Previously I'm using Android, Mi Note.
So before i switch, any suggestions or things i can expect?
Someone said it's troublesome in Apple where you can't do this do that.
Share your opinions
Switching to IOS from Android, What to expect?
Apr 7 2017, 09:52 AM, updated 9y ago
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
153 posts Joined: Sep 2012 |
So, recently i just ordered myself a iPhone 7 Plus Matte Black 128GB. Waiting it to arrive tho.
Previously I'm using Android, Mi Note. So before i switch, any suggestions or things i can expect? Someone said it's troublesome in Apple where you can't do this do that. Share your opinions |
Apr 7 2017, 09:57 AM
Show posts by this member only | Post
395 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Expect lagging from Android.
Apr 7 2017, 09:57 AM
976 posts Joined: Nov 2014 From: Sandakan, Sabah |
apple only use apple products plus prepare for some money to buy things in apple store. Btw apple only can use itunes to transfer things.
Apr 7 2017, 09:59 AM
9,050 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
No issues.
Just use back your Google login details on iOS. All contacts and calendar will sync back. Keep using Google services so later u can migrate back easily. |
Apr 7 2017, 09:59 AM
9,804 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: Rubber Duck Pond |
Can't use pirated apps unless you jailbreaks it.
Apr 7 2017, 10:02 AM
1,123 posts Joined: Sep 2013 |
Apr 7 2017, 10:03 AM
39 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
QUOTE(jjgoh @ Apr 7 2017, 09:52 AM) So, recently i just ordered myself a iPhone 7 Plus Matte Black 128GB. Waiting it to arrive tho. Backup whatsapp history before uninstall from Android and you need a special app to transfer the messages to IOS later.Previously I'm using Android, Mi Note. So before i switch, any suggestions or things i can expect? Someone said it's troublesome in Apple where you can't do this do that. Share your opinions |
Apr 7 2017, 10:05 AM
50 posts Joined: Aug 2010 |
u want transfer things.... install itunes 1st. very painful experiences.
Apr 7 2017, 10:15 AM
1,155 posts Joined: Apr 2016 |
QUOTE(jjgoh @ Apr 7 2017, 09:52 AM) So, recently i just ordered myself a iPhone 7 Plus Matte Black 128GB. Waiting it to arrive tho. Congrats for your new phone Previously I'm using Android, Mi Note. So before i switch, any suggestions or things i can expect? Someone said it's troublesome in Apple where you can't do this do that. Share your opinions https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...movetoios&hl=en QUOTE(Duckies @ Apr 7 2017, 09:59 AM) Wow man that make not sense you could buy 3k++ RM phone but you dont want to buy a app that cost about 1-20RM |
Apr 7 2017, 10:19 AM
9,804 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: Rubber Duck Pond |
QUOTE(Doraku @ Apr 7 2017, 10:15 AM) Congrats for your new phone It's the same as people forking out 6k rig but still playing pirated games.https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...movetoios&hl=en Wow man that make not sense you could buy 3k++ RM phone but you dont want to buy a app that cost about 1-20RM Same to people forking out 120k cars but unwilling to pay for 1k car service. This post has been edited by Duckies: Apr 7 2017, 10:20 AM |
Apr 7 2017, 10:24 AM
265 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
QUOTE(davison @ Apr 7 2017, 10:05 AM) My bad experienced, no more iphone only use Ipad Mini in case want to use apple aps, If no problem with extra budget, coz apple extra item little bit expensive compare with android. Most ori apple gadjet good in quality but don't compare the price. Most android apps free but not in ois.The most painfull experienced for me in ios is to transfer song, movie & etc, unless you buy ori sofware in PC/Mac(prefer). No simple/easy method like android, even my android phone become my extra backup/portable drive with wireless/bluetooth transfer. |
Apr 7 2017, 10:28 AM
592 posts Joined: Dec 2016 From: johor |
expect to switch back to android anytime soon. that's it.
