don't get the question.
Not really. Is related to when bank decides to grant new CC, they would also look at the monthly usage, and the % of usage agaunst the credit granted. Yes?

This post has been edited by 1tanmee: Jul 26 2018, 05:21 PM
1tanmee
post Jul 30 2018, 11:06 AM

~noMNom~
970 posts

For Balance Transfer, say from A to B, does it mean that my available credit for CC A will increase by the same amount decreased in CC B?
1tanmee
post Feb 19 2019, 08:56 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

For late charges penalty, what is the min and max penalties the bank can charge?
1tanmee
post Feb 19 2019, 09:12 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Feb 19 2019, 09:05 PM)
1% of outstanding amount, min rm10 max rm75
Any other charges for late payments?
1tanmee
post Feb 20 2019, 07:44 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

QUOTE(maxlim776d @ Feb 20 2019, 07:29 AM)
Yesterday I just got my approval for my credit card after clearing my debt 3 months ago

Wondering whether I can apply another card or not
You just cleared your debt, and already you are looking to get more than 1 card??
1tanmee
post Oct 21 2019, 08:24 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

How is late payment charges % calculate? i pay full amount all the time, but may miss this month's full payment due to some problems. will i straight kena 18%?
1tanmee
post Oct 22 2019, 08:09 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Oct 21 2019, 08:24 PM)
How is late payment charges %  calculate? i pay full amount all the time, but may miss this month's full payment due to some problems. will i straight kena 18%?
QUOTE(eddievh @ Oct 21 2019, 10:08 PM)
Depending on how long is your card, if more than 1 year the rate is 15% pA.
card is two years. so if only fail full payment this time, balance kena 15% per month?
1tanmee
post Oct 23 2019, 11:51 AM

~noMNom~
970 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Oct 22 2019, 08:43 PM)
15% p year not per month.
ohlol, my bad!
1tanmee
post Oct 24 2019, 01:11 AM

~noMNom~
970 posts

QUOTE(eddievh @ Oct 23 2019, 06:51 PM)
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/4475541/+820 , here are samples how interest are calculated. Cc is licence ah long,lol . If possible always pay in full.
there are two types of charges levied... late charges and interest.
the 15%pa is the interest right? what about late charges? fixed amount or based on balance?
1tanmee
post Feb 12 2020, 10:11 AM

~noMNom~
970 posts

Bank wants to increase my CC Credit limit. any issues i should be aware of?
1tanmee
post Feb 12 2020, 02:09 PM

~noMNom~
970 posts

QUOTE(1tanmee @ Feb 12 2020, 10:11 AM)
Bank wants to increase my CC Credit limit. any issues i should be aware of?
QUOTE(MGM @ Feb 12 2020, 10:14 AM)
I will take it if it offers cashback/rewards for ewallet topup or 0% BT.
this bank does not

QUOTE(ongonglai89 @ Feb 12 2020, 10:17 AM)
Bank probably view you as a potential customer to be able to spend more/need more to spend.
possibly

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ Feb 12 2020, 10:22 AM)
If you are planning to apply for a big loan such as property/business loan, it is better not to increase the exposure to unsecured credit facilities (repayment period is short so relatively the repayment amount is bigger).
you meant to say better not to take the offer? my next big loan would be car, possibly next year

0.0382sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:35 PM