My Car PC, You can post your's here too

TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 03:43 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(deric88 @ Mar 8 2007, 03:42 PM)
yea, i bought the visor type, but china brand ler, no brothers one.....

you reply to your topics fast, you stare at IE and just keep refreshing the pages lol?
No larrr.... have nothign else to do in the office...browsing lorr..eheheheh
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 03:48 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(Kelv @ Mar 8 2007, 03:46 PM)
Respect! What a good inspiration!
Thanks man...built one for your self and post it here...would like to see others oso..
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 04:24 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(SoLiD @ Mar 8 2007, 04:21 PM)
have u try booting ur pc after parking in the sun in the afternoon?...can overheat a?
yess... no problem...the highest temp i got when i park under intense sunlight was up to 47 degress only...no problem didn't even hang...
TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 06:05 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Mar 8 2007, 06:01 PM)
I've been measuring power consumption of a number of PCs lately, I'll share it in another thread soon about how much power does a PC need. Learnt a lot from my experiences with PSUs blowing out.
You guys are right about that, but actually I mean use the PSU to regulate the car's suppy. It DOES fluctuate like crazy-not that I've measred, but with all the stuff that draws from it I'm sure its not pretty. PSUs actually produce all the seperate voltages/rails from a single rectified (but poorly regulated) DC source, so I was hoping can adapt the circuit to accept the car ~12v as the DC source. To compensate for severe voltage drops I could even include a sealed lead-acid as a form of UPS (the grey ones you can find in electrical hardware shops). The problem is adapting the circuit in a PSU. I've been working on it for a while now but its giving me a headache. Should be able to get it eventually. Planning on a fully portable desktop with battery(meaning not too heavy to carry).

Btw allngap, if I use the method I think you're suggesting I doubt it can supply anywhere near the required current for a PC. Easy to find electronics that can handle <1.5A (enough for any fan available) but with PCs we're talking 10A++ even on a ultra low power consuming PC; parts that can handle that much are ridiculously hard to get and expensive.

unrelated: Btw, did you know ppl used to 'overclock' hard drives by increasing the motor voltage to make it spin and hence read faster?  shocking.gif
if you over spin you hdd by adding extra voltage to it might reduce the motor life span and will make it heat more?

TSZyntherius
post Mar 8 2007, 06:36 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(taxidoor @ Mar 8 2007, 06:22 PM)
walao geng, u pro la... super wiring there. ya install GPS system then more geng tongue.gif
Thanks dude... but i have no use for GPS....
TSZyntherius
post Mar 9 2007, 10:03 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(c0t_c0t_c0t @ Mar 9 2007, 12:42 AM)
Guys really salute with ur work. Can give a guide how to make it. rolleyes.gif
Thanks dude...

Added on March 9, 2007, 10:04 am
QUOTE(c0t_c0t_c0t @ Mar 9 2007, 12:42 AM)
Guys really salute with ur work. Can give a guide how to make it. rolleyes.gif
Planning to make the case slimmer...i'll post the guide later on

Added on March 9, 2007, 10:06 am
QUOTE(iPlay @ Mar 9 2007, 03:41 AM)
How bout wireless? also can detect rite?
btw, great work there bro zyntherius...!!! rclxms.gif
Thanks dude... dun think they can detect wireless....like uncle Ianho said... they only detect batteries..unless if they can detect the cmos battery then it's gonna be a different story then

This post has been edited by Zyntherius: Mar 9 2007, 10:06 AM
TSZyntherius
post Mar 9 2007, 11:52 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(ryudox @ Mar 9 2007, 11:48 AM)
did u experience any problems when u drive the car on a rough road such as the rural road or bump onto a hole on the road?huhu...coz PC parts is damn sensitive...
Nope.. nothing at all..... especially on those yellow lines at Sunway Pyramid area there...dam those lines are tick....
TSZyntherius
post Mar 9 2007, 11:54 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(eddychstu @ Mar 9 2007, 11:43 AM)
pc in a car? is it practical as there are too many sensitive hardware that will spoil anytime due to road friction? i cant imagine hdd working under a driving condition or hot weather.

have ts encounter any problem with the setup so far?
Like i told ryudox... one year already..no problem at all.... but dun go high speed on a hump larr.... that's why i use notebook hdd... more durable
TSZyntherius
post Mar 9 2007, 12:06 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(arjuna_mfna @ Mar 9 2007, 12:02 PM)
nice mood..... so creative
Thanks... dude.. it is quite easy to build oso..... anyone can build one.... it's just whteher you want to or not...anything can do one..
TSZyntherius
post Mar 9 2007, 06:27 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(b@i @ Mar 9 2007, 05:31 PM)
hi bro zyntherius.. nice n thumb up what u mod ur pc in ur car.. rite now i hv i pc i juz mod to pun into my car too..can u gv suggestion to me 4 better n nice look.. in my car.. 1st one.. i'm driving wira gsr, if i wanna put the mobo at the back like ur picture, is nicely place.. my problem is i want to use dvd rom pc to put at the dashboard combine with the motorize monitor at the passenger beside driver, u know wira model 2001 n laterst hv place there.. my dvd rom is use ide cable so ide cable not long enough to pull from the bonnet to the dashboard, 2nd is i use plug in sound card at pci slot bcoz builtin sound not function already, so from the jack port at the sound card the cable must go to power amp o where. i confiuse at that thing. can u advise and if u hv any best suggestion bro share with me. if u not mind can u gv ur hp number to me do contact u. can meet at 1 cool place o teh tarik stall to see ur pc mod... my number is 013-6665696 zaly.. tq.. b4 that my place is Shah alam area but i can go to puchong area ...
Ok firstly can i have a look at you pc that you've install in your car.. 2nd bout the ide cable not long enough...you can make your own actually..but you must get your hands on some connectors... 3rd about your sound card you can plug it to a pre amp 1st..like what i did..and pre amp to amps.... well i live in shah alam oso....i'll call you whenever i am free.. smile.gif
TSZyntherius
post Mar 9 2007, 06:44 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Mar 9 2007, 06:37 PM)
I think for audio cables if you get some good ones to connect from the sound card to the car's audio system it should be ok, Zyntherius should be quite experienced in this by now. However for IDE cables you can't use cables longer than 1m, in fact at that length you may have data transfer issues already. Check the ATA specification for details-google for it.
Can try USB ones oso..... but those things need power though
TSZyntherius
post Mar 9 2007, 07:01 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Mar 9 2007, 06:57 PM)
Ah but that is good news for b@i because power cables can be pretty long as long as the connections are sound and the cable resistance is low enough. Even cables similar to our 240V electrical wires would suffice.