Apr 7 2017, 01:43 PM
2,281 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
u can sync your contacts through Google Drive vice versa.
maybe u should use it for few days or weeks and let us know the experience. Different people got different opinion. there are no right or wrong. iPhone never failed me. thats all i can say lol |
Apr 7 2017, 03:17 PM
7,916 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(vergepuppeter @ Apr 7 2017, 10:03 AM) Backup whatsapp history before uninstall from Android and you need a special app to transfer the messages to IOS later. THIS. everything else can be transferred very easily (especially if you use google contacts, gmail, photos, keep etc). but while you can still use the same whatsapp account, transferring the chat history requires a paid app. im wondering if anyone here can share a free way to do it? iPhone to android can be done for free |
Apr 7 2017, 03:21 PM
3,740 posts Joined: Mar 2009 |
welcome to 100 mb limit download apps
Apr 7 2017, 04:02 PM
Apr 7 2017, 04:03 PM
Apr 7 2017, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(wailam @ Apr 7 2017, 09:57 AM) apple only use apple products plus prepare for some money to buy things in apple store. Btw apple only can use itunes to transfer things. Really man?Holy. What kind of things we need to buy? Usually? Ain't FB those social media apps are free to use, well i'm currently using Spotify, not sure will that affect my premium membership anot. |
Apr 7 2017, 04:06 PM
3,158 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: -Butterworth, Penang- |
the trouble on switching is moving picture, song and chat history between 2 OS.
that why i only using IOS This post has been edited by stevenlee: Apr 7 2017, 04:06 PM |
Apr 7 2017, 04:06 PM
QUOTE(vergepuppeter @ Apr 7 2017, 10:03 AM) Backup whatsapp history before uninstall from Android and you need a special app to transfer the messages to IOS later. Can i actually manual backup using Whatapps itself?Then i just install my new whatapps to my new iPhone then it should be able to detect previous backup, isn't it? I cannot afford to lose my whatapps contacts, message tho. Picture is fine. |
Apr 7 2017, 04:07 PM
Apr 7 2017, 04:08 PM
QUOTE(Doraku @ Apr 7 2017, 10:15 AM) Congrats for your new phone Heard about the apps before, but, it has a terrible rating on it https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...movetoios&hl=en Wow man that make not sense you could buy 3k++ RM phone but you dont want to buy a app that cost about 1-20RM |
Apr 7 2017, 04:09 PM
QUOTE(azuradaniel @ Apr 7 2017, 10:24 AM) My bad experienced, no more iphone only use Ipad Mini in case want to use apple aps, If no problem with extra budget, coz apple extra item little bit expensive compare with android. Most ori apple gadjet good in quality but don't compare the price. Most android apps free but not in ois. I Love my Xiao Mi Note so much, it has a FTP on it. The most painfull experienced for me in ios is to transfer song, movie & etc, unless you buy ori sofware in PC/Mac(prefer). No simple/easy method like android, even my android phone become my extra backup/portable drive with wireless/bluetooth transfer. Just locate the address and you can transfer file anywhere. |
Apr 7 2017, 04:10 PM
Apr 7 2017, 04:12 PM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Apr 7 2017, 03:17 PM) THIS. everything else can be transferred very easily (especially if you use google contacts, gmail, photos, keep etc). but while you can still use the same whatsapp account, transferring the chat history requires a paid app. im wondering if anyone here can share a free way to do it? iPhone to android can be done for free Are you seriously? Transferring the chat history requires a paid apps? Seriously? Holy Moly. For Android Version of Whatapps, i can manually backup and then uninstall the apps after that. Upon reinstalling, i will get a prompt on it said backup detected. So you just click Yes to proceed download the backup content. That easy. But if IOS rly like that.. well kind of disappoint me |
Apr 7 2017, 04:17 PM
36 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Apr 7 2017, 03:17 PM) THIS. everything else can be transferred very easily (especially if you use google contacts, gmail, photos, keep etc). but while you can still use the same whatsapp account, transferring the chat history requires a paid app. im wondering if anyone here can share a free way to do it? iPhone to android can be done for free isnt whatsapp can backup history into gdrive? cannot restore backup from gdrive into ios? |
Apr 7 2017, 04:21 PM
Apr 7 2017, 04:47 PM
Apr 7 2017, 05:02 PM
Apr 7 2017, 05:03 PM
2,763 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
expect to remember ur login id and password forever.
