> Company Fired Interns Story, anyone has any story? Chat

SUSIdiuU
post Apr 17 2017, 10:18 PM, updated 9y ago

346 posts

got any story? want know some laugh.gif

I have a story.
The intern was a foreigner. When started working, day 1 already screwing up project.
Day after day, the intern screwed up even more. Koliks only then realized the intern used fake resume.
The intern's english language so crappy till communication also a problem to us. The intern can't understand what koliks were talking about.
Even koliks and i used the most basic english telling the intern what to do, the intern still can screwed up the work.
The intern dont really know use a pc, worse than first time user.
koliks also scared give any work to the intern.
The intern everyday go office enjoy air con, no do anything contribute to the company and pandai pandai self approved leave LOL. laugh.gif
In the end, received scolding from boss directly and fired after a week or so.
rooney723
post Apr 17 2017, 10:20 PM

596 posts

This post has been edited by rooney723: Apr 17 2017, 10:21 PM
SUSArata
post Apr 17 2017, 10:23 PM

Intern=TS=Srious
Blofeld
post Apr 17 2017, 10:23 PM

4,703 posts

i just remember one time one intern kena kantoi for faking sick.

Intern said she's feelling unwell so need to go home after lunch.

Later that evening after office hour, the mother called up the company to ask where's her daughter.
L_nette
post Apr 17 2017, 10:25 PM

43 posts

Intern become gf to one of the staff. They probably had sex.
h4r8_kIlLeR
post Apr 17 2017, 10:25 PM

89 posts

How did he get past the interview session?

Pls dont lie to employers... Having them misinterpret your knowledge is their own fault.... But if you lie about your own knowledge is just menyusahkan everyone
Rusty Nail
post Apr 17 2017, 10:27 PM

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

Not yet fire. Intern on watch list.
Very pandai bodek supervisor, when supervisor not in buat perangai, instructions not followed.
beeMay
post Apr 17 2017, 10:28 PM

Dr
647 posts

Which country that intern from?

SUSIdiuU
post Apr 17 2017, 10:29 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(h4r8_kIlLeR @ Apr 17 2017, 10:25 PM)
Pls dont lie to employers... Having them misinterpret your knowledge is their own fault.... But if you lie about your own knowledge is just menyusahkan everyone
i hear its interviewed by kolik with no interviewing exp laugh.gif
SonnyCooL
post Apr 17 2017, 10:30 PM

Web Bastard
5,957 posts

QUOTE(IdiuU @ Apr 17 2017, 10:18 PM)

I have a story.
The intern was a foreigner. When started working, day 1 already screwing up project.
Day after day, the intern screwed up even more. Koliks only then realized the intern used fake resume.
The intern's english language so crappy till communication also a problem to us. The intern can't understand what koliks were talking about.
Even koliks and i used the most basic english telling the intern what to do, the intern still can screwed up the work.
The intern everyday go office enjoy air con, no do anything contribute to the company and pandai pandai self approved leave LOL.  laugh.gif
intern woh ....... intern pun boleh kena fired means really really bad lor ...
h4r8_kIlLeR
post Apr 17 2017, 10:33 PM

89 posts

QUOTE(IdiuU @ Apr 17 2017, 11:29 PM)
i hear its interviewed by kolik with no interviewing exp laugh.gif
Lol no wonder... The kolik must be very malu... Just another guy trying to help a friend... Maybe thought too highly of them.

SUSnasiputih
post Apr 17 2017, 10:33 PM

256 posts

QUOTE(beeMay @ Apr 17 2017, 10:28 PM)
Which country that intern from?
v1n0d
post Apr 17 2017, 10:35 PM

Another roof, another proof.
3,197 posts

This is why we now resort to calling the applicant's university to verify that they were actually enrolled there and successfully graduated. Too many fake degrees etc. these days.
fantasy1989
post Apr 17 2017, 10:36 PM

4,707 posts

my story was

few years ago, there is 1 freshgrad come to here for few months .. just know how to execute based on step by step guideline. if facing some abnormality ..dunno how to debug already...will just stop there.. guideline wrote 1 to 10 with screenshot.. he/she just know follow step. thats it ..

he/she expecting all abnormality should be recorded and step should be provided

u come here to be engineer..not operator

This post has been edited by fantasy1989: Apr 17 2017, 10:37 PM
party
post Apr 17 2017, 10:46 PM

816 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Apr 17 2017, 10:36 PM)
my story was

few years ago, there is 1 freshgrad come to here for few months .. just know how to execute based on step by step guideline. if facing some abnormality ..dunno how to debug already...will just stop there.. guideline wrote 1 to 10 with screenshot.. he/she just know follow step. thats it ..

he/she expecting all abnormality should be recorded and step should be provided

u come here to be engineer..not operator
My company is executing this strategy. Kena scolded by boss coz problems not in procedure. I told her if like dat my procedure will reach 1000pages. She said then let it be if not how new joiners want to work smoothly.
fantasy1989
post Apr 17 2017, 10:49 PM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(party @ Apr 17 2017, 10:46 PM)
My company is executing this strategy. Kena scolded by boss coz problems not in procedure. I told her if like dat my procedure will reach 1000pages. She said then let it be if not how new joiners want to work smoothly.
redundant or regression process is fine

but in RnD ..it's impossible to write all observation and step by step guideline for every project. Because every project architecture is different

the most is ..issue observed, and root cause need to record down only
party
post Apr 17 2017, 10:51 PM

816 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Apr 17 2017, 10:49 PM)
redundant or regression process is fine

but in RnD ..it's impossible to write all observation and step by step guideline for every project. Because every project architecture is different

the most is ..issue observed, and root cause need to record down only
My process is loans and each companies loans is different as it tobcaters them. How to write a procedure to suit them??? Even if types of loans are well known but not the conditions...

Which is why the current gen workers being breed are textbook type..unable to think, talk and act. And people wonder why their salary so low...
katsumoto2011
post Apr 17 2017, 10:58 PM

219 posts

just ask a intern to resign last saturday

already working for 6 month still dont know a shit what he doing, ask him spend more time on work
to familiarize the job instead of going home on time at 5.30 everyday.

you know what he answer me ???
"saya nak jaga gerai burger kat sebelah malam"

WTF if you think your burger stall is more important then you job , your welcome to leave vmad.gif

katsumoto2011
post Apr 17 2017, 10:58 PM

219 posts

already working for 6 month still dont know a shit what he doing, ask him spend more time on work

WTF if you think your burger stall is more important then you job , your welcome to leave vmad.gif

thpace
post Apr 17 2017, 11:02 PM

Rising Star
1,210 posts

QUOTE(katsumoto2011 @ Apr 17 2017, 10:58 PM)

WTF if you think your burger stall is more important then you job , your welcome to leave  vmad.gif
6month intern? That is long for period for intership
hcmalaya
post Apr 17 2017, 11:03 PM

61 posts

2 interns at IE
Play Starcraft
U r fired
katsumoto2011
post Apr 17 2017, 11:06 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Apr 17 2017, 11:02 PM)
for 6 months he been working

at 5th month , i ask him a simple question
2 of our company product , how you differential it ??

but he cannot answer..........
now you know why 6 months

kopihazelnut
post Apr 17 2017, 11:08 PM

42 posts

WTF if you think your burger stall is more important then you job , your welcome to leave  vmad.gif
Assuming standard intern salary 500, yeah whats wrong he have other job.. the purpose of internship is to learn.. not doing full time job.. some internship esp at mnc dont learn anything still pass and graduate..
SUSadvocado
post Apr 17 2017, 11:10 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(v1n0d @ Apr 17 2017, 10:35 PM)
This is why we now resort to calling the applicant's university to verify that they were actually enrolled there and successfully graduated. Too many fake degrees etc. these days.
foreign uni u also call?
SUSadvocado
post Apr 17 2017, 11:16 PM

2,948 posts

u dum engineer u no need to write out all problems, sure there will be similar cases that you can lump them together and write a general step to trouble shoot such issues without having to write out redundant problems.

ur boss is right, if you don't have a proper guidelines, don't say newbees, even experienced ones will have their own way of doing things because like ur boss said, there's no proper procedure so everything is tru trial & error.

if it's something new, trial & error is normal, but if it's something established, you expect new comers to trial & error & self learn? if problems happened before, write it down, write down how you solved the issue, then when you accumulated sufficient issues, get a junior to compile the writings into categories to reduce the number of pages on your guidelines.

juniors are not freshies, they should already know the job, so they should be the one compiling ur efforts, then u review, and add amendments or if you aren't senior enough write a proposal to your managers so they can incorporate ur proposal and update the guidelines.

if not u will open another thread ranting newbees dunno how to do their job you have to spend this much time to teach them how to troubleshoot.

in the end, u just shooting ur own foot.
SUSadvocado
post Apr 17 2017, 11:24 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(katsumoto2011 @ Apr 17 2017, 11:06 PM)

hi, i think, even though the intern might not be capable, it's you as the senior/manager that failed.

you should not wait until 5 months baru test him.

i would start testing them after the 1st 20 minutes of briefing on their 1st day, surely you have to give them orientation on their 1st day of work, and it doesn't even need to be too focus on their job scope, you can explain the company's business focus, you can straight away ask some questions to see if they understood anything about the company, this acts as a test gauge to differentiate freshies with potentials & those that you know require tighter monitor & guidance (usually the one that gives you a clueless face). by asking casual question you don't give them pressure to answer but it gives some sort of interaction and they will know what they need to understand in order to know their job.

by 1st week you should be able to tell which intern is good which one aren't.

by 1st month they should already be given tasks to assist the full timers. start with easy task, show them how to do it, then test them on the spot, if they don't get it, teach until they get it.

this is where Malaysia education system fails. everything need spoon feed. that is why, you, as a supervisor only know how to spoon feed the interns instead of being more interactive with them.

i would dare to say you are the one whom failed them. things like this shouldn't be allowed to happen after 5 months. it's like you were sleeping on your task on training the interns.

you should seriously review yourself man, not just for the sake of ur company or the intern, but urself, coz we assume u gonna have a family, have ur own kids, if you teach ur kids like u teach ur interns, they gonna grow up like a rock just like ur inters.

