casual bike talk..

jacktay94
post Nov 28 2020, 08:43 PM

6 stars only? :(
1,334 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Nov 28 2020, 07:44 PM)
How many CB (I'm talking about the bike .. not the other CB) .. on the road that you see..

Just camp in the BHP after toll Gombak every weekend and count the population.. 

I bet you will see..

10x of Ducatis
20x of BMW GS
again .. Ducatis
10x of S1000RR - Lejen
Then Honda, the Rabbit FTW is no 1
after that.
Kawa ZXR series..
Yamaha R6/1 series..
then
20x of Dan Lain Lain

and not forget.. 1000x of YSuku.

Then you repeat the census on Lemang Toki Bentong.. see if the figures still tally or not...

In Malaysia..  The way market (especially for bigger capacity bikes) works is outside the human logic parameters....
I have only seen one cb650r on the road so far, even when it received quite a bit of hype.
its true. the brand name seems more important than a good bike. Esp with Ducatis and their old desmo tech, people are still buying them.

jacktay94
post Jan 22 2021, 07:52 PM

1,334 posts

QUOTE(megahertz @ Jan 22 2021, 06:15 PM)
i bought battery tester + battery charger. so incase anything happened, i can check the battery condition and recharge it. or if the battery tester said the state of health is quite low, then better buy new 1.
i got 2 cars and 2 bikes at home. in this MCO period, didnt travel much, better to start the engine weekly to make the engine is good and battery got recharged.
which model did you buy? I've been contemplating on getting the bosch battery tender.
jacktay94
post Feb 3 2021, 07:37 PM

1,334 posts

QUOTE(tgmape @ Feb 2 2021, 08:15 PM)

I am a kapchai rider and want to upgrade for big bike
I am really interested with Triumph Trident 660
But Im not sure about spare part

Do u suggest this bike in term of reliability and spare part?
Not out yet so hard to say. Generally its harder to get aftermarket parts vs japs.
jacktay94
post Apr 6 2021, 09:55 PM

1,334 posts

QUOTE(redjol @ Apr 1 2021, 08:56 PM)
aprilia rs660 new released. yay or nay? spare parts easy to get and much more cheaper?

my aprilia rims are taking their own sweet time to arrive. Month 7 now....
Parts depends on the community. Shiver has a good community, but any warranty, factory parts, will take quite a while. Even Europe buyers had to wait a few weeks to months to claim for defects.
jacktay94
post Apr 7 2021, 10:38 AM

1,334 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Apr 7 2021, 08:37 AM)
Yeah I was looking at Shiver, but available service shops are too far for me.
Which model you have, and what's wrong with your rims?
I think most service shops are in Klang Valley only. 3S center is only in PJ, but there are local workshops that knows how to deal with aprilias. MGS Venture is in Penang that promoted servicing in the shiver group.

I have a 2011 Shiver 750. I hit a deep pothole and both rims were gone. Claiming insurance for it and original parts coming from Italy is only arriving this week. Sent into workshop in early October.
It is a good bike if you're considering it, plus price vs other bikes in the class is 4-5k cheaper.
Second hand parts availability is still okay (someone posted rims for sale a week or two after my incident), but original ones really do take a while.
jacktay94
post Apr 7 2021, 11:42 AM

1,334 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Apr 7 2021, 11:33 AM)
Luckily is not carbon wheels, else they would shatter. So I heard.
Spec wise, I agree very compelling. Aprilia SC and bengkels are far for me. Was looking at a 2013 one IINM. 20k with Akra + Bazzaz. Head shows minor oil leak at the time, and the owner doesn't know if that is normal or not. I reckoned I cannot live with a bike like such just yet. Then, a few Tuono were available also, some with APRC 30+k I don't recall the exact asking price.
They actually might. Mines just dented but I could still ride to the shoulder.
Some 2013s are going for 17-19k as well, all around. Minor oil leak would be a the rubber head gasket, just needs a change. Not normal haha!
That's fair, I will be steering clear of Aprilia next round too, mainly for the parts lead time. Not too sure how truimphs fare, might be better with their thai plant.
jacktay94
post Apr 7 2021, 02:19 PM

1,334 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Apr 7 2021, 12:10 PM)
The Shiver head, has a hole on the side, and it's dripping oil there. I think that's right, the head gasket or something.
What you mean ride to the shoulder?
Odd, not too sure if there's a hole.
Ride to the emergency lane and stop to assess the dmg. The kapcai behind me that hit the pot hole unfortunately skidded and fell into the drain. ohmy.gif
jacktay94
post Apr 8 2021, 10:44 PM

1,334 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Apr 7 2021, 03:07 PM)
Oh, ride to the shoulder of the road...
Kesian the kapcai.
See this post about the engine head oil hole: Aprilia Shiver 750 oil leak cylinder head

Yea, poor dude. Caused a mass gathering on the side as usual.

Ahh okay, I just saw it. Not too sure if the one on my bike is plugged, will check when i get it back. hmmmm.
jacktay94
post Aug 16 2021, 05:48 PM

1,334 posts

QUOTE(mDinie @ Aug 11 2021, 04:28 PM)
so how does one renew lesen when post office all full already to make appointment
you have until Oct so try again next week. JPJ one, try all three diff counters. Usually only counter 1 is full.

