Digi Fans Club & Enquiries V13, Let's Inspire

tympg
post Apr 17 2017, 08:36 PM

3,104 posts

QUOTE(ryukick @ Apr 17 2017, 07:48 PM)
Anyone use Roam like home? If I subscribe to Digi 80 and activate it for RM10 can cancel anytime and reactivate when I go overseas and get discount again?
So far yes, but Digi may stop the discount in 2018, or they may extend it depending on their mood at the end of 2017.
PenangBuyer
post Apr 17 2017, 08:55 PM

106 posts

Anyone have any experience using a router like TP-LINK MR3420 combo with a USB modem ?

Any good suggestion for a good combo in terms of best price/performance standpoint ?
fruitie
post Apr 17 2017, 09:06 PM

Rise and Shine
72,846 posts

QUOTE(PenangBuyer @ Apr 17 2017, 08:55 PM)
Anyone have any experience using a router like TP-LINK MR3420 combo with a USB modem ?

Any good suggestion for a good combo in terms of best price/performance standpoint ?
Used this combo for years until April 2014 when I switched to UniFi.
During that time, it was stable and one of the best investments I made, cheap and reliable.

These days you can easily get a 4G router, it saves your trouble of getting another USB modem. I'm also not sure if the router still receives updates for newer USB modems' compatibility.
ryukick
post Apr 17 2017, 09:24 PM

746 posts

QUOTE(tympg @ Apr 17 2017, 08:36 PM)
So far yes, but Digi may stop the discount in 2018, or they may extend it depending on their mood at the end of 2017.
You can activate and deactivate anytime? Discount affected?
alien3d
post Apr 17 2017, 09:34 PM

3,740 posts

line slow digi/celcom
PenangBuyer
post Apr 17 2017, 09:35 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Apr 17 2017, 09:06 PM)
Used this combo for years until April 2014 when I switched to UniFi.
During that time, it was stable and one of the best investments I made, cheap and reliable.

These days you can easily get a 4G router, it saves your trouble of getting another USB modem. I'm also not sure if the router still receives updates for newer USB modems' compatibility.
I'm looking for the best bang for my buck as I won't be using them for long,
By getting a 4G router, you mean like a Huawei E5186? Does it work by directly inserting the Simcard?
Is there a cheaper alternative to it? Any cheap 4G compatible 4G router because at most I'll be using it for 2 months.

Also, assuming i were to get a router+usb modem combo, whats a good usb modem that is compatible with the MR3420, What price am I looking at ?

Any help from anyone is appreciated notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
tympg
post Apr 17 2017, 09:41 PM

3,104 posts

QUOTE(ryukick @ Apr 17 2017, 09:24 PM)
Well, yes, that's what the CS person told me, although I haven't actually tried it, since I'm paying zero for this on my Postpaid 110.
bryon
post Apr 17 2017, 09:54 PM

404 posts

digi broadband 30

23gb for RM30 (online only)

https://new.digi.com.my/broadband

free burger (with any purchase) for switch to digi

https://new.digi.com.my/switch-to-digi
fruitie
post Apr 17 2017, 09:56 PM

Rise and Shine
72,846 posts

QUOTE(PenangBuyer @ Apr 17 2017, 09:35 PM)
I'm looking for the best bang for my buck as I won't be using them for long,
By getting a 4G router, you mean like a Huawei E5186? Does it work by directly inserting the Simcard?
Is there a cheaper alternative to it? Any cheap 4G compatible 4G router because at most I'll be using it for 2 months.

Also, assuming i were to get a router+usb modem combo, whats a good usb modem that is compatible with the MR3420, What price am I looking at ?
Any help from anyone is appreciated  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
Yes, E5186 is direct plugged in for SIM card.

