Voopoo
post Dec 8 2022, 01:38 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(chinti @ Dec 8 2022, 12:11 PM)
Ya titi again, this round too fast pula
Will do
Today is 2nd time
Titi again sad. Anyway rebook 1 last time on the 5th. Think I should ride more d instead of only riding on the weekends.
yeah, ride more should help. me first time riding bike. every other day i would go to an empty parking lot and practise using clutch only, but carpark doesnt have straight line so at times i would go to a motorcycle lane and use the line as a guide since its straight. just to practise balancing the bike on a straight line.
Voopoo
post Dec 16 2022, 12:35 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(Hades76 @ Dec 16 2022, 11:30 AM)
Touring in Thailand is fun. Adventure and all......

Going to Phuket in January. You should give it a go. Warning..once cross border sure will go again. Its something mystical about the long ride, challenge and adventure.
what insurance did you purchase? those bawah pokok small lil shops before the border is not enough right?
i wanna give it a try crossing border but sked of punctured tyre, theft etc..
any advise?
Voopoo
post Dec 16 2022, 02:10 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Dec 16 2022, 01:54 PM)
I had been following this guy on FB.
He writes quite useful article about such thing like insurance.
He also helps with recovery and incidences in Thailand.
thank you, will follow him to learn more

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Dec 16 2022, 01:55 PM)
One day... one fine day.... I will cross over .... 🤪
should do it when you can, am itching to give it a go but waiting to upgrade my bike first before crossing over. long rides on a 250 is really exhausting.
Voopoo
post Feb 2 2023, 03:22 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Feb 2 2023, 03:11 PM)
Haha..don't bother. Your aspirations should be in the 600cc class and up. The Dominar isn't a bike you want to do frequent long distance on.....at least aim for something with more than a single cyc.
but...but.... senpai sifu u uses dominar 400 for long distance all the time..
Voopoo
post Feb 3 2023, 11:37 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Feb 3 2023, 09:24 AM)
sometimes I feel we kind spoil the experience for other aspiring riders

how so? better than us newbies making mistakes spending money purchasing something that won't last long because we haven't experience it before such as jumping straight to big cc bikes after getting license for first timers etc.
good advises given by you senpais.
Voopoo
post Mar 20 2023, 12:48 PM

69 posts

wanna ask, if i use this kind of bag on a naked bike installed exactly like in this picture, will it cause instability on the rear?

read/saw somewhere where those who installed those rear/tail wide box where it can fit 2 helmets causes the rear of the motorcycle to be rather unstable at high speed. mabbe 130 - 150/km/h
i understand if its used on an adventure bike, the wind will be blocked off from the front but if its on a naked bike will it be a problem.

This post has been edited by Voopoo: Mar 20 2023, 02:15 PM
Voopoo
post Apr 4 2023, 02:34 PM

69 posts

do you guys use gauntlet gloves for daily rides for wrist protection or just short gloves all the time?
Voopoo
post Apr 20 2023, 01:29 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Apr 20 2023, 12:48 PM)
tiger 660 should be ok
how's the vibration for the tiger 660 on high speed say 150km/h? or will getting a cb650r better in terms of vibration. am still deciding which one to get for long distance travelling.
riding up to genting and back on a single cylinder is tiring for me(hands get numb fast)
Voopoo
post Jun 13 2023, 11:38 AM

69 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Jun 12 2023, 03:00 PM)
How many bikes you guys have? I've got 1. I want to add another 1 because #hoarder
only 1, 250 single cylinder... vibrate gila so wanna get a bigger CC bike for long distance...still waiting for stock.
Voopoo
post Jun 13 2023, 04:10 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(Vincent6596 @ Jun 13 2023, 01:39 PM)
only 1, 250 single cylinder... vibrate make me wanna get a bigger CC bike, but still need to get B full lisence 1st  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
apa bike you're using right now? dont wait lo, fast fast get B full
Voopoo
post Jun 15 2023, 01:46 PM

69 posts

been wondering for quite some time regarding this. so hopefully the sifus here can share some insight to this. I have yet to own a 650 since i'm waiting for stock so i do not know of the high maintenance cost of using it a daily ride.

I would like to compare the maintenance cost of a 650 cc compared to a car (say a honda civic). how big a difference is it when it comes to maintenance cost per year since most of the people mentioned that maintaining a 650 is high.