SUSautoman5891
post Apr 17 2017, 11:26 PM

intern used fake resume.

hr dept fail.
SUSadvocado
post Apr 17 2017, 11:29 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(hcmalaya @ Apr 17 2017, 11:03 PM)
2 interns at IE
Play Starcraft
U r fired
and wot was the reason they ended up playing starcraft?

because they weren't given any specific task right?

they r fired.

and u failed.

u should at least call them into ur office and give them a good scolding and explain to them why they should try to learn on their job instead of playing starcraft, and ask them why they were playing starcraft. if they say nothing to do, make sure they are given tasks to do, if the senior u assigned to handle them ignores them, call the senior in, give him a good scolding.

firing them on the spot is just irresponsible.

i know u probably think they are just interns, not really ur problem, u aren't paid to babysit them. but u never know who they know or what they know. firing someone just because they were playing games, without any warnings, is just as unprofessional as those interns playing games on job.

pipul like u, think too highly of urself.
winter01942
post Apr 17 2017, 11:31 PM

Rating 5/5
857 posts

intern asked shop to fake invoice price and share profit

found out and got fired
SUSadvocado
post Apr 17 2017, 11:32 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(party @ Apr 17 2017, 10:51 PM)
My process is loans and each companies loans is different as it tobcaters them. How to write a procedure to suit them??? Even if types of loans are well known but not the conditions...

Which is why the current gen workers being breed are textbook type..unable to think, talk and act. And people wonder why their salary so low...
everyone started as a noob, including you. you just forgotten how noob u were when you started becoz that was long time ago. u probably though u knew everything when you just started and wonder why freshgrads nowadays sucks so bad.

it's the same reason why ur dad think ur soft & incompetent compared to folks back in his days.
SUSadvocado
post Apr 17 2017, 11:34 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(winter01942 @ Apr 17 2017, 11:31 PM)
intern asked shop to fake invoice price and share profit

found out and got fired
u just missed out a really smart intern.

i would call him in and tell them hey you were smart, but u got caught. but ur good, why not work for us, as long as u don't seek personal benefits out of the company & meet ur targets, why not? since i already know u cheated, i'm watching u. if ur good, we will reward u, if u still continue, ur ending will be very bad.

Zaazuu
post Apr 17 2017, 11:38 PM

50 posts

I once took an intern under me. Took him to classes to assist PnP as well as helped me with some admin jobs, but he went flirt with the female students pulak. Sometimes brought along for fieldwork but really cannot tahan beh and think independently. Few months taught to use PowerPoint and Excel also cannot cope simple functions. Almost had the urge to ask him to resign but I remembered I was like that as well long time ago.
party
post Apr 17 2017, 11:44 PM

816 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 17 2017, 11:16 PM)
u dum engineer u no need to write out all problems, sure there will be similar cases that you can lump them together and write a general step to trouble shoot such issues without having to write out redundant problems.

ur boss is right, if you don't have a proper guidelines, don't say newbees, even experienced ones will have their own way of doing things because like ur boss said, there's no proper procedure so everything is tru trial & error.

if it's something new, trial & error is normal, but if it's something established, you expect new comers to trial & error & self learn? if problems happened before, write it down, write down how you solved the issue, then when you accumulated sufficient issues, get a junior to compile the writings into categories to reduce the number of pages on your guidelines.

juniors are not freshies, they should already know the job, so they should be the one compiling ur efforts, then u review, and add amendments or if you aren't senior enough write a proposal to your managers so they can incorporate ur proposal and update the guidelines.

if not u will open another thread ranting newbees dunno how to do their job you have to spend this much time to teach them how to troubleshoot.

kesian - u think all companies are the same? which is a pity no wonder u still earning peanut salary
hcmalaya
post Apr 17 2017, 11:45 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 17 2017, 11:29 PM)
and wot was the reason they ended up playing starcraft?

because they weren't given any specific task right?

they r fired.

and u failed.

u should at least call them into ur office and give them a good scolding and explain to them why they should try to learn on their job instead of playing starcraft, and ask them why they were playing starcraft. if they say nothing to do, make sure they are given tasks to do, if the senior u assigned to handle them ignores them, call the senior in, give him a good scolding.

firing them on the spot is just irresponsible.

i know u probably think they are just interns, not really ur problem, u aren't paid to babysit them. but u never know who they know or what they know. firing someone just because they were playing games, without any warnings, is just as unprofessional as those interns playing games on job.

pipul like u, think too highly of urself.
There is a fine line between making an honest mistake and making a mistake which they knew upfront of the consequence of breaching a code of conduct
Fire them all
Period

katsumoto2011
post Apr 17 2017, 11:45 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(kopihazelnut @ Apr 17 2017, 11:08 PM)
Assuming standard intern salary 500, yeah whats wrong he have other job.. the purpose of internship is to learn.. not doing full time job.. some internship esp at mnc dont learn anything still pass and graduate..
we playing them full salary rm1800 permonth , so i get to demand and treat them as a probation worker

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 17 2017, 11:24 PM)
hi, i think, even though the intern might not be capable, it's you as the senior/manager that failed.

you should not wait until 5 months baru test him.

i would start testing them after the 1st 20 minutes of briefing on their 1st day, surely you have to give them orientation on their 1st day of work, and it doesn't even need to be too focus on their job scope, you can explain the company's business focus, you can straight away ask some questions to see if they understood anything about the company, this acts as a test gauge to differentiate freshies with potentials & those that you know require tighter monitor & guidance (usually the one that gives you a clueless face). by asking casual question you don't give them pressure to answer but it gives some sort of interaction and they will know what they need to understand in order to know their job.

by 1st week you should be able to tell which intern is good which one aren't.

by 1st month they should already be given tasks to assist the full timers. start with easy task, show them how to do it, then test them on the spot, if they don't get it, teach until they get it.

this is where Malaysia education system fails. everything need spoon feed. that is why, you, as a supervisor only know how to spoon feed the interns instead of being more interactive with them.

i would dare to say you are the one whom failed them. things like this shouldn't be allowed to happen after 5 months. it's like you were sleeping on your task on training the interns.

you should seriously review yourself man, not just for the sake of ur company or the intern, but urself, coz we assume u gonna have a family, have ur own kids, if you teach ur kids like u teach ur interns, they gonna grow up like a rock just like ur inters.
i dont need you to tell me how to do my work , and who say i only test them after 5 months ????
is all your assumption dude.

fantasy1989
post Apr 17 2017, 11:47 PM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 17 2017, 11:10 PM)
foreign uni u also call?
last time my company HR they really called my professor at UK and interview her ..lol
katsumoto2011
post Apr 17 2017, 11:48 PM

219 posts

advocado

dude stop telling other forumer how to do their job, your not their boss for god sake
fantasy1989
post Apr 17 2017, 11:48 PM

4,707 posts

QUOTE(07XII @ Apr 17 2017, 10:54 PM)
waa very hard ya to become engineer
atleast try to fix lol ..instead of click click few button then straight turn the face to you and "question" you why cannot jalan 1?
SUSLumiaaa
post Apr 17 2017, 11:51 PM

172 posts

I started working a year ago with another freshie, I'm also fresh grad

When I'm not sure i will go ask and discuss but the other guy, when he got nothing to do or don't understand he just go facbook and wait

I go tell him off quietly y u on Facebook then he sohai go say I'm not his boss blah blah

He got sacked after 3 months and i had to pick up his work

For some reason​ he never want to discuss problem encounterd with our supervisor think highly of himself argue all the time

Sometimes ppl with great cert but attitude really shit
mohdyakup
post Apr 17 2017, 11:52 PM

4,351 posts

QUOTE(thpace @ Apr 17 2017, 11:02 PM)
Ayam internship last time eight month.
SUSadvocado
post Apr 17 2017, 11:53 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(party @ Apr 17 2017, 11:44 PM)
kesian - u think all companies are the same? which is a pity no wonder u still earning peanut salary
even if it's programming, the codes & language may not be the same, but the idea is similar. there should be a general guideline, then a detailed guideline based on the system. don't tell me if i teach you how to eat using a tea spoon, you won't know how to eat with a soup spoon because they are different?

and there is a reason why companies pushing for gold standards, so their system can be easily migrated or used for expansion.

no wonder u still kuli.
SUSadvocado
post Apr 17 2017, 11:54 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(hcmalaya @ Apr 17 2017, 11:45 PM)
There is a fine line between making an honest mistake and making a mistake which they knew upfront of the consequence of breaching a code of conduct
Fire them all
Period
if they surfed illegal website like porn, no excuse. but gaming, everyone does it.

must have a reason. maybe they weren't given any tasks to do? won't you surf facebook or post in /k too?
SUSadvocado
post Apr 17 2017, 11:55 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(katsumoto2011 @ Apr 17 2017, 11:45 PM)
we playing them full salary rm1800 permonth , so i get to demand and treat them as a probation worker
i dont need you to tell me how to do my work , and who say i only test them after 5 months ????
is all your assumption dude.
then u have writing problem since you wrote you found out they can't differentiate company products after 5 MONTHS.

and u really full of urself.

ur superior probably vomit blood when reading ur reports.
MerryGoRound^2
post Apr 17 2017, 11:58 PM

