CRT TV - End of the era, Discon

sstarlight
post Jan 3 2008, 08:33 PM

223 posts

Greetings smile.gif been getting lots of info regarding CRT tv from this thread eventhough it has been inactive for more than a year.
My dad is planning to get a TV and we are still fancy of CRT in terms of the image quality (mainly use for terrestrial TV, DVD). We have been looking at Phillips 29PT7321, 29PT8845, Panasonic TX-29F350MK & Sony KV-DZ29M61. All these TV are 100Hz scan. Wonder if any sifus out there can give comments and reviews of these TVs... thanks notworthy.gif
TShtkaki
post Jan 4 2008, 11:23 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

I guees most of the people out there are eyeing either LCD TV or plasma since it is within their reach.
sstarlight
post Jan 7 2008, 05:54 PM

223 posts

The tv is for my parents to watch terrestrial TV, so no point for us to buy the LCD TV at the moment. Thanks for your point smile.gif happy new year
JiauBoy
post Jan 7 2008, 05:58 PM

727 posts

for me no point getting new crt now.
SpikeTwo
post Jan 7 2008, 06:06 PM

無敵 PC Elitist
5,464 posts

correct. there's no point getting a CRT. with LCD, u can adjust your aspect ratio to 4:3 which might fit the terrestrial TV.
64bit
post Jan 7 2008, 09:18 PM

115 posts

If you are interested in 16:9 HD CRT TV, check out Samsung's offereing. They are manufactured using Slim Fit technology, which results in a thinner CRT TV.

2 models are available: http://www.samsung.com/my/products/televis....asp?viewPage=2
TShtkaki
post Jan 9 2008, 09:05 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

actually (no hard feeling for those who owned it) I found the PQ of slimfit rather poor. Better opt for conventional CRT TV
sstarlight
post Jan 10 2008, 06:14 PM

223 posts

Hi guys, thanks for all the comments and opinions, appreciate it smile.gif I've bought a Sony CRT which has 100Hz/progressive scan, and we are happy with it. I find that watching terrestrial TV or astro from LCD TV has a lot of pixelation even after adjusted it to 4:3 ratio. Probably LCD/Plasma TV are too good for it now, will wait till terrestrial/astro upgrade to HD broadcasting biggrin.gif
64bit
post Jan 19 2008, 09:44 PM

115 posts

Did anyone got a CRT TV that supports HD? I saw Sony offers 4:3 CRT TV that supports HD. How does the output picture looks like? And how they claim to support HD when HD is in 16:9?
scy320
post Jan 20 2008, 11:50 PM

2,464 posts

Go for LCD,CRT outdated already.
Nezloais
post Aug 4 2009, 12:41 PM

39 posts

First of all CRT's will not go out of production , LCD TV's is not within the reach of all people in market , most of the people in malaysia buy those expensive LCD's on an installment plan and get stuck with a payment for a looong time. CRT's are still affordable for the average person. !

zzzxtreme
post Aug 4 2009, 01:25 PM

Synth Freak
4,300 posts

with today's high def technology and sleek design, and owning few LCD TVs, i've come to realise all i want is a small red sanyo TV from the 80's to match my vintage vinyl player.

You know u want it brows.gif
kumanosuke
post Aug 4 2009, 05:14 PM

717 posts

haha

then find a vintage old looking LCD TV

lol
zzzxtreme
post Aug 4 2009, 05:32 PM

Synth Freak
4,300 posts

i will kumanosuke, when i buy own apartment, God willing
HoyHoySum
post Apr 20 2010, 04:27 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(kumanosuke @ Aug 4 2009, 05:14 PM)
haha

then find a vintage old looking LCD TV

lol
No need just find one old nice looking TV, take out the crt tube and fix your lcd or plasma on it...lah...
Retro look with HD display...
agingamer
post Apr 20 2010, 04:31 PM

199 posts

QUOTE(HoyHoySum @ Apr 20 2010, 04:27 PM)
No need just find one old nice looking TV, take out the crt tube and fix your lcd or plasma on it...lah...
Retro look with HD display...
Actually this is quite a good anti-theft idea.
U shud patent this. rclxms.gif
zxeen
post Apr 22 2010, 11:55 AM

352 posts

consider the tube amp analogy:

some day later, probably in 5 to 10 years, when tube tv is generally off the production line, there will be a persistent gropu of 'videophiles' who argue that the ultimate video experience is watching laser discs or dvds with a 32" tube tv. then there will be a market for vintage sony trintron tube tvs and 4:3 format lds and dvds. pretty much the same way vinyl on tube amp is considered the nirvana of audiophile, for the reason that the colour is smoother, more dynamic, vibrant etc etc..

then there will be a small group of small scale enterprising people who would make "high end tube tvs" at a premium, and there will also be people making money off trading used 4:3 format discs on ebay, because there's a niche market out there biggrin.gif
thken
post Apr 22 2010, 10:02 PM

keep walking
938 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Mar 13 2007, 10:45 PM)
I find it hard to believe, especially coming from a salesperson. biggrin.gif

The price of CRTs is still far cheaper than LCDs in most environments. Given the price sensitive nature of most consumers in this region, discontinuing CRTs is very strange.

Google for the news. I did and didn't find anything. Stopping a product line is major news especially if it's Samsung/Sony/etc.

I think the sales guy was trying very hard to sell you an LCD/plasma TV biggrin.gif
not anymore, and it is just 3 years tongue.gif

and talking about TV, 1970 got CRT (for commercial)
in 1995 got LCD (for commercial)
in 2020 got hologram?

This post has been edited by thken: Apr 22 2010, 10:05 PM

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0191sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 05:06 AM