I find that the cost to maintain a civic is not that high. Insurance NCD can go up to 55% which drastically lower the insurance premium by alot (provided that I didnt claim for any repairs else it will only take 5 years to accumulate it again. where as for a bike its only 25%

for tyres, it costs alot cheaper for cars and it can be used for 40K km or more per tyre whereas bike tyres are rather expensive and has a low mileage.

Servicing for car, taking civic as an example usually is around rm 300 - rm 500 for every 10000 km unless its a major service but its still around rm 1000 range for major service. Am unsure of the motorcycle service cost in the long run for this. Parts replacement for cars usually will be needed after 5 years of driving due to wear and tear or when its nearing 80K km i suppose.

would like to have a picture of how high a maintenance cost of using a 650 cc bike as daily and weekend compared to a car. my apologies if i sound ridiculous comparing costs between a bike and a car but i have been wondering about it since so many people kept saying a 650cc has high maintenance cost. and also i shouldnt be taking civic as an example since it costs rm130K for one compared to a 650cc that's around 40K or more per bike biggrin.gif but im rather familiar with honda cars maintenance and parts costs therefore i pick a civic as a comparison

This post has been edited by Voopoo: Jun 15 2023, 01:51 PM
Voopoo
post Jul 14 2023, 11:57 AM

69 posts

Hi fellow bikers,
wanna enquire, am still waiting for stock for new bike and sales person said its due to arrive in 2 week.

SA ask for 50 % upftont due to long waiting list. do you guys normally proceed with payment before viewing the bike or only make payment after physically checking out the bike.
Voopoo
post Jul 25 2023, 02:16 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jul 14 2023, 11:14 PM)
what shop?
pay to whom?

Normally, we don't.
sorry for late reply. yes, just like what other forummers mentioned. its indeed honda bw.
the SA mentioned that he can see the bike(the model and color i booked for ) waiting at the customs and can get the bike in a week provided i make payment(initially he asked for 100% full payment)
its been 2 weeks and i dont see anyone getting the bike

and i told him off after reading lyn replies biggrin.gif
Voopoo
post Sep 11 2023, 12:41 PM

69 posts

hi all, what's your take on modenas versys 650? heard that its locally assembled, will it make you think its less reliable than a CBU unit?
one thing i dislike bout the versys is that it sounds like a lawn mover and its only 62hp for a bike that size

I am looking for a middle weight bike for long distance and with good exhaust note - not willing to change exhaust (3/4 cylinder) with a budget of 45k or abit more. placed order for the CB650R but it looks like it will never arrive and likely end of production by this year. I dont mind a naked bike for long distance ride ( i like feeling like a parachute haha)

currently looking at
1. Versys 650 - hate the exhaust note, but its cheap,

2. Triumph sports 660 - cost more than cb650r, trying to avoid conti bikes because parts are alot more expensive and hard to get parts whenever needed. (that's what i have been told so dont beat me for it please.)

3. MT - 09 - alot lot more than cb650r but it has a sweet exhaust note inline 3. but the power is too much for me to handle, me scared, dislike the mt 07 feel on the road, suspension feels too soft.

to end it what i am prioritizing is good exhaust sound and a smooth ride(less vibration) and also a more upright position bike

This post has been edited by Voopoo: Sep 11 2023, 12:54 PM
Voopoo
post Sep 11 2023, 02:41 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Sep 11 2023, 01:47 PM)
Versys 650 receiving good praises from bike reviewer overseas. It's multipurpose touring machine that will not kill you due to easily manageable power delivery.

And since you book for CB650R, then your closest choice would be another sport naked bike such as Z900, CFmoto 800NK, Suzuki GSX-750. (Excluding KTM, BMW and Triumph since these you mention parts abit on the high side)
QUOTE(Patent @ Sep 11 2023, 01:48 PM)
yeah ninja/versys/z650 exhaust note is a bit boring because of its firing order at 180 degree..

with your budget you can get suzuki sv650 or vstrom 650 (both v-twin engine) but gonna need to change the stock exhaust to bring out the sound

for 4 cylinders you can get z900 or suzuki gsx-s750 (used) and then change the exhaust to get that deep bass sound

there's also china bike cfmoto 800NK open for booking, parallel twin with 270 degree firing order so sound like v-twin
QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Sep 11 2023, 02:07 PM)
versys, jack of all trades, can do almost anything asked of it, just that for me it was just abit too tall and heavy, didnt know how to manage the bikes weight and height. am told its a workhorse, super reliable and cheap to run.
62hp is a fair amount if u ask me, specially for something that weighs just 200kg, alot more than you will need for the road unless ur planning to go racing.