354 posts

I have a story.
The intern everyday go office enjoy air con, no do anything contribute to the company and pandai pandai self approved leave LOL.  laugh.gif
26 years old Intern, Segi Grad.
First impression was she was pretty smart and intelligent, had lots of certs and CGPA was pretty decent.
But the red flag was that she left several courses unfinished and switched over to another.
Head of HR decided to hire her anyway.
I left by the time she came in, but I heard from my ex colleagues that her true colors came out after she became an intern.
Wearing spaghetti straps (covered with cardigan) to a formal dress code office, using the patients' room to sleep, changing her top in front of everyone.
One day, it seems she had enough and decided to throw in her resignation letter and never turned up.
The head had to call her back in to office for her to show her face.
Eventually they decided they didn't want her too, so they fired her.
SUSadvocado

2,948 posts

QUOTE(katsumoto2011 @ Apr 17 2017, 11:48 PM)
advocado

dude stop telling other forumer how to do their job, your not their boss for god sake
coz ur a product of a failed education system.

and u expect others to be different.

if i were you, i would not wait until 5 months. by 3rd month you should be able to tell who can make it and who can't, who has the heart to work & learn & who don't. you don't keep those you know are hopeless for another 3 months before you fire them, or worse continue keeping them.

i can say you don't really have the power to make the call.

and you don't really care since it's not ur money & company.

i mean what is the point of keeping useless staffs for more than 3 months? unless they have special cable or connection that may be worth the trouble.
SUSLumiaaa

172 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 17 2017, 11:54 PM)
if they surfed illegal website like porn, no excuse. but gaming, everyone does it.

must have a reason. maybe they weren't given any tasks to do? won't you surf facebook or post in /k too?
If they got no task to do they should ask for more work
It shows that they are proactive

SUSadvocado
post Apr 18 2017, 12:00 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Apr 17 2017, 11:48 PM)
atleast try to fix lol ..instead of click click few button then straight turn the face to you and "question" you why cannot jalan 1?
at the beginning, it's better to ask straight away when facing trouble instead of sitting there starring at the monitor trying to figure out what went wrong for a simple problem.

if after few times they still do that then you can complain and try to teach them how to think.

just like small kid, if he don't know something, he will straight ask why right? after few times, he would start to get a grip on it.

you were once a noob urself, remember that.
Blofeld
post Apr 18 2017, 12:02 AM

4,703 posts

QUOTE(MerryGoRound^2 @ Apr 17 2017, 11:58 PM)
First impression was she was pretty smart and intelligent, had lots of certs and CGPA was pretty decent.
But the red flag was that she left several courses unfinished and switched over to another.
I left by the time she came in, but I heard from my ex colleagues that her true colors came out after she became an intern.
Wearing spaghetti straps (covered with cardigan) to a formal dress code office, using the patients' room to sleep, changing her top in front of everyone.
One day, it seems she had enough and decided to throw in her resignation letter and never turned up.
Hospital?
MerryGoRound^2
post Apr 18 2017, 12:04 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Apr 18 2017, 12:02 AM)
Hospital?
Nope. Pharma firm.
SUSadvocado
post Apr 18 2017, 12:05 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(Lumiaaa @ Apr 17 2017, 11:58 PM)
If they got no task to do they should ask for more work
It shows that they are proactive
ur discrediting them that they may have requested tasks but maybe ignored by their lead and with no working experience & social experience they were afraid to approach their manager as it would bring trouble to their lead which in turn set trouble among themselves?

if u are the manager, you should keep at least a weekly update from the lead and from the interns, not just sit there and assume they are alright like Tom Cruise in Top Gun.

if no tasks were given to interns u should be able to tell by shooting few simple questions, then you call the lead in and ask him to explain why the interns aren't improving.

i can tell you most leads aren't interested in training interns because they aren't part of the fulltime team and they know they will most likely leave after finishing their internship and they know in such short time it's hard to train them to be actually helpful, so they are deadweight, might as well let them rot and focus on own work.

if the lead is Indian Expat, expect even worse.
stupiak07
post Apr 18 2017, 12:08 AM

397 posts

let's see

fire within hours on first day

come work lembik lembik then eat ular. it just 2 hour before lunch. then after lunch come in late 1 hour. i terus fire him.

got several fired as same reason as TS story,

got few working lembik lembik then suka suka grandma die grandpa die,auntie die, sick la, fake mc, printing fake mc, print fake doctor letter, freaking lot excuse. fired within 1 months

got few caught at outside while lepak somewhere while i travel around doing work.

got 1 guy even fake doctor stamp&signature letter, which the doctor is my fren uncle clinic.

mc leave 2 days between 1st week, the doc tell me that my worker fake sick when i go take meds

come first few days then missing

come first day then steal stuff then go missing

zephyrus9999
post Apr 18 2017, 12:12 AM

649 posts

It s about the sense of responsibility, attitude and maturity level... Its common for 21 yrs old to give fk care knowingly they themself as an intern. Literally a 21 yr old and fresh junior grad have same intellect level to carry out job, difference is the factors above. Heck even a 26 27 yr old hop to a new job know zero, he will assume more responsibility and be more serious than an intern in learning.
katsumoto2011
post Apr 18 2017, 12:23 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 17 2017, 11:55 PM)
then u have writing problem since you wrote you found out they can't differentiate company products after 5 MONTHS.

and u really full of urself.

ur superior probably vomit blood when reading ur reports.
thanks for being a grammar nazi , so winning a internet argument make you feel superior ???

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 17 2017, 11:58 PM)
coz ur a product of a failed education system.

and u expect others to be different.

if i were you, i would not wait until 5 months. by 3rd month you should be able to tell who can make it and who can't, who has the heart to work & learn & who don't. you don't keep those you know are hopeless for another 3 months before you fire them, or worse continue keeping them.

i can say you don't really have the power to make the call.

and you don't really care since it's not ur money & company.

i mean what is the point of keeping useless staffs for more than 3 months? unless they have special cable or connection that may be worth the trouble.
you drop so low by start calling people names ????
maybe your so high and mighty with power to do what you want

just let me remind you , karma a B!TCH
what goes around comes around, watch for it dude

SUSadvocado
post Apr 18 2017, 12:27 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Apr 18 2017, 12:12 AM)
It s about the sense of responsibility, attitude and maturity level... Its common for 21 yrs old to give fk care knowingly they themself as an intern. Literally a 21 yr old and fresh junior grad have same intellect level to carry out job, difference is the factors above. Heck even a 26 27 yr old hop to a new job know zero, he will assume more responsibility and be more serious than an intern in learning.
and you didn't mention, intern is a must for some to complete their degree, they might not be interested to work as an employee, or interested in the field they study at all. which explains why they ular & don't have any responsibilities.

but you, as their guide, should figure out who is really interested in learning & working, and who doesn't. then don't spend so much time on those that clearly aren't interested. but you should try to get them interested 1st. if you already assume, u just let them rot, ur not doing any good either.
SUSadvocado
post Apr 18 2017, 12:36 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(katsumoto2011 @ Apr 18 2017, 12:23 AM)
thanks for being a grammar nazi , so winning a internet argument make you feel superior ???
you drop so low by start calling people names ????
maybe your so high and mighty with power to do what you want

just let me remind you , karma a B!TCH
what goes around comes around, watch for it dude
i called u a product of a failed education system, how can that be insulting? we all are. just whether we let the failed education shape our mind or not makes the difference.

admit it, our education is a failed system.

that is why you are complaining about intern & fresh grad qualities. have you ever reflected upon urself about it? ur not a kid, take up some responsibility for the education that has gotten from bad during ur times to rotten now. put u in their shoes, would you have acted in the same way under the education system they were brought up with?

i've been criticized way more than you just on the internet alone. if i find it reasonable, i accept it no big deal. also when people criticize u, whether or not they are right or wrong, it also gives information on why they do so, maybe because you couldn't express urself clearly on ur typings that people misunderstood what you're trying to say??? for example.

if u really wanted to clarify that you did not only review them after 5 months, just clarify, no need to point at me and question DID I SAY THAT. clearly you did not make urself clear enough.

and i apologize for the ur superior will vomit blood when they see ur report. that's just based on how muddy ur narration about ur experience was. i'm sayin ur superior probably have lots of question when they read ur report if you typed ur report the same way you tried to tell us ur scenarios.

i know u r successful in ur career and take pride in what you do, but sometimes, sit back and think if you've done absolutely everything correct, or was there something you could have done better?

clearly, letting interns stay for more than 6 months knowing they aren't learning anything, is unacceptable. unless they have special connection that may benefit the company.
cj7
post Apr 18 2017, 12:57 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(hcmalaya @ Apr 17 2017, 11:03 PM)
2 interns at IE
Play Starcraft
U r fired
what if someone can do work and play games on occasion?
party
post Apr 18 2017, 01:03 AM

816 posts

QUOTE(cj7 @ Apr 18 2017, 12:57 AM)
what if someone can do work and play games on occasion?
if solitaire or those puzzle games can la..starcraft and do work? Starcraft alone fill up ur screen d
AyamBannedTwice
post Apr 18 2017, 01:18 AM

130 posts

Lol why everyone so serious during internship?
During my internship my supervisor doesn't even care if i do things wrongly because he said i'm still learning and that's the purpose of internship. To learn not to work

Those who are thinking that intern should know everything have the same mentality as chinaman/haji bakhil business atas row kedai

Sekian.
v1n0d
post Apr 18 2017, 06:43 AM

Another roof, another proof.
3,197 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 17 2017, 11:10 PM)
foreign uni u also call?
Especially foreign universities.
SUSjoe_star
post Apr 18 2017, 06:47 AM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

His burger stall earning him more than your own job
SUSjoe_star
post Apr 18 2017, 06:48 AM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

QUOTE(0105869784 @ Apr 18 2017, 02:10 AM)
shes naked

wth is this place
Must be gay company
rudduan
post Apr 18 2017, 06:57 AM

37 posts

Got intern took "ice" & used kompeni car mcm father own & curi kompeni mani...stret away bos scold and fired..lol..
beeMay
post Apr 18 2017, 07:05 AM

