6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Nintendo Switch Official Thread v2, Portable? Home console? whynotboth.jpg

stringfellow
post Apr 13 2017, 11:11 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

The new Direct is why I'm excited: Nintendo need to show more games like these. Sine Mora EX(compared to Graceful Explosion Machine) and The Fall Part 2 Unbound(compared to Blaster Master) shows what kind of graphical prowess the Switch has under its hood. This in turn will attract AAA publishers to create content for the Switch, instead of the waves of "meh" indies and pixel art shovelware (although some are updated). I mean I love my Metal Slug 3 and World Heroes Perfect, but those games can only go so far in terms of convincing these devs that they should develop for the Switch. Hell, they can produce these types of pixel art shovelware on smartphones these days, and we all know the depths of garbage you have to swim through the sea of useless apps and games on smartphones these days.

Sure, indie games are nice, but catering majorly to that crowd only isn't why you cram so much hardware potential under the hood. You don't publish games like bloody "Othello" on an Nvidia Tegra capable device and expect people to lap it up.

TL;DR: stop with these indies shovelware, make more quality games. Inb4 " graphics isn't everything, if the gameplay is crap". So does the opposite. If graphics is crap, nobody's pulled to buy them either, unless you have prior experience with them or the nostalgic factor. Or better still, concentrate the indies shovelware crap onto the 3DS, get more serious with tapping the hardware on the Switch.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Apr 13 2017, 11:11 AM
stringfellow
post Apr 13 2017, 12:18 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Apr 13 2017, 11:50 AM)
Pretty much true. But give em more time, E3 is coming. To develop new title for a very young console system wasn't easy, and it's time consuming.
This remind me when Ps4 launch few years back, with several big title remake upon released.
They're more eager to plaster indie games titles in development that whatever THQ Nordic was showing. Even if the games are under development, concept arts and screenshot of what the games are about will give clear idea of what kind of genre, gameplay and graphics are to be expected. I'll take that over endless indies.

Look what just arrived in the mail. All your Amiibos are belong to me, Nintendo. That'll teach you to lock your content behind plastic toys I don't give a crap about collecting.

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Apr 13 2017, 12:33 PM
stringfellow
post Apr 13 2017, 01:13 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(daniel20588 @ Apr 13 2017, 12:56 PM)
Will this save a lot of Amiibo inside? Because I saw another more powerful NFCTag which will allow to store about 200 Amiibo in the tag cool2.gif
Rewritable. That's as good as "unlimited" amount of Amiibos. It's not like all 200 Amiibos is used in the game, only a few gives worthwhile perks. And what happens if the Amiibo numbers exceed 200?

The N2 Elite that holds 200 Amiibos have a glitch when cycling through empty banks.
stringfellow
post Apr 13 2017, 01:16 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Puyo Puyo Tetris demo in English is out on US eShop.
stringfellow
post Apr 13 2017, 01:20 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

When there's more than 12 games and demos available on your home screen, the "All Software" page is made available. Smaller icons with more visible view of the games/demo.

stringfellow
post Apr 13 2017, 05:33 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(daniel20588 @ Apr 13 2017, 02:38 PM)
How much you brought this? I try google it is UK Pounds 9.99 for tags and 19.99 for reader. And N2 Elite is much expensive than this items which is USD106.39 for both bundles.
Exactly that much. Saveforall store sells the NFC reader-only without the Powertags. Or you can opt to get the Powersaves reader + Powertags as a bundle from Codejunkies direct.

QUOTE(MattAces @ Apr 13 2017, 05:20 PM)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y0gfEKq6Jf4

Thumper coming in May (Awesome rhythm game) and some other indies.

It's totally a curse to own almost every platform, you just don't get excited about anything at all. Really hope this direct is a sign that Nintendo is hosting the biggest E3 game announcement of all time because it is getting depressing with only MK8 as an upcoming game until post E3.
Not sure I wanna splurge again for Thumper again after I rarely revisited it on PSVR.

stringfellow
post Apr 14 2017, 05:59 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Fast RMX is still ace to me. Whenever I feel like yawning because I've done almost everything in Zelda and only left finding boring Korok Seeds, I switch to Fast RMX. Instantly keeps you awake. Sure, AI rubberbands all the time but I'm not playing for achievements, just enjoyment. I will hit the firewall later though if I can't unlock more tracks on harder leagues, but simply switching to a different craft and figuring out their maneuverability got me through. If I'm grinding for 1st place, that'll poss me off though, since the AI is cheap. Thankfully I'm happy with just being on the podium and unlocking new tracks and crafts. *shrugs*

Bought Disgaea 5 thinking I can forgave its simplistic graphics for its gameplay. We"ll see about that. Persona 5 is currently taking too much of my time and is helping me conditioning myself to do that.
stringfellow
post Apr 15 2017, 10:14 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Muahahahahahahahahahahaha!