Im very much a beginner, probably less than 8 months exp riding on 2 wheels when i simply got the mt09 v3 here. Roll around in mode 4 if u want, its really not terrible tho the throttle is still on the twitchy side.
not much vibrations if ur going long distances either specially if u don't push it all the way. you say u like to feel like a parachute? tell me this again 6 months later, it gets tiring real quick.

z900 is another option, way better priced than the MT but has everything u need.
yeah i'm also looking at the CFmoto 800nk altho the riding position is lower.

What i read is that the more cylinders the smoother (less vibration ) at high speed (> 130-150km/h) hence more comfortable for rides > 4 hours that's why i'm looking at 3 or 4 cylinder bikes for lesser vibration.

I'm still quite new to riding, got my B license in 2019 and my first bike is a CB250R so my knowledge on bikes are minimal. need guidance/advise from you masters

Did a solo first trip from kl to hatyai using the one cylinder CB250R and the vibration is horrible so much so i have to make constant pitstops cuz my butt is getting numb/hurting. constant speed at 110-120km/h at 7000-8000 rpm range. took me 9 hours to reach Hatyai with so many breaks in between sweat.gif. Am also wondering whether its bad for the bike to be at constant 7000-8000 rpm for so many hours.

how much of a difference is it when it comes to vibration comparing a 2 cyl vs 3 cyl engine ?

Maybe I'll feel the wind when i'm going above 130km/h and get tired of it but my trip crossing border at 120 constant i'm ok with the windblast. never try above 130 before tho so i really dunno. (lack of experience smile.gif )

after having experience the vibration of a single cylinder engine, so am really wondering how much more smoother can a 2 cylinder engine provide vs a 3/4 cyl engine. In addition to me wanting a 3/4 cyl engine of course the exhaust note is nicer than a 2

This post has been edited by Voopoo: Sep 11 2023, 02:55 PM
Voopoo
post Sep 12 2023, 12:48 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Sep 11 2023, 04:55 PM)
The more important question to ask is, at what rpm/speed it's most prevalent and what you normally cruise at. Vibration during normal street riding is not a problem as you don't spend much time at a particular rpm. Its the constant vibration at cruising speed for a long duration that is tiring.

This one very good point, thank you for that.

QUOTE(paskal @ Sep 11 2023, 10:31 PM)
Middle weight, long distance, smooth engine, upright sitting, non-conti, sounds nicer than versys 650.

You should try the kawasaki z900rs, Suzuki vstrom 650 and Honda CB500x before purchasing. All feel lighter than versys 650 and easier to navigate in traffic.
lighter than versys summore, will look into the mentioned bikes smile.gif
Voopoo
post Sep 18 2023, 04:12 PM

69 posts

just a question I've been wondering, do you guys have any idea/experience of how long does one need to wait for spare parts in the event where there is accident or damaged parts?
saw someone who owns a cb250r waited for parts since february (pay first then claim later)

what about Kawasaki, will it be alot faster since its locally assembled?
suzuki?
triumph?
what's the average waiting time
Voopoo
post Sep 19 2023, 12:02 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Sep 18 2023, 08:57 PM)
Kawasaki parts deal through Modenas - if got stock, immediately, if not, about 3~5 weeks if order from Japan, also depends on availability
Suzuki Yamaha not sure, but I recall Yamaha parts system is internal one, last time difficult to order anything
Triumph is... depends on the shop
so among the big 4, kawasaki best in terms of speed for stock replenishment. the other 3 can wait for months to a year, can puke.gif
Voopoo
post Nov 1 2023, 12:12 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Nov 1 2023, 07:21 AM)
honestly i like this look better than the v3 hahaha, not everyone seems to agree.
looks like they added a fever patch on the forehead. LED fever patch
Voopoo
post Jul 4 2024, 02:24 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Jul 4 2024, 11:46 AM)
my kolik's kapcai... they break open the seat, took his tools, rain jacket and helmet... apparently all very old also they want, i just syukur i never kene
that's why ppl also dont leave their cheap SGV open facehelmet on the bike, saw a few carry along with them instead of just leaving it on the bike like some do

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.1751sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 06:10 AM