Unifi [WTA]Purchase Unifi Router from China, possible?

TSkels83
post Apr 28 2017, 06:00 PM, updated 9y ago

547 posts

Hi Guys,

need some help on this, just want to ask possible to purchase some router from china like taobao ? and can use for unifi?

anything i need to take note? as long as the router is support vlan then it work for both hypptv and internet?

a branded good router support is too expensive for me, tplink archer1200 is my choice, just it expensive(over my budget la)
initialQ
post Apr 28 2017, 06:05 PM

35 posts

I got one tp-link archer 1200 from unifi to sell. U interested? Its open once during installation.
FusionXY
post Apr 28 2017, 06:12 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

You can but due to firmware may not be able to support with Malaysia

Not SIRIM Certified.
I cannot guarantee that the router will work in Malaysia.

Do contact TM about this issue.

zher4883
post Apr 28 2017, 06:14 PM

4,490 posts

If the router support VLAN out of the box, you are good to go. Asus router is a safe bet as it's firmware is universal ans support VLAN out of the box.
TSkels83
post Apr 28 2017, 08:07 PM

547 posts

QUOTE(FusionXY @ Apr 28 2017, 06:12 PM)
You can but due to firmware may not be able to support with Malaysia

Not SIRIM Certified.
I cannot guarantee that the router will work in Malaysia.

Do contact TM about this issue.
Don't think TM will help to do so,i worried compatible issue also
TSkels83
post Apr 28 2017, 08:09 PM

547 posts

QUOTE(zher4883 @ Apr 28 2017, 06:14 PM)
If the router support VLAN out of the box, you are good to go. Asus router is a safe bet as it's firmware is universal ans support VLAN out of the box.
As Long as it able to set vlan 500 and 600 right? Anything I left out? Asus expensive le, tplink also xmampu beli d
FusionXY
post Apr 28 2017, 08:13 PM

LAZZIE ON VACATION
3,834 posts

QUOTE(kels83 @ Apr 28 2017, 08:07 PM)
Don't think TM will help to do so,i worried compatible issue also
My advice for you is to get a suggestion from a friend.

Since not most of the router support VLAN Tagging.
Check with the dealer about VLAN Tagging.

My best advice is to buy local warranty set so that you can obtain/claim warranty if anything happens.

soonwai
post Apr 28 2017, 10:09 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(kels83 @ Apr 28 2017, 08:09 PM)
As Long as it able to set vlan 500 and 600 right? Anything I left out? Asus expensive le, tplink also xmampu beli d
Yes, as long as it supports VLANs and PPPoE on the VLAN, it'll work. Why don't you look for a used RGX4400? It's actually a very good router. https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3994248

I got one here from Garage Sales for RM50. What's your budget?

TSkels83
post Apr 29 2017, 04:04 AM

547 posts

QUOTE(initialQ @ Apr 28 2017, 06:05 PM)
I got one tp-link archer 1200 from unifi to sell. U interested? Its open once during installation.
Please pm me your best price bro
TSkels83
post Apr 29 2017, 03:27 PM

547 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 28 2017, 10:09 PM)
Yes, as long as it supports VLANs and PPPoE on the VLAN, it'll work. Why don't you look for a used RGX4400? It's actually a very good router. https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3994248

is RGX4400 working fine? dont have attena wor? signal will drop mar? now my latency so freaking high if 2 more device connected to the router...
zher4883
post Apr 29 2017, 04:48 PM

4,490 posts

QUOTE(kels83 @ Apr 29 2017, 03:27 PM)
is RGX4400 working fine? dont have attena wor? signal will drop mar? now my latency so freaking high if 2 more device connected to the router...
If you want to troll, try putting more effort doh.gif How does a router work if it doesn't have antenna. No visible antenna doesn't mean no antenna doh.gif
TSkels83
post Apr 29 2017, 07:22 PM

547 posts

QUOTE(zher4883 @ Apr 29 2017, 04:48 PM)
If you want to troll, try putting more effort  doh.gif  How does a router work if it doesn't have antenna. No visible antenna doesn't mean no antenna  doh.gif
I have a rg4332 here work suck seriously , I'm not sure about this . If this ok then I will just buy this , a Lot cheaper
soonwai
post Apr 29 2017, 09:45 PM

11,456 posts

QUOTE(kels83 @ Apr 29 2017, 03:27 PM)
Works good. Got engineering, no need external antennas. Most of the the stuff I use don't have external antennas. I bet your smartphone also dun have antenna right?
kho82
post Apr 30 2017, 03:18 PM

104 posts

I got archer c1200 wan let go rm180. Just use around 2 week
firdausbhari
post Apr 30 2017, 09:21 PM

2,281 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 29 2017, 09:45 PM)
Works good. Got engineering, no need external antennas. Most of the the stuff I use don't have external antennas. I bet your smartphone also dun have antenna right?
lol thats a good one. one thing i learned is that no matter how good the wireless throughput from a router, if your receiver not good, u still not getting good signal.

TSkels83
post May 1 2017, 11:04 AM

547 posts

QUOTE(kho82 @ Apr 30 2017, 03:18 PM)
I got archer c1200 wan let go rm180. Just use around 2 week
Where you from?
kho82
post May 1 2017, 05:46 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(kels83 @ May 1 2017, 11:04 AM)
Where you from?
Puchong or pj
cms
post May 4 2017, 12:20 AM

762 posts

I have purchased an Asus router from Taobao and currently using it ASUS AC 66U for RM 2xx. Seems to be an European set but looks new . Without the retail box.

The Unifi ISP setting is already in built. No problem to use on the spot. But u need to find a shipper able to ship it back to Malaysia. The normal freight by air dont ship modems. It took me 6 weeks for sea freight.

Hope this helps.
Chriss
post May 4 2017, 01:09 AM

*** Lai liao ***
634 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Apr 28 2017, 10:09 PM)

Wah rm50?working conditions?Sooooo tempted to buy brows.gif
TSkels83
post May 4 2017, 07:05 AM

547 posts

QUOTE(cms @ May 4 2017, 12:20 AM)
I have purchased an Asus router from Taobao and currently using it ASUS AC 66U for RM 2xx. Seems to be an European set but looks new . Without the retail box.
The Unifi ISP setting is already in built. No problem to use on the spot. But u need to find a shipper able to ship it back to Malaysia. The normal freight by air dont ship modems. It took me 6 weeks for sea freight.
Hope this helps.
Do you mind to provide me the taobao link!? Thanks

0.0168sec    0.97    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 05:07 AM