Apr 7 2017, 05:42 PM
7 posts Joined: Apr 2017 |
Biggest difference of all is the absence of the headphone jack on Iphone 7Plus.
it wont cause much pain until when you need to use your headphone for FT or video call in public then you realize that you have your headphone/handsfree with you but not that lightning adapter/connector with you You can of course get an adapter/connector which allows you to connect both. I can live with this new design, dont know bout everyone else I have been using apple for many years. Not gonna switch back to android, not now or near future - dont see reasons to it. Having experienced apps being installed in phone without my knowledge for the past 2 androids phone that i have used, and having to constantly reformat my phone after memory running low which causes the phone to lags - tired of having to keep trying to move apps from phone to memory card and end up not making any difference to the phone performance; i give up using android phone. No such problem with Apple phones for the past 4 years plus. it's easy to use IOS, you will struggle a lil in the beginning but worry not, can always "google search" if you encounter anything you couldnt settle with your phone hope you enjoy using your new phone Attached thumbnail(s) |
Apr 7 2017, 05:44 PM
Apr 7 2017, 05:48 PM
QUOTE(jjgoh @ Apr 7 2017, 04:47 PM) no need bayar again so long you remember your itunes account username and passwordfor large apps file you cant download with mobile data, must use wifi to download - you either run home to your wifi or somewhere with wifi then get connected to download. you can also tell whoever who is next to you to share their data to you via hotspot then can download. not mission impossible but something sibeh mafan |
Apr 7 2017, 06:16 PM
39 posts Joined: Nov 2011 |
QUOTE(jjgoh @ Apr 7 2017, 04:06 PM) Can i actually manual backup using Whatapps itself? Sadly no. You can transfer freely (from android to another android) because Android has several options how you want to backup your whatsapp messages. But for IOS, the only available backup option is to use ICloud (I am not sure about Google drive etc), which is not available for Android. There a few options actually, but you need to use PC/Mac to do this. I forgot what app/software I used last time. Maybe you can check on this tutorial. Then i just install my new whatapps to my new iPhone then it should be able to detect previous backup, isn't it? I cannot afford to lose my whatapps contacts, message tho. Picture is fine. Link: How to transfer WhatsApp messages from Android to iPhone This post has been edited by vergepuppeter: Apr 7 2017, 06:17 PM |
Apr 7 2017, 07:10 PM
4,454 posts Joined: Apr 2006 |
QUOTE(jjgoh @ Apr 7 2017, 04:12 PM) Are you seriously? Transferring the chat history requires a paid apps? Seriously? Holy Moly. Ios got backup whatsapp chat to google right?For Android Version of Whatapps, i can manually backup and then uninstall the apps after that. Upon reinstalling, i will get a prompt on it said backup detected. So you just click Yes to proceed download the backup content. That easy. But if IOS rly like that.. well kind of disappoint me So backup your chat then restore it back to your whatsapp on your android using that google account Also, backing up is gonna be hassle for android since there's not really a tool that backup everything like with itunes |
Apr 8 2017, 10:35 AM
10,479 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Sarawak |
make sure you have Apple Mobile Device USB Driver ready in your USB thumbdrive that you need to bring along with you all the time (in case you suddenly you need to transfer file to your pc)
Apr 8 2017, 12:01 PM
7,916 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(jjgoh @ Apr 7 2017, 04:12 PM) Are you seriously? Transferring the chat history requires a paid apps? Seriously? Holy Moly. For Android Version of Whatapps, i can manually backup and then uninstall the apps after that. Upon reinstalling, i will get a prompt on it said backup detected. So you just click Yes to proceed download the backup content. That easy. But if IOS rly like that.. well kind of disappoint me QUOTE(13etrayer @ Apr 7 2017, 04:17 PM) QUOTE(alucard89 @ Apr 7 2017, 07:10 PM) Ios got backup whatsapp chat to google right? iOS can only backup and restore WhatsApp from iCloud.So backup your chat then restore it back to your whatsapp on your android using that google account Also, backing up is gonna be hassle for android since there's not really a tool that backup everything like with itunes Android can only backup and restore WhatsApp from Google Drive and Local. so transferring iOS > iOS or Android > Android is very simple. iOS > Android is possible for free, but quite complicated. Need to extract the backup file from the iPhone, download an app on the Android phone, transfer, restore, yadda yadda. But works great. Android > iOS i have no fkn clue how to do it without paying for an app. Experimented with the trial version and it seems to work well, but only limited to 20 messenges IINM. cant justify the app's price considering most likely it's a one time use thing. |
Apr 10 2017, 08:51 AM
265 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
Anyway, price for used iphone now reduce u can try get it like Iphone6s+ & try yourself but still keep your android phone. In case you struggle for the few months you could switch back to android anytime. It already happened to me coz I like to try /changing phone every 3-6 months.