Dr
647 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 18 2017, 12:05 AM)
ur discrediting them that they may have requested tasks but maybe ignored by their lead and with no working experience & social experience they were afraid to approach their manager as it would bring trouble to their lead which in turn set trouble among themselves?

if u are the manager, you should keep at least a weekly update from the lead and from the interns, not just sit there and assume they are alright like Tom Cruise in Top Gun.

if no tasks were given to interns u should be able to tell by shooting few simple questions, then you call the lead in and ask him to explain why the interns aren't improving.

i can tell you most leads aren't interested in training interns because they aren't part of the fulltime team and they know they will most likely leave after finishing their internship and they know in such short time it's hard to train them to be actually helpful, so they are deadweight, might as well let them rot and focus on own work.

if the lead is Indian Expat, expect even worse.
That explains my intern now..not much of work to do.
But now getting better la, at least I handle the company facebook, got smth to do.
djhenry91
post Apr 18 2017, 07:17 AM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

No ask which segi?main campus? Penang? KL? Subang Jaya?
wertty
post Apr 18 2017, 07:31 AM

154 posts

cheapo labour also fired

intern cost prolly Rm300-500/month oni

if i am the permanent staff i will worry about that company futures.
cj7
post Apr 18 2017, 08:24 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(party @ Apr 18 2017, 01:03 AM)
if solitaire or those puzzle games can la..starcraft and do work? Starcraft alone fill up ur screen d
There are company even got console, gym and all kind of facilities yet those company still earning money. Its like our government, when it came to corruption, it catch small fish but never really solve root of problem.
SUSadvocado
post Apr 18 2017, 08:25 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(beeMay @ Apr 18 2017, 07:05 AM)
That explains my intern now..not much of work to do.
But now getting better la, at least I handle the company facebook, got smth to do.
why not u request from ur line manager to get more task other than facebook?

also letting intern handle fb is like letting ur youngest sibling represent the whole family. abit risky from company image POV.
djhenry91
post Apr 18 2017, 08:40 AM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

QUOTE(wertty @ Apr 18 2017, 07:31 AM)
cheapo labour also fired

intern cost prolly Rm300-500/month oni

if i am the permanent staff i will worry about that company futures.
i went one company intern..total i get 1k plus (include half commission) hehe
WinkyJr
post Apr 18 2017, 08:42 AM

433 posts

my intern more powerful
immediately after punch in and open laptop, terus watch Youtube
after I back from pantry he still watch Youtube
free time? play Dota. play fckg Dota during office hour! and their seat even @ the entrance and staff walking around was like "wtf?"
FidelisGVR
post Apr 18 2017, 08:47 AM

673 posts

QUOTE(katsumoto2011 @ Apr 17 2017, 11:06 PM)

probably he/she was thinking too literally... like "how can you differential 2 products, it's not a differential equation..."

djhenry91
post Apr 18 2017, 08:48 AM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

QUOTE(WinkyJr @ Apr 18 2017, 08:42 AM)
my intern more powerful
immediately after punch in and open laptop, terus watch Youtube
after I back from pantry he still watch Youtube
free time? play Dota. play fckg Dota during office hour! and their seat even @ the entrance and staff walking around was like "wtf?"
ini intern memang ball of steel
zephyrus9999
post Apr 18 2017, 08:56 AM

649 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 18 2017, 12:27 AM)
and you didn't mention, intern is a must for some to complete their degree, they might not be interested to work as an employee, or interested in the field they study at all. which explains why they ular & don't have any responsibilities.

but you, as their guide, should figure out who is really interested in learning & working, and who doesn't. then don't spend so much time on those that clearly aren't interested. but you should try to get them interested 1st. if you already assume, u just let them rot, ur not doing any good either.
Think back of it I don't blame seniors for not putting interns at 100% effort. They are bound to leave, the scope of responsibilities has a limit as well, and it's more of a risk to waste effort guiding important tasks for interns rather than simple ones. Even myself can't trust a lazy technician, what's not an intern? That said I've intern two places before, one was at accenture. Both places there's limitations in the extent of the tasks, and I admit I had my fair share watching movies secretly also. But that didn't mean I am a lazy ass, I performed well but just that my maturity level was to play at the age of 21. Just admit it only 10% of that age don't take things seriously. Like my peers who were the same, came out successful in career also.
spacelion
post Apr 18 2017, 08:59 AM

Ada Liu
1,692 posts

my intern 1 month rm1k but do nothing one.
SUSadvocado

2,948 posts

QUOTE(zephyrus9999 @ Apr 18 2017, 08:56 AM)
Think back of it I don't blame seniors for not putting interns at 100% effort. They are bound to leave, the scope of responsibilities has a limit as well, and it's more of a risk to waste effort guiding important tasks for interns rather than simple ones. Even myself can't trust a lazy technician, what's not an intern? That said I've intern two places before, one was at accenture. Both places there's limitations in the extent of the tasks, and I admit I had my fair share watching movies secretly also. But that didn't mean I am a lazy ass, I performed well but just that my maturity level was to play at the age of 21. Just admit it only 10% of that age don't take things seriously. Like my peers who were the same, came out successful in career also.
there's always some non-senior or junior that can act as guide.

unless the company biz really good or really short of staff, then they should not accept any interns.
Bujal.x

PUNGGUNG ITU~~~
2,387 posts

lol~my place use interns as macai only.regardless whatever course they take.one time got one engineering student come but buat kerja jaga bilik fail.
mekboyz
post Apr 18 2017, 09:04 AM

438 posts

I go home at 530 everyday. What's the problem as long as work finish?
djhenry91
post Apr 18 2017, 09:17 AM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 18 2017, 08:59 AM)
there's always some non-senior or junior that can act as guide.

unless the company biz really good or really short of staff, then they should not accept any interns.
good or bad they still hire
dont believe?
my company group is well known listing
my division is generate commission (my department everyone is boss)
my department is front line..
while rest of the department is support my department
so this division net profit loss..cost too high yet still hire 6 interns come to rescue for 4 month
their qualify masuk to join intern because they represent they uni win overall for trade
tesh94
post Apr 18 2017, 09:21 AM

1,733 posts

I have a story.
x rak interbiu isit

if anything, company is to be blamed for hiring the person
SUSadvocado
post Apr 18 2017, 09:21 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Apr 18 2017, 09:17 AM)
good or bad they still hire
dont believe?
my company group is well known listing
my division is generate commission  (my department everyone is boss)
my department is front line..
while rest of the department is support my department
so this division net profit loss..cost too high yet still hire 6 interns come to rescue for 4 month
their qualify masuk to join intern because they represent they uni win overall for trade
when company do bad, you need more salesman to up the revenue.

this is normal.

you retrench those supporting cast like technical support & engineering.

Sales & HR are the last ones to go. Usually the boss go before HR leaves.
vcvcvc
post Apr 18 2017, 09:23 AM

QUOTE(Arata @ Apr 17 2017, 10:23 PM)
Intern=TS=Srious
STRONGLY ARGREE
SUSadvocado
post Apr 18 2017, 09:23 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(mekboyz @ Apr 18 2017, 09:04 AM)
paying them peanuts, expect them to stay back OT.

and he himself dun bother keep checking on their progress.

after 6 months baru complain.
SUSadvocado
post Apr 18 2017, 09:24 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Apr 18 2017, 08:48 AM)
ini intern memang ball of steel
if use speaker or loud volume baru syiok.
MerryGoRound^2
post Apr 18 2017, 09:33 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(0105869784 @ Apr 18 2017, 02:10 AM)
shes naked

wth is this place
QUOTE(joe_star @ Apr 18 2017, 06:48 AM)
Must be gay company
The head and manager are away from the office a majority of the time. Particularly around the month she joined, because they were having regional meetings. So no one with power could tell her off. My colleagues who are pretty senior actually dragged her to a private conversation and told her not to do it but she didn't heed the advice.

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Apr 18 2017, 07:17 AM)
No ask which segi?main campus? Penang? KL? Subang Jaya?
I know which campus, Subang Jaya. Very pity she turned out to have a rotten attitude. Pretty face, quite voluptuous. Has the brains too, but turned out to be such a problem.
ereboskid
post Apr 18 2017, 09:35 AM

122 posts

he knows his priority obviously, 6 month and part time after work, it tells u that his current job hv no future

whats wrong of going home on time? fix ur mindset 1st

for me, i choose bosses over job, ofc i would open a hot dog stall burger if i get u as my boss/senior whistling.gif
beeMay
post Apr 18 2017, 09:37 AM

Dr
647 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 18 2017, 08:25 AM)
why not u request from ur line manager to get more task other than facebook?

also letting intern handle fb is like letting ur youngest sibling represent the whole family. abit risky from company image POV.
I actually did sometimes in the past but always received no as answer so I assume they just dont wanna involve amateur n have no interest training me.
The one who will give me task is the senior designer here. She sometimes complain her work is a lot but never ask help from me.

I actually am sad to have this work experience..feels unappreciated and so low sad.gif
like I am so stupid she just doesnt wanna share work load with me..

Not risky, cause we can only publish draft, any post authorization or message received will be handled directly by boss..
djhenry91
post Apr 18 2017, 09:37 AM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 18 2017, 09:21 AM)
when company do bad, you need more salesman to up the revenue.

this is normal.

you retrench those supporting cast like technical support & engineering.

Sales & HR are the last ones to go. Usually the boss go before HR leaves.
normal? fyi..my department if public want join this department to earn commision no basic salary..they need take 2 paper to get license..
revenue is depend overall market volume..
our division dont have technical & engineering..
they cut other department staff end up suffer like hell..they cant coupe..
cost is from the big fat salary top management wont help the company and wont leave..
certain department cannot simply sack due to their license as well..
sooo..sack staff also got problem...want add more salesman need time and got problem as well when those losses no one pay..
u go guess which industry is tht..

joefacker
post Apr 18 2017, 09:38 AM

72 posts

dear advocado,

I came to this thread to read about people and their experience with horrible interns. And not about you telling people what they should do with interns, or whether we are from a failed education system etc.

