LYN PROTON IRIZ OWNER THREAD V8, UPGRADE AND IMPROVE

N33d
post Dec 19 2017, 10:48 AM

896 posts

QUOTE(yadea @ Dec 19 2017, 10:37 AM)
Yeap. Upgraded 2 weeks ago. The next day went touge. The grip is superb compared to using 14" and now I have very good grip that ESC doesn't get triggered anymore. Minor understeer once thou probably due to tyres still not yet break in and there was some gravel along the side of the road.
wa.. change new tire and straight go to touge.
i not dare to do so as i always feel like I on rolling on mold release instead of the real rubber everytime i change new tire
N33d
post Dec 20 2017, 09:44 AM

896 posts

QUOTE(adamhzm90 @ Dec 19 2017, 03:42 PM)
i upgraded my 1.3 to iriz 1.6 ori rims..

difference in pick up is negligible but looks 100x better than the stock rim  tongue.gif
1.3 stock rim is really ugly.
i feel malu everytime seeing other iriz sit on that ugly rim
but 1.6 stock is one of the best that one could get from budget car
N33d
post Dec 20 2017, 01:49 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Dec 20 2017, 11:52 AM)
dont say like that la bro..i'm still stuck with it  cry.gif
sorry sorry sorry
i really did mean to offend u bro
my apology sad.gif
N33d
post Jan 18 2018, 03:51 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(wjang85 @ Jan 18 2018, 12:17 PM)

Thanks for ur input. I'm actually looking into option #1. But i can't seems to find that relay, even in the fusebox beside battery. Would be great if u can provide me a photo of it. I've been looking high & low.
look like you have no choice but to go load resistor route
N33d
post Jan 21 2018, 06:23 PM

896 posts

sent my iriz for servicing today.
currently following 36th month interval which i read from the service booklet, will include cvt oil and filter change
I have ready my budget for this but I found out that the SC did not replace my CVT oil and filter at all

I went back to ask the SA why the CVT oil is not replaced since it is written in the booklet and the guy told me the cvt oil can still be used since the odo shows 31k instead of 60k so they did not replace it!wtf!

For those who love your car, do you change ur cvt oil at which ever come first(60k or 36 months) or you wait till u hit the 60k km to do it?

From what i know, generally cvt required more attention and no joke when coming to replace the oil compared to the old 4AT if I want the cvt to last

N33d
post Jan 23 2018, 09:25 AM

896 posts

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Jan 21 2018, 09:55 PM)
You went PESC or authorised SC?

If you already have the budget, and it’s keeping you from having a good night sleep, then just go ahead and change...
went to PESC, penang island branch
i asked them to change when i sent in my car in the first place but they did not do it.
i suspect that either of the CVTF or Filter is out of stock or they just lazy cos got many cars need to service since cny is coming.

I getting tired of going at least twice to get things done in PESC..
N33d
post Jan 26 2018, 02:46 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(jVIPERs2 @ Jan 23 2018, 10:52 AM)
If you suspect this happening, I would suggest you file a complaint to Proton. This is not acceptable coming from PESC themselves.  shakehead.gif
ya
i am going to shoot an email to proton this weekend
the penang island branch is shitty. They are very incompetent, i complained petrol smell for 3 years in almost every service and never did once they able to solve this issue.
and in the lastest service, i listed down all of the thing need to be changed to them according to the 36th months interval except spark plug and air compressor oil.

After 7 hours of waiting, i finally got their call my car is ready.
I am very happy and anticipated to drive a 'fresh' car, only to be told after i reached the SC that Fuel filter is Out of stock, and CVTF is not changed as they are still 'fresh'. wtf! telling me stupid thing like interval said 60k and mine only 30k. So in the end, that 7 hours, they changed my engine oil, oil filter + air con oil.. that's it for a major service. Lazy like hell and choose easy thing to do instead of doing the real things

N33d
post Feb 7 2018, 04:23 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Feb 7 2018, 03:56 PM)
my stock battery currently almost 2 years 4 months already..should I be worried  sweat.gif
err... yes? have a jumper cable around tongue.gif
N33d
post Feb 14 2018, 11:07 AM

