22 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Bottom

Firmware Flashing & Unlocking, Q&A section for your talk and questions!

nicks
post Dec 6 2007, 09:50 AM

TC
2,070 posts

strange... no calls menu? u mean there is no word calls at standby menu (ur hp desktop). possible to flash, but it will void ur warranty.
kychua
post Dec 8 2007, 03:30 PM

n73 simlock can be unlock now??
TSyoungkies
post Dec 9 2007, 05:50 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(kychua @ Dec 8 2007, 03:30 PM)
n73 simlock can be unlock now??
no way.
johnkor
post Dec 19 2007, 01:13 AM

Level 2 Mainboard Repair Specialist
4,237 posts

YEs able to unlock !
TSyoungkies
post Dec 19 2007, 03:38 AM

Monday <--> Friday
9,511 posts

QUOTE(johnkor @ Dec 19 2007, 01:13 AM)
YEs able to unlock !
yes have to update now!

read (for nokia bb5 platform unlocking):

http://themediaguru.blogspot.com/2007/05/f...-available.html

Lalaman
post Dec 19 2007, 10:50 AM

1,111 posts

QUOTE(youngkies @ Dec 19 2007, 03:38 AM)
yes have to update now!

read (for nokia bb5 platform unlocking):

http://themediaguru.blogspot.com/2007/05/f...-available.html
newer bb5 requires phone disassembly to unlock via test point.
leekweehui
post Dec 21 2007, 11:37 AM

130 posts

i am a newbie for firmware flashing. the question i am going to ask might not related (i suppose yes).

if my phone does not have chinese input (AP set), is that because of the firmware is not local? if i bring to nokia authorized shop to flash, will they accept?

your answer will help me to decide either i will buy an AP or authorized set. btw, i am buying n95 8gb. i would go for authorized set definitely if the price btw ap and auth set is not too big.
cute_boboi
post Dec 21 2007, 03:09 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(leekweehui @ Dec 21 2007, 11:37 AM)
i am a newbie for firmware flashing. the question i am going to ask might not related (i suppose yes).

if my phone does not have chinese input (AP set), is that because of the firmware is not local? if i bring to nokia authorized shop to flash, will they accept?

your answer will help me to decide either i will buy an AP or authorized set. btw, i am buying n95 8gb. i would go for authorized set definitely if the price btw ap and auth set is not too big.
Depends on where the AP set comes from. Assume comes from US/Europe, then no chinese input. You can flash it yourself through Nokia Software Updater. Be sure to choose APAC region/China/Taiwan if you want chinese input.

I'm not sure whether local Nokia will help you to flash AP set or not. If yes, I'm sure there are charges involved.

Lalaman
post Dec 21 2007, 03:37 PM

1,111 posts

QUOTE(leekweehui @ Dec 21 2007, 11:37 AM)

if your phone is an ap and does not have chinese support, Nokia Service Centres have the right not to flash it for you else they would charge a fee to get it done smile.gif
kengkhim
post Dec 22 2007, 04:44 PM

52 posts

cry.gif Is there anyway to flash back my original w880 Acoustics? my firmware R8BA024, cos i accidentely flash the Peter's Acoustics Version 2 in my w880 now regret cry.gif
Lalaman
post Dec 22 2007, 11:57 PM

1,111 posts

QUOTE(kengkhim @ Dec 22 2007, 04:44 PM)
cry.gif  Is there anyway to flash back my original w880 Acoustics? my firmware R8BA024, cos i accidentely flash the Peter's Acoustics Version 2 in my w880 now regret cry.gif
i guess you need to reflash your phone unless you have a backup of the acoustics before doing the mod.
kengkhim
post Dec 23 2007, 11:00 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(Lalaman @ Dec 22 2007, 11:57 PM)
i guess you need to reflash your phone unless you have a backup of the acoustics before doing the mod.
how to reflash my phone? cos currently i already using the latest firmware, the update software not allow to update since was updated. Btw i didnt backup any of my original acoustics, what should i do now cry.gif
johnkor
post Dec 23 2007, 07:32 PM