I need to renew my road tax too, aih.
jacktay94
post Aug 18 2021, 05:32 PM

1,334 posts

QUOTE(mDinie @ Aug 18 2021, 10:09 AM)
i made payment through mysikap online. then have to get an appointment at jpj to fetch the physical copy. almost everywhere and every time slot is slot, but managed to get one next week.
I tried to do via mysikap, but it said that my insurance is expired... but I already renewed my insurance. Not sure if this will be an issue. I got a slot with the post office to renew next week.
jacktay94
post Sep 26 2021, 03:53 AM

1,334 posts

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Sep 25 2021, 01:30 PM)
Why ar? this i dont quite get it, i thought it will be fun riding fast on a fast bike as most of the ppl here said that one will get bored with their 250 real fast.
im planning to try to ride to pg (first timer) with my 250 naked (me newbie)
and also im itching to upgrade to 650 cc as well  biggrin.gif
If you are riding to PG, using NSE, then yes, ride a bigger bike will have less fatigue etc, because it is mainly a long mostly straight road, nothing technical, and you will be riding a fast bike fast.

But say if you are on track or you are doing twisties, you won't be using close to the max potential of a big bike if you don't have the experiece/scared of crashing an expensive bike/too overpowered for that purpose.
So it feels nicer riding a slow bike fast (pushing it to it's limits) vs riding a fast bike slow (maybe you don't even use anything above 3rd gear)
jacktay94
post Jan 6 2022, 12:16 AM

1,334 posts

QUOTE(UnknownH @ Jan 5 2022, 09:51 PM)
No. I don't really trust anyway. Deposit money to stranger. No, no.
Normal one. I kena a few times already. If you enquire they expect you to take it that night itself. If not and it’s a high demand price and good price, it’ll be gone.

Once he couldn’t even wait from Wednesday to Saturday. 2 days only, gone bangwall.gif
jacktay94
post Jan 26 2022, 10:53 PM

1,334 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Jan 26 2022, 05:20 PM)
When you parked your bike for long period of time it would be wise to jacked up the bike until the tyres does not touched the ground. Else, the Tyres will prone to deformation, due being burdened the weight of the bike at one point of contact for long time and without proper air pressure.

Where can we get front paddock stands? Can’t find one for less than 200
jacktay94
post Apr 15 2025, 11:52 PM

1,334 posts

Anyone riding a ktm390 duke? Thinking to get one as it’s light and agile enough. Rode a shiver previously. Not sure if parts are hard to get here for ktm since the liquidation news is out.

Alternatives welcomed, budget 15-20k used. Out of the loop with bike news for a while.
jacktay94
post Apr 16 2025, 11:53 PM

1,334 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Apr 16 2025, 02:20 PM)
What happened with the shiver that made you want to get lower cc bike?

Cheapest 400cc bike you can get is probably dominar but its not exactly lightweight.
IMO kawasaki z650 would be best if you want reliability + lightweight.
Aanother one is suzuki sv650, that will require luck to find used around 20k.
I've seen some mt07 slightly above 20k but no ABS.
China bike option, benelli leoncino 500 and cfmoto 700 clx

Don't think theres much option in that price range if you want light and agile bike.

Some other choices if you don't mind the weight and lack of ABS:
- honda cb650f
- yamaha xj6
- kawasaki z800
Minor crash and got written off for the shiver. Just fork and radiator damage but parts were expensive, they didn’t wanna fix it. I can get another shiver but parts are ex and rare so I’ll skip getting another unit.

Reason why just a smaller bike is because I may want to allocate some funds for a sports bike for proper track riding and keep a lightweight but zippy bike for commutes (even maxi scooters is being considered at the moment).

Z650 will look into it. Ridden one before but it’s been ages since then.
MT07 holding its value too well, I don’t feel it’s worth the price tbh.
China options also in view, but I’ve lost touch so thanks for the reccs, will look into it.

Z800 too heavy, tried and tested. 650f is okay too, smth to explore. Xj6 price point is a bit high for the bike.

Any new launches on cafe racers/cruisers from the past 3 years worth looking at?
Was interested in the trident but seems like it’s rare on the used market.
jacktay94
post Apr 17 2025, 06:55 PM

1,334 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Apr 17 2025, 06:59 AM)
New cruiser around 20k worth looking is probably cfmoto 450 clc.
Other than that the usual used ones like honda rebel 500 and kawasaki vulcan 650.
Used would do. Saw them both, maybe not commute friendly after all haha
jacktay94
post Apr 17 2025, 08:21 PM

1,334 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Apr 17 2025, 06:59 AM)
New cruiser around 20k worth looking is probably cfmoto 450 clc.
Other than that the usual used ones like honda rebel 500 and kawasaki vulcan 650.
Duplicated

This post has been edited by jacktay94: Apr 17 2025, 08:21 PM
jacktay94
post Apr 19 2025, 09:29 PM

1,334 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Apr 19 2025, 02:05 PM)
No issue with parts for the 390. Are u talking a used one or the new 25 model?

You can get from shopee quite easily. Alternatively get dominar 400 parts.

Daily is ok. Longer distance less so. Bike can get viby past 6000rpm which is where you cruise at.
The old one. 2nd version.

Okay, if parts are fine then might go with it. How's reliability?

0.1821sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:51 PM