6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

CRT TV - End of the era, Discon

Christopher_LKL
post Mar 15 2007, 04:57 PM

Kairi Kawaii ^^
1,399 posts

Malaysia, China, USA, Japan and some countries u think of ARE NOT the whole world, consider indo, philipines, vietnam, india, and many other, CRT is still cheaper and pretty much exist in those worlds, and even PC wat they have is pretty outdated compare to "the world" (im not talking about p4,p3 but lesser than p2 exists, pretty much -Again, im not saying capital of those contries) even in malaysia, many rural areas, kampungs still pretty happy with 24 inch CRT.

my conclusion, CRT wont die yet, at least for these coming 10-20 years. dun generalize too much, there are still pretty important even in design/filming industry ...
HughieRmX
post Mar 15 2007, 05:38 PM

::.. ♬|♪ HaRdC0Re TrAnCE AddiCT ♬|♪..::
3,394 posts

Agreed !! nod.gif
Only well developed areas such as big city or township are able to see the wonders of new technology bringing in from the outside world .. but the suburbs and outskirt of the city might not be able to. Maybe for them a 29 inch CRT id s very expensive and yet a powerful TV they had ... just my 2cents. smile.gif

Regards,
Hughie
carpathia
post Mar 15 2007, 06:11 PM

2,619 posts

Yup. Imagine the kampung folks where the total income is less than 1k, they will stick with CRT all the way.

Anyways, coming back to the topic, i will get the new 100mhz LCD from tosh or sharp once the price comes down...im using philips 34" crt now. not very happy wit the crt as it doesnt display the blacks very well. only good thing is that it has 480p and expand 16:9 movies if i need to .
HughieRmX
post Mar 15 2007, 06:49 PM

3,394 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Mar 15 2007, 06:11 PM)
Yup. Imagine the kampung folks where the total income is less than 1k, they will stick with CRT all the way.

Anyways, coming back to the topic, i will get the new 100mhz LCD from tosh or sharp once the price comes down...im using philips 34" crt now. not very happy wit the crt as it doesnt display the blacks very well. only good thing is that it has 480p and expand 16:9 movies if i need to .
HmmM ... you are right nod.gif
How about getting CRT TVs with 100 Mhz such as Panasonic and Samsung ? unsure.gif
eye
post Mar 15 2007, 08:33 PM

1,166 posts

i wud say this is the best time for CRT ahahahahaha ... they are at the cheapest and most practical for normal tv viewing as none of the available tv programmes here in malaysia are in hd format biggrin.gif
bsl555
post Mar 15 2007, 08:53 PM

8,046 posts

Anyway..was at Carrefour Subang earlier. Saw some brand new boxed Panasonic 29" TV's going for Rm900+..they're disposing remaining stock of few units there. There's some 21" too along with some Philips and Samsung Midi DVD capable components going at excellent price discount.

This post has been edited by bsl555: Mar 15 2007, 08:56 PM
HughieRmX
post Mar 15 2007, 09:55 PM

3,394 posts

Great !! rclxm9.gif
At least can go for some branded items at an affordable rate. Thanks for the update wink.gif 29 inch for the price below $1,000 MYR is really a good bargain ..

Regards,
Hughie

This post has been edited by HughieRmX: Mar 15 2007, 09:55 PM
Irishcoffee
post Mar 15 2007, 10:17 PM

ilX / Espressivo
2,994 posts

crt is hard to phase out juz like floppy drive...over30 years zzz
bsl555
post Mar 15 2007, 11:15 PM

8,046 posts

QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Mar 15 2007, 10:17 PM)
Oh well..the FDD is still neccessary for those who still use old or ancient PC's compared to gamer's PC and don't really see the need to go hi-tech..for e.g. accounts and legal firms..it suffice their basic requirements to do the job.

As with rural folk..a CRT TV is just a TV..as long don't need to spend mind boggling figures and within affordability. LCD's and Plasma's are not within their affordability..not even me, and in truth, hard earned money is spent prudently elsewhere. Generally..that's the general local mindset, unless one insists on keeping up with the Jones.

carpathia
post Mar 16 2007, 08:40 AM

2,619 posts

actually i wanted to initially buy the panasonic 34" 100mhz crt but the price is around 2.8k...very high.
HughieRmX
post Mar 16 2007, 09:10 AM

3,394 posts

HmmM .. hmm.gif
Ya, those branded 100 Mhz CRT TV is still at the high price tag .. I wonder when they will be dropping ? Since there are so many competitors for the LCD TVs already ... or is it there is something behind the technology of 100 Mhz CRT Tv compare to a LCD TV ? unsure.gif