Btw, USB regulation is 5m (includes length of electrical traces on circuit boards). Should not be a problem unless you own a bus and have the PC on the opposite end form the audio system  tongue.gif
good info dude... might try myself too...dude you seem to know a lot bout electronic and stuffs... you study bout them?
TSZyntherius
post Mar 9 2007, 07:12 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Mar 9 2007, 07:10 PM)
Do a lot of reading on the subject for interest; electonics & PC are kinda like hobbies for me. Currently studying applied physics in USM, so have a bit of underlying knowledge to fill in gaps (mostly in electronics-my course has heavy emphasis in the physics of semiconductors & electronics).
So that means..i can consult with you bout stuff that i won't understand?
TSZyntherius
post Mar 12 2007, 12:24 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Mar 9 2007, 07:17 PM)
Well, my course doesn't focus on actual electronic device application, but sure, I'll try my best to help you with what I know. I'll say my knowledge in electronics is around the level of a amateur electronics hobbyist. Best people to ask would be those studying computer hardware or electronics engineering.
Still your opinion can be put into a count dude....
TSZyntherius
post Mar 12 2007, 04:11 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(b@i @ Mar 12 2007, 03:58 PM)
tq all the power minded..bro... especially to zyntherius.. so when can we meet around shah alam area to see what U done it man.. n also i wanna asking to many question about da project.. tq..
Shouldn't be a problem dude..... why dun we meet at the lanparty this coming 25th march at ss15 (Autosurf) i'll give you a call
TSZyntherius
post Mar 12 2007, 04:29 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(hurricane21 @ Mar 12 2007, 04:23 PM)
nice ideas......  thumbup.gif

how u put the usb port into console box?  ohmy.gif

quite worry for yr hdd.  tongue.gif
Like i post earlier..laptop hdd are more durable to shock...and i am not worried bout it.... i cut the console to the size of the USB header... and use 5 meters usb cables
TSZyntherius
post Mar 12 2007, 06:12 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(lohwenli @ Mar 12 2007, 06:00 PM)
Besides, I bet the only things you store in there you can afford to lose/have other copies..HDD can replace but data no backup means bye bye.
true..true....
TSZyntherius
post Mar 13 2007, 10:32 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(yolk @ Mar 13 2007, 07:18 AM)
great mod have always wanted to have one in my car but too lazy to do so and mp3 players are abundance nowdays but i'm still toying with the idea so I can have video in the car. How big is the screen you are using and what is the resolution set on the pc ?

Kudos for a job well done
the screen is 6.5" and the resolution is 800 x 600...the most suitable reso for the screen... but can go higher.
TSZyntherius
post Mar 13 2007, 12:28 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(melz84 @ Mar 13 2007, 04:22 AM)
omG... everything nicely done.. superb!
if i were to DIY stuffs like what u did...
my car sure go KABOOM... lol
dun think negative dude.... if you do it properly won't go kaboom..:0

Added on March 13, 2007, 12:30 pm
QUOTE(SkyJumper @ Mar 13 2007, 04:07 AM)
cool,but how do u maintain the temp of ur com?because in malaysia the weather is damm hot,the temperature may cause damage to the motherboard.
anyway nice diy i love it.
most parts of the mainboard are made from ceramics one..they can withstand high temp... good air flow can lead to lower temps..... it's a know how thingy and off course ask around and do research.

Added on March 13, 2007, 12:31 pm
QUOTE(lohwenli @ Mar 13 2007, 12:24 PM)
PCs when off actually can survive temperatures a human can't. Most fragile also is HDD, but come on, you're not going to use some damn expensive one and/or keep important stuff on it are you?
and whatever lohwenli said is actually true....

This post has been edited by Zyntherius: Mar 13 2007, 12:31 PM
TSZyntherius
post Mar 13 2007, 04:59 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(jumanz @ Mar 13 2007, 03:01 PM)
yoo bro nice mod you got there  .. haven't reply me from the previous post ler ~ nvm hope you reply on this
been thinking of doing this quit some time ago
got some question here. How do you lock your modo power supply on ? is it on the acrylic board ? mind to show the picture or any diagram . cause you need to ground the modo right ? "acrylic is plastic. please advice

and secondly  you connect  the Power Supply to the Inverter then to car batt right ?

Power Supply > Inverter > Batt    but i can't see the normal black think wire cable that connects to normal power source .. care to explain how to convert the power supply till so need 

thanks bro
1. you have your inverter with you? take a picture and i'll will explain.. different inverters has different connector socket.

2. i mount the psu to the acrylic..using the hex screw that usually came with the casing... i will take picture of the mobo and the psu and from there you can see how i ground the mobo to the psu.

3. yess i connect the inverter direct to battery and ground the grounding cable to the car body

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0257sec    0.96    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:14 PM