896 posts

QUOTE(azyune @ Feb 14 2018, 10:42 AM)
Err.. Isn't that always in the case of FC, the smaller capacity engine is the winner?
yes for normal situation but if you freq highway, the smaller cc engine might need to work out of its optimal rpm to maintain highway speed, that is where the FC will suffer
N33d
post Feb 20 2018, 02:43 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Feb 20 2018, 10:32 AM)

looking for city drive car biggrin.gif ..long distance cruising i will use another vehicle
ironically, despite its size, iriz(mine cvt 1.6) is a bad city car, i feel tired every time i drive it in city, (bumper to bumper, exit junction, stop and go ) compare to my myvi. Why? because of the stupid 'rubberband' clutch based cvt, you got to play a lot on the gas pedal to compensate for the electronically controlled clutch. Else your passenger, or even yourself, will be annoyed by its jerkiness. If you play everything perfectly, you will have a very smooth acceleration but ur leg will be pretty worked at the end of the day

looking at the bright side..look like a good choice for someone who has the habit of skipping leg day

N33d
post Feb 20 2018, 03:20 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(fantasy1989 @ Feb 20 2018, 02:52 PM)
sounds like need to test drive on MC version ..whether i can tahan the rubberhand effect or not
oppss my bad for not mentioning mine is pre MC one

btw, to me, iriz shine when coming to 'B road' type.. those curvy curvy roads with no traffic. nice to drive
N33d
post Mar 18 2018, 09:37 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(WiLeKiyO @ Mar 15 2018, 11:37 AM)
But they didn't change my fuel filter, which is stated on the 30k service.  sweat.gif
lol
that is my complaint last time, they seem like they messed up the priority. Aircon thingy is a closed system while fuel filter need to filter out those particulates introduced every time we pump our petrol.. their logic 404

Btw, just some update about my complaint to proton HQ
the complaint works, HQ swiftly contacted me and arranged to have those issues mentioned solved
Those issues are,
petrol smell even after 4th correction by branch SC. Most annoying shyt since I the day I got the car!
Fuel Filter out of stock and no follow up
CVTF and filter skipped during major service

For petrol smell, this time they really troubleshoot the issue. Found out that previously, the seal that they have applied for a total of 4x most likely at the wrong place bangwall.gif .. the leakage into the cabin from the petrol cap area is at the top part instead of the one at the sides. they sealed the top part this time and so far, no more petrol smell. I will cont observe this

for Fuel Filter, managed to get it changed while they are fixing my petrol smell issue. One thing i noticed that my iriz no longer make 'whiizzzzzzzzzzzz' sound during hard acceleration (>3K rpm). I started to think that the change of the fuel filter magically fixed that and I now like to accelerate the car more compared to last time. brows.gif my wild guess problem existed somewhere along the pump and filter which makes those leaking sound during acceleration

CVTF, SC SA politely told me that my CVTF is still very fresh and really dont wanna see me waste my money changing it prematurely. I told myself, alright, since they insisted on that and sounded confident on their side, I give it another 1 year

So,
yeah.. i love this car more now. I feel like by fixing all those problems, it gave the car a new life.
N33d
post Mar 18 2018, 09:43 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(chikuera @ Mar 18 2018, 01:36 PM)
Hey guys. It’s me again.

So I’ve been searching for Iriz wiper for anwhile now.

Problem is, I need it urgently and unfortunately, Proton Sparepart in Glenmarie, any business transaction is closed for stock count. *only knew when I went there. Not answering calls and even their FB page is not updated. Totally disappointed with this

Went to a couple of Proton SC in Shah Alam area and most of them are without stock. Called COSE but the person in charge for sparepart is not answering the phone

Please help where can I find this Iriz wiper. Or please enlighten me on what is the size etc.

Need it asap before Wed 21 Mar.

Thanks all
you can 'super clean' the wiper blade too
if you are not aware, normal car washing does not clean the wiper blade enough even if you use car soap on it directly

Go buy rubbing alcohol from a pharmacy, wipe it down, you will be shocked at how dirty is that thing is even after you wash it with normal soap

my another tip is to buy 'magic sponge' clone from daiso.. that melamine sponge works great to clean the blade with some detergent.
N33d
post Mar 18 2018, 09:44 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(khairilyazit @ Mar 18 2018, 09:42 PM)
That new fuel filter feel would only last around 3k km.. ahahha
blink.gif blink.gif really?? you meant after that the whistling sound will be back??
N33d
post Mar 19 2018, 07:28 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(yadea @ Mar 19 2018, 05:17 PM)
Fuel filter changed. I know they changed it cuz I told them to put the old items in my car so I still have the old fuel filter, spark plugs and such.
hehe
mind to share how does the fuel filter looks like after few thousand km?

N33d
post Apr 23 2018, 03:12 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(azyune @ Apr 23 2018, 10:18 AM)

sweat.gif his persona
lol
wrong room i guess

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top