Level 2 Mainboard Repair Specialist
4,237 posts

YEAh test point is avalable ! haha Tried with Mt box!
leekweehui
post Dec 23 2007, 10:10 PM

130 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Dec 21 2007, 03:09 PM)
Depends on where the AP set comes from. Assume comes from US/Europe, then no chinese input. You can flash it yourself through Nokia Software Updater. Be sure to choose APAC region/China/Taiwan if you want chinese input.

I'm not sure whether local Nokia will help you to flash AP set or not. If yes, I'm sure there are charges involved.
i heard people say, if i flash it myself using nokia software updater, it will flash by the serial number which the serial number has info where the set is from.. i.e, if the updater detected that my set is from indonesia, it will flash an indonesia firmware (BM). and it is possible to change the serial number, whether it is legal or not.

edit: so my question is, if my ap set is from indonesia, is it possible to ask nokia authorised shop to flash a APAC firmware for me?

This post has been edited by leekweehui: Dec 23 2007, 10:11 PM
JasonHong
post Dec 23 2007, 11:21 PM

QUOTE(leekweehui @ Dec 23 2007, 10:10 PM)
i heard people say, if i flash it myself using nokia software updater, it will flash by the serial number which the serial number has info where the set is from.. i.e, if the updater detected that my set is from indonesia, it will flash an indonesia firmware (BM). and it is possible to change the serial number, whether it is legal or not.

edit: so my question is, if my ap set is from indonesia, is it possible to ask nokia authorised shop to flash a APAC firmware for me?
Every Nokia handset is produced with a product code. The product code is a 7 digit number begining with 05 (I.E 0536075). These 7 digits codes are made up of 4 different pieces of information.

The problem exists, that while a phone has a product code stating it is locked to a network, it will only accept that networks firmware. example, My N76 was locked to Vodafone, and while it had its original product code, it would only accept Vodafone firmware. What we intend to do, is change the product code, and trick the phone into thinking it is operator free and unlocked, so the Nokia Software Updater will apply which firmware you like.

you need this 2 Program to change ur Product Code.

Nemesis Service Suite - This is the application that can change your product code.

GSM Magic a.k.a TNT Enforcer - This is a handy little application that allows you to click on greyed out or disabled buttons in any application. For some reason this programme has become known as GSM Magic but is actually called TNT enforcer.

for your question, for sure they wont flash ur phone to APAC firmware. even if they do for u, charges maybe RM30-RM100.

the hardest part is to find the Correct Product Code for the APAC. try search on some search engine. sweat.gif

Merry Christmas laugh.gif

Added on December 23, 2007, 11:36 pm
QUOTE(kengkhim @ Dec 22 2007, 04:44 PM)
cry.gif  Is there anyway to flash back my original w880 Acoustics? my firmware R8BA024, cos i accidentely flash the Peter's Acoustics Version 2 in my w880 now regret cry.gif
try use XS++ to flash it back. u should back up the GDFS before flashing any firmware or customize file to ur phone.

the FS and MAIN file, try to search on google. because i dun have w880 FS and MAIN file. i only have K750/W800/K800/K810 if u need it.

by the way, what is peter's acoustics version 2? never heard of that.. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by JasonHong: Dec 23 2007, 11:36 PM
kengkhim
post Dec 24 2007, 08:18 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(JasonHong @ Dec 23 2007, 11:21 PM)
Every Nokia handset is produced with a product code. The product code is a 7 digit number begining with 05 (I.E 0536075). These 7 digits codes are made up of 4 different pieces of information.

The problem exists, that while a phone has a product code stating it is locked to a network, it will only accept that networks firmware. example, My N76 was locked to Vodafone, and while it had its original product code, it would only accept Vodafone firmware. What we intend to do, is change the product code, and trick the phone into thinking it is operator free and unlocked, so the Nokia Software Updater will apply which firmware you like.

