Puppy care- Guide!, Answers and questions on your 1st pup

jaunty_niel
post Jun 3 2007, 01:43 PM

i love ribena.
3,260 posts

after vacci 1 week don pom pom ar..
i tot deworming should b once every 3weeks?
3weeks, 6weeks, 9weeks..etc..
geve him syrup til he was 6months old, den now tablets.

vacci can b later than da date, but not earlier.
mudz
post Jun 3 2007, 03:11 PM

253 posts

cannot shower after vaccinate ??
how about a day b4 that ?
jaunty_niel
post Jun 3 2007, 03:12 PM

i love ribena.
3,260 posts

hv 2 shower clean clean lor..
not really kenot shower la..cos after vacci, most of da dogs tend 2 hv fever..dowan them 2 feel more sick o.
mudz
post Jun 3 2007, 03:28 PM

253 posts

oh...
i notice these few days my dog keep scratching her own body..

is that a sign of flea infection ?
kenrain
post Jun 3 2007, 06:07 PM

24 posts

Cool!! at last I finished reading this thread.. 15 pages... sweat.gif I am a silent reader and only create an account last few days. Anyway thanks everyone for the guide on puppy care. I've managed to follow most of the guide by everyone here.

I just got a male GR for 3 weeks, had 1st vaccination, and he's 3 mths old now. He's easily taught (with everyone's guide here). During this 3 weeks, he've learnt 2 basic command, which is "SIT" and "DOWN". Even tho sometimes he's still reluctant, but he do understand the 2 commands.

About toilet training, initially I've managed to get him to pee at the news paper (wake up few time in the midnight and bring him pee/poo at the newspaper) but later on due to time and space constraint, I've not much time to paper train him. Ocasionally he do pee or poo at his sleeping place if can't hold the pee/poo, because I didn't have time to take him to pee/poo, so I'd need to clean it up for him.

Everything goes well but unfortunately he's not feeling well. Diarrhea and eat less. When I first brought him back, he do have diarrhea as well. But that time, I thought that it was because of the new environment that he's not confortable of. After few days of bringing him back, his poo shows sign of improvement. Then it was my mistake to change the dog food completely at that time. He starts to diarrhea again.

Till last few days, I decided to bring him to the vets. Bad news that I have, the vetinerian told me that my GR is showing sign of canine distemper which is have diarrhea, nose discharge, poor apetite, vomiting, foot pad hardened and coughing. Now have medication and boil chicken everyday only. Need to go back to the vets after 7 days to see if there's improvement. If not then the vets told me to prepare for the worst sad.gifsad.gif It's a very sad case.... He's only 3 mths old and need to suffer from this disease... Is that my fault of not getting him to vets earlier ??

Anyone here have any proven/known idea of helping my GR to recover from this disease?
^MochI^
post Jun 3 2007, 11:23 PM

An Angel Living A Devil's Life
4,565 posts

u do it more, he will understand wan la.. praise in a high pitch.. like ur very very happy with wad he did.. u can also giv treat and giv it favourtie toy.. u wan hug also can .
crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 3 2007, 11:41 PM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(kenrain @ Jun 3 2007, 06:07 PM)
Cool!! at last I finished reading this thread.. 15 pages... sweat.gif I am a silent reader and only create an account last few days. Anyway thanks everyone for the guide on puppy care. I've managed to follow most of the guide by everyone here.

I just got a male GR for 3 weeks, had 1st vaccination, and he's 3 mths old now. He's easily taught (with everyone's guide here). During this 3 weeks, he've learnt 2 basic command, which is "SIT" and "DOWN". Even tho sometimes he's still reluctant, but he do understand the 2 commands.

About toilet training, initially I've managed to get him to pee at the news paper (wake up few time in the midnight and bring him pee/poo at the newspaper) but later on due to time and space constraint, I've not much time to paper train him. Ocasionally he do pee or poo at his sleeping place if can't hold the pee/poo, because I didn't have time to take him to pee/poo, so I'd need to clean it up for him.

Everything goes well but unfortunately he's not feeling well. Diarrhea and eat less. When I first brought him back, he do have diarrhea as well. But that time, I thought that it was because of the new environment that he's not confortable of. After few days of bringing him back, his poo shows sign of improvement. Then it was my mistake to change the dog food completely at that time. He starts to diarrhea again.