Regards,
Hughie
Ngto
post Mar 16 2007, 12:22 PM

4,350 posts

Until HD TV transmission makes it appearance here , the CRT TV will still live on. Watching standard TV programmes on a LCD is still lacking in sharpness and quality for most LCDs.
accs_centre
post Mar 16 2007, 12:49 PM

4,840 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Mar 16 2007, 08:40 AM)
actually i wanted to initially buy the panasonic 34" 100mhz crt but the price is around 2.8k...very high.
The price has been dropping a lot this few month..
Branded 34" 100Hz CRT is range from RM1999-2399 now..(eg. Philips and Panasonic)

However, 29" 100Hz has better picture quality for its Contast and brightness..Much affordable also..(around RM1350 only)

This post has been edited by accs_centre: Mar 16 2007, 12:56 PM
SUSgogo2
post Mar 16 2007, 01:20 PM

gogo2
18,672 posts

QUOTE(Irishcoffee @ Mar 15 2007, 10:17 PM)
already phase out lar fdd....if u dun notice...
carpathia
post Mar 16 2007, 01:47 PM

2,619 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Mar 16 2007, 12:49 PM)
Branded 34" 100Hz CRT is range from RM1999-2399 now..(eg. Philips and Panasonic)

However, 29" 100Hz has better picture quality for its Contast and brightness..Much affordable also..(around RM1350 only)
not really. only 2 brands carry 34" crt - philips and panasonic. panasonic 34" have yet to move down south
Christopher_LKL
post Mar 16 2007, 01:53 PM

Kairi Kawaii ^^
1,399 posts

fdd is not yet phase out ...... go out there, see those ATM machines, 99% of them STILL USING fdd if u dun know
HughieRmX
post Mar 16 2007, 02:08 PM

3,394 posts

QUOTE(accs_centre @ Mar 16 2007, 12:49 PM)

Really ? unsure.gif
I am still looking for a good one .. luckily I didnt get a normal CRT Tv last month sweat.gif Thanks for the update

Regards,
Hughie
SUSMatrix
post Mar 17 2007, 09:38 AM

King of Char Siew!
15,022 posts

CRT where can die so fast. LCD is still ridiculously expensive for most people in Malaysia. Go to Carrefour and you'll see people buying all the China brand CRTs.

Samsung exit the CRT market in China because they can't compete with them. Very soon, all the CRT market will taken over by China. You don't need high-end tech for CRT and China can make them easily.

CRT will be here to stay for another 10 to 20 years at least.

Added on March 17, 2007, 9:45 am
QUOTE(HughieRmX @ Mar 16 2007, 09:10 AM)
HmmM .. hmm.gif
Ya, those branded 100 Mhz CRT TV is still at the high price tag .. I wonder when they will be dropping ? Since there are so many competitors for the LCD TVs already ... or is it there is something behind the technology of 100 Mhz CRT Tv compare to a LCD TV ? unsure.gif

Regards,
Hughie
I don't believe in 100hz CRT. IMO, Philips with Pixel Plus and SONY HDTV CRT are the best. Samsung CRT looks horrible and Panasonic isn't any better either.

btw, my SONY 29" doesn't have 100hz but it has some other technology called DRC and i never notice any flickers even at 60Hz. Not to mentioned it rocks at HDTV resolutions.

This post has been edited by Matrix: Mar 17 2007, 09:45 AM
anuarnor
post Mar 17 2007, 07:32 PM

232 posts

Do keep your CRT. Soon it will be very valuable. Just like valve tube.
HughieRmX
post Mar 18 2007, 08:41 AM

3,394 posts

QUOTE(Matrix @ Mar 17 2007, 09:38 AM)
CRT where can die so fast. LCD is still ridiculously expensive for most people in Malaysia. Go to Carrefour and you'll see people buying all the China brand CRTs.

Samsung exit the CRT market in China because they can't compete with them. Very soon, all the CRT market will taken over by China. You don't need high-end tech for CRT and China can make them easily.

CRT will be here to stay for another 10 to 20 years at least.

Added on March 17, 2007, 9:45 am

I don't believe in 100hz CRT. IMO, Philips with Pixel Plus and SONY HDTV CRT are the best. Samsung CRT looks horrible and Panasonic isn't any better either.

btw, my SONY 29" doesn't have 100hz but it has some other technology called DRC and i never notice any flickers even at 60Hz. Not to mentioned it rocks at HDTV resolutions.
HmmM ... hmm.gif Thanks for sharing your opinion about the 100hz CRT TVs ... I have noticed that eventhough the Panasonic's one aren't really better when you turn it on and compare with other normal 60Hz TV. unsure.gif

Regards,
Hughie

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0149sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 03:58 PM