Actually if so short time, just hotspot from your smartphone... Not worth to spend so much on it. I used to use Huawei E398 with my MR3420.
tympg
post Apr 17 2017, 10:01 PM

3,104 posts

QUOTE(bryon @ Apr 17 2017, 09:54 PM)
free burger (with any purchase) for switch to digi

https://new.digi.com.my/switch-to-digi
Unfair to vegetarians! biggrin.gif
amirarsyad97
post Apr 17 2017, 10:04 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(bryon @ Apr 17 2017, 09:54 PM)
digi broadband 30

23gb for RM30 (online only)

https://new.digi.com.my/broadband
Looks like digi started to display stream free quotas. Maybe they receive a lot of complains from customers. Well, at least they become more transparent about the quota. thumbup.gif
Hitman190
post Apr 17 2017, 10:27 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(amirarsyad97 @ Apr 17 2017, 10:04 PM)
Looks like digi started to display stream free quotas. Maybe they receive a lot of complains from customers. Well, at least they become more transparent about the quota.  thumbup.gif
So if im understanding this right, for the RM100 plan it's 100GB for general internet use plus 50GB for Stream Free channels? hmm.gif
Chriss
post Apr 17 2017, 10:31 PM

*** Lai liao ***
634 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Apr 17 2017, 06:45 PM)
Just get E5186. biggrin.gif Or like me, I bought both models. tongue.gif

OK, today received my SIM from GDex fellow. laugh.gif
Too busy to try, will pop into my temporary MiFi - 4G only.. sad.gif E5776 until next month...
My e5776s can hit above 70mbps rclxms.gif
Not bad for 3yrs old e5776 nod.gif
Do share screenshot of ur infinite150 speedtest later

This post has been edited by Chriss: Apr 17 2017, 10:32 PM
amirarsyad97
post Apr 17 2017, 10:32 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(Hitman190 @ Apr 17 2017, 10:27 PM)
So if im understanding this right, for the RM100 plan it's 100GB for general internet use plus 50GB for Stream Free channels?  hmm.gif
No its actually 40+10+50=100. 40gb general, 10gb stream on demand, 50gb stream free
Hitman190
post Apr 17 2017, 10:36 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(amirarsyad97 @ Apr 17 2017, 10:32 PM)
No its actually 40+10+50=100. 40gb general, 10gb stream on demand, 50gb stream free
ah right, thanks.
ryukick
post Apr 17 2017, 10:36 PM

746 posts

QUOTE(tympg @ Apr 17 2017, 09:41 PM)
Well, yes, that's what the CS person told me, although I haven't actually tried it, since I'm paying zero for this on my Postpaid 110.
I see. Thanks bro

Get 4g coverage as well overseas? I noticed when I was with Umobile using their free backpack data I'm only able to connect to 3G overseas

fruitie
post Apr 17 2017, 10:56 PM

Rise and Shine
72,846 posts

QUOTE(Chriss @ Apr 17 2017, 10:31 PM)
My e5776s can hit above 70mbps  rclxms.gif
Not bad for 3yrs old e5776  nod.gif
Do share screenshot of ur infinite150 speedtest later
My area only around 50Mbps using this old MiFi. laugh.gif
My area is stronger for 4G+. Can't wait for my devices. biggrin.gif
wanttobuylaptop
post Apr 17 2017, 11:51 PM

1,693 posts

QUOTE(ryukick @ Apr 17 2017, 09:24 PM)
Read the tnc. U will enjoy discount first time you sub and stay sub, then every month 10 bucks. If u unsub and resub, will become 30 per month.
tympg
post Apr 18 2017, 12:06 AM

3,104 posts

QUOTE(ryukick @ Apr 17 2017, 10:36 PM)
I see. Thanks bro

Get 4g coverage as well overseas? I noticed when I was with Umobile using their free backpack data I'm only able to connect to 3G overseas
So far I've only used it on Starhub; mostly 4G with the odd dip into H+. Can't say for the other roaming partners.
Chriss
post Apr 18 2017, 01:05 AM

*** Lai liao ***
634 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Apr 17 2017, 10:56 PM)
My area only around 50Mbps using this old MiFi. laugh.gif
My area is stronger for 4G+. Can't wait for my devices. biggrin.gif
Mind to share which model u getting & how much?
My mind hoovering around for huawei lte-a mifi because digi lte-a covers my housing area

124 Pages « < 66 67 68 69 70 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:34 AM