If you have no stories to share, please step away and let the rest of us enjoy the stories shared here.

SUSadvocado
post Apr 18 2017, 09:38 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(ereboskid @ Apr 18 2017, 09:35 AM)
he knows his priority obviously, 6 month and part time after work, it tells u that his current job hv no future

for me, i choose bosses over job, ofc i would open a hot dog stall burger if i get u as my boss/senior whistling.gif
well said. rclxms.gif
SUSadvocado
post Apr 18 2017, 09:39 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(joefacker @ Apr 18 2017, 09:38 AM)
dear advocado,

I came to this thread to read about people and their experience with horrible interns. And not about you telling people what they should do with interns, or whether we are from a failed education system etc.

If you have no stories to share, please step away and let the rest of us enjoy the stories shared here.

you can always choose not to read.

thx ur welcome.
party
post Apr 18 2017, 09:39 AM

816 posts

QUOTE(cj7 @ Apr 18 2017, 08:24 AM)
There are company even got console, gym and all kind of facilities yet those company still earning money. Its like our government, when it came to corruption, it catch small fish but never really solve root of problem.
yea but you dont see those workers go there for 9hours right.
djhenry91
post Apr 18 2017, 09:41 AM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

QUOTE(joefacker @ Apr 18 2017, 09:38 AM)
dear advocado,

ignore him lo...what thread he masuk sure like master know it all will tell u about problem siap dengan solution..
if u dont like him kasi block him lo..
not the 1st day in kopitiam
SUSchickenshit36
post Apr 18 2017, 09:42 AM

509 posts

QUOTE(stupiak07 @ Apr 18 2017, 12:08 AM)
let's see

fire within hours on first day

come work lembik lembik then eat ular. it just 2 hour before lunch. then after lunch come in late 1 hour. i terus fire him.

got several fired as same reason as TS story,

got few working lembik lembik then suka suka grandma die grandpa die,auntie die, sick la, fake mc, printing fake mc, print fake doctor letter, freaking lot excuse. fired within 1 months

got few caught at outside while lepak somewhere while i travel around doing work.

got 1 guy even fake doctor stamp&signature letter, which the doctor is my fren uncle clinic.

mc leave 2 days between 1st week, the doc tell me that my worker fake sick when i go take meds

come first few days then missing

come first day then steal stuff then go missing
damn man u need to work on your interviewing skills. lol
cHaRsIeWpAu^^
post Apr 18 2017, 09:43 AM

937 posts

dayum.

i wanna hire her. brows.gif
J1g54w
post Apr 18 2017, 09:44 AM

1,449 posts

depends on how you lie... pandai pandai la... sometimes we know how to do something but pretend don't know... or pretend to show effort to learn it, then show off a bit.... this is considered 'skill'
Carlo J
post Apr 18 2017, 09:46 AM

919 posts

QUOTE(cj7 @ Apr 18 2017, 08:24 AM)
My client (where I'm based at) have those facilities but we only go there during breaks and after our work ends.

Not advisable to go there during production time.
djhenry91
post Apr 18 2017, 09:48 AM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

QUOTE(cHaRsIeWpAu^^ @ Apr 18 2017, 09:43 AM)
dayum.

i wanna hire her. brows.gif
i want pic!!! biggrin.gif
SUSadvocado
post Apr 18 2017, 09:49 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(chickenshit36 @ Apr 18 2017, 09:42 AM)
one reason why companies actually hire interns is because interns gives companies who have long sights a chance to test their grooming abilities, so they can develop a good & easy system to train their Full time Trainees. also trains the senior & managers how to handle new recruits.

but most companies don't really care simply because these are interns, they come, they go. and when they hire full time employees, they expect them to know from A-Z 1st day.

these Chinaman companies like what we see here, if you are a intern, you should avoid if you have other better options. as these company don't really care about your internship, you are just like a punching bag for them to vent their frustration.

companies fail to realize, by grooming good interns, it's beneficial to the whole industry & country, and if most company can do a good job at grooming interns, then we will hear less complaints from these same Managers about how incompetent freshies nowadays are. anyway human nature they always looking to blame others instead of oneself.
SUSadvocado
post Apr 18 2017, 09:50 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(Carlo J @ Apr 18 2017, 09:46 AM)
My client (where I'm based at) have those facilities but we only go there during breaks and after our work ends.

Not advisable to go there during production time.
"it's a trap!!!"
SUSchickenshit36
post Apr 18 2017, 09:50 AM

509 posts

i had worked with my fair share of interns.
granted, 10 years back the quality of interns were much much better. at least they had initiative. the best ones, after 1month can be as reliable as a fresh grad engineer d.

got one very funny. my company is chinaman la and we do testing with a laptop on the road. so usually we ask interns to drive, and to observe the engineers doing the test and learn.
this foreign intern, i think hes from india, we ask you got driving license? he what also say yes.... then he drove... straight into the divider at the toll booth. turns out, he didn have valid malaysian driving license lol.
the dude too eager to please.. everything also yes... lol

This post has been edited by chickenshit36: Apr 18 2017, 09:51 AM
djhenry91
post Apr 18 2017, 09:53 AM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

QUOTE(chickenshit36 @ Apr 18 2017, 09:50 AM)
i had worked with my fair share of interns.
granted, 10 years back the quality of interns were much much better. at least they had initiative. the best ones, after 1month can be as reliable as a fresh grad engineer d.

got one very funny. my company is chinaman la and we do testing with a laptop on the road. so usually we ask interns to drive, and to observe the engineers doing the test and learn.
this foreign intern, i think hes from india, we ask you got driving license? he what also say yes.... then he drove... straight into the divider at the toll booth. turns out, he didn have valid malaysian driving license lol.
the dude too eager to please.. everything also yes... lol
ini..err..apa pun yes 1st..mcam china company..die die say yes 1st else might loss his job..
joefacker
post Apr 18 2017, 09:56 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 18 2017, 09:39 AM)
you can always choose not to read.

thx ur welcome.
Hard not to read when you are replying to almost every post in here.

Thread from being about interns now being about you lecturing us how to treat interns. Nobody cares for your opinions. If you insist on your opinions being heard/read, please create your own thread.

ocphangaz
post Apr 18 2017, 09:56 AM

Midlife Crysis.
768 posts

normally intern not interviewed.. just assigned by university or college.
Carlo J
post Apr 18 2017, 09:58 AM

919 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 18 2017, 09:50 AM)
"it's a trap!!!"
Not exactly, but my job involve games too, so it's not that bad.
djhenry91
post Apr 18 2017, 09:59 AM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

QUOTE(ocphangaz @ Apr 18 2017, 09:56 AM)
during my uni time..i apply for intern thru jobstreet
guess wat..one company call me directly tht i never apply before,they offer me intern for 3 month,ask me come their office interview by HR..
done interview immediately accept me.1st day come,thn relevant department people in charge only come interview me
SUSadvocado
post Apr 18 2017, 10:00 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(joefacker @ Apr 18 2017, 09:56 AM)
Hard not to read when you are replying to almost every post in here.

Thread from being about interns now being about you lecturing us how to treat interns. Nobody cares for your opinions. If you insist on your opinions being heard/read, please create your own thread.

you can always ignore. i've done it to many users. only time i see their reply is when they quote me or reply me and i open the thread.

just a suggestion.

if you find my post not useful, feel free to.

and remember, when we talk about stories about intern, there's bound to have discussion about why the interns failed. from posts from many "Managers" here, we can see they have no sense of self reflection at all, it's always the intern's fault.
SUSadvocado
post Apr 18 2017, 10:04 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(ocphangaz @ Apr 18 2017, 09:56 AM)
i'm sure ur 1st day of work you will have a small talk with ur superiors even you've done ur interviews right?

not hard to figure out which intern has the heart to learn and which one doesn't.

if the intern doesn't have the heart, just be clear with them, tell them what you expect and what you not expect, do not cause trouble or affect other worker's morale, and at the end of the day i will let you finish the internship.

if companies are grudgy about that rm500-1k internship money and expect every intern to be productive + become an asset, they should just hire fresh grads instead and stop the intern nonsense.

if ur company are too poor to afford few interns, don't participate. so why companies still do that, they hope by participating they can get their company exposed to attract higher quality freshgrads. but they never ask themselves, are their company attractive to these freshies if they can't even manage interns? would you work under a company as full time trainee if you hear how companies ignored inters and let them handle jobs even highschooler can manage like filing?
SUSadvocado
post Apr 18 2017, 10:06 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(Carlo J @ Apr 18 2017, 09:58 AM)
Not exactly, but my job involve games too, so it's not that bad.
it's usually a trap for standard companies.