Till last few days, I decided to bring him to the vets. Bad news that I have, the vetinerian told me that my GR is showing sign of canine distemper which is have diarrhea, nose discharge, poor apetite, vomiting, foot pad hardened and coughing. Now have medication and boil chicken everyday only. Need to go back to the vets after 7 days to see if there's improvement. If not then the vets told me to prepare for the worst sad.gifsad.gif It's a very sad case.... He's only 3 mths old and need to suffer from this disease... Is that my fault of not getting him to vets earlier ??

Anyone here have any proven/known idea of helping my GR to recover from this disease?
Hmmm.... when you have brought your pup back home, you should have taken straight to the vet for a full check up. Did you get your pup from a puppy dealer or petshop? Coz normally distemper is common in puppy farms.... and this spreads to dealers and petshops....

Well, follow what the vet says, proper treatment and all... I have not experience distemper before so have no idea about the chances of recovery.... but I do know it is dangerous for puppies.

QUOTE(Takezho~* @ Jun 3 2007, 11:09 PM)
how to praise?

like keep hugging it?

cause if u praise it by saying good boi good boi..it's not like he could understand right =.=
Praising means happy voice. Dogs and puppies understand our tone of voice. If you said Good boy in a deep and angry voice, it will most likely run away or hide, say it in a high happy laughing tone and they understand. Patting and hugging can be reward as well. It depends on how you wanna train.
^MochI^
post Jun 4 2007, 12:02 AM

An Angel Living A Devil's Life
4,565 posts

full check up include wad? how much?

crazymouse_yyh
post Jun 4 2007, 12:16 AM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Jun 4 2007, 12:02 AM)
full check up include wad? how much?
Normally it will include blood test, heartworm test, check the joints, feel the whole body, check stool and teeth.... plus deworm if needed... check heart beat and breathing.... depends on the vet.
babymiki
post Jun 4 2007, 01:55 AM

❤ ZR
4,105 posts

I have a Q here. is full check up neccessary if the dog is OK?
TSjoanalooidog
post Jun 4 2007, 09:11 AM

2,823 posts

Mine also din give full check, only basic check. I think as long as the dog is ok, then no need gua.....
But of course, full check is better, but a bit expensive loh......
kenrain
post Jun 4 2007, 09:34 AM

24 posts

I think what crazymouse said is true. You won't know whether your
puppy is 100% OK. Like my case, my puppy looks OK but when go to
check up, only realized that he have other sickness as well.

My puppy no more running nose for now. A good sign for him. Hopefully
will be better when I bring him to the vets on this Thursday. nod.gif
andyfriends
post Jun 4 2007, 09:38 AM

2,326 posts

QUOTE(kenrain @ Jun 4 2007, 09:34 AM)
I think what crazymouse said is true. You won't know whether your
puppy is 100% OK. Like my case, my puppy looks OK but when go to
check up, only realized that he have other sickness as well.

My puppy no more running nose for now. A good sign for him. Hopefully
will be better when I bring him to the vets on this Thursday.  nod.gif
hw much was the bill?
jaunty_niel
post Jun 4 2007, 09:38 AM

i love ribena.
3,260 posts

my vet in my hometown full check up will cost rm80, for 2 dogs. 1 8months old n 1 3months old.

i din go inside n see wat da vet was doing, jus leave da 2 fellow there, den bout half hour or more will b done. hate seeing da vet draw blood from my pup. so don really noe da whole procedure.

i go monthly, cos my 2 pups r like more prone 2 sickness. a while glaucoma, a while sked got joint prob..
better go check up every month, no worries at all.
TSjoanalooidog
post Jun 4 2007, 10:13 AM

2,823 posts

Full check wor....2 dogs wor....RM80 cheap loh........ Hometown mana?
kenrain
post Jun 4 2007, 10:26 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(andyfriends @ Jun 4 2007, 09:38 AM)
hw much was the bill?
My dog didn't go for full checkup. Not sure of the full body checkup price.
jaunty_niel
post Jun 4 2007, 01:44 PM

i love ribena.
3,260 posts

hometown taiping, perak.
teh o ice kosong oni rm0.20.
andyfriends
post Jun 4 2007, 01:55 PM

2,326 posts

QUOTE(jaunty_niel @ Jun 4 2007, 01:44 PM)
hometown taiping, perak.
teh o ice kosong oni rm0.20.
No way so cheap
i been there before
i ordered teh ice and it costs me RM 0.80
mudz
post Jun 4 2007, 06:10 PM

253 posts

babymiki
post Jun 4 2007, 07:24 PM

❤ ZR