casual bike talk..

ZZR-Pilot
post Feb 7 2024, 10:14 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(ZintanthraX @ Feb 6 2024, 01:04 AM)

heard about the triumph buzz but since nobody around me owns a triumph, its a bit hard for me to imagine 😅.
Rode the Street Triple 675 back in the day. Didn't notice any buzz, no diff than my old TNT600 inline 4. No buzz in the Trident either.

My previous Dominar 400, now that's buzzy.

Most complaints about buzzing in Triumph triples come from riders of the new t-plane crank engine that drives only the current Tiger family. In fact, the 2024 Tiger 900 now comes with a rubber-damped handlebar as a result. Having lived with a buzzy thumper before, the alleged t-plane 'buzz' was never numbingly intrusive to me although it was noticeable at certain RPMs. Regardless, Barkbuster handguards + bar end weights + Grip Puppies solved the issue for me.

Maybe those commenters were referring to the 'whine' and not the 'buzz' per se. If so, then hell yes - all Triumph triples emit a hallmark whistling whine that comes from the counterbalancer gears that have straight-cut teeth.
ZZR-Pilot
post Feb 7 2024, 11:19 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Feb 5 2024, 11:46 PM)

if you like those literbikes, they cruise at 120 at lower rpm than most, around 5250... and older ones even below 5k RPM, albeit 4 cylinder
modern performance oriented bikes are geared lower, as you can see with the Trident vs Street Triple

I will just get >900cc bikes, with MT09 as bare minimum

"with more power is easier to go slow"
How come no one is considering the CKD Z900 non-SE? Bloody cheap for that wikked engine. Add teeth to the front sprocket and lower the ratio to trade the extra grunt for a more relaxed hi-speed cruise. And don't put a loud exhaust.
ZZR-Pilot
post Feb 7 2024, 09:34 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Feb 7 2024, 03:42 PM)

Rear hugger mounting hold cracked and the tyre makan the tyre. Signal lamp wires all putus

Man that's tough to look at. If the cracked rear hugger mount is cast together with the swingarm, then the whole swingarm has to be replaced. Finding a replacement swingarm for a brand new model is going to take some time since it won't be in their inventory.

ZZR-Pilot
post May 5 2024, 11:13 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ May 3 2024, 02:04 PM)
... Got into an altercation with a kapchai rider this morning. He guy was on the phone and all over the road. Passed him and he was veering towards me. So I honked him and gestured for him to keep his eyes on the road. Waaaaa...see see that triggered him

Sudah Salah, lagi mau bodoh.

I went off, but I did notice him giving chase..slowed down and lets see what he wants, wow, the idiot tried to run me off the road..what a loony. Even if he would have brushed my bike, he would have gone down. This dude really gives melayu a bad name. Drive car or moto also same. Hati tisu. Ego mudah tercalar. Same like the waja accident a while back. Sudah bodoh, mau bodoh LAGI.

So I just throttle up and go. Still see him trying to give chase weaving dangerously to keep up..... But kapchai vs my NK. Good luck.
Kapcai is always right, until they die. Then it becomes your problem.

Best to upload the dashcam footage to Youtube and let them be famous for their own stupidity.
ZZR-Pilot
post Jun 8 2024, 10:38 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(JustForFun @ Jun 8 2024, 05:49 PM)

Guys, are these MR DIY inflator the best option for when you get punctures on the highways?

Anything I should look out for when using these?
Might get you out of a sticky situation on the road, but

1) it isn't a lasting solution
2) you're gonna have to get that shit cleaned out of your tyre later and use a better solution to fix the puncture
3) if you have TPMS, it's a no-go

A compact cacing kit and a small portable air pump don't take up a lot of extra space and, when used competently, they are a much more dependable solution. And you can use the pump to correct your tyre pressure from time to time. I prefer a pump that runs off a 12v supply, coz you always have to remember to keep a rechargeable one fully charged at all times for it to be useful... and I always forget.
ZZR-Pilot
post Aug 5 2024, 05:15 PM

1,057 posts

Loke7 ni rupanya ada bodohnya.
ZZR-Pilot
post Nov 5 2024, 11:09 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(lsm1991 @ Oct 29 2024, 05:24 AM)
ah falling off is quite normal in the beginning...

i wont lie, i fell off at least 1-3x every class i attended. u eventually get used to the bike and it all just stops hahah. if not confident, while not practical there is no harm going for the b2 licence.

also, i got myself a bike the day before i went for my first class/collected my license. i had 0 experience riding any bikes, no helmet no nothing... horrible idea but just wanted to get the clutch sorted before my first class. tbh its exactly the same as a manual car so that bit was quite natural. the thing that always gets me is the weight of the thing.
Everybody falls off their bike. I lost count of how many times my wife fell off her bike. That's why I made sure every bike she has ridden has crashbars lol. Even last week on our trip across the border she slipped on some diesel at the pump and dumped her bike.

ZZR-Pilot
post Jun 6 2025, 07:38 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(ExCrIpT @ Jun 6 2025, 12:05 AM)
Just wondering how many of you pack an air pump and type cacing with you on your daily / weekly rides?
Both our Triumphs are for commuting, so both carry a puncture kit, mini pump & additional toolkit. On touring rides, she will remove em (coz redundant when riding with me) & replace them with a trauma kit.

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0240sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:09 PM