Eat this, Nintendo! Not gonna be a chump for your stupid plastic toys anymore!

stringfellow
post Apr 15 2017, 11:08 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Codejunkies sells them on their website. Amiiqo/N2 Elite is available down south. Another Amiibo manipulating platform, Namiio is available locally, but it's Chinese-documented so I've no confidence in those.
stringfellow
post Apr 16 2017, 10:50 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(nill @ Apr 16 2017, 09:34 AM)
What have you done??

Proof that you don't need to be a YouTuber to be an influencer. tongue.gif Instead of spouting hyperbole on YouTube, I prove that it works. First, the powerbank, now the Powersaves & Powertags? tongue.gif
stringfellow
post Apr 16 2017, 05:10 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(nill @ Apr 16 2017, 11:00 AM)
I'm a bit confused about the Power Saves (with WiFi).
Does it work without online connection?
Only if you're using Powersaves cheat, it'll try and log online. Otherwise, no need wifi.

QUOTE(kamikraze @ Apr 16 2017, 11:10 AM)
You've done quiet extensive testing on related subject with pictures and proof.
I find it's hard to argue your output of your testing, unless the person went through similar process.
And you've done great that benefit others. Truly appreciated. Thanks
Appreciate it. Although......that response sounds very familiar like a dialogue in Persona 5. tongue.gif Maybe I've been playing that game too much......
stringfellow
post Apr 17 2017, 11:42 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Chocobos @ Apr 17 2017, 08:19 AM)
Those so called true gamers are angry when Ninty stopped the production of NES Classic but at the same time, they wish Switch will fail. Suprisingly, Gbatemp also have many Nintendo haters. They don't have any qualms about hoping for Nintendo downfall, which I hope will never happen.
If the toys were cheaper, I would have bought 'em. But the price is too much just to get some special items, no thanks to our currency exchange rate. I could understand people using this as other means to get the locked items. That Wolf looks so cool!
I can relate to the "Nintendo Must Die" mentality. They want Nintendo games be available on a more neutral platform like PC than just locked behind Nintendo's own hardware. That lock is already broken with emulators and even the NES Classic is basically employing that, using emulation on relatively cheap Raspberry Pi PCB.

A more subdued rationale would be Nintendo to release their games out to other platforms, with exclusivity to their own hardware first for one year. That way, nobody has to die, and games can be tailored to the strengths of the platform itself: Nintendo games on Nintendo hardware with all the Nintendo gimmicks, while a year later, Nintendo games on a more superior hardware (PC, PS4, XBONE) without the gimmick nonsense. Not everyone likes Amiibo stuff, and some gamers already moving to 4K for higher graphics fidelity.

As for the Amiibos, every single developers who got exposed locking their game content behind a DLC that is already available on the disc of the game itself gets called out. I'm not giving a "pass" to Nintendo for doing the same.

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Apr 17 2017, 09:25 AM)
just got back from HK, both official/imported Switch stocks are still plenty there,
either color are sold at the same price, Switch related accessories also aplenty as well.  Only thing that's out of stock everywhere is the Pro controller.

Cheapest official Switch I can find is HKD2680 compared to the official price set by Nintendo HK at HKD2340, Japs set are a few hundred HKD cheaper but I didn't bother as those don't have any warranty, and the power plug is 2-pins type. 
None of the stores force you to buy a forced bundle as well, you can just buy the vanilla Switch by it self.

Bought one Switch from a well known reputable store in Golden SSP, got a 2.5D edge tempered glass for HKD98 as well, forgot what brand as have already throw the cover away, but so far super happy with it.

Day 2 night experienced the dreaded L-joycon issue, reception was pretty bad from 2~3M away, had a few signal lost when I place the L-joycon behind me.  No such issue with the R-joycon.

Then I realized Nintendo HK wasn't open the next few days due to the long Easter weekend holiday, and I had to catch the flight home the next day evening.  Contacted the store I bought the Switch from, told them my dilemma, luckily they're willing to do a 1 to 1 swap for the joycon for me. thumbup.gif

While I was commuting to the store that morning via the MTR, read the dreaded news that Ninty is stopping the production of the wildly popular NES/Famicom Classic.  Saw a few stores in SSP still have a few Famicom Classic on shelves, but selling at a slightly inflated price of HKD650-HKD680.  It seems they still haven't got hold of the news that those will reach EoL this month, else the price would be much higher.  So quickly grabbed one at HKD650. wink.gif
TL;DR
grabbed an official Switch from HK, found out the L-joycon has the dreaded issue, store did a 1-1 joycon swap for me as Ninty HK is on holiday mode.
Also bought a Famicom Classic before the stores knew it's going to reach EoL.
Some of you might questioning me why bother go all the way to HK to buy a Switch, as after the currency conversion, it's only slightly cheaper, and it's foreign warranty as well.
Well, I have my reasons, 1st, I'm boycotting Maxsoft and some local stores for how they're handling the Switch launch in this region, forced bundle? No thank you.  Diff price for Neon set? No thank you again.  Pay the store RM100 just to send back your Switch to Maxsoft for warranty? Hohoho, you might as well shoot me in the head.
2nd, it's a fully paid company sponsored working trip, so there's zero travelling & accommodation expenses for me tongue.gif  Might as well take advantage of that to do some shopping.
3rd, my home is across the south china sea from most of you here, local game stores I can count by one hand, and Switch are in very very short supply here.  I have a better chance of spotting the rare orangutan in the jungle here than spotting a Switch in a local store.
4th, online order? no thank you as well, local courier sucks, most of the time you'll get either delayed delivery or a damaged parcel, or worst, both!  Not to mention the shipping fees aren't cheap as well.
An exemplary report, instead of "I saw a Nintendo Switch in Sofmap for 25,000 yen" bullshit in last thread. You glean relevant and useful info instead of idle Kopitiam chit-chat that goes nowhere. Good job! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Apr 17 2017, 11:44 AM
stringfellow
post Apr 18 2017, 08:33 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Just got SamShoIV. Gonna be lotsa "VICTOLY!" tonight. tongue.gif