SUSchickenshit36
post Apr 18 2017, 10:07 AM

509 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Apr 18 2017, 09:53 AM)
ini..err..apa pun yes 1st..mcam china company..die die say yes 1st else might loss his job..
to a certain extent la. but this one concerns safety and law leh. if he said hes not certified to drive in malaysia we would have found ways to accomodate him. i mean, i wouldnt want to work in a car with him as a driver right? lol
SUSjoe_star
post Apr 18 2017, 10:08 AM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

QUOTE(MerryGoRound^2 @ Apr 18 2017, 09:33 AM)
The head and manager are away from the office a majority of the time. Particularly around the month she joined, because they were having regional meetings. So no one with power could tell her off. My colleagues who are pretty senior actually dragged her to a private conversation and told her not to do it but she didn't heed the advice.
I know which campus, Subang Jaya. Very pity she turned out to have a rotten attitude. Pretty face, quite voluptuous. Has the brains too, but turned out to be such a problem.
Your senior colleagues rasa her siham already brows.gif
Carlo J
post Apr 18 2017, 10:16 AM

919 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 18 2017, 10:06 AM)
it's usually a trap for standard companies.
Depends too, must have work life balance ma
h4r8_kIlLeR
post Apr 18 2017, 10:23 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(J1g54w @ Apr 18 2017, 10:44 AM)
depends on how you lie... pandai pandai la... sometimes we know how to do something but pretend don't know... or pretend to show effort to learn it, then show off a bit.... this is considered 'skill'
Lol.still ah? Buat2 like dunno... But suddenly can I xplain like pro.
SUSadvocado
post Apr 18 2017, 10:23 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(Carlo J @ Apr 18 2017, 10:16 AM)
Depends too, must have work life balance ma
work during office hour & balance off office hour.

if a company staff can be at least 70% efficient, meaning out of 8 hours office hour they actually work 5 hours, then everybody can go home early, if i'm the boss i would even announce a 1 hour cut for office hours. gomen sectors would be very efficient.

but in reality, the general efficiency of employees are less than 30%. they may look like they are working 8 hours a day, but they maybe just put in 2-3 hours of "Real Work" per day. rest of the time either ular surf internet, smoke break, toilet, breakfast, teatime, play handphones, purposely doing things slowly, procrastinating, chit chatting, job searching, then after prayers dunno go where.

of course, not all people do that, but majority Malaysian workers do that.

then when work cannot finish, claim OT.

this is why many companies already have 9 hours Mon-Thur, Friday half day system because they know on Friday afternoons company efficiency is like Zero.
h4r8_kIlLeR
post Apr 18 2017, 10:25 AM

89 posts

QUOTE(ocphangaz @ Apr 18 2017, 10:56 AM)
Yeah. Normally... College will say... Woahhh pls take my students... Then show of their study programs to show like the students very pandai2... Then if something goes terribly wrong senyap saja...

Unless u find your own internship.
MerryGoRound^2
post Apr 18 2017, 10:29 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(joe_star @ Apr 18 2017, 10:08 AM)
Your senior colleagues rasa her siham already brows.gif
Both of my colleagues are girls. I was the only guy in the department.
SUSdangerminimouse
post Apr 18 2017, 10:30 AM

95 posts

I have a story.
1) ur co intern sound like banggla standard
2) why ur co need to hire foreign intern?
3) intern salary is lowlike RM 800? then no impact lah, you sack him also, he learn his lesson not to screw up with his resume, and restart life again
Carlo J
post Apr 18 2017, 10:30 AM

919 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 18 2017, 10:23 AM)
work during office hour & balance off office hour.

if a company staff can be at least 70% efficient, meaning out of 8 hours office hour they actually work 5 hours, then everybody can go home early, if i'm the boss i would even announce a 1 hour cut for office hours. gomen sectors would be very efficient.

but in reality, the general efficiency of employees are less than 30%. they may look like they are working 8 hours a day, but they maybe just put in 2-3 hours of "Real Work" per day. rest of the time either ular surf internet, smoke break, toilet, breakfast, teatime, play handphones, purposely doing things slowly, procrastinating, chit chatting, job searching, then after prayers dunno go where.

of course, not all people do that, but majority Malaysian workers do that.

then when work cannot finish, claim OT.

this is why many companies already have 9 hours Mon-Thur, Friday half day system because they know on Friday afternoons company efficiency is like Zero.
True, but not mine. No half day on Friday, company efficiency isn't their problem, it's ours.

Ichibanichi
post Apr 18 2017, 10:31 AM

327 posts

Dont hv story about company fired intern.
But my ownself as intern fired the company after 3weeks.
Luckily my internship is optional. No credit hour
The best part after grad working as engineer, my x colleugue did ask me about internship company whether can choose as supplier, i straightly told her dont waste your time. Karma do strike back.
SUSjoe_star
post Apr 18 2017, 10:31 AM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

QUOTE(MerryGoRound^2 @ Apr 18 2017, 10:29 AM)
Both of my colleagues are girls. I was the only guy in the department.
Why, they can still rasa her siham what brows.gif
SUSadvocado
post Apr 18 2017, 10:44 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(Carlo J @ Apr 18 2017, 10:30 AM)
True, but not mine. No half day on Friday, company efficiency isn't their problem, it's ours.
in Europe people work 5 hours a day in some countries. they aren't lazy, just efficient.

that is why most time ang moh if really got task they will work not ular.

in Malaysia & Japan, even work 12 hours a day not enough to finish task on time.

dun say Japan efficiency high, it's not becoz Japanese lazy, but becoz the economy of Japan, big corporations are hiring as many people as they can to fulfill the social responsibility by offering job opportunities so majority Japanese don't end up jobless. so they have too many employees and too little tasks to do, this is why many stay back in office of OT despite not having tasks, in hopes they can look busy and look like an asset to the company.

Malaysia different story, lazy Malaysians.
SUSadvocado
post Apr 18 2017, 10:44 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(Carlo J @ Apr 18 2017, 10:30 AM)
when you say they, ours, who are "they"?
jmas
post Apr 18 2017, 11:09 AM

I can edit title???
830 posts

Wait, did she moved on to BMW? This person sounds so familiar
Carlo J
post Apr 18 2017, 11:14 AM

919 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 18 2017, 10:44 AM)
in Europe people work 5 hours a day in some countries. they aren't lazy, just efficient.

that is why most time ang moh if really got task they will work not ular.

in Malaysia & Japan, even work 12 hours a day not enough to finish task on time.

dun say Japan efficiency high, it's not becoz Japanese lazy, but becoz the economy of Japan, big corporations are hiring as many people as they can to fulfill the social responsibility by offering job opportunities so majority Japanese don't end up jobless. so they have too many employees and too little tasks to do, this is why many stay back in office of OT despite not having tasks, in hopes they can look busy and look like an asset to the company.

Malaysia different story, lazy Malaysians.
Hmm, you must've been reading a lot of articles.

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 18 2017, 10:44 AM)
when you say they, ours, who are "they"?
They are referring to the employees.
MerryGoRound^2
post Apr 18 2017, 11:14 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Apr 18 2017, 11:09 AM)
Wait, did she moved on to BMW? This person sounds so familiar
No idea. But I recalled that her name was Amanda.
stupiak07
post Apr 18 2017, 11:19 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(chickenshit36 @ Apr 18 2017, 09:42 AM)
Not me hire also. I just fire them,
SUSadvocado
post Apr 18 2017, 11:22 AM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(Carlo J @ Apr 18 2017, 11:14 AM)
Hmm, you must've been reading a lot of articles.
They are referring to the employees.
so ur the boss la, why say until u like employee.

no i dun read articles.
Kesh1018
post Apr 18 2017, 11:48 AM

353 posts

What do you expect him to do then? Work till 10pm? If the offer letter says 5.30, it's by law to be 5.30 then! Employers these days 😑
MerryGoRound^2
post Apr 18 2017, 11:53 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(SummerSkyLuxe @ Apr 18 2017, 11:23 AM)
edited

so none of the actual staff there could speak to your manager or head and rectify the issue at once? your previous company is giving too much leeway to an intern   laugh.gif
As far as I know, it's a bureaucratic shithole in that place. The people were great, my Head of HR was good, but my HR manager defied the very meaning of a class A bitch. Then you had the senior and junior executives. One senior girl who was the HRBP, one girl was the junior recruiter, and I was the HR supporting admin.

What happens is, our HR Manager tortures us and really instills fear. My senior colleague is so scared of her that she cried in front of me on the second day I started work, my recruitment colleague was on a one year contract handled by Manpower. At one point my HR manager purposely signed her timesheet late so that she wouldn't receive her payment in a timely manner.

I on the other hand, was treated nicely because she knew I was the only one who gave two cents about her. So she dragged me in to all her dirty work and made me do work that wasn't under my jobscope, like going out to a mall to source for gifts and stuffs. At one point, she gave me a poster to design at 3pm and expected it by 4pm when I had meetings to attend at 3:30pm. I had no designing experience and she wanted it quick so I designed on MS word for her, and she made my life difficult by saying stuffs like "Why this font looks so big" or "Why this name so weird" etc. Mofo. I typed everything as she requested and she really dug out problems and piss people off. When basic errors like typing were corrected, she then started picking on color schemes and the quality of word file, insisted the picture must be visible in the email and not as an attachment. I finished work at 5:30pm, promised to go find my boyfriend to bring him to the clinic because he was sick, and holy shit, she only let me go at 8pm. There were a few other similar incidents that happened but I figured since I was just a 2 months contractor, I can afford to be feisty with her nearing the end of my second month.

About the 3rd/4th week of my second month, that's when I started defying all her orders. She asked for changes to be made for the work that I've done. Like... super simple MS PowerPoint presentation for Employee Awards also she wanted to have a say in how people's name should be long/short. And she was desperate to prove her point that she sent me 1MB worth of emails to the point where all my work-relevant emails were stalled in the outbox section. I actually had to backtrack all my emails to find out the root cause.
And yes, I was only given a 100MB outlook storage, pathetic.

By my last day during the handover, she treated me like she treated the rest of my colleagues. She stopped looking at me when she talked to me, that means she no longer gives a shit about you. But with no one else to bodek anymore, she turned back to the junior recruiter who also hates her. It's a well known fact that no one likes her. Some department even mentioned she deliberately tried to mess up some managers' promotion even though most of those promotions were driven by measurable performance and was insisted by the regional directors.

She made things so difficult that one regional director flew down from Singapore to have a word with my Head of HR and her. Only then she gave in. My Head of HR knows about her evil deeds but he can't do jackshit about her because he's an expat and his success in work is tied in to hers. So they both use one another, and when shit gets out of control, they throw it to us.

Sometimes, things really show for themselves. At the end of the day, its the junior executives doing the work the higher ups. My ex-colleague tried to leave, but they basically stopped her from leaving because they knew they needed her. So, they compromised. The head of hr promised my colleague that she doesn't have to deal with the manager, so she stayed. The junior recruiter left and a new recruiter got employed. I heard that even the new girl couldn't stand my manager just after a month of work.