Nemesis Service Suite - This is the application that can change your product code.

GSM Magic a.k.a TNT Enforcer - This is a handy little application that allows you to click on greyed out or disabled buttons in any application. For some reason this programme has become known as GSM Magic but is actually called TNT enforcer.

for your question, for sure they wont flash ur phone to APAC firmware. even if they do for u, charges maybe RM30-RM100.

the hardest part is to find the Correct Product Code for the APAC. try search on some search engine.  sweat.gif

Added on December 23, 2007, 11:36 pm

try use XS++ to flash it back. u should back up the GDFS before flashing any firmware or customize file to ur phone.

the FS and MAIN file, try to search on google. because i dun have w880 FS and MAIN file. i only have K750/W800/K800/K810 if u need it.

by the way, what is peter's acoustics version 2? never heard of that..  tongue.gif
peter's acoustics v2 was for those k800 or w series to boost better bass and treble for earphone and loud speaker, under esato forum.
cute_boboi
post Dec 24 2007, 10:38 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(JasonHong @ Dec 23 2007, 11:21 PM)

the hardest part is to find the Correct Product Code for the APAC. try search on some search engine.  sweat.gif

Even for the same model, same region... it may have a few product code for different colour scheme.

leekweehui
post Dec 24 2007, 10:59 AM

130 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Dec 24 2007, 10:38 AM)
Even for the same model, same region... it may have a few product code for different colour scheme.
meaning that is illegal to change product code? i dun mind paying rm100 to flash as long as i have what i want. but my problem is they ABLE(willing, or they have legal issue?) to change my product code or not? i mean the nokia shop.

This post has been edited by leekweehui: Dec 24 2007, 11:09 AM
JasonHong
post Dec 24 2007, 05:58 PM

QUOTE(kengkhim @ Dec 24 2007, 08:18 AM)
peter's acoustics v2 was for those k800 or w series to boost better bass and treble for earphone and loud speaker, under esato forum.
ok... tq. but normally i dun like to boost the loud speaker, will easily damage the speaker. sweat.gif

Added on December 24, 2007, 5:59 pm
QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Dec 24 2007, 10:38 AM)
yup. u are correct. finding the product code is the hardest part for me. especially new model. notworthy.gif

Added on December 24, 2007, 6:08 pm
QUOTE(leekweehui @ Dec 24 2007, 10:59 AM)
meaning that is illegal to change product code? i dun mind paying rm100 to flash as long as i have what i want. but my problem is they ABLE(willing, or they have legal issue?) to change my product code or not? i mean the nokia shop.
i think MAYBE is illegal. and will void the warranty (depends on ur ap company). why dun u buy from ur AP company & ask them to Flash it for u. some AP company will do for u. smile.gif Even some AP company will Flash the chinese firmware for u. but ofcourse their cost is higher abit than normal AP company.

Nokia Shop will not touch ur AP set normally. unless try to use ur PR skill to fren fren with them.. sweat.gif

the easiest way, buy a Original set if u have budget. smile.gif

by the way, what u mean by authorize set? u mean Ori set & AP set? they are different about RM500-600 for N95(8GB) in my price list. maybe i misunderstood ur question. rclxub.gif

anyway, Merry Christmas. whistling.gif

This post has been edited by JasonHong: Dec 24 2007, 06:14 PM
leekweehui
post Dec 26 2007, 01:19 PM

130 posts

i know most of the ap company will flash APAC firmware before they sell, but my concern is i will want to update the firmware. my fren case is, after he flash a newer firmware, become BM already because his set is from indonesia. then he need to change the product code and flash again(himself). i am just thinking is this worth to risk for that rm500~600 (in term of warranty). now i guess i will pick up an AP set. thanks for your help guys.

22 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 15 > » Top

0.0245sec    0.54    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:39 AM