stringfellow
post Apr 21 2017, 02:53 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Ready for MK8D. All Amiibos ready and prepped. Question is, into the PowerTag or the 200-bankful N2 Elite? wink.gif

The N2 Elite would be perfect if it has an LCD display showing what Amiibo you're flipping through in its 200 banks.
stringfellow
post Apr 21 2017, 04:20 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(angelaers @ Apr 21 2017, 03:40 PM)
For what? A bunch of costumes for your Mii character? That's hardly anything to get excited over.
Why do you care? What's exciting to you may not be exciting to me. I for one dont go bitching about your yellow Joy-con post. rolleyes.gif
stringfellow
post Apr 21 2017, 05:09 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(angelaers @ Apr 21 2017, 04:55 PM)
Calm your tits dude, I was criticizing Nintendo's lackluster amiibo rewards for MK8D. You don't have to feel so personally attacked by it. Jeez.
Calm your own assumption as well. Has the Amiibo unlocks been finalised as well, and are they just cosmetic and not power-ups? If Nintendo can lock weapons and armor sets behind pieces of plastic, what makes you think they cant do it in MK8D? Think.

As for their lackluster Amiibo rewards, that's good news for everyone. The less Nintendo use those shitty pieces of plastic in their games the better. They're treading onto thin ice when they're start locking stuff behind them. First cosmetic, then unfair advantages with powerups (in BOTW).
stringfellow
post Apr 21 2017, 07:56 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(angelaers @ Apr 21 2017, 05:56 PM)
From Nintendo's​ Website. (Has a list of compatible amiibos)
[attachmentid=8755148]
http://www.nintendo.com/amiibo/games/detai...8-deluxe-switch

No mention of power-ups or the sort.
So you do agree the rewards for MK8D are lackluster tongue.gif

Also, I think you're stretching it a bit calling the amiibo rewards in BOTW unfair. It's a single player RPG, making the game easier or harder for yourself is totally up to you. Nothing "unfair" about it.

And those cosmetics are a nice additions for hardcore fans of the series. They don't really add or detract anything from the game and for us casual fans serves nothing more than as hollow rewards.
Not if you're a completionist. Locking weapons like the Sword of the Six Sages behind the Ganondorf Amiibo, or Epona unlock, or the Fierce Diety armor set, outfit and weapon behind the upcoming 30th anniversary Amiibos. These are not just cosmetics, they're advantageous to those who either just started the game (even "failed" Amiibo unlocks gives overpowered two-handed weapons like ROYAL versions of swords, for example), and starting the game with Epona alone gives unfair advantage over time taken to have to tame wild horses.

Fair enough if its MK8D and its cosmetic nonsenses, IF that is true, and if that 's the only "advantage" Nintendo is giving via Amiibo. But the potential of abusing this is so high and tempting,.....people are already criticizing Nintendo as "materializing DLCs in the form of Amiibos for unlocks".
stringfellow
post Apr 21 2017, 08:59 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

NFC NTAG215 cards and keychains just arrived from Shenzen. Took them long enough with that cheap shipping. Should've checked the mail downstairs. With the N2Elite and Powertags, these NFC cards and keychains are kinda redundant for me. Unless someone wants me to write these Zelda related Amiibos onto them and sell em out for cheap.

For what's it's worth, Powersaves and Amiiqo/N2Elite bin files are cross-conpatible.

Maybe I'll just repurpose them for use at home, but I don't think my home's that automated to warrant NFC tag/profiling. Maybe can use to turn on the gaming PC, hmmmmm......

This post has been edited by stringfellow: Apr 21 2017, 10:47 PM
stringfellow
post Apr 22 2017, 01:04 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(nintendo86 @ Apr 21 2017, 09:05 PM)
Guys anyone want to trade their bomberman with my 1,2 switch?
That game's the first thing I traded off. Should've been a pack-in like Wii Sports. Disgusting that Nintendo wants that for 50 bucks.
stringfellow
post Apr 24 2017, 12:22 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Now things get interesting!

http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1363323

RAINWAY announced: Third party eShop app for streaming PC games to your Switch.....if Nintendo allows this that is. You know how much a stickler Big N is with its closed system.

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1659sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 02:55 PM