Apr 10 2017, 09:28 AM
QUOTE(azuradaniel @ Apr 10 2017, 08:51 AM) Anyway, price for used iphone now reduce u can try get it like Iphone6s+ & try yourself but still keep your android phone. In case you struggle for the few months you could switch back to android anytime. It already happened to me coz I like to try /changing phone every 3-6 months. already placed order since i start this thread. well i hope i can get used to it. Still figuring out how to transfer all my whatapps chat history back to iPhone. That's my most precious thing. |
Apr 10 2017, 09:41 AM
320 posts Joined: Apr 2013 |
Apr 10 2017, 09:42 AM
unjailbroken iphone is boring, better use unrooted android.
sincerely, Apple fag |
Apr 10 2017, 10:01 AM
Apr 10 2017, 03:15 PM
78 posts Joined: Feb 2012 |
u have no idea how easy it is to switch from iphone to iphone, all data intact and smooth like ass..
Apr 10 2017, 05:16 PM
QUOTE(jjgoh @ Apr 10 2017, 10:01 AM) yes, it will void the warranty but that's not the end of the world because if you want to claim warranty at apple authorized retailer simply restore the phone using iTunes.. voila warranty restored. |
Apr 10 2017, 05:53 PM
QUOTE(jjgoh @ Apr 10 2017, 10:01 AM) QUOTE(fivesouls @ Apr 10 2017, 05:16 PM) yes, it will void the warranty but that's not the end of the world because if you want to claim warranty at apple authorized retailer simply restore the phone using iTunes.. voila warranty restored. [JAILBREAK]pro: - infinite modification to stock app not 3rd party app via cydia ( rooted android have similar platform called xposed but the amount of tweak doesnt compare to cydia due to jailbreaker community is bigger eventhough android user is much much more that ios the thing that holding them back is too many android phone model.) - pirate app made easy to download via appcake which is and jailbrak app ( unjailbroken iphone can enjoy this pirated app too but via different platform called vshare and other PP china but why jailbroken is better, this is due to jailbreak phone doesnt require sign in to validate the app license) - tweak like LocaLLiappstore even bypass in app purchase for non-online purchase but sometimes work in online purchase too such as VSCO. Cons: - jailbreak doesnt offer to all ios version, this is due the idea of jailbreak to manipulate vulnerabilities that apple accidentally done. to jailbreak you need to be updated person, and hacker like luca tadesco will advise you which ios version to stay on. as a jailbreak user having latest OS version is not a good thing. - jailbreak method is east but for some non IT person it could be hard to understand, but hey no worries there will be a lot of tutorial in youtube few hours after jailbreak release. look for channel like EverythingApplePro. other forumer may add to my point, this is all i can think of right now. sincerely, apple fag |
Apr 10 2017, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(fivesouls @ Apr 10 2017, 05:53 PM) [JAILBREAK] Thanks Mate! Glad maybe i would give it a try.pro: - infinite modification to stock app not 3rd party app via cydia ( rooted android have similar platform called xposed but the amount of tweak doesnt compare to cydia due to jailbreaker community is bigger eventhough android user is much much more that ios the thing that holding them back is too many android phone model.) - pirate app made easy to download via appcake which is and jailbrak app ( unjailbroken iphone can enjoy this pirated app too but via different platform called vshare and other PP china but why jailbroken is better, this is due to jailbreak phone doesnt require sign in to validate the app license) - tweak like LocaLLiappstore even bypass in app purchase for non-online purchase but sometimes work in online purchase too such as VSCO. Cons: - jailbreak doesnt offer to all ios version, this is due the idea of jailbreak to manipulate vulnerabilities that apple accidentally done. to jailbreak you need to be updated person, and hacker like luca tadesco will advise you which ios version to stay on. as a jailbreak user having latest OS version is not a good thing. - jailbreak method is east but for some non IT person it could be hard to understand, but hey no worries there will be a lot of tutorial in youtube few hours after jailbreak release. look for channel like EverythingApplePro. other forumer may add to my point, this is all i can think of right now. sincerely, apple fag |
Apr 12 2017, 04:41 PM
Hi guys, any idea on how to transfer my whatapps chat from Android to iPhone?
