How to use Smart Tag accurately ?
TSRiki1
Mar 26 2017, 04:40 PM, updated 9y ago

Just bought a new SmartTag, most of the time when entering the StmartTag lane, the smart tag cant be detected.
I never use any mounting tool, if i use hand to carry the smart tag, should i extend my hand until the car front windscreen and point smart tag slightly to the right side ?
laksamana
Mar 26 2017, 04:43 PM
The main problem is usually 1) the signal of the new square device is not as good as the older model and 2) very dark tinted windows, coz the device uses infrared to send a signal to the overhead reader
ryansxs
Mar 26 2017, 04:44 PM
QUOTE(Riki1 @ Mar 26 2017, 04:40 PM) Just bought a new SmartTag, most of the time when entering the StmartTag lane, the smart tag cant be detected. I never use any mounting tool, if i use hand to carry the smart tag, should i extend my hand until the car front windscreen and point smart tag slightly to the right side ? as far as i know, the smart tag has only one side as transmitter. perhaps you are holding the transmitter side facing you. just my guessing.
CyrusWong
Mar 26 2017, 04:48 PM
1 is face 1 is back.
the back should facing windscreen. coz it designed to double taped on the windscreen.
so you facing it correctly bor?
TSRiki1
Mar 26 2017, 04:50 PM

QUOTE(laksamana @ Mar 26 2017, 04:43 PM) The main problem is usually 1) the signal of the new square device is not as good as the older model and 2) very dark tinted windows, coz the device uses infrared to send a signal to the overhead reader my windscreen doesn't has dark tinted, sometimes im able to pass it through, while sometimes will show Tiada SmartTag on the board. eventhough im facing it correctly but still the same, wondering is there any picture guide to show me how do i hold and face it correctly.
TSRiki1
Mar 26 2017, 04:51 PM

QUOTE(CyrusWong @ Mar 26 2017, 04:48 PM) 1 is face 1 is back. the back should facing windscreen. coz it designed to double taped on the windscreen. so you facing it correctly bor? yape i did, just sometimes ok, sometimes not ok, is it have to point the smart tag until very front of the windscreen ?
SonnyCooL
Mar 26 2017, 07:54 PM
QUOTE(Riki1 @ Mar 26 2017, 04:50 PM) my windscreen doesn't has dark tinted, sometimes im able to pass it through, while sometimes will show Tiada SmartTag on the board. eventhough im facing it correctly but still the same, wondering is there any picture guide to show me how do i hold and face it correctly.  Sell ur new smart tag off ...... N get old version. I did that and nvr have issue till now
shoduken
Mar 26 2017, 09:31 PM
I HV the new version. The back should be pointing upwards because the scanner at each tol is at the top like a camera. Just face the back smartag pointing to those tol camera on smartag lane.
ahchun
Mar 26 2017, 09:34 PM
Stick the holder to your windscreen. And place ur smart tag there. Do not use hand to hold it. When you stuck there, you cause other user to slow down too.
cucubud
Mar 26 2017, 09:47 PM
QUOTE(Riki1 @ Mar 26 2017, 04:50 PM) my windscreen doesn't has dark tinted, sometimes im able to pass it through, while sometimes will show Tiada SmartTag on the board. eventhough im facing it correctly but still the same, wondering is there any picture guide to show me how do i hold and face it correctly.  It is the windscreen combine with the tinting film. My Toyota with tinting, no problem with old and new smartags. My Honda with same tinting film, encountered problem with the same old and new smartags. On the Honda, I have to slow down almost to a stop, then only the reader can read the smartag.
goohtj
Mar 26 2017, 11:37 PM

QUOTE(Riki1 @ Mar 26 2017, 04:50 PM) my windscreen doesn't has dark tinted, sometimes im able to pass it through, while sometimes will show Tiada SmartTag on the board. eventhough im facing it correctly but still the same, wondering is there any picture guide to show me how do i hold and face it correctly.  the transmitter is at top end of battery . hold on the battery side facing up / tag side facing down.
jasontantenghuat
Mar 27 2017, 10:31 AM
the touch and go card should be facing you. best is stick the unit to your windscreen. i stick it to the top right. my car has the black tinting at the top but no problem so far.
adamhzm90
Mar 27 2017, 10:56 AM
i hold mine directly under my windshield when passing through toll.
then simpan balik at compartment
lonely143
Mar 27 2017, 12:42 PM

QUOTE(Riki1 @ Mar 26 2017, 05:40 PM) Just bought a new SmartTag, most of the time when entering the StmartTag lane, the smart tag cant be detected. I never use any mounting tool, if i use hand to carry the smart tag, should i extend my hand until the car front windscreen and point smart tag slightly to the right side ? Sometimes metalized film will have interference with Smart Tag. Beside that you can, 1. The Smart Tag put middle upper part (behind the rear mirror) instead of right side. 2. Do not enter Bus Express Transit (BET) as it will weaken the transmission. 3. Make sure the battery side is facing you
popopi
Mar 27 2017, 12:45 PM
change energizer battery... hold sideways where u can read the LCD... black back will need to point slightly upwards or parallel with your windscreen.. sensor at the top...
Hammox
Mar 27 2017, 07:48 PM
i got a free smart tag when purchased smth, will act up for no reason once awhile as well, find it ma fan to take in and out bcos some people told me should keep away from heat when not in used, car dont have compartment to keep away nicely also so in the end...
just use good old touch n go.
UserU
Mar 28 2017, 10:17 AM
CSONLINE2.NET - FREE COUNTER-STRIKE
The new device memang sohai one. Even if you're holding it correctly, there's a chance of being greeted with a, "No Smarttag".
Now it's difficult to search for the older model.
Blofeld
Mar 28 2017, 01:44 PM
QUOTE(Riki1 @ Mar 26 2017, 04:50 PM) my windscreen doesn't has dark tinted, sometimes im able to pass it through, while sometimes will show Tiada SmartTag on the board. eventhough im facing it correctly but still the same, wondering is there any picture guide to show me how do i hold and face it correctly.  Hold your smart tag in a 45 degree angle similar to the angle of your windscreen. That's it, simple as that. Never fails.
conxtion
Mar 30 2017, 02:19 PM

If all else fails, stick it out of the window when passing toll booth.
gogocan
Mar 30 2017, 05:51 PM
Lucky i use older version no problem.