Anyway back to the intern, I wouldn't say it's much of a leeway, but they let it flow the way it is so that my head and manager can say something horrible behind her back after she leaves. It's basically stabbing from the back lah. The higher ups are too busy maintaining stakeholders' interest that things like disciplinary issues from Interns don't bother them.

Edit: yes, purposely left certain details in 'cept the company's name. It was intended.

This post has been edited by MerryGoRound^2: Apr 18 2017, 03:05 PM
jmas
post Apr 18 2017, 12:09 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

QUOTE(MerryGoRound^2 @ Apr 18 2017, 11:14 AM)
No idea. But I recalled that her name was Amanda.
Nope, not the person I heard then. The girl I heard is more epic. None of the company she stay long, and no good thing about her, but she's hot, though.
What I heard when she join my company:

jump ship from another company to luxury car sales, tried to seduce boss/colleague/customer, all fail.

JUMP! To accounting in MNC, always short skirt/low-cut V (company rules loose, again, she's HOT!). Always sit on table when higher up is nearby. Flirted with colleague in other dept.
Lazy to work, other ppl always have to pick her shit, always MC during months-end/quarter-end (most busy period), then parade into office after accounting closes, showing new bags/shirt she bought when she take MC.
She just stopped going into office one day, no notice. Her boss called her, she say want resign, her boss just ask her tender letter, and fine her 2 months salary (contracts stated 2mths).
She send in her "family lawyer" (her brother...), bla bla bla,... the boss lazy to layan such person, just let her go...

Now dont know jump where, just know she still trying to flirt rich guys in pub.
arubin
post Apr 18 2017, 12:14 PM

Holy Pastafarian
670 posts

Lel interns are essentially cheap labor. They don't need to be good at their tasks. They just need to show up and do as they're told.

You have to screw up real bad to get sacked as an intern.
Carlo J
post Apr 18 2017, 01:22 PM

919 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 18 2017, 11:22 AM)
so ur the boss la, why say until u like employee.

no i dun read articles.
I'm not the boss la, I'm also an employee.

Boss is saintnotsinner.
Carlo J
post Apr 18 2017, 01:26 PM

919 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Apr 18 2017, 12:09 PM)
Nope, not the person I heard then. The girl I heard is more epic. None of the company she stay long, and no good thing about her, but she's hot, though.
What I heard when she join my company:

jump ship from another company to luxury car sales, tried to seduce boss/colleague/customer, all fail.

JUMP! To accounting in MNC, always short skirt/low-cut V (company rules loose, again, she's HOT!). Always sit on table when higher up is nearby. Flirted with colleague in other dept.
Lazy to work, other ppl always have to pick her shit, always MC during months-end/quarter-end (most busy period), then parade into office after accounting closes, showing new bags/shirt she bought when she take MC.
She just stopped going into office one day, no notice. Her boss called her, she say want resign, her boss just ask her tender letter, and fine her 2 months salary (contracts stated 2mths).
She send in her "family lawyer" (her brother...), bla bla bla,... the boss lazy to layan such person, just let her go...

Now dont know jump where, just know she still trying to flirt rich guys in pub.
I think for this girl, marry rich datuk/sugar daddy enough.

No ambition or purpose in life.

Just my 2 cents.
SUSadvocado
post Apr 18 2017, 01:30 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(Carlo J @ Apr 18 2017, 01:22 PM)
I'm not the boss la, I'm also an employee.

Boss is saintnotsinner.
u not boss, so why company efficiency not employees problem but "ours" problem when you yourself also employee? do you mean you are special compared to other employees?
jmas
post Apr 18 2017, 01:57 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

QUOTE(Carlo J @ Apr 18 2017, 01:26 PM)
I think for this girl, marry rich datuk/sugar daddy enough.

No ambition or purpose in life.

Just my 2 cents.
Everyone got the same opinion about her anyway. biggrin.gif
Carlo J
post Apr 18 2017, 03:32 PM

919 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 18 2017, 01:30 PM)
u not boss, so why company efficiency not employees problem but "ours" problem when you yourself also employee? do you mean you are special compared to other employees?
Of course not.

Basically we're in a team, if one screws up, it's the team's fault.

MeToo
post Apr 18 2017, 03:43 PM

9,336 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Apr 17 2017, 10:23 PM)
i just remember one time one intern kena kantoi for faking sick.

Intern said she's feelling unwell so need to go home after lunch.

Later that evening after office hour, the mother called up the company to ask where's her daughter.
she sick until pengsan roadside also u guys fired her.... animals
Blofeld
post Apr 18 2017, 03:49 PM

4,703 posts

U mentioned she took out her tops in front of everyone before.

Drillz pls
sunami
post Apr 18 2017, 03:52 PM

A CAT that can Bark. LMAO
1,534 posts

TS phail engrand...no wonder intern dun undstd...
rabbitman5555
post Apr 18 2017, 03:55 PM

QUOTE(katsumoto2011 @ Apr 17 2017, 11:58 PM)

wtf u ask an intern to OT?
djhenry91
post Apr 18 2017, 04:40 PM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

QUOTE(rabbitman5555 @ Apr 18 2017, 03:55 PM)
last time i intern i also got OT one day..HR kasi me claim OT..
weekend go working..RM100 per day
public holiday,double..syok gila
MerryGoRound^2
post Apr 18 2017, 04:48 PM

354 posts

QUOTE(Blofeld @ Apr 18 2017, 03:49 PM)
U mentioned she took out her tops in front of everyone before.

Drillz pls
I left before she came in la.
katsumoto2011
post Apr 18 2017, 08:02 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(rabbitman5555 @ Apr 18 2017, 03:55 PM)
Our company paying full salary as a probation worker

We don't treat them as cheap labor, but unfortunately
They don't appreciate it
katsumoto2011
post Apr 18 2017, 08:07 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(Kesh1018 @ Apr 18 2017, 11:48 AM)
What do you expect him to do then? Work till 10pm? If the offer letter says 5.30, it's by law to be 5.30 then! Employers these days 😑
Want more salary and demand less working hour
There no such thing, specially if the worker it self
Doesn't realise that they are lacking in work planing
To complete the job in the 8 hour window.

In the end either , you love it or not
Things will keep on going with or WITHOUT you

katsumoto2011
post Apr 18 2017, 08:12 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(ereboskid @ Apr 18 2017, 09:35 AM)

If you wanna become a boss yourself then don't waste
Other people time and money by giving you a chance on
The job position.

Since you accepted the job, you should put your priority
On the job instead of your side business.

scorptim
post Apr 18 2017, 08:17 PM

700 posts

Kinda agree with your boss on this. In the end it's about efficiency. You faced a problem before you already investigate, experiment and find out the way to overcome it, after that terus document it la. At least next time got similar problem can just follow your update and save time. If not recorded, everytime the staff need to investigate and experiment... Its just wasting time...

QUOTE(party @ Apr 17 2017, 10:51 PM)

Well, the thing is most companies are working towards standardizing their processes and to remove variance in any processes. This has been the aim of most companies since six sigma method was developed. It's not about whether people can think or not, I give 1 problem to 10 different people to think and figure out, I might get 10 different answers or at minimum more than 1 different answer which all answers are still correct just the solution or method different.

Now the issue with having too many ways of handling one thing is that it creates differences in the service level and end user/customer experience. What companies want is for all customers to have the same level of service. Hence standardisation and full documentation of processes is required. If you can't document your process fully, sorry to say it means that either your own knowledge is lacking or you really don't have any technical writing skills.

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 17 2017, 11:16 PM)

QUOTE(advocado @ Apr 17 2017, 11:32 PM)
everyone started as a noob, including you. you just forgotten how noob u were when you started becoz that was long time ago. u probably though u knew everything when you just started and wonder why freshgrads nowadays sucks so bad.

it's the same reason why ur dad think ur soft & incompetent compared to folks back in his days.
Agreed with both your points.
katsumoto2011
post Apr 18 2017, 08:18 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(joe_star @ Apr 18 2017, 06:47 AM)
His burger stall earning him more than your own job
Then why the hell you accept the job ?
You think the company is a safe heaven ah ,
If you business going down hill ?

Waste company money and my time

QUOTE(mekboyz @ Apr 18 2017, 09:04 AM)
Nothing wrong with it , if you can finish
But honestly speaking , how many can reach that ?

Either you arrange your job properly and priority
If not you never get to finish everything.
BS8110
post Apr 18 2017, 08:32 PM

128 posts

So far no issue with any issue with the intern for so many years, all have been OK. Touchwood.

They were intern anyway, expect to come over to learn. Gave them menial task that was related to their education but if they screw up, it won't jeopardize the work. And always have someone to double check their work before using their handiwork.

nicole_4ever
post Apr 18 2017, 08:41 PM

612 posts

I always back sharp blink.gif but able to perform la.
djhenry91
post Apr 18 2017, 08:41 PM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

QUOTE(HaramShake @ Apr 18 2017, 08:36 PM)
Okay guys since y'all are mostly employees, then I'll ask this question as a student

I'm studying Quantity Surveying, will need to do a 6months compulsory placement/internship soon. But I'll have to find my own company, the university will not provide it.

So on what criteria should I choose the company? Higher allowance? Size of company? Reputation of company?

And what will the company expect from me? Mind you that this internship will be graded by the company supervisor in the end.
what the point u want higher allowance but u go there theyask u do office work instead ur quantity surveying related? wasting time only..
reputation company depend lo..
plus depend who is ur supervisor..
last time when i in unversity tht time..university ask us to find urself..min 3 month..they wont mind company extend to 6 month depend on ur internship letter provided by ur university
u go there learn something and maybe help them
SUStescogot
post Apr 18 2017, 08:43 PM

271 posts

we're being too friendly with this one intern

she became too comfortable she's slacking

ended up 2 temporary staff have to cleaned up her shits for over a month after her internship was over
Muhammad Syukri
post Apr 18 2017, 08:47 PM

821 posts

Okay guys since y'all are mostly experienced workers, then I'll ask this question as a student

I'm studying Quantity Surveying, will need to do a 6months compulsory placement/internship soon. But I'll have to find my own company, the university will not provide it.