Apr 21 2017, 12:20 AM
591 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(jjgoh @ Apr 7 2017, 09:52 AM) So, recently i just ordered myself a iPhone 7 Plus Matte Black 128GB. Waiting it to arrive tho. I hold two phone, Iphone and Andriod, both are working perfectly good without any issue, no lag, i know what to use and how to use and how to manage the phone OSPreviously I'm using Android, Mi Note. So before i switch, any suggestions or things i can expect? Someone said it's troublesome in Apple where you can't do this do that. Share your opinions I have managed to switch all Whatsapp, wechat from Iphone to Andriod, esp Whatsapp, you need 3rd tool for data migration, Andriod has alot of cool feature, you can have dual APP running on one phone, example WhatsApp etc You can also separate office works in the same phone, Moving name/contact is easy from Iphone to Google, The one challenge of WhatsApp migration from Andriod to Iphone or Iphone to Andriod is always painful experience, Unless you are willing to let go the old data, start new from beginning, Moving name/contact is easy from between Google to/from Iphone |
Apr 21 2017, 10:11 AM
QUOTE(waisang @ Apr 21 2017, 12:20 AM) I hold two phone, Iphone and Andriod, both are working perfectly good without any issue, no lag, i know what to use and how to use and how to manage the phone OS Been using my iPhone for week now, very satisfying result. Simplicity, even the Apple watch quite make me surprise with their unique function compare to Moto 360 2nd gen.I have managed to switch all Whatsapp, wechat from Iphone to Andriod, esp Whatsapp, you need 3rd tool for data migration, Andriod has alot of cool feature, you can have dual APP running on one phone, example WhatsApp etc You can also separate office works in the same phone, Moving name/contact is easy from Iphone to Google, The one challenge of WhatsApp migration from Andriod to Iphone or Iphone to Andriod is always painful experience, Unless you are willing to let go the old data, start new from beginning, Moving name/contact is easy from between Google to/from Iphone and yes i did let go my data ( no choice ), sometimes we shall let it go and start over again |
Apr 21 2017, 12:06 PM
591 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
QUOTE(jjgoh @ Apr 21 2017, 10:11 AM) Been using my iPhone for week now, very satisfying result. Simplicity, even the Apple watch quite make me surprise with their unique function compare to Moto 360 2nd gen. Xiaomi phone software is quick comprehensive, it is quick complete features that you hardly from other phoneand yes i did let go my data ( no choice ), sometimes we shall let it go and start over again Yes you will truly enjoy Iphone with Apple watch, there isn't a mix and match for Apple family haha |
Apr 30 2017, 08:34 AM
1,559 posts Joined: Jul 2015 |
QUOTE(jjgoh @ Apr 21 2017, 10:11 AM) Been using my iPhone for week now, very satisfying result. Simplicity, even the Apple watch quite make me surprise with their unique function compare to Moto 360 2nd gen. Dual-OS (iOS and Android) user here too. and yes i did let go my data ( no choice ), sometimes we shall let it go and start over again What to expect from the switch really depends on individuals, what they normally do or want from the phone. Slowly figure things out when you want to do something and thinking about the OS switch. Am sure there will be someone here to help if you've questions. The Cloud is there to store your important stuff, whether you can transfer is secondary - backup first then work it out. For old Whatsapp messages, you can always email the really important ones to yourself as a backup in case you need to refer back to something. This is my worst-case scenerio method. Don't be too bothered about people telling you stuff like "Android always lag, iPhone won't". I've personally come across such people in my clique and main reason is because they expect a mid/low-tier Android phone to work like an iPhone - trying to save too much money. One actually started understanding what I've been trying to tell him, after getting his second Android phone (higher specs than his first) and using both. Both OS work in their own good/bad ways, just depends on individual users. |
| Change to: | 0.0281sec
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 06:23 PM |