So on what criteria should I choose the company? Higher allowance? Size of company? Reputation of company?

And what will the company expect from me? Mind you that this internship will be graded by the company supervisor in the end.
Dont worry about company supervisor, most of them understand you wont perform 100% perfect, people make mistakes remember that.

Imho look for company that can offer you vast of opportunities in terms learning new things everyday & not just put in you infront of copying/photostat machine.

Monetary comes later when you're looking for real job and getting reputable company is just an add-on for ya nothing fancy.

SUSIdiuU
post Apr 18 2017, 08:50 PM

346 posts

Okay guys since y'all are mostly experienced workers, then I'll ask this question as a student

if possible, ask lecturer to provide list of blacklisted company for your reference
nicole_4ever
post Apr 18 2017, 09:37 PM

612 posts

QUOTE(IdiuU @ Apr 18 2017, 08:50 PM)
if possible, ask lecturer to provide list of blacklisted company for your reference
biggrin.gif this is funniest i read rclxm9.gif moarrrrr
SUSIdiuU
post Apr 18 2017, 09:38 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(nicole_4ever @ Apr 18 2017, 09:37 PM)
biggrin.gif this is funniest i read rclxm9.gif moarrrrr
why funny? sad.gif
nicole_4ever
post Apr 18 2017, 09:39 PM

612 posts

QUOTE(IdiuU @ Apr 18 2017, 09:38 PM)
why funny? sad.gif
i duno but i loled rclxm9.gif rclxms.gif biggrin.gif
rooney723
post Apr 18 2017, 09:43 PM

596 posts

reading this thread really doh.gif , ppl just intern oni, u pay them 600 and u expect them to OT till 10pm for u for free everyday? they dont hav life? employers nowadays really facepalm, all expect employees to b married to their jobs and have no outside life doh.gif
katsumoto2011
post Apr 18 2017, 09:52 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(nicole_4ever @ Apr 18 2017, 08:41 PM)
I always back sharp  blink.gif but able to perform la.
if you really finish all your job , you think your boss will ask
you stay back for fun and pay your OT without doing anything ?
Muhammad Syukri
post Apr 18 2017, 09:55 PM

821 posts

QUOTE(rooney723 @ Apr 18 2017, 09:43 PM)
reading this thread really  doh.gif , ppl just intern oni, u pay them 600 and u expect them to OT till 10pm for u for free everyday? they dont hav life? employers nowadays really facepalm, all expect employees to b married to their jobs and have no outside life doh.gif
I did do OT for mnc company but it's like once every month so no biggie deal.

But expect that more company taking advantage of interns just to cope with economy crisis nowadays.
katsumoto2011
post Apr 18 2017, 09:56 PM

219 posts

In addition, does the myth that in bigger companies you don't get to learn as much as being in a smaller company really exist?
find a company that have SOP

most ISO company have a set of SOP to work from

rooney723
post Apr 18 2017, 09:59 PM

596 posts

QUOTE(Muhammad Syukri @ Apr 18 2017, 09:55 PM)

But expect that more company taking advantage of interns just to cope with economy crisis nowadays.
once or a few days a month is okay, some companies need to do deployment and its during non office hours, but alot of companies expect worker to OT every single day, even interns
kamfoo
post Apr 18 2017, 10:02 PM

846 posts

Kesian intern
SUSadvocado
post Apr 18 2017, 10:07 PM

2,948 posts

In addition, does the myth that in bigger companies you don't get to learn as much as being in a smaller company really exist?
depends on company, some six sigma big companies has proper system to train trainees & interns, so that might be good.

for small companies it relies on ur trainer, which can be good or bad, for example some trainers will leave you be for 6 months before they come back & check with you to realize you know nothing about the work. those trainers, can go fly kite but it's also interns responsibility to ask questions not just keep quiet. for small companies if you have good training you will learn more hands on experience.

big companies will be more focus on procedures & management.
SUSadvocado
post Apr 18 2017, 10:09 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(tescogot @ Apr 18 2017, 08:43 PM)
we're being too friendly with this one intern

she became too comfortable she's slacking

ended up 2 temporary staff have to cleaned up her shits for over a month after her internship was over
man what kind of job you guys doing until you don't know she messed up until she left.

serious communication problems in your organization.

unless it's about cleaning up ur own room.
SUSadvocado
post Apr 18 2017, 10:11 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(Muhammad Syukri @ Apr 18 2017, 09:55 PM)

cope what? most company nowadays have low volume of deals, even undermanpowered due to retrenchments, i can't imagine these intern have to OT everyday to finish outstanding jobs.

unless the job is related to company closing down then they will be busy lo.
SUSadvocado
post Apr 18 2017, 10:14 PM

2,948 posts

QUOTE(katsumoto2011 @ Apr 18 2017, 09:56 PM)
find a company that have SOP

most ISO company have a set of SOP to work from
best is find those company that recruited lots of freshgrads, they will have better system to train newbees, and with freshgrads who has just slightly more exp than you, they can show you the ladder easier as they just been tru those process. also you will know have more cables by joining big companies.

try not to join companies full of seniors, even though you may be able to learn alot from them, they normally don't have a proper training system, so it's really depend on luck. if you meet good seniors who knows how to show the rope you are lucky, if not, everyday Photostat, filling only. no point really.
djhenry91
post Apr 18 2017, 10:17 PM

Slow and Steady
6,779 posts

those 6 intern come my branch are superduper lucky..alot senior min 2 years to 20 years experience on this industry..they will happy learn alot what is stock market
nicole_4ever
post Apr 18 2017, 10:18 PM

612 posts

QUOTE(katsumoto2011 @ Apr 18 2017, 09:52 PM)
if you really finish all your job , you think your boss will ask
you stay back for fun and pay your OT without doing anything ?
My boss never request me OT blink.gif after I reading many threads like this, going back sharp is a crime. Anyway , no OT claim except for meal. Some more after 8pm only can claim meal allowance. Lol. U expect all company pay OT?u OK boh?

This post has been edited by nicole_4ever: Apr 18 2017, 10:20 PM
dupe A/C
post Apr 18 2017, 10:21 PM

QUOTE(nasiputih @ Apr 17 2017, 10:33 PM)

Kelantan. rclxs0.gif
katsumoto2011
post Apr 18 2017, 10:24 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(nicole_4ever @ Apr 18 2017, 10:18 PM)
My boss never request me OT blink.gif after I reading many threads like this, going back sharp is a crime. Anyway , no OT claim except for meal. Some more after 8pm only can claim meal allowance. Lol. U expect all company pay OT?u OK boh?
so company no pay OT you complaint , if company pay OT you ask me ok boh ????

hard to become your boss lah , you make yourself boss lah sweat.gif
poooky
post Apr 18 2017, 10:25 PM

844 posts

lol give em a break they jes interns n got another yr or 2 of skool before transitioning into 2k kuli. ppl expecting they conform to kuli culture lol wadafak.. let then enjoy while can lah, got plenty of time to work.
cocobunana
post Apr 18 2017, 11:02 PM

77 posts

dafaq, ask you all do unrelated shit, why not complain to her directly?

on an unrelated note, she is single right?
MerryGoRound^2
post Apr 19 2017, 12:14 AM

354 posts

QUOTE(cocobunana @ Apr 18 2017, 11:02 PM)

dafaq, ask you all do unrelated shit, why not complain to her directly?

on an unrelated note, she is single right?
Last I heard she's single la, studying Psychology with an elective in criminology. Quite pretty one.

Or do you mean my manager? If it's the manager, forget about her. Early 40s, looks young but nerdy as heck with her current hairstyle and shitty glasses. Foundation and concealer put so much until you can tell it's a layer of thick cosmetics on her face. Then proudly claims she doesn't eat vegetable at all and resorts to dieting by starving herself without food sometimes. Mouth smelly af also cause she drinks so little water. At one point she started hitting on a well built guy only to find out he's gay, then she completely cut him off lol. No fashion sense also, buy LV/Gucci bag but can't carry them in a sophisticated manner.

Problematic intern hotter.

This post has been edited by MerryGoRound^2: Apr 19 2017, 12:19 AM
ocphangaz
post Apr 19 2017, 08:56 AM

Midlife Crysis.
768 posts

QUOTE(djhenry91 @ Apr 18 2017, 09:59 AM)
during my uni time..i apply for intern thru jobstreet
guess wat..one company call me directly tht i never apply before,they offer me intern for 3 month,ask me come their office interview by HR..
done interview immediately accept me.1st day come,thn relevant department people in charge only come interview me
i said normally, not all.

during my time, university needs to assign letter to relevant companies in interest. there were no jobstreet then.
mafioso
post Apr 19 2017, 09:02 AM

6,155 posts

QUOTE(nicole_4ever @ Apr 18 2017, 10:18 PM)
i go back sharp

but can provide results

have to give and take loh

one time i kasi tiao in front of boss in meeting

"if i already finish my task for the day and has been reviewed + approved by upper management. what for i stay and act busy?"

LEL

but most of the time i always finish my work very quickly

so if lets say this certain task requires 3 days, i finished it in 1 1/2 day

the balance i really have to "act" busy laugh.gif

you cannot let upper management over-expect also from you

later you everytime finish quick + professional but one day you really lacked behind.. then you kena tiao kao kao reviewed KPI bad, etc

its like you do 10 good things, no one cares

but once you did 1 thing bad, as if like you murdered the whole company due to over expectation

This post has been edited by mafioso: Apr 19 2017, 09:04 AM

0.0502